Robeson County, North Carolina Genealogy
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
Guide to Robeson County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Robeson County is located in the south-central portion of North Carolina and shares a border with South Carolina. It was named for Revolutionary War Colonel Thomas Robeson.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Robeson County Courthouse
500 N Elm Street
PO Box 22
Lumberton, NC 28358
Phone: 919-671-3044
Robeson County Website
Register of Deeds has been recorded from 1913, marriage records from 1787, death records from 1915, brand land records from 1799.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce and court records from 1920 and probate records from 1868.[3]
Robeson County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1913 | 1787 | 1915 | 1920 | 1799 | 1868 | 1784 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
Many of the court records are missing. For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
|
|
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Bible Records at North Carolina Digital Archives - index and image
- Robeson County Bible Records at NCGenWeb
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- North Carolina, Historical Records Survey, Cemetery Inscription Card Index at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images Also at: Ancestry ($)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1790 | 5,343 | — |
| 1800 | 6,839 | 28.0% |
| 1810 | 7,528 | 10.1% |
| 1820 | 8,204 | 9.0% |
| 1830 | 9,433 | 15.0% |
| 1840 | 10,370 | 9.9% |
| 1850 | 12,826 | 23.7% |
| 1860 | 15,489 | 20.8% |
| 1870 | 16,262 | 5.0% |
| 1880 | 23,880 | 46.8% |
| 1890 | 31,483 | 31.8% |
| 1900 | 40,371 | 28.2% |
| 1910 | 51,945 | 28.7% |
| 1920 | 54,674 | 5.3% |
| 1930 | 66,512 | 21.7% |
| 1940 | 76,860 | 15.6% |
| 1950 | 87,769 | 14.2% |
| 1960 | 89,102 | 1.5% |
| 1970 | 84,842 | −4.8% |
| 1980 | 101,610 | 19.8% |
| 1990 | 105,179 | 3.5% |
| 2000 | 123,339 | 17.3% |
| 2010 | 134,168 | 8.8% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1700-1970 - North Carolina, Church Records, 1700-1970 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Baptist
- Ash Pole. Organized 1796.[7]
- First Baptist Church, Lumberton, N.C. [8]
- Saddle Tree Creek. Constituted by 1788. [9] Lemuel Burkitt and Jesse Read, A Concise History of the Kehukee Baptist Association: From Its Original Rise Down to 1808 (1808), Chapter 16. Available online at Internet Archives.
Presbyterian
- History of the First Presbyterian Church, Maxton, NC, 1878-1958. (Eastern NC Digital Library)
- Yearbook and Directory of the Rowland Presbyterian Church, Rowland, N.C (Eastern NC Digital Library)
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African Americans Many free African American families moved to Robeson County from Virginia in the 1700s.
- 1862-1870 North Carolina, Freedmen's Bureau Assistant Commissioner Records, 1862-1870 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1863-1872 North Carolina, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1863-1872 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Fairmont[edit | edit source]
Lumberton[edit | edit source]
Maxton[edit | edit source]
Pembroke[edit | edit source]
Red Springs[edit | edit source]
St.Pauls[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
- [Lewis] Lewis, J.D. My Neck of the Woods: The Lewis Families of Southeastern North Carolina and Northeastern South Carolina. Little River, S.C.: J.D. Lewis, 2002.
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
- Misc County Deed Transcriptions (USGenWeb Archives)
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
for more resources
- Maps of Robeson County (NC Maps collection)
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War
- 1778-1833 Delamar Transcripts of Revolutionary War Petitions at North Carolina Genealogical Society - index ($)
- 1779-1782 North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1861-1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1885 and 1901 1885 and 1901 Confederate Pension Applications at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1885-1953 North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Regiments. Men in Robeson County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Robeson County:
- - 3rd Regiment, North Carolina Artillery, Company E
- - 7th Battalion, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company C
- - 8th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain Nathaniel McLean's Company
- - 8th Regiment, North Carolina Senior Reserves, Captain Neill McNeill's Company
- - 12th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, 1st Company D
- - 51st Regiment, North Carolina Militia Company F
World War I
- 1914-1918 World War I Papers at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1917-1919 North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
World War II
- 1939-1945 World Ward II Papers at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1940-1948 North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1799-1893 Robeson County marriages. May be included throughout Carrie Broughton's 6-volume index of the Raleigh Register & State Gazette newspaper (1799-1893). Marriages are listed by year and PDF files are searchable. Available on the North Carolina Digital Collections website.
- Newspapers published in Robeson County. Listing of newspapers published in the county libraries that hold them. (Library of Congress)
- Misc. newspaper articles (USGenWeb Archives)
- Robeson County residents in the newspaper. Name listing of people from