San Juan County, New Mexico Genealogy
Guide to San Juan County, New Mexico ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
San Juan County Courthouse
100 S Oliver Drive
Aztec, NM 87410
San Juan County Website
County Clerk has marriage and land records from 1887 and probate records from 1899;
Clerk District Court has divorce and court records
San Juan County, New Mexico Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating New Mexico County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation New Mexico County Boundary Maps" (1845-1981) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
See also Previous Jurisdictions to Land in Arizona for further details.
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
|Native American communities|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Federal Census Records
Federal Censuses were taken for New Mexico starting in 1850. For links to Federal census indexes, see New Mexico Census.
State Census Records
- 1885 New Mexico Territorial Census 1885 at Ancestry (free)
- Late 1800s 1800s Arizona and New Mexico Territories Census, Late 1800s ($)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1760-1799 New Mexico Prenuptial Investigations (1760 to 1799) at New Mexico Genealogical Society — abstracts
- 1800-1893 New Mexico Prenuptial Investigations (1800 to 1893) at New Mexico Genealogical Society — abstracts
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Desert View Funeral Home in Shiprock
- Farmington Funeral Home in Farmington
- Serenity and Company Memorial Services in Aztec, Farmington, and Kirtland
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See New Mexico Land and Property for additional information about early New Mexico land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Online Land Records
- Land Patent Search - index to federal patents and homesteads on the Bureau of Land Management website, some images available
- 1796 - 1907 U.S. General Land Office Records, 1796-1907 at Ancestry - index, info taken from Bureau of Land Management website
- 1863 - 1908 U.S. Homestead Records 1863-1908 at Ancestry.com - ($), index and images
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for San Juan County, New Mexico Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section New Mexico Local Histories.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- Interactive Formation Boundary Map of New Mexico - shows boundary changes for New Mexico Counties
- NMGenWeb - historical maps
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
- 1775 - 1783 United States Rosters of Revolutionary War Soldiers and Sailors, 1775-1783 at FamilySearch - images only - How to Use this Collection
- For more nationwide Revolutionary War databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 New Mexico Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- For more nationwide Civil War databases, see US Military Online Genealogy Records.
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917 - 1919 New Mexico, World War I Records, 1917-1919 at Ancestry ($)
- For more natiowide World War I databases, see US Military OnlineGenealogy Records.
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940 - 1945 New Mexico, World War II Draft Registration Cards, 1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- 1941 - 1945 World War II Records, 1941-1945 State Summary of War Casualties from World War II for Navy, Marine Corps, and Coast Guard Personnel from: New Mexico
- 1941 - 1945 World War II Honor List of Dead and Missing Army and Army Air Forces Personnel from: New Mexico
- 1941 - 1945 New Mexico, World War II Records, 1941-1945 at Ancestry ($)
- For more nationwide World War II databases, see US Military Online Genealogy.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1882-1983 New Mexico Naturalization Records, 1882-1983 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
- New Mexico Historical Newspapers at University of New Mexico Digital Repository
- New Mexico Online Historical Newspapers - identifies historical archived and digitized newspapers available online on both free and pay-to-access websites.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Since statehood in 1912, probate matters have been under the jurisdiction of probate courts in each county. Records of guardianship and adoption have usually been transferred to the district courts. In 1953 the district courts were given concurrent jurisdiction with the probate court over all probate matters in each county.
See the wiki page New Mexico Probate Records for information about how to find earlier probate records.
The Family History Library does not have copies of the New Mexico county probate records. They are available at each county courthouse. You can obtain copies by contacting the county clerk.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, and adoption.
Online Probate Records
- 1801-1993 New Mexico Wills and Probate Records 1801-1993 at Ancestry.com — index and images ($)
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
New Mexico tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the Wiki page New Mexico Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. See the Wiki page, New Mexico Vital Records, for additional information about the vital records in New Mexico.
Marriage records - are at the County Clerk's office
Divorce records - are at the office of the County Clerk of Court
Birth and death records - are at the New Mexico Vital Records and Health Statistics Office which has records since 1920 and delayed records since 1880.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1726 – 1918 New Mexico Births and Christenings, 1726-1918 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1727 - 1900 New Mexico Marriages 1727-1900 at Ancestry - index ($)
- 1751 - 1918 New Mexico Marriages, 1751-1918 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1877 - 2000 New Mexico, U.S., Select County Marriages, 1877-2000 at Ancestry - index ($)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1788 – 1798; 1838 – 1955 New Mexico Deaths and Burials, 1788-1798; 1838-1955 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1889 - 1945 New Mexico Deaths, 1889-1945 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index; Also at: Ancestry ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in San Juan County. For state-wide archival repositories, see New Mexico Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in San Juan County. For state-wide library facilities, see New Mexico Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in San Juan County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see New Mexico Societies.
Totah Tracers Genealogical Society
1412 Anna Lane
Farmington, NM 87401
Websites[edit | edit source]
- San Juan NMGenWeb
- San Juan County, NM History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- New Mexico Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), New Mexico.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- http://genealogytrails.com/newmex/sanjuan/ accessed 09/29/2016
- Wikipedia contributors, "San Juan, New Mexico," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/San_Juan_County,_New_Mexico. accessed 8/30/2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), San Juan County, New Mexico. Page 474 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 470.
- Wikipedia contributors,"San Juan County, New Mexico," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/San_Juan,_New_Mexico, accessed 9 February 2019.