Rockbridge County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Rockbridge County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Lexington
Organized: 01 Mar 1778[1]
Parent County(s): Augusta, Botetourt
Neighboring Counties
Alleghany  • Amherst  • Augusta  • Bath  • Bedford  • Botetourt  • Nelson
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaRockbridgeCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Rockbridge County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Rockbridge County is located in the western portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named for Natural Bridge, one of the wonders of the Western World.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Rockbridge County Courthouse
20 South Randolph Street
Lexington, VA 24450
Phone: 540-463-2232
Rockbridge County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth records from 1862-1894, death records 1890-1894, marriage, probate, court and land records from 1778 and divorce records from 1833.Some records burned in 1864[3]

Rockbridge County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1778 1853 1778 1778 1778 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Natural Bridge Virginia.jpg

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes a section on Lexington silversmiths.]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Rockbridge County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop. %±
1790 6,548 —
1800 8,945 36.6%
1810 10,318 15.3%
1820 11,945 15.8%
1830 14,244 19.2%
1840 14,284 0.3%
1850 16,045 12.3%
1860 17,248 7.5%
1870 16,058 −6.9%
1880 20,003 24.6%
1890 23,062 15.3%
1900 21,799 −5.5%
1910 21,171 −2.9%
1920 20,626 −2.6%
1930 20,902 1.3%
1940 22,384 7.1%
1950 23,359 4.4%
1960 24,039 2.9%
1970 16,637 −30.8%
1980 17,911 7.7%
1990 18,350 2.5%
2000 20,808 13.4%
2010 22,307 7.2%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1885-1940 Indian Census Rolls

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Buffaloe[9]
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.
    Rockbridge County fell within the bounds of the Strawberry Association.

Church of England
Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Rockbridge County is available online.[10]

Presbyterian
List of people in call for Rev. John Brown, Timber Ridge Presbyterian Church, 1753: online.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

Chancery Court

  • Indexes (1781-1958) and images (1781-1931) to Rockbridge County, Virginia Chancery Records are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, which were often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

During the War of 1812, American officials reported finding a total of 16 British aliens, many of whom had families, living in Rockbridge County.[11]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Indigenous People

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Driver, Robert J., Bobbie Sue Henry and Angela M. Ruley. Guide to Published Material on the History and Genealogy of Rockbridge County, Virginia and Vicinity. Lexington, Va.: Rockbridge Historical Society, 1997. FHL Book 975.5852 D23g
  • Rockbridge County, Virginia, Heritage Book, 1778-1997. Rockbridge Baths, Va.: Rockbridge Area Genealogical Society, 1997. FHL Collection 975.5852 H2rc
  • Cooper, Homer C. Cooper, McKemy, Ferrell/Farrell, Wooddell, Gothard, Wilson & Patton Families of Augusta & Rockbridge Counties, Virginia; York & Adams Counties, Pennsylvania; Blount, Knox & Roane Counties, Tennessee; Pocahontas, Gilmer & Ritchie Counties, West Virginia; Wayne County, Kentucky; Vigo & Sullivan Counties, Indiana, York County, South Carolina. Athens, Ga.: H.C. Cooper, 1969. FHL Film 1454579 Item 11
  • Hamann, Allen G. Timber Ridge Presbyterian Church (the "Old Stone Church"). 1992-1993. FHL Book 975.5852/T1 K2t and FHL Book 975.5852/T1 K2ti (Includes compiled genealogies for the Alexander, Bowyer, Brown, Campbell, Caruthers, Copper, Crawford, Cummins, Davis, Donald, Gibson, Goldsby, Goodman, Greene, Hamilton, Henry, Hileman, Hughes, Hyde, Keller, Kinnear, Lackey, Lewis, Lyle, Mackey, McClung, McCown, McCutchan, McGuffin, Richey, Shaw, Somerville, Sterrett, Straub, Stuart, Swink, Taylor, Thompson, Trevy, Wilson, Withers, and Womeldorf families; Includes Muse Cemetery Musings.)
  • Hardesty, H.H. and James S. Presgraves. Rockbridge County and Bath County: Families & History; Reprinted from Hardesty's Historical and Geographical Encyclopedia, Chicago, Etc., 1884. Wytheville, Va.: Bookworm & Silverfish, 2001. FHL Book 975.58 D2p
  • Proceedings of the Rockbridge Historical Society. 10 vols. 1939-1989. FHL Book 975.5852 B5p v. 1-v. 10

