Santa Fe County, New Mexico Genealogy
Guide to Santa Fe County, New Mexico ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Santa Fe county is located in the central area of the state.
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Santa Fe County Courthouse
102 Grant Avenue
Santa Fe, NM 87505
Santa Fe County Website
County Clerk has marriage records from 1900, probate records from 1894 and land records from 1848
Santa Fe County, New Mexico Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating New Mexico County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New Mexico County Boundary Maps" (1845-1981) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
|Native American communities|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Santa Fe Bible Records at USGenWeb - New Mexico
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Biographies may recount a brief summary of an ancestor's life or profile a lengthy story about their interactions and impact on their community.
- Santa Fe County Biographies - Genealogy Trails
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
The oldest cemetery in the Southwest, except the graveyard immediately surrounding San Miguel Church (Santa Fe City), was very near the Garita (Santa Fe City). The following is a lit of cemeteries in Santa Fe County, New Mexico
- Black Mesa Cemetery
- Cañoncito Cemetery
- Cedar Grove Cemetery
- Chimayo Catholic Cemetery
- Cristo Rey Cemetery
- Cundiyo Cemetery
- Fairview Cemetery
- Fort Sumner Post Cemetery
- Glorieta Cemetery
- Golden Cemetery
- Guadalupe Cemetery
- Holy Family Church Cemetery
- Hyer Cemetery
- Lamy Cemetery
- Los Cerrillos Protestant Cemetery
- Madrid Cemetery
- Memorial Gardens (aka Santa Fe Memorial Gardens)
- Mountain Valley Cemetery
- New Galisteo Cemetery
- Ojo de Vaca Cemetery
- Old Galisteo Cemetery
- Rosario Cemetery
- San Isidro Cemetery
- San Miguelito Cemetery (aka San Miguel's Cemetery)
- San Pedro Cemetery
- Santa Fe National Cemetery
- Stanley Cemetery
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Federal Census Records
Federal Censuses were taken for New Mexico starting in 1850. For links to Federal census indexes, see New Mexico Census.
Territory / Province Census Records
- 1821 New Mexico Province, Santa Fe Parish at Family History Library
- 1885 New Mexico Territorial Census 1885 at Ancestry (free)
- Late 1800s 1800s Arizona and New Mexico Territories Census, Late 1800s ($)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about New Mexico denominations, view the New Mexico Church Records wiki page.
Parish registers (baptisms, marriages, and burials) are available online for the following years:
|FS = FamilySearch - free|
|Nuestra Senora de Guadalupe, Pojoaque, Online Parish Registers|
|Mision de San Diego, Tesuque, Online Parish Registers|
- 1701 - 1956 - New Mexico, Catholic Church Records, 1701-1956 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- Catholic Church. Archives of the Archdiocese of Santa Fe, 1678-1900 Family History Library
- Catholic Church. Cristo Rey, 1939-1956, at FamilySearch
- Catholic Church. Cathedral of San Francisco de Asis, 1747-1851, at FamilySearch
- Catholic Church. Our Lady of Guadalupe, 1881-1956, at FamilySearch
- Catholic Church. Santa Cruz de la Cañada, baptisms, 1710-1860, at FamilySearch
- Catholic Church. St. Vincent Hospital, 1887-1956, at FamilySearch
- Catholic Church. St. Anne, 1943-1956, at FamilySearch
- Catholic Church. St. John the Baptist, 1953-1956, at FamilySearch
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Avista Cremation and Burial in Santa Fe
- Berardinelli Family Funeral Service in Santa Fe
- DeVargas Funeral Home and Crematory in Española
- McGee Memorial Chapel Mortuary in Santa Fe
- Rivera Family Funerals and Cremations in Española and Santa Fe
- Riverside Funeral Home in Santa Fe
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See New Mexico Land and Property for additional information about early New Mexico land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Online Land Records
- Land Patent Search - index to federal patents and homesteads on the Bureau of Land Management website, some images available
- 1796 - 1907 - U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 at Ancestry - index, info taken from Bureau of Land Management website
- 1863 - 1908 - U.S. Homestead Records 1863-1908 at Ancestry.com - ($), index and images
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Santa Fe County, New Mexico Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Mexico Local Histories.
- The Old Santa Fé Trail: The Story of a Great Highway by Henry Inman, published 1897. Book available on Google Books
- Santa Fe: The City of the Holy Faith by Frederick Webb Hodge. (Transcription available on Genealogy Trails)
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- 1883 - Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Santa Fe - Library of Congress
- 1886 - Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Santa Fe - Library of Congress
- 1890 - Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Santa Fe - Library of Congress
- 1898 - Sanborn Fire Insurance Map from Santa Fe - Library of Congress
- 1906 - A Description of Settlements in Santa Fe County in 1906 - Genealogy Trails
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of New Mexico - shows boundary changes for New Mexico Counties
- NMGenWeb - historical maps
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Colonial New Mexico
- Military records : Colonial New Mexico, notas y revistas by Henrietta M. Christmas.
