Scott County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Scott County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Gate City
Organized: 24 Nov 1814[1]
Parent County(s): Lee, Russell, Washington
Neighboring Counties
Lee County, Virginia  • Russell County, Virginia  • Wise County, Virginia  • Washington County, Virginia  • Sullivan (TN)  • Hawkins (TN)  • Hancock (TN)
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaScottCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Scott County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Scott County is located along the Tennessee border in the corner of Southwest Virginia and was named after General Winfield Scott[2].

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Scott County Courthouse
202 West Jackson Street
Gate City, VA 24251
Phone: 276-386-3801
Scott County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth records 1853-1895, death records 1853-1892, marriage divorce, probate, court and land records from 1815[3]

Scott County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1815 1853 1815 1815 1815 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

  • Lost census: 1890

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Towns
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Scott County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1820 4,263
1830 5,724 34.3%
1840 7,303 27.6%
1850 9,829 34.6%
1860 12,072 22.8%
1870 13,036 8.0%
1880 17,233 32.2%
1890 21,694 25.9%
1900 22,694 4.6%
1910 23,814 4.9%
1920 24,776 4.0%
1930 24,181 −2.4%
1940 26,989 11.6%
1950 27,640 2.4%
1960 25,813 −6.6%
1970 24,376 −5.6%
1980 25,068 2.8%
1990 23,204 −7.4%
2000 23,403 0.9%
2010 23,177 −1.0%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1840

  • Douthat, James L. 1840 Mountain Empire of Virginia Census. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2001. FHL Collection 975.5 X2d 1840. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. [Includes Scott County.]

1890 Union Veterans

1900

1910

1920

1930

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  • Copper Creek (pre-1800), Nickelsville, Va. Minutes begin in 1807. They have been published: FHL Book 975.5732 K2a.[8] Membership Lists 1807-1853 are online.

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Maple Spring Monthly Meeting (1807-1813)[9]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records
Library of Virginia's Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index can be used to search digital images of Scott County chancery records for the years 1816-1912. Indexed information and originals are available through 1942 - see online catalog or contact Archives Research Services for availability.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Addington, Hugh M. Encomium for Scott County Virginia. Nickelsville, Va.: Service Printery, 1951. Includes 675 Scott County family names, list of achievements, sample genealogies.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Lee CountyNorton (Independent City)Wise CountyRussell CountyBristol (Independent City)Washington CountyHancock CountyHawkins CountySullivan CountyVA SCOTT.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

  • Kegley, Mary B. Revolutionary War Pension Applications of Southwest Virginia Soldiers. n.p.: M.B. Kegley, 1997. FHL Collection [Includes Scott County pensioners.]
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Scott County on page 136.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.


War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Scott County, p. 103. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]


Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Scott County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 4th Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company K probably recruited in Scott County.[10]
- 22nd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Bowen's Virginia Mounted Riflemen) (Confederate). Company A.
- 25th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company A, Company B, Company C, and Company D.[11]
- 37th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Davis Rifle Guards).[12]
- 48th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company B (Clinch Mountain Boomers), Company I (Stock Creek Greys), and Company K (Osborne Ford Independents).[13]
- 50th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Lee Rifles).[14]
- 64th Regiment, Virginia Mounted Infantry (Confederate). Companies D1, D2, and E2.[15]


World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Private Papers

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Scott County is included in Vol. 5.]
  • 1815 Kegley, Mary B. Southwest Virginia Tax Assessments, 1815: Grayson, Lee, Scott, Russell, Washington, and Wythe Counties. Wytheville, Va.: Kegley Books, 1991. Original edition and 1992 supplement available at FHL. [The source for this publication is a private collection of 1815 tax assessment tickets for the First District of Virginia. The tickets includes landowners' names, number of acres or lots, number of buildings along with descriptions, and number of slaves. N.B. These are not the 1815 land tax books.]
  • 1816 Kincaid, Bathsheba. "Scott County, Virginia Tax Book for 1816," The Mountain Empire Genealogical Quarterly, Vol. 4, No. 3 (Fall 1985):179-181. FHL US/CAN Book 975 D25m v. 4 (1985).
  • 1818 1818 Scott County, Virginia Personal Property Tax List; index online at New River Notes - free.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Scott County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Scott County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Scott County Historical Society, Inc.
137 East Jackson Street, Box 5
Gate City, VA 24251
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Scott County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Scott County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 22, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1978):133-136. Available at FHL; online at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. http://www.explorescottcountyva.org/history/
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Newberry
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "scott County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/scott_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 25 February 2020.
  8. Luther F. Addington and Emory L. Hamilton, Regular Baptist Minutes, Copper Creek Church, 1809-1896 and Primitive Baptist Church Minutes, Addington Frame Church, 1847-1923 (Clintwood, Va.: Mullins Printing, 1980s). FHL Book 975.5732 K2a.
  9. Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  10. The Virginia State Line: Organizational Structure of the Virginia State Line, Ranger95.com, accessed 11 June 2012.
  11. Dobbie E. Lambert, 25th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 106.
  12. Thomas M. Rankin, 37th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 37.
  13. John D. Chapla, 48th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 54.
  14. John C. Chapla, 50th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 129.
  15. Jeffrey C. Weaver, 64th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 89.