Dr. George W. Diehl published a series of newspaper articles and other material about local families:

  • Diehl, George West and A. Maxim Coppage. Rockbridge County, Virginia Notebook: Compiled from Articles by Dr. George W. Diehl as Published in the News-Gazette, Lexington, Virginia; Additional Charts and Notes Have Been Added, As Well As Surname Index. Utica, Ky.: McDowell Publications, c1982. FHL Book 975.5852 H2r (Includes genealogical material about the Adams, Arbuckle, Baylor, Beggs, Bell, Blair, Boggs, Borden, Bowyer, Bratton, Brown, Cabell, Calhoun, Cameron, Campbell, Carlile, Caruthers, Clark, Crawford, Davidson, Davis, Doak, Downey, Dunlap, Feemster, Gamble, Gay, Gordon, Grigsby, Hall, Hight, Hite, Kincaid, Lockridge, Long, Lyle, McClure, McCorkle, McCutcheon, McNutt, McPheeters, Mathews, Miller, Mitchell, Moffett, Montgomery, Moore, Noble, Paul, Paxton, Poage, Preston, Ruffner, Smith, Steele, Stephenson, Stuart, Tate, Trimble, Venable, Waddell, Walker, Wallace, and Warwick families.)
  • Diehl, George West and Oxford Presbyterian Church.Old Oxford and Her Families. Verona, Va.: McClure Press, 1971. FHL Book 975.5852 K2d (Includes compiled genealogies for the Anderson, Campbell, Cunningham, Finley, Hall, Houston, Hutton, Johnston, Lam, Leech, Miller, Montgomery, Moore, Morrison, Patterson, Saville, Steele, Tardy, Tate, and Wilson families.)

The Katherine Bushman Papers, 1961-1997 at the Library of Virginia include files about Rockbridge County families.

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records
A historical map is available for Rockbridge County. Hildebrand plots the locations of churches, creeks, etc. from 1778-1865. The Family History Library has a copy: FHL Map 975.5852 E7h. An early settlers map showing the purchasers of the 92,100 acre grant to Benjamin Borden on the west side of the Blue Ridge Mountains (1739) is available. The Family History Library has a copy: FHL Map 975.5 E7hi.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Christian, Bolivar. The Scotch-Irish Settlers in the Valley of Virginia: Alumni Address at Washington College at Lexington, Va. Lexington, Va.: The Alumni Association, 1860. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Augusta CountyNelson CountyAmherst CountyBedford CountyBotetourt CountyAlleghany CountyBath CountyVA ROCKBRIDGE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 22, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1978):121-130. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). [These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Rockbridge County's 1787 Delinquent List appears on 22:123-125.]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some Rockbridge County veterans; see place name index.]


Revolutionary War

  • Morton, Oren Frederic. A History of Rockbridge County, Virginia. Staunton, Va.: [McClure Co.], 1920. 1973 reprint available at FHL. [Includes conveyances in Borden Tract 1741-1780, early patents outside the Borden Tract, secondary land conveyances prior to 1778, tithables of 1778, taxpayers of 1782 and 1841, militia officers prior to 1816, soldiers of the Revolution, Rockbridge Artillery, soldiers of the World War, and other various lists.]
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Rockbridge County on page 136.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.
  • Rockbridge County residents' participation in the Revolutionary War.[12]

Regiments.

