Rochdale St Chad, Lancashire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Rochdale St Chad, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. See a Comprehensive List of Rochdale Chapelries

Rochdale St Chad, Lancashire
St Chad Rochdale.JPG
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Agbrigg; Salford
County Lancashire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Rochdale
Registration District Rochdale; Todmorden
Records begin
Parish registers: 1582
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochdale
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Archives

Part of this parish is in Yorkshire. See also Rochdale St Chad, Yorkshire.

Parish History[edit | edit source]

ROCHDALE St Chad, a borough, market-town, and parish, and the head of a union, chiefly in the hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, but partly in the Upper division of the wapentake of Agbrigg, W. riding of York, 10½ miles north by northeast of Manchester.[1]

Rochdale St Chad Parish, serving a population of nearly one hundred thousand (by 1851), was not the only church built within its boundary. St Chad's parish boundary was divided up into about twenty chapelry districts, each with is own chapel of ease (or church), with baptism and burial registers (rarely marriages--which instead were usually performed at the ancient parish of St Chad's, Rochdale), standing within its parish boundary. The Comprehensive List of Rochdale Chapelries can help identify its chapels and the availability of registers. St. Mary's church, Hundersfield, was consecrated in 1740. St. James's, Hundersfield, was erected in 1820. At Healey, Littleborough, Milnrow, Saddleworth, Smallbridge, Spotland-Bridge, Todmorden, Walsden, and Whitworth, are other incumbencies. In the town are places of worship for Baptists, Independents, Presbyterians, Unitarians, Wesleyans, Primitive Methodists, Methodists of the New Connexion, the Wesleyan Methodists Association, the Society of Friends, and Roman Catholics. The ancient Trinity chapel was erected in the time of Henry VII. The mother church, that of St. John the Baptist, stands at the east end of the town. Trinity church, in Harrison lane, was built in 1795. St. James' church was built in 1828. St. Mary's church was built in 1869. A new cemetery was formed, in 1841; and another, at StoneyRoyd, was formed in 1861. An Independent chapel, near the railway station, was built in 1857. Another Independent chapel was built in 1869. There are also three other chapels for Independents, three for Baptists, one for Quakers, one for Unitarians, two for Wesleyans, one for Primitive Methodists, two for New Connexion Methodists, one for United Free Methodists, and one for Roman Catholics.

Carpets, cashmeres, orleanses, coburgs, merinoes, lastings, alpacas, damasks, baizes, narrow cloths, broad cloths, kerseymeres, moussline de laines, shalloons, fancy waistcoatings, and other fabrics are made. Dyeing, card making, and the manufacture of chemicals also are carried on. The town was made a parliamentary burgh, by the Reform act, in 1832... Its limits were extended in 1865, and include all the township of Halifax, and parts of the townships of Ovenden, Skircoat, Northowram and Southowram. 1851, 25,161; in 1861, 28,990. Houses, 6,120. The parish contains also the townships of Northowram, Southowram, Skircoat, Shelf, Ovenden, Midgley, Warley, Norland, Sowerby, Soyland, Rishworth, Barkisland, Stainland, Elland-with-Greetland, Hipperholme-with-Brighouse, Rastrick, Fixby, Wadsworth, Erringden, Heptonstall, Stansfield, and Langfield [most of which possess a chapelry]; the last five of which are in the district of Todmorden.

For a list of all places with chapels (Church of England) within the boundary of this parish, view the Comprehensive List of Rochdale Chapelries.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

The Family History Library's British collection has monumental transcriptions of Hawkshead parish and for the Society of Friends old burial ground.

Civil Registration of Births, Marriages & Deaths - 1837 to the Present[edit | edit source]

Read about England Civil Registration (vital records) of birth, marriages and deaths on the England main page.

Online Indexes

There are two separate (free) indexes available for Lancashire civil registration of births, marriages and deaths. One index covers all registrations nation-wide, and one index covers the copies of the local registration districts' certificate copies for all registration districts throughout Lancashire, as follows:

  • FreeBMD - an online (free) nation-wide index to the certificates held at the General Registrar's Office, formerly in London, now in Solihull, Merseyside, UK. The years currently covered in this index include July, 1837 to at least 1940.
  • LancashireBMD - an online index (free) to county-wide births, marriages and deaths for all registration districts throughout Lancashire, for the following range of years and their events: births 1837-1974; marriages 1837-2010; deaths 1837-1975.
  • Lancashire-OPC.org.uk (below) provides numerous parish and chapel transcriptions online (free) running concurrent with the post-1837 to 1910 period. While the parish registers are not certified copies of the civil certificates of birth and death, they do however, often provide primary source birth (baptisms/christenings) and death (burials) information; of especial note are the post-1837 parish marriage registers which provide an exact replica of the civil registration certificates of marriages.

