Salem County, New Jersey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Salem County, New Jersey ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Salem
Organized: 1681
Parent County(s): Colonial lands
Neighboring Counties
Cumberland  • Gloucester  • Kent (DE)  • New Castle (DE)
See County Maps
Courthouse
New Jersey, Salem County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Nj-salem.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
NJGenWeb.gif This page adopted by:
NJGenWeb and its coordinators
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Salem County is located in the southwest region of the state. It was created in 1694. Salem is the county seat. The county was named for a Hebrew word meaning "peace".[1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Salem County Courthouse
92 Market Street
Salem, NJ 08079-1913
Phone: 856-878-5050
Salem County Website

County Clerk has marriage records 1675-1912, court records from 1707, land records from 1695, naturalization records 1808-1958, military records from 1715 and newspapers from 1819.
County Surrogate has probate records from 1804.
City Clerks have birth and death records. [2]

Salem County, New Jersey Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1901 1675 1901 1707 1766 1804 1830
*Statewide registration for births and deaths started 1 May 1848. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Boroughs
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

  • 1642-1643, The New Sweden Genealogy Colony expanded from present-day Wilmington, Delaware east to New Jersey. Fort New Elfsborg (Nya Älfborg), now west of Salem, Salem, New Jersey was built as part of New Sweden Genealogy in 1643 and garrisoned until 1651.[7][8][9]
  • 1664, As part of the Second Anglo-Dutch War New Netherland Genealogy including West Jersey was surrendered to the English.[10]
  • 1673-1674, A new war broke out and the Dutch sent a large armada to retake New Netherland for a few months. But as the war ended the colony was ceeded to England for the last time.[11]
  • 1681, part of West Jersey
  • 1654-1655, In 1654 New Sweden Genealogy captured Fort Casimir (now New Castle, Delaware) from the Dutch without a fight and renamed it Fort Trinty (Trefaldighets).[12] In 1655 New Netherland Genealogy returned with a large army and all of New Sweden Genealogy in presend-day Pennsylvania, Delaware, and New Jersey submitted to Dutch rule.[13]
  • 1700, part of Cape May County added.
  • 1710, boundaries clarified.
  • 19 January 1748, part set off to become part of Cumberland County.[14]
  • 1822, water boundaries established and clarified in 1846.
  • 1867, Pittsgrove twp. to Cumerland County and returned in 1868.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Salem County, New Jersey online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See New Jersey Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing census records online, see: New Jersey Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about denominations, view the New Jersey Church Records wiki page.

Contains the church records of:
  • Daretown: Pittsgrove Baptist Church
  • Salem: Broadway United Methodist Church; St. John's Episcopal Church
  • Upper Penn's Neck: First Baptist Church

Lutheran
Settlers from Penns Neck attended a Swedish Church at Crane Hook as early as 1667.[15] 1754 and 1786 membership lists of Penns Neck Parish are preserved in Archivum Americanum at the Consistory Court of the Archbishop of Upsal in Sweden.[16]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a specific location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Jersey Land and Property for information about New Jersey Proprietary land records. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Your relatives may be included in biographies, in church, school and government history, or in military events and lists. For more information, see New Jersey History and scroll to Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Gloucester CountyCumberland CountyDelaware CountyNew Castle CountyNJ SALEM.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources



Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas and may have earlier records. In 1852, most of those records were transferred to the Salem County Probate Court. For more complete information and for online and other resources, see New Jersey Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

New Jersey tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page New Jersey Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the New Jersey Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. Original marriage records are usually held at the county Bureau of Vital Statistics.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Salem County Historical Society
83 Market St
Salem, NJ 08079
Telephone: 856-935-5004
Website

Salem County, Genealogical Society Of
PO Box 231
Woodstown NJ 08098
E-mail:genealogicalsocietysalemcounty@gmail.com
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Salem County, New Jersey" in Wikipedia : the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Salem_County,_New_Jersey accessed 23 September 2018.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Salem County, New Jersey page 465, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Salem County, New Jersey . Page 464-465 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 460.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002).At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Salem County, New Jersey," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Salem_County,_New_Jersey#Communities accessed, 18 March 2020.
  7. Amandus Johnson, "Detailed Map of New Sweden 1638-1655" in Amandus Johnson's book The Swedes on the Delaware 1638-1664 (Philadelphia: Swedish Colonial Society, 1915), 392.
  8. Munroe, 24. “When ordered to build a fort so situated as to enable the Swedes to control all shipping on the Delaware, Printz constructed Fort Elfsborg on the Jersey shore, south of Salem Creek.”
  9. Kartskiss öfver Nya Sverige 1638-55 (Efter Amandus Johnson)” a map image in the article “Nya Sverige” in Nordisk familjebok. Uggleupplagan. 20. Norrsken - Paprocki (Stockholm: Nordisk familjeboks förlags, 1914; digitized by Projekt Runeberg, 2002), 153-54.
  10. "New Netherland" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_netherland accessed 13 December 2008).
  11. "New Netherland" in Wikipedia.
  12. "New Sweden" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/New_Sweden accessed 7 November 2008).
  13. "New Sweden" in Wikipedia.
  14. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  15. "The Story of Church Boats; First Ferries of the Delaware River," SwedishHeritage.US, http://www.swedishheritage.us/, accessed 14 May 2012.
  16. Charles J. Stillé, "Archivum Americanum in the Consistory Court of the Archbishop of Upsal," The Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 15 (1891):482. For free online access, see WeRelate.

References