- 6th Virginia Regiment (6th Company)[13]
- Militia 1796 Virginia Pioneers ($)


War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Rockbridge County, p. 101. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]

Regiments. Rockbridge County men served in the 8th Regiment.[14]

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Rockbridge County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 1st Battalion, Virginia Cavalry, Local Defense (Confederate). Company C (1st Rockbridge Dragoons)
- 1st Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate).
- 4th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company H (Rockbridge Grays), Company I (Liberty Hall Volunteers), and Company K (Rockbridge Rifles).[15]
- 5th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company B (Rockbridge Rifles).[16]
- 11th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry. Company E (Potomac Mounted Riflemen or Valley Mounted Riflemen).[17]
- 11th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (Valley Regulators).[18]
- 14th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company A (White's Mounted Riflemen), Company C (Valley Cavalry or Rangers) and Company H (Second Rockbridge Dragoons).[19]
- 20th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Companies I and K.[20]
- 25th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Heck's) (Confederate). Company B (Rockbridge Guards).[21]
- 26th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company E.[22]
- 27th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate) . Company E (Greenbrier Rifles aka Lewisburg Rifles) and Company H (2nd) (Rockbridge Rifles).[23]
- 52nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Companies B1 (Fairfield McDowell Guards), E, and K.[24]
- 58th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company G (Kerr's Creek Confederates).[25]


World War I

  • Morton, Oren Frederic. A History of Rockbridge County, Virginia. Staunton, Va.: [McClure Co.], 1920. 1973 reprint available at FHL. [Includes conveyances in Borden Tract 1741-1780, early patents outside the Borden Tract, secondary land conveyances prior to 1778, tithables of 1778, taxpayers of 1782 and 1841, militia officers prior to 1816, soldiers of the Revolution, Rockbridge Artillery, soldiers of the World War, and other various lists.]


World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Private Papers

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

Online Rockbridge County, Virginia Tax Lists
Type Index Images
Free FHC Fee Free FHC Fee
Delinquents - - 1778 - - -
Tithes 1778, 1778 - - - - -
Delinquents - - 1779 - - -
Personal Property 1782, 1782, 1782 - - - 1782 1782
Personal Property 1783 - - - 1783 1783
Personal Property - - - - 1784 1784
Personal Property - - - - 1785 1785
Personal Property - - - - 1786 1786
Personal Property - - - - 1787 1787
Delinquent - - 1787 - - -
Personal Property - - - - 1788 1788
Personal Property 1789 - - 1789 1789 1789
Personal Property - - - - 1790 1790
Personal Property - - - - 1791 1791
Personal Property - - - - 1792 1792
Personal Property - - - - 1793 1793
Personal Property - - - - 1794 1794
Personal Property - - - - 1795 1795
Personal Property - - - - 1796 1796
Personal Property - - - - 1797 1797
Personal Property - - - - 1798 1798
Personal Property - - - - 1799 1799
Personal Property - - - - 1800 1800
Personal Property 1801 - - 1801 1801 1801
Personal Property - - - - 1802 1802
Personal Property - - - - 1803 1803
Personal Property - - - - 1804 1804
Personal Property - - - - 1805 1805
Personal Property - - - - 1806 1806
Personal Property - - - - 1807 1807
Personal Property - - - - 1809 1809
Personal Property - - - - 1810 1810
Personal Property - - - - 1811-1840 -
Personal Property 1841, 1841 - - - 1841 -
Personal Property - - - - 1842-1850 -

