Saskatchewan, Canada Genealogy
Guide to Saskatchewan ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
|Saskatchewan Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
History[edit | edit source]
- The first peoples were Indigenous, including Cree, Dakota, Dene (Chipewyan), Assiniboine and Saulteaux.
- It was part of the territory granted to the Hudson's Bay Company in 1670, called Rupert's Land.
- The expansion of the fur trade and European settlement saw the growth of another group of peoples called Métis, who were the descendants of mixed Indigenous European families.
- In 1869, the Government of Canada acquired all the land belonging to the Hudson's Bay Company.
- From 1870 until 1905, the area became a part of the North-West Territories.
- In 1882, the southern region was divided into the Districts of Saskatchewan and Assiniboia. In 1895, the northern region became part of the Athabasca District.
- The arrival of the railway in the mid-1880s opened the area to immigrants from the United States, Great Britain and Europe, as well as migrants from eastern Canada.
- In 1885, the grievances of the Métis people led to the North-West Resistance, also known as the North-West Rebellion.
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Saskatchewan Research
Links to articles on getting started with Saskatchewan research.
Saskatchewan Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Saskatchewan research
Saskatchewan Map[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records - databases and record images on FamilySearch
- Family History Center locator map
Additional Resources[edit | edit source]
- How to Recognize your Canadian Ancestor
- Name Variations in Canadian Indexes and Records
- Finding your ancestors in Saskatchewan Laura Hanowski
- Tracing your Saskatchewan ancestors: a guide to the records and how to use them Laura Hanowski
- Tracing your aboriginal ancestors in the Prairie Provinces : a guide to the records and how to use them Laura Hanowski
References[edit | edit source]
- "Saskatchewan", Library and Archives Canada, https://www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/genealogy/places/Pages/saskatchewan.aspx, accessed 10 December 2020.