Saluda County, South Carolina Genealogy

United States

South Carolina

Saluda County

Guide to Saluda County, South Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

South Carolina Online Genealogy Records

County Facts County seat: Saluda Organized: February 25, 1896 Parent County(s): Edgefield Neighboring Counties Aiken  • Edgefield  • Greenwood  • Lexington  • Newberry See County Maps Courthouse Location Map Adoption This page is available for adoption

County Information

Description

The County was named for the Saluda River. The County is located in the west central area of the state.

County Courthouse

Saluda County Courthouse
100 East Church Street
Saluda, SC 29138
Phone: 864-445-4500
Saluda County Website

County Pronunciation
Hear it spoken

Saluda County, South Carolina Record Dates

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records
Birth*	Marriage	Death*	Court	Land	Probate	Census
1915	1911	1915	1896	1896	1896	1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1915. General compliance by 1918.

Record Loss

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes

Parent Counties: Created from Edgefield County February 25, 1896 County Seat: Saluda Interactive Map of South Carolina County Formation History (1790-1897) - animated maps illustrating South Carolina county boundary changes Saluda County, South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library

Populated Places

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:

Towns
Batesburg-Leesville Monetta	Ridge Spring Saluda	Ward
Unincorporated communities
Mount Willing

Resources

Cemeteries

Cemeteries of Saluda County, South Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online	Find A Grave BillionGraves
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)	Family History Library WorldCat FamilySearch Places
List of Cemeteries in the County	Find A Grave
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

 

• To view a cemetery list, see Saluda County, South Carolina Cemeteries.
• National Cemetery Administration

Census Records

For all existing and online Federal population schedules of South Carolina, see South Carolina Census. See also USGenWeb Census Project, South Carolina, including links to transcribed files.

• 1829-1920 South Carolina, State and Territorial Censuses, 1829-1920 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index & Images

Historical populations
Census	Pop.	%±
1900	18,966	—
1910	20,943	10.4%
1920	22,088	5.5%
1930	18,148	−17.8%
1940	17,192	−5.3%
1950	15,924	−7.4%
1960	14,554	−8.6%
1970	14,528	−0.2%
1980	16,150	11.2%
1990	16,357	1.3%
2000	19,181	17.3%
2010	19,875	3.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records

The Inventory of (SC) Church Archives 1937-1939 is available for free online, courtesy: South Caroliniana Library. Saluda County's W.P.A. reports are included.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

• FamilySearch Places
  

Court Records

Online Court Indexes and Records
Saluda County has court records from 1896 that are held in the office of the Clerk of Court. In 1896 Saluda County was created from Edgefield County which was a part of the Ninety-Six District from 1785 - 1800. The records of the Ninety-Six District courts are housed in Abbeville County with the Clerk of Court, and the records for Edgefield County are held with that county's Clerk of Court. The South Carolina Archives and History Center has court records available on microfilm for Saluda County.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups

African Americans

• United States African Americans
• African American Resources for South Carolina

Known plantations South Carolina Plantations:

• Crouch
• Wheaten Pynes

Genealogies

General
Surname indexes to Leonardo Andrea's Files | Folders | Resources are available online, courtesy: The Andrea Files: South Carolina Genealogical Research. Learn more.

• The Family History of Saluda County 1895-1980, Saluda, South Carolina. n.p.: Inter Collegiate Press, (1980?). FHL 975.738 D3f

Bibliography

• Buff - Buff, L.H. and Janice Gartman Lee. Buffs and Millers Along the Saluda: Some Descendants of Andrew Buff of Central SC. n.p.: L.H. Buff & J.G. Lee, 2001. FHL Book 929.273 B863bL.
  