Bibliography

  • 1778, 1780 Rockbridge County, Virginia Will Book 1, 1778-1796. Original records, Rockbridge County Courthouse, Lexington, Va.; also available on microfilm at FHL. [Includes 1778 List of Tithables on pp. 24-29; 1780 List of [Tax] Delinquents on p. 107.]
  • 1778-1779 "Rockbridge County, Virginia Tithable Lists, 1778-79," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 18, No. 4 (Oct. 1974):307-310; Vol. 19, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1975):55-58; Vol. 19, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1975):97-100. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • 1778, 1782, 1841] Morton, Oren Frederic. A History of Rockbridge County, Virginia. Staunton, Va.: [McClure Co.], 1920. 1973 reprint available at FHL. [Includes conveyances in Borden Tract 1741-1780, early patents outside the Borden Tract, secondary land conveyances prior to 1778, tithables of 1778, taxpayers of 1782 and 1841, militia officers prior to 1816, soldiers of the Revolution, Rockbridge Artillery, soldiers of the World War, and other various lists.]
  • 1782-1810 Rockbridge County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1810 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1782 Douthat, James L. 1782 Rockbridge County, Virginia Tax Listing. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2012. Free online surname index
  • 1782 Fothergill, Augusta B. and John Mark Naugle. Virginia Tax Payers, 1782-87, Other Than Those Published by the United States Census Bureau. 1940; reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1978. Available through the FamilySearch Catalog. [1782 personal property tax list of Rockbridge County.]
  • 1782-1821 Heinegg, Paul. "Rockbridge County Personal Property Tax, 1782-1821," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • 1783 - Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783; index online at Revolutionary War Service website - free.
  • 1783 Personal Property Tax List, 1783, In and Around Rockbridge. Rockbridge Baths VA: Summer 1994. Vol. 1 Iss. 3 [A-C surnames]; Fall 1994. Vol. 1 Iss. 4 [C-F surnames]; Winter 1994. Vol. 2 Iss. 1 [F-G surnames]; Spring 1995. Vol. 2 Iss. 2 [G-H surnames]; Summer 1995. Vol. 2 Iss. 3 [H-J surnames]; Fall 1995. Vol. 2 Iss. 4 [J-L surnames]; Spring 1996. Vol. 3 Iss. 2 [M surnames]; Fall 1996. Vol. 3 Iss. 4 [M surnames]; Winter 1997. Vol. 4 Iss. 1 [M surnames]; Spring 1997. Vol. 4 Iss. 2 [M-R surnames]; Fall 1997. Vol. 4 Iss. 4 [R-T surnames]; Winter 1998. Vol. 5 Iss. 1 [T-V surnames]; Summer 1998. Vol. 5 Iss. 3 [W surnames].
  • 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Rockbridge County is included in Vol. 2.]
  • 1787 Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 22, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1978):121-130. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). [These records often identify migrants who left the county and their intended destinations. Rockbridge County's 1787 Delinquent List appears on 22:123-125.]
  • 1789, 1801 Images of the 1789 and 1801 Personal Property Tax Lists of Rockbridge County, Virginiaare available to browse online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1802-1814 Tax Digests at Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Rockbridge County is included in Vol. 5.]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Rockbridge County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Rockbridge County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Rockbridge County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • Bodie, Charles A. Rockbridge County, Virginia, Manuscripts: A Guide to Collections in the United States. Lexington, Va.: Rockbridge Historical Society, 1998. FHL Collection 975.5852 H23r
  • Driver, Robert J., Bobbie Sue Henry and Angela M. Ruley. Guide to Published Material on the History and Genealogy of Rockbridge County, Virginia and Vicinity. Lexington, Va.: Rockbridge Historical Society, 1997. FHL Collection 975.5852 D23g

References[edit | edit source]

  1. ↑ Newberry
  2. ↑ Wikipedia contributors, in Rockbridge County, Virginia
  3. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. ↑ Newberry
  6. ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Rockbridge County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Rockbridge_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 25 February 2020.
  8. ↑ Wikipedia Contributors, "Natural Bridge (Virginia)," in Wikipedia: The Free Encyclopedia, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Natural_Bridge_(Virginia), accessed 13 January 2012.
  9. ↑ Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 338-339. Digital version at Google Books.
  10. ↑ William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  11. ↑ Kenneth Scott, British Aliens in the United States During the War of 1812 (Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1979), 320-333. FHL Book 973 W4s; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  12. ↑ J.T. McAllister, Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data (Hot Springs, Va.: McAllister Pub. Co., 1913), 42-43. Digitized by Internet Archive.
  13. ↑ E.M. Sanchez-Saavedra, A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations in the American Revolution, 1774-1787 (Richmond, Va.: Virginia State Library, 1978), 67-68. FHL Book 975.5 M2s.
  14. ↑ Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 188. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  15. ↑ James I. Robertson, 4th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.F. Howard, 1982). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 1.
  16. ↑ Lee A. Wallace, 5th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.:H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 40.
  17. ↑ Richard L. Armstrong, 11th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 52.
  18. ↑ Robert T. Bell, 11th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 20.
  19. ↑ Robert J. Driver, 14th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 47.
  20. ↑ Richard L. Armstrong, 19th and 20th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 101.
  21. ↑ Richard L. Armstrong, 25th Virginia Infantry and 9th Battalion Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 71.
  22. ↑ Richard L. Armstrong, 26th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 110.
  23. ↑ Lowell Reidenbaugh, 27th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 90.
  24. ↑ Robert J. Driver, 52nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 23 and supp.
  25. ↑ Robert J. Driver, Jr. 58th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 68.


