Rockingham County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Rockingham County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Harrisonburg
Organized: 01 Mar 1778[1]
Parent County(s): Augusta
Neighboring Counties
Albemarle  • Augusta  • Greene  • Hardy (WV)  • Page  • Pendleton (WV)  • Shenandoah
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaRockinghamCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Rockingham County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Rockingham County is located in the Western portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and it shares a border with West Virginia. The County was named for the Marquis of Rockingham, a British statesman sympathetic with the American Revolution[2].

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Rockingham County Courthouse
53 Court Square
Harrisonburg, VA 22801
Phone: 540-564-3130
Rockingham County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth records 1862-1894, death records 1890-1894, marriage, probate, court and land records from 1778 and divorce records from 1833.Some records burned in 1864[3]

Rockingham County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1862 1778 1890 1778 1778 1778 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • 1787 Wills and estate records were destroyed in a courthouse fire.
  • 1864 Deeds, orders, wills and fiduciary books were lost or severely damaged by fire in June 1864 during the American Civil War after having been removed from the courthouse. Many loose records remaining at the courthouse survived. Pre-1865 deeds and wills were re-recorded particularly after November 1884.[5] [6]
  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890
  • Visit the Library of Virginia's website to determine exactly what records have been lost and their Lost Records Localities Database to find additional resources.
  • For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[9]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

2nd Marquess of Rockingham


The county is named after Charles Watson-Wentworth, 2nd Marquess of Rockingham (1730-1782), who served two terms as Prime Minister of Great Britain.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

  • Wayland, John W. Men of Mark and Representative Citizens of Harrisonburg and Rockingham County, Virginia. Staunton, Va.: McClure Co., 1943. FHL; digital versions at Ancestry ($); and World Vital Records ($).

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes a section on Harrisonburg silversmiths.]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Rockingham County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 7,449
1800 10,374 39.3%
1810 12,753 22.9%
1820 14,784 15.9%
1830 20,683 39.9%
1840 17,344 −16.1%
1850 20,294 17.0%
1860 23,408 15.3%
1870 23,668 1.1%
1880 29,567 24.9%
1890 31,299 5.9%
1900 33,527 7.1%
1910 34,903 4.1%
1920 30,047 −13.9%
1930 29,709 −1.1%
1940 31,289 5.3%
1950 35,079 12.1%
1960 40,485 15.4%
1970 47,890 18.3%
1980 57,038 19.1%
1990 57,482 0.8%
2000 67,725 17.8%
2010 76,314 12.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".


1784 Enumeration

1885-1940

1890 Union Veterans

1900

  • United States of America, Bureau of the Census. Rockingham County, Virginia, Census, 1900. Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1900. Digital version at Ancestry ($).

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

A map identifying the locations of early churches is available for Rockingham County: Where the River Flows: Finding Faith in Rockingham County, Virginia, 1726-1876. The Family History Library has a copy: FHL Map 975.5922 H2h, 975.5922 H2h supp..

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Lost River (1784)[10].
  2. Lynville's Creek aka Linville Creek (1756)[10]. Minute books begin in 1756: FHL Film 441485 Item 2. Another copy: FHL Film 32271. Some records have been published: FHL Book 975.5922 K2w.[11] Cemetery records are online. Church records are online in Pennsylvania, Church and Town Records, 1708-1985 at Historical Society of Pennsylvania($), free to members of the society.
  3. Pleasant Run (by 1806). Membership rolls (1806-1809) were published in the Seattle Genealogical Society Bulletin, Vol. 16, No. 3 (Mar. 1967). FHL Book 979.777 B2b v. 16-17 (1966-1968).
  4. Smith Creek (1756), New Market, Va. A history has been published: FHL Book 975.5 A1 no. 307. Some records have been published: FHL Book 975.5922 K2w.[11]
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.
    Rockingham County fell within the bounds of the Culpeper Association.

Church of England
Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Rockingham County is available online.[12]

German Reformed

  • Braun, Johannes, Klaus Wust and Joseph H. Meyerhoeffer. Shenandoah Valley Family Data, 1799-1813: From the Memorandum Book of Pastor Johannes Braun. Edinburg, Va.: Shenandoah History Publishers, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 K2bjo.
  • Burkett, Brigitte. Rockport, Maine: Picton Press, 2003. German Church Records of Rockingham County, Virginia. v. 1. Friedens Lutheran and Reformed Church, 1786-1897; St. Michael's Lutheran and Reformed Church, 1789-1889; Ermentraut's Lutheran and Reformed Church, 1798-1863. FHL 975.5922 K2b v. 1.
  • 1742-1775 Gray, Gertrude E. Virginia Northern Neck Land Grants, 1742-1775. Vol. II. Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1997. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Smith's Creek Monthly Meeting (1736-1810) aka Broadway[13]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records
Library of Virginia's Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index can be used to search for Rockingham County chancery records for the years 1781-1946. Digital images are available for 1781-1913. Indexed information and originals available through 1946 - see online catalog or contact Archives Research Services for availability.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for multiple Families