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 - New Mexico Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- For more nationwide Civil War databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Santa Fe County.
- Map showing Civil War battles in New Mexico.
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917 - 1919 - New Mexico, World War I Records, 1917-1919 at Ancestry ($)
- For more natiowide World War I databases, see US Military OnlineGenealogy Records.
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940 - 1945 - New Mexico, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1941 - 1945 - World War II Records, 1941-1945 State Summary of War Casualties from World War II for Navy, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard Personnel from: New Mexico
- 1941 - 1945 - World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel from: New Mexico
- 1941 - 1945 - New Mexico, World War II Records, 1941-1945 at Ancestry ($)
- For more nationwide World War II databases, see US Military Online Genealogy.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1881-1983 - New Mexico, U.S., Federal Naturalization Records, 1881-1983 at Ancestry
- 1882-1983 - New Mexico Naturalization Records, 1882-1983 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
For a listing of newspapers that served the county from the 1840s to present, visit the listing for Newspapers on this Genealogy Trails website.
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
- New Mexico Historical Newspapers at University of New Mexico Digital Repository
- NewspaperArchive ($)
- Newspapers.com ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Since statehood in 1912, probate matters have been under the jurisdiction of probate courts in each county. Records of guardianship and adoption have usually been transferred to the district courts. In 1953 the district courts were given concurrent jurisdiction with the probate court over all probate matters in each county.
See the wiki page New Mexico Probate Records for information about how to find earlier probate records.
The Family History Library does not have copies of the New Mexico county probate records. They are available at each county courthouse. You can obtain copies by contacting the county clerk.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, and adoption.
Online Probate Records
School Records[edit | edit source]
Schools of interest in Santa Fe include:
- The Presbyterian Mission School was attended by about one hundred girls of Spanish-American birth from New Mexico Territory.
- Government Indian School
School records include:
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
New Mexico tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the Wiki page New Mexico Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the Wiki page, New Mexico Vital Records, for additional information about the vital records in New Mexico.
Marriage records - are at the County Clerk's office
Divorce records - are at the office of the County Clerk of Court
Birth and death records - are at the New Mexico Vital Records and Health Statistics Office which has records since 1920 and delayed records since 1880.
- 1701 - 1956 - New Mexico, Catholic Church Records, 1701-1956 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1726 – 1918 New Mexico Births and Christenings, 1726-1918 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1727 - 1900 New Mexico Marriages 1727-1900 at Ancestry ($)
- 1751 - 1918 New Mexico Marriages, 1751-1918 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- January 1858 - October 1889 New Mexico marriages at St. Francis Church/Cathedral at FamilySearch
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1788 – 1798; 1838 – 1955 New Mexico Deaths and Burials, 1788-1798; 1838-1955 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1889 - 1945 New Mexico Deaths, 1889-1945 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index; Also at: Ancestry ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Santa Fe County. For state-wide archival repositories, see New Mexico Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Santa Fe County. For state-wide library facilities, see New Mexico Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Edgewood Family History Center
2 BLKS S of I40, SR 344
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Santa Fe County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see New Mexico Societies.
Santa Fe Historical Society
PO Box 323
Santa Fe County Historical Society
PO Box 1985
Santa Fe 87504
New Mexico Jewish Historical Society
PO Box 15598
Santa Fe, New Mexico, 87506
San Iidefonso Historical Society
Route 5, Box 315-A
Santa Fe, New Mexico, 87501
Historic Santa Fe Foundation
545 Canyon Road, Suite 2
Santa Fe NM 87501
Santa Fe County New Mexico Genealogical Society
410 Rodeo Rd
Santa Fe, NM 87505
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Santa Fe County, NM History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- New Mexico Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Santa Fe, New Mexico," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Santa_Fe_County,_New_Mexico. accessed 8/30/2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), New Mexico.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Santa Fe County, New Mexico. Page 474 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 471.
- "Courts and Judicial Powers, Sec. 6” Kearny Code: Laws for the Government of the Territory of New Mexico, September 22, 1846 (Santa Fe, N. Mex.: S. W. Kearny, 1846), 47. Digital online edition.
- N.M. Terr. Laws 1851, 1st assy., 2d sess. /p. 291
- William Thorndale, and William Dollarhide, Map Guide to the U.S. Federal Censuses, 1790-1920 (Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing, 1987), 26. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 X2th.
- Original Counties of New Mexico Territory (map) at (accessed 9 August 2011).
- Wikipedia contributors,"Santa Fe County, New Mexico," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Santa_Fe_County,_New_Mexico, accessed 11 February 2019.
- FamilySearch Catalog. Accessed 12 May 2016.
- Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 8 August, 2012)