v • d • e
Links to Virginia-related articles   (see also West Virginia-related articles)
Topics
Counties
Accomack • Albemarle • Alleghany • Amelia • Amherst • Appomattox • Arlington • Augusta • Bath • Bedford • Bland • Botetourt • Brunswick • Buchanan • Buckingham • Campbell • Caroline • Carroll • Charles City • Charlotte • Chesterfield • Clarke • Craig • Culpeper • Cumberland • Dickenson • Dinwiddie • Essex • Fairfax • Fauquier • Floyd • Fluvanna • Franklin • Frederick • Giles • Gloucester • Goochland • Grayson • Greene • Greensville • Halifax • Hanover • Henrico • Henry • Highland • Isle of Wight • James City • King and Queen • King George • King William • Lancaster • Lee • Loudoun • Louisa • Lunenburg • Madison • Mathews • Mecklenburg • Middlesex • Montgomery • Nelson • New Kent • Northampton • Northumberland • Nottoway • Orange • Page • Patrick • Pittsylvania • Powhatan • Prince Edward • Prince George • Prince William • Pulaski • Rappahannock (New) • Richmond • Roanoke • Rockbridge • Rockingham • Russell • Scott • Shenandoah • Smyth • Southampton • Spotsylvania • Stafford • Surry • Sussex • Tazewell • Warren • Washington • Westmoreland • Wise • Wythe • York
Independent
Cities
Extinct Counties/Cities
Counties
gone to KY
Bourbon • Fayette • Jefferson • Kentucky (extinct) • Lincoln • Madison • Mason • Mercer • Nelson • Woodford
Counties
gone to WV
Barbour • Berkeley • Boone • Braxton • Brooke • Cabell • Calhoun • Clay • Doddridge • Fayette • Gilmer • Greenbrier • Hampshire • Hancock • Hardy • Harrison • Jackson • Jefferson • Kanawha • Lewis • Logan • Marion • Marshall • Mason • McDowell • Mercer • Monongalia • Monroe • Morgan • Nicholas • Ohio • Pendleton • Pleasants • Pocahontas • Preston • Putnam • Raleigh • Randolph • Ritchie • Roane • Taylor • Tucker • Tyler • Upshur • Wayne • Webster • Wetzel • Wirt • Wood • Wyoming
Colonial
Parishes
Abingdon • Accomac • Accomack • Albemarle • Amherst • Antrim • Appomattox • Argall's Gift • Augusta • Bath • Beckford • Berkeley • Blisland • Blount Point • Botetourt • Boutracy • Bristol • Bromfield • Brunswick • Bruton • Camden • Cameron • Charles City • Charles • Charles River • Chickacoan • Chickahominy • Chippokes • Chiskiack • Chotank • Christ Church (Lancaster Co.) • Christ Church (Middlesex Co.) • Chuckatuck • Cople • Cornwall • Cumberland • Dale • Denbigh • Dettingen • Drysdale • East • Elizabeth City • Elizabeth River • Fairfax • Fairfield • Farnham • Flowerdew Hundred • Fluvanna • Frederick • Fredericksville • Hamilton • Hampton • Hanover • Harrop • Henrico • Hog Island • Hungars • James City • Jordan's Journey • Kecoughtan • Kingston • King William • Lancaster • Lawnes Creek • Lee • Leeds • Lexington • Littleton • Lower (Elizabeth City Co.) • Lower (Isle of Wight Co.)  • Lower (Lancaster Co.)  • Lower (Nansemond Co.) • Lower (Northampton Co.) • Lower (Stafford Co.) • Lower (Upper Norfolk Co.) • Lower Suffolk • Lunenburg • Lynnhaven • Machodick • Manchester • Marston • Martin's Brandon • Martin's Hundred • Meherrin • Middle Plantation • Middletowne • Montgomery • Mulberry Island • New Poquoson • Newport • Nomini • Norborne • Northampton • North Farnham • Nottoway (Prince Edward Co.) • Nottoway (Southampton Co.) • Nutmeg Quarter • Occohannock • Overwharton • Patrick • Petsworth • Piankatank • Piscataway • Poropotank • Portsmouth • Potomac • Raleigh • Richmond • Rockbridge • Rockingham • Russell • St. Andrew's • St. Anne's (Albemarle Co.) • St. Anne's (Essex and Caroline Cos.) • St. Asaph's • St. Brides • St. David's • St. George's (Accomack Co.)  • St. George's (Spotsylvania Co.) • St. James Northam • St. James Southam • St. James's (Goochland Co.) • St. James's (Mecklenburg Co.) • St. John's • St. Luke's • St. Margaret's • St. Mark's • St. Martin's • St. Mary's • St. Mary's Whitechapel • St. Patrick's • St. Paul's (Hanover Co.) • St. Paul's (King George Co.) • St. Peter's • St. Stephen's (King and Queen Co.) • St. Stephen's (Northumberland Co.) • St. Thomas • Shelburne • Sittenburne • Smith's Hundred • South • Southampton • South Farnham • Southwark • Stafford • Stanley Hundred • Stratton Major • Suffolk • Tillotson • Trinity (Lancaster Co.) • Trinity (Louisa Co.) • Truro • Upper (Elizabeth City Co.) • Upper (Isle of Wight Co.) • Upper (Lancaster Co.) • Upper (Nansemond Co.) • Upper (Northampton Co.) • Upper (Stafford Co.) • Upper Suffolk • Varina • Wallingford • Ware • Warrosquyoake • Warwick • Washington (Westmoreland Co.) • Washington (Washington Co.) • Waters Creek • West • West and Shirley • Westbury • Westover • Weyanoke • Wicomico • Wilmington • York • Yorkhampton
Major
Repositories
Bristol Public Library · Germanna Foundation Library · Handley Regional Library · Historical Society of Pennsylvania (Philadelphia, PA) · Historical Society of Washington, D.C. · John D. Rockefeller Jr. Library at Colonial Williamsburg · Jones Memorial Library · Library of Congress (Washington, DC) · Library of Virginia · Mary Ball Washington Museum and Library · Maryland State Archives (Annapolis, MD) · National Archives I (Washington, DC) · National Archives II (College Park, MD) · National Archives at Philadelphia (PA) · National Genealogical Society · New York Public Library (New York City, NY) · Pennsylvania State Archives (Harrisburg, PA) · Portsmouth Public Library · Roanoke County Public Library · Salisbury University Edward H. Nabb Research Center for Delmarva History and Culture (Salisbury, MD) · Santa Cruz Public Library Downtown (Santa Cruz, CA) · University of Virginia Library · Virginia Department of Health · Virginia Historical Society · Virginia Theological Seminary · Washington National Records Center (Suitland, MD) · William and Mary College Swem Library
Migration
Routes
Routes:  Chesapeake Bay • James River • Potomac River • Rappahannock River • York River • Chesapeake and Ohio Canal • Chesapeake and Ohio Railroad • Fall Line Road (or Fall Line Road) • Great Indian Warpath • Great Trading Path • Great Valley Road • Kanawha Trail • King's Highway • National Road (Cumberland Road) • New River and Southern Trail • Occaneechi Path • Old Cherokee Path • Old Northwestern Turnpike • Pamunkey-New River Trail • Pioneer Road • Richmond Road • Richmond-Williamsburg Road • Saura-Saponi Trail • Secondary Coast Road • Upper Road • Wilderness Road • Wilmington, Highpoint, and Northern Trail •   Ports:  Atlantic Coast Ports • Accomack  • Alexandria  • Belvoir Plantation  • Bermuda Hundred  • Dumfries  • Falmouth  • Fredericksburg  • Hampton  • Jamestown  • Leedstown  • Norfolk  • Port Royal  • Portsmouth  • South Quay  • Suffolk  • Tappahannock (aka Hobb's Hole)  • Urbanna  • Williamsburg  • Yorktown



This website requires a paid subscription for full access.

FamilySearch affiliate libraries may have access to center-only databases, but do not always have all services normally provided by a family history center.

Retrieved from "https://www.familysearch.org/en/wiki/index.php?title=Rockbridge_County,_Virginia_Genealogy&oldid=4785133"