|Santa Cruz Public Library Downtown
Natural bridges state beach Santa Cruz California.jpg
E-mail: E-mail reference service form
- 224 Church Street (PO Box 72)
- Santa Cruz, California 95063-0072
Telephone: 831-427-7707 ext. 5794
- Sunday 1p.m.-5:00p.m.
- GSSCC's volunteer hours vary: a genealogy volunteer is generally on duty late in the morning and early in the afternoon Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday; and in the evening on Mondays.
Map and public transportation:
Internet sites and databases:
- Santa Cruz Public Library site includes downlaod books, books and more, Internet resources, local information, kids, teens, 50Plus, services, locations, and featured events.
- Santa Cruz Genealogical Society Library contact info, hours, resources, obtaining obituaries.
- SCPL Catalog online: search by keyword, title, author, subject, series, or call number.
- Genealogical Society of Santa Cruz County library, getting started, research assistance, county history, past events, calendar, links, membership, publications, Tina Brayton Collection, online documents, lecture notes and handouts.
Holds the Genealogical Society of Santa Cruz County's library, including the Tina Brayton Collection which is equivalent to the Draper Manuscript Collection but larger and with a better index, and many compiled genealogies of Kentucky, North Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and West Virginia families. 
Obituary research help is available by mail if you cannot visit the library. Send a SASE and $15 check payable to GSSCC to: Research Coordinator, GSSCC, PO Box 72, Santa Cruz, CA 95063.
If you cannot visit or find a source at the Santa Cruz Public Library Downtown, a similar source may be available at one of the following.
- National Archives at Riverside holding records of southern California, Arizona and Clark County, Nevada. CA Indian enrollments, Asian immigrants, naturalizations, land records, AZ taxes, sailors, censuses, military post returns, Five Civilized Tribes, Revolutionary War, Civil War records, passenger arrival lists, Mexican and Canadian border crossings, passport applications.
- National Archives at San Francisco holding records of California (north & central), Nevada (except Clark County), Hawaii, American Samoa, Guam, Marshall, Caroline, and Northern Mariana Islands, overseas Pacific naval bases, Asian-Pacific immigration, American Indians.
- California State Library (Sacramento) censuses, great registers, city directories, CA historical newspapers, genealogical periodicals, death index 1905-1995, marriage index 1949-1986.
- Family History Library, Salt Lake City, 450 computers, 3,400 databases, 3.1 million microforms, 4,500 periodicals, 310,000 books of worldwide family and local histories, civil, church, immigration, ethnic, military, and records pertaining to members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints.
- Santa Cruz County Recorder births, marriages, deaths, deeds, military discharge papers.
- Santa Cruz County Superior Court civil records, adoptions, probate, family, and criminal records.
- Repositories in surrounding counties: Monterey, San Benito, San Mateo, Santa Clara.
- California State Archives, Sacramento, has county records, such as court records, prison records, wills, deeds, as well as military records, state census records, and school records.
- California DPH Vital Records births since 1905, marriages 1949-1986 and 1998-1999, divorces 1962-1984, deaths since 1905.
- Bancroft Library, Berkeley, premier Western Americana, and Latin Americana collections, including Native Americans, Spanish encounter and colonial settlement, exploration of western America, maps and atlases, the Mexican War, westward migration, the Gold Rush, mining, land surveys, religious and Utopian communities, and ethnic communities.
- Sutro Library, San Francisco, most extensive genealogy collection west of Salt Lake City.
- California Historical Society, San Francisco, economic, social, political, and cultural heritage including 50,000 books, 4,000 manuscripts, photos, maps, newspapers, and artifacts.
- California Genealogical Society and Library, Oakland, family, local, and state histories, maps, reference books, periodicals, the Bay Area, Gold Rush, New England, mid-Atlantic states and others.
- African American Museum and Library at Oakland interprets their experience in CA and the West.
- Chinese Historical Society, San Francisco, Chinese-American history, including art, and artifacts.
- Repositories in other surrounding states: Arizona, Hawaii, Oregon, Baja California, Mexico Genealogy, and Sonora, Mexico Genealogy.
- Archivo General de la Nación (AGN), Mexico City, church, civil, census, court, history, military, migration, and land records.
- The Genealogical Society of Santa Cruz County's Tina Brayton Collection features the states of Virginia, Kentucky, North Carolina, Tennessee, and West Virginia. Look for repositories in those states.