  • The Katherine Bushman Papers, 1961-1997 at the Library of Virginia include files about Rockingham County families.
  • Arrington, Mary Marie Koontz. Mountain Valley People: A Historical Sketch of a Section of Rockingham County, Virginia, and It's People. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, 1982. FHL Fiche 6049051 (9 fiche).
  • Brock, Robert L. 47 Pioneer Families of Rockingham County, Virginia Who Migrated through Ohio, Indiana, and Illinois to Missouri. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, 1997. FHL Collection 975.5922 D2b
  • Heinegg, Paul. Free African Americans of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland and Delaware. 2005-present. - free online book. Adams, Ailstock, Barrell, Clark, Connally, Colley, Fortune, Hughes, Hurley, Jackson, McCoy, Mayo, Nickens, Payne, Peters, Redman, Spelman, Tyre, Vena, Venie families of pre-1820 Rockingham County, Virginia.
  • Hodges, Elisabeth Wilson. They Came to Rockingham. Lynchburg, Va.: Warwick House Publishers, 2004. FHL Book 929.273 W691he. Includes Bagenal, Berchtoll, Coakley, Colclough, Curry, Driver, Gaines, Games, Kiracofe, Long, Studebaker, Vaughan, Waddle and related families.
  • Kline, Agnes. Stone Houses on Linville Creek and Their Communities, Rockingham County, Virginia. Harrisonburg, Va., 1971. Discusses the Kauffman, Trent, Kline, Branner, Rife, Bowman, and Sites families.
  • Spencer, Paula Underwood. Paula Underwood Spencer Papers. MSS. Library of Virginia. Microfilmed 2001: FHL Films 1426442-1426446. Papers consisting of genealogical research on the following families: Elmore, Johnson, Kerns, Skidmore, Cutler, Sutton, Saunders, Lindley, Fansler, Crews, Underwood, Beem, Beemer, Phares, Ellyson and Coons, including those lines which settled in Augusta, Henrico and Rockingham Counties in Virginia and in California, Connecticut, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania and West Virginia.
  • Strickler, Harry M. Forerunners, A History or Genealogy of the Strickler Families, Their Kith and Kin: Including Kauffmans, Stovfrs [i.e. Stovers], Burners, Ruffners, Beavers, Shavers, Brumbachs, Zirkles, Blossers, Groves, Brubakers, Neffs, Rothgebs and Many Other Early Families of Shenandoah, Rockingham, Augusta, Frederick and Page Counties of the Shenandoah Valley: A Memorial to All Who Have Gone Before from about 1700 to the Present Time, 1924 Present Time, 1924. Dayton, Va.: Reubush-Kieffer, c1925. FHL Fiche 6046689 (6 fiche).
  • Wayland, John Walter. Virginia Valley Records: Genealogical and Historical Materials of Rockingham County, Virginia, and Related Regions (with Map). Strasburg, Va.: Shenandoah Publishing House, 1930. FHL Collection 485954 Item 3 and FHL Collection 975.5 H2wa 1978; digital version at Ancestry ($); and World Vital Records Original, and Reprint ($). Includes sketches of many families from the area.
  • Wayland, John Walter. Men of Mark and Representative Citizens of Harrisonburg and Rockingham County, Virginia. 1946. Includes ancestor sketches of hundreds of prominent citizens.
  • Yankey, Lewis H. and Patricia T. Ritchie. Brocks Gap Families. 2 vols. Dayton, Va.?: Harrisonburg-Rockingham Historical Society?, 1991-1992. FHL Books 975.5922 D2y v. 1-v. 2. Contents: v. 1. Bible, Cherryholmes, Freed, Heavner, and Aubrey families -- v. 2. Fink and Sonifrank families.
  • Yankey, Lewis H., Patricia T. Ritchie, and Lonzo Dove. Brocks Gap Miscellaneous Records: Including Notes on These Families: "Hessian John" Baker, Michael Baker, Caplinger, Custer, Dove, Halterman, Hupp, Lair, Lantz, May, Ritchie, Secrist, Siever, Souder, Whetzel, West, and Others... Dayton, Va.?: Harrisonburg-Rockingham Historical Society?, 1992. FHL Book 975.5922 D2ya

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

  • Kaylor, Peter Cline. Abstract of Land Grant Surveys of Augusta and Rockingham Counties, Virginia, 1761-1791. Dayton, VA: Shenandoah Press, 1938. Available at FHL; digital version at World Vital Records ($).