Indexes

FamilySearch's Family History Library British collections holds the quarterly indexes of births, marriages and deaths from July, 1837 to 1983 in microform media.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Chapelry is a church or churches built in a large ecclesiastical parish to help the members attend worship services closer to their homes.

Chapelries of Rochdale St Chad[edit | edit source]
  • Butterworth St James (Milnrow) Chapelry - 1715
  • Castleton St Martin Chapelry - 1858
  • Dobcross Holy Trinity Chapelry (Yorks) - 1787
  • Friarmere St Thomas Chapelry - 1767
  • Friezland Chapelry (Yorks) - 1848
  • Greenfield St Thomas Chapelry - 1874
  • Hey (or Church Lees) St John the Baptist Chapelry - 1743
  • Healey Christ Church Chapelry - 1847
  • Littleborough Holy Trinity Chapelry - 1741
  • Lydgate St Ann's Chapelry - 1788
  • Milnrow St James (Butterworth)
  • Rochdale St Mary (Baum Chapel) Cemetery - 1742
  • Rochdale St Albans Chapelry - 1856
  • Rochdale St Paul Parish - 1755
  • Saddleworth St Chad Chapelry - 1613
  • Smallbridge St John the Baptist Chapelry - 1834
  • Spotland St Clement Chapelry - 1835
  • Todmorden St Mary Chapelry - 1624
  • Todmorden Christ Church Chapelry - 1834
  • Tunstead Holy Trinity Chapelry - 1840
  • Walsden St Peter Chapelry - 1845
  • Wardle with Wuerdle St James Chapelry - 1859
  • Warldeworth St James Chapelry - 1821
  • Wardleworth St Mary Chapelry - 1700
  • Whitworth St Bartholomew Chapelry - 1753

Online Parish Records Table

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Rochdale St Chad Parish Records
All Chapelries Found in Rochdale St Chad are included in these links.
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Parish Registers-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Findmypast-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-Church of England BMD-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1800s-1900s

Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformist Churches (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


The Family History Library has an 1851 census surname index of Lancashire - Rochdale, Butterworth & Castleton subdistricts: Public Redords Office ref HO 107/2244. FHL British Book 942.72 X22c v 21 and on FHL British Microfiche 6414326

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

French, Jenny.  Woodhead of Newbiggin (Northumberland) and Shawforth Valley.  A Pedigree of the Woodheads dating from 1779-1975, withother surnames Jackson, Eastwood, Abramm, Halliwell, Downie, Hedley, French, Hardman, and Woodward,  to be found in The Lancashire Family and Heraldry Soc. Magazine, vol. 11, no. 2, page 26-27, May 1990, Family History Library Ref. 942.72 B2r vol. 11.

Hornby, Michael J. K. Direct Descendants of James Hornby. Family Tree of James Hornby and Alice Mills - she was born in Rochdale, Lancashire, and their descendants which scatter throughout Lancashire, then to Ontario, Canada from about 1910, with the following surnames. Barlow, Harrison, Hargrave, Showell, Drovin, Burkett, Johnston,  Family Tree dates from 1799-1995, and is in Lancashire Family and Heraldry Soc. Magazine, vol. 18, no.2. May 1997, FHL 942.72 B2r.

Dania, Vivien Mrs.  The Danias of Rochdale.  History and family tree of James Danias and Hannah surname unknown. with the following surnames listed on the tree:  Holt, Sagar, Tweedale, Thomlinson, Smith, Wilson, Fitter, Thornton, Bamford, Meadowcroft, Bennet, Howorth, Lees dating from 1837-1982.  Article in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. Magazine vol. 6,no.1. pages 18-20, FHL Ref. 942.72 B2r 

Whatmough of Rochdale, Bacup, and Manchester.  Family tree of Edmund Wattmoe of Packer died 1689, wife unknown, with the following surnames, Wattmough, Hollows, Bamfour, Cleggswood, Whatmough, Robinson, Whitworth, Beard, Shackleton, Worsley Smethurst, Worsley and Morley, dated 1689-1938 in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. Magazine vol. 5, no. 2. pages 18-19, FHL Ref 942.72 B2r

Poor Law Unions
[edit | edit source]

Rochdale Parish was the head of a poor law union.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Go to the Lancashire Probate Records and follow the step by step instructions to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction and search the records.

Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 679-686.