• Etheredge - Etheredge, Hamlin Walpole. Our Etheredge Family Circles from 1753 to 1953. Johnston, S.C.: Ridge Citizen Publishers, 1953. Reprint: FHL Book 929.273 Et36eh.
• Gault Gault, Charles B. Portrait Album of the Family of Mr. and Mrs. Francis Beers Gault of Lake Waccamaw and Wilmington, North Carolina. Typescript. Microfilmed 1971: FHL Film 844967 Item 6.
• Hendricks Frontier Hendricks Association. Hendricks/etc. in South Carolina Backcountry Elsewhere than in Forks of Broad and Saluda--After the Revolution [Unauthorized]. FHL 929.27305 H385hf
• Jones Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Descendants of William A. Jones of Edgefield and Saluda County, S.C. 2003. FHL 1573699 Item 109
• Langford - Langford, George Shealy. Langfords in America Sketches on Early Arrivals and Migrations: Genealogical Recording on Descendants from Early Saluda River, South Carolina Families (Lexington, Newberry, Saluda and Old Edgefield Counties), 1773-1975: Some Related Families [of] Holley, Waters, Shealy, Timms, Robertson. College Park, Md.: Langford, 1977. FHL 929.273 L263a
• Langford - Langford, George Shealy. Sketches About Langfords, 1632-1980. Book 2. College Park, Md.: G.S. Langford, 1981. FHL Book 929.273 L263L.
• Long - Evans, Eytive Long. A Documented History of the Long Family, Switzerland to South Carolina, 1578-1956, Including Allied Families a Documentary Record of the Long (Lang) Family of Newberry, Edgefield, and Saluda Counties, South Carolina, Including Many Allied Families. 1956. FHL 929.273 L85e
• Merchant Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. The Merchant-Padgett Family of Edgefield and Saluda County, South Carolina. Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 2008. FHL 929.273 M535pda
• Padgett Paget, James Suddath and Dallas LeRoy Phelps. Watson-Smith-Padgett Families of Edgefield and Saluda Counties, South Carolina. 1995. FHL 1750833 Item 19
• Padgett Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. Descendants of Mark Manuel Padget, Edgefield County, South Carolina. Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 1998. FHL Book 929.273 P133pd.
• Padgett Phelps, Dallas LeRoy. The Merchant-Padgett Family of Edgefield and Saluda County, South Carolina. Camden, S.C.: D.L. Phelps, 2008. FHL 929.273 M535pda
• Rucker - Holcomb, Brent H. and Katherine L. Hester. The Rucker Family of South Carolina, 1752-1983. Greenville, S.C.: A Press, 1983. FHL Book 929.273 R828h.
• Smith - Paget, James Suddath and Dallas LeRoy Phelps. Watson-Smith-Padgett Families of Edgefield and Saluda Counties, South Carolina. 1995. FHL 1750833 Item 19
• Watson - Paget, James Suddath and Dallas LeRoy Phelps.Watson-Smith-Padgett Families of Edgefield and Saluda Counties, South Carolina. 1995. FHL 1750833 Item 19

Land and Property Records

Because South Carolina was an agricultural state, many residents owned land. For earliest records, search 1) Charleston District, 2) your ancestor’s residential district, 3) neighboring districts, 4) the residential county, 5) neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. See also South Carolina Land and Property.

Online Land Indexes and Records
This series consists of recorded copies of plats for state land grants for the Charleston and the Columbia Series with their certificates of admeasurement or certification. All personal names and geographic features on these plats are included in the repository's On-line Index to Plats for State Land Grants
The South Carolina Constitution of 1790 required the surveyor general to maintain offices in both the new capital at Columbia and in Charleston. The surveyor general began to use separate volumes for recording plats in his Columbia office in 1796. Before that, all plats were recorded in the set of volumes begun in Charleston in 1784. After 1796, most plats for land grants in the Upper Division of the state were recorded and filed in Columbia. The surveyor general chose to make the Columbia volumes a continuation of the state plat volumes begun in Charleston and gave the initial Columbia volume the number thirty-six to correspond with the number of the volume that had then been reached in the Charleston series. As a result, there are volumes numbered thirty-six through forty-three from each office, but the records in them are not duplicative. Also included are the Plan Books containing Plats and Plans.

The following chart shows where you may best expect to find land records.

Tracing Land Currently in Saluda County originating in Edgefield County with Parent Counties and Districts

Date	Government Office
1897-present	Saluda County
1868-1897	Edgefield County
1800-1868	Edgefield District
1785-1800	Edgefield County (old) *
1769-1785	Ninety-Six District
1719-1769	Charleston District
1710-1719	Proprietary Land Grants

* First deed book is missing

Maps and Gazetteers

• FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places

Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Military Records

Revolutionary War

• "Veterans list, (sel.)," Genealogical Roots and Branches, Winter 2001, Volume 22, Issue 4. Old Ninety-Six Chapter: Greenwood, SC.

Civil War

• 1861-1865 South Carolina Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index & Images
• 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
• 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)

Regiments. Saluda County did not exist during the Civil War. Present day Saluda County was created 25 February 1896 from Edgefield County. During the Civil War, men from the area of Saluda County mostly would have served in various regiments recruited in Edgefield County. Counties were called districts during the Civil War.

Newspapers

• 1800s-1999 Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry ($)

Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Saluda County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

• Saluda Standard-Sentinel (Saluda, S.C.) 1973-current.
• The Saluda Advocate (Mt. Willing, S.C.) 1895-1900.
• The Saluda County Sentinel (Saluda, S.C.) 1946-1973.
• The Saluda Sentinel (Dennys, S.C. and Newberry, S.C.) 1895-1903.
• The Saluda Standard (Saluda, S.C.) 1902-1973.
• The Ticket (Mt. Willing, S.C.) 1895-1895.