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Wayland, John Walter. Men of Mark and Representative Citizens of Harrisonburg and Rockingham County, Virginia: Portraits and Biographies of Men and Women. Staunton, Va.: McClure Co., 1943. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Wayland, John Walter. Virginia Valley Records: Genealogical and Historical Materials of Rockingham County, Virginia, and Related Regions (with Map). Strasburg, Va.: Shenandoah Publishing House, 1930. Available at FHL (original edition FHL US/CAN Film 485954 Item 3 and 1978 reprint FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 H2wa 1978); digital versions at FamilySearch Digital Library, Ancestry ($); World Vital Records ($).
  • Arrington, Mary M. Mountain Valley People: A Historical Sketch of a Section of Rockingham County, Viginia, and it's People. Baltimore, Maryland: Gateway Press, 1982. FHL Book 975.5922 H2. Also available on microfiche FHL 6049051.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Harrisonburg (Independent City)Staunton (Independent City)Augusta CountyAlbemarle CountyGreene CountyPage CountyShenandoah CountyHardy CountyPendleton CountyVA ROCKINGHAM.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1976):269-274. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Rockingham County's 1787 Delinquent List appears on pp. 273-274.]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some Rockingham County veterans; see place name index.]


Revolutionary War

  • Rockingham County residents' participation in the Revolutionary War.[14]
  • "A Page from Court Orders of Rockingham County, VA" [Showing Public Claims Enabling Descendants to Join Revolutionary Societies], The American Genealogist, Vol. 11 (1934):4. Available at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • Revolutionary Soldiers, Rockingham County, Virginia. Harrisonburg, Va.: The Historical Society?, 1976. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Rockingham County on page 136.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.


War of 1812

  • Switzer, Frank C. and Dorothy A. Boyd-Rush Rosters, Rockingham Units, War of 1812. Rockingham Historical Society, 1987. Leaves 12. FHL Book 975.5 A1
  • Yankey, Lewis H. and Patricia T Ritchie. Brocks Gap Miscellaneous Research. FHL Book 975.5922 D2
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Rockingham County, p. 101-102. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]

Regiments. Rockingham County men served in the 58th and 116th Regiments.[15]

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Rockingham County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Rockingham County:

-1st Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate)|1st Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate)]].
- 6th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company C (Rockingham Cavalry, River Rangers).[16]
- 7th Battalion, Virginia Reserves (Confederate). Companies A, B, and C.
- 7th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Ashby's) (Confederate). Company B (2nd) (Letcher Brock's Gap Rifles), Company H (1st) (Brock's Gap Sharpshooters), Company H (2nd) (Captain John C. Shoup), and Company I (Captain E.A. Shands).[17]
- 9th Battalion, Virginia Reserves (Confederate). Companies A, B, C, and D.
- 10th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company B (Rockingham Rifles), Company C (2nd) (Mauck's Company), Company D (Bridgewater Greys), Company E (Peaked Mt. Grays), Company G (Valley Guards), Company H (Chrisman's Infantry), and Company I (Riverton Invincibles).[18]
- 10th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (1st Cavalry Regiment, Wise Legion (Confederate). Company H (Valley Rangers).[19]
- 11th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry. Company C (The Brock's Gap Sharpshooters or The Brock's Gap Rifles).[20]
- 12th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company H.[21]
- 23rd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B.[22]
- 25th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Heck's) (Confederate). Company I (Mount Crawford Cavalry aka Valley Rifles).[23]
- 31st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). 1st Company B (Pendleton County Minutemen).[24]
- 33rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company I (Rockingham Confederates).[25]

Men from Rockingham County were also members of the following regiments: 35th Battlion Virginia Cavalry, 58th Virginia Militia, 3rd Battalion Virginia Reserves, 97th Virginia Militia, 136th Virginia Militia, 146th Virginia Militia.

Civil War Battles
The following Civil War battles were fought in Rockingham County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865


World War I


World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1777 "Augusta County Tithables, 1777," Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 42 Iss. 4 (Nov. 2004):307-310. Available at FHL. [Covers area of present-day eastern Rockingham and Page counties.]
  • 1782-1813 Rockingham County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1813 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Rockingham County is included in Vol. 1.]
  • 1787 Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1976):269-274. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). [These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Rockingham County's 1787 Delinquent List appears on pp. 273-274.]
  • 1788 Boyd-Rush, Dorothy. "Three Tax-Militia Lists: Heads of Families and Male Members Thereof Over Sixteen Years of Age of Rockingham County, Virginia, 1788," The Rockingham Recorder, Vol. 3, No. 2 (Apr. 1982):66-68. Available at FHL.
  • 1789, 1801 Images of the 1789 and 1801 Personal Property Tax Lists of Rockingham County, Virginiaare available to browse online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1790 Boyd-Rush, Dorothy. "1790 Poling List, Rockingham County, Virginia," The Rockingham Recorder, Vol. 3, No. 2 (Apr. 1982):69. Available at FHL.
  • 1792 Strickler, Harry M. Tenth Legion Tithables (Rockingham Division) Rockingham County, Virginia Tithables for 1792: A List of All the White Males Above 16 Years of Age in the County and All the Slaves Above 12 in the County in 1792. Luray, Virginia: H.M. Strickler, 1930. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.592 R4sand FHL US/CAN Film 1425662 Item 7 ; digital version at Ancestry ($); and World Vital Records ($).
  • 1795-1813]Heinegg, Paul. "Rockingham County Personal Property Tax, 1795-1813," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • 1798 Tax list of house owners, 1798, Rockingham Recorder. Dayton VA: Apr 1945. Vol. 1 Iss. 1.
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is 1815 land tax. Rockingham County is included in Vol. 4.]
  • 1815 Boyd-Rush, Dorothy A. "1815 Rockingham County Tax List," Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 40, No. 2 (May 2002):89-102; Vol. 40, No. 3 (Aug. 2002):200-206; Vol. 40, No. 4 (Nov. 2002):317-326; Vol. 41, No. 1 (Feb. 2003):55-68; Vol. 41, No. 2 (May 2003):149-166; Vol. 42, No. 2 (Feb. 2005):97-104; Vol. 43, No. 1 (Feb. 2005):70-74. Available at FHL; digital version of Volume 40 at Ancestry ($).
  • 1815 Boyd-Bragg, Dorothy A. "A List of the Free Negroes, Rockingham County [1815]," Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 45, No. 1 (Feb. 2007):63-64. Available at FHL.
  • 1816 Boyd-Bragg, Dorothy A. "Rockingham County Tax Book for the Year 1816," Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 42, No. 3 (Aug. 2004):189-202; Vol. 42, No. 4 (Nov. 2004):265-284; Vol. 43, No. 2 (May 2005):153-168. Available at FHL.
  • 1857-1863 Tax Digests Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • 1865 Tax Digests Virginia Pioneers ($)

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Beth Fridley has published the following abstracts of Rockingham County, Virginia birth records online at Ancestry:

  • Rockingham County, Virginia Births, 1853-56 [database on-line]. Available at Ancestry ($).
  • Rockingham County, Virginia Births, 1857-59 [database on-line]. Available at Ancestry ($).
  • Rockingham County, Virginia Births, 1860-65 [database on-line]. Available at Ancestry ($).
  • Rockingham County, Virginia Births, 1866-84 [database on-line]. Available at Ancestry ($).
  • Rockingham County, Virginia Births, 1885-87 [database on-line]. Available at Ancestry ($).
  • Rockingham County, Virginia Births, 1888-90 [database on-line]. Available at Ancestry ($).
  • Rockingham County, Virginia Births, 1891-93 [database on-line]. Available at Ancestry ($).
  • 1584-1917 Virginia Births and Christenings, 1584-1917 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
  • Rockingham County, Virginia Births, 1894-96 [database on-line]. Available at Ancestry ($).

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Beth Fridley has published the following abstracts of Rockingham County, Virginia death records online at Ancestry:

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Rockingham County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Rockingham County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Rockingham County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Rockingham County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 22, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1981):54-57. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • Good, Rebecca H. and Rebecca A. Ebert. Finding Your People in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia: A Genealogical Guide. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 1998. 4th ed. FHL Book 975 D27e 1998

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. http://www.rockinghamcountyva.gov/120/History-of-County
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 6, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
  6. Dorothy Boyd-Rush, "The Estate of Margaret Sipe of Rockingham County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 29, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1985):268-271. Digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 29 (1985).
  7. Newberry
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "Rockingham County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rockingham_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 25 February 2020.
  10. 10.0 10.1 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 229-230. Digital version at Google Books.
  11. 11.0 11.1 F. Edward Wright, Early Church Records of Rockingham County, Virginia (Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1998). FHL Book 975.5922 K2w.
  12. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  13. Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  14. J.T. McAllister, Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data (Hot Springs, Va.: McAllister Pub. Co., 1913), 43-44. Digitized by Internet Archive.
  15. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 190. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  16. Michael P. Musick, 6th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 66.
  17. Richard L. Armstrong, 7th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 88.
  18. Terrence V. Murphy, 10th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 55.
  19. Robert J. Driver, 10th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 87.
  20. Richard L. Armstrong, 11th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 52.
  21. Dennis E. Frye, 12th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 42.
  22. Richard B. Kleese, 23rd Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1995). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 118.
  23. Richard L. Armstrong, 25th Virginia Infantry and 9th Battalion Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 71.
  24. John M. Ashcraft, 31st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 48.
  25. Lowell Reidenbaugh, 33rd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 35.
  26. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 16 August, 2012)
  27. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).