University of South Carolina Library Catalog

• Historical Newspapers of South Carolina at University of South Carolina Libraries - not complete

Current

• Saluda Standard-Sentinel (Saluda, S.C.) Online edition.

Periodicals

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For more information and links, see South Carolina Periodicals.

Probate Records

Various types of records are created throughout the probate process of settling estates and property, usually after death. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records
The South Carolina Department of Archives and History has microfilms or typescripts of wills, inventories, bills of sale, power of attorneys, bonds, notes, administrations, judgments, and sales records. They have placed Will Transcriptions for 1782 to 1855 online. Index searchable by name, and images are available. Some estate records for Saluda County available on microfilm. Probate records for Saluda County may be found in the court of ordinary or probate court, and the court of equity.

• 1670-1980 South Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1670-1980 at Ancestry.com — index and images ($)
• 1671-1977 South Carolina Probate Records, Bound Volumes, 1671-1977 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Images Only
• 1732-1964 South Carolina Probate Records, Files and Loose Papers, 1732-1964 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Images Only
• 1782-1866 South Carolina, Will Transcripts 1782-1866 at Findmypast — index, ($) — $, index

Social Security Records

• 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
• 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007

Tax Records

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, and relationships. See South Carolina Taxation for online resources and suggestions.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

• South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Saluda County.

Vital Records

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records created by Civil authorities. See South Carolina Vital Records for online resources and suggestions.

Birth

State-wide birth registration did not begin until 1915. For records after 1915, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

• 1766-1900 South Carolina, Delayed Birth Certificates, 1766-1900 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index & Images
• 1915-1917 South Carolina, U.S., Births, 1915-1917 at Ancestry - index & images ($)

Marriage

In South Carolina, Probate Courts issued and still keep marriage licenses from 1 July 1911 to the present. Licenses were not required before 1911. In the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Statewide registration of marriages started in July, 1950. See South Carolina Vital Records for indexes and more information.

Marriages - Indexes and Records

• 1911-1950 Saluda County, South Carolina Marriage Licenses, 1911-1950 FHL Collection - records
• 1911-2000 Saluda County, South Carolina Marriage Registers, 1911-ca. 2000 FHL Collection - index and records
• There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found insome counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Death

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For information and online records, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Deaths - Indexes and Records

• 1816-1990 South Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1816-1990 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index
• 1821-1969 South Carolina, U.S., Death Records, 1821-1969 at Ancestry - index & images ($)
• 1915-1943 South Carolina, Deaths, 1915-1943 at MyHeritage - index & images ($)
• 1915-1965 South Carolina Deaths, 1915-1965 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; Index & Images
• State-wide South Carolina Death Indexes. There are several online death indexes covering all of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Research Facilities

Archives

Listed below are archives in Saluda County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

• Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
• FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
  

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

• Columbia South Carolina Family History Center
• Greenwood South Carolina Family History Center
• Lexington South Carolina Family History Center
• West Columbia South Carolina Family History Center

• Richland County Public Library - an affiliate library

Libraries

Listed below are libraries in Saluda County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Libraries
Saluda Library
101 South Main Street
Saluda, SC 29138
Phone: Number: (864) 445-4500
Fax:(864) 445-2725
Email: k.rushton@saludacounty.sc.gov
Hours: Monday, Wednesday, Friday 8:30-5:00, Tuesday, Thursday 8:30-6:00, Saturday, Sunday Closed
Online Catalog
Website

The Saluda County Library has genealogy and local history offerings.
'Ridge Spring Library'and Welcome Center
636 Main Street
Ridge Spring, SC 29129
Phone Number: 803-685-BOOK (2665)
Email: rslibrary@pbtcomm.net
Hours: Monday 9:30-1:00, Tuesday 9:30-1:00, Thursday 8:30-12:30, Friday 12:30-5:00, Saturday 9:00-12:00Website

Museums

Saluda County Historical Museum & Theatre
105 Law Range
Saluda, SC 29138
Telephone: (864) 445-8550
This museum houses historical artifacts and ancestral information pertaining to Saluda County
Website

Societies

Listed below are societies in Saluda County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see South Carolina Societies.

• Saluda County Historical Society
  109 Law Range Street
  Saluda, SC 29138
  (864) 445-8550
  Facebook

Websites

• Saluda County, SCGenWeb
• Saluda County, South Carolina Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
• FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides

• South Carolina Archives Summary Guide: Saluda County, available online, courtesy: South Carolina Department of Archives and History.

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

FamilySearch affiliate libraries may have access to center-only databases, but do not always have all services normally provided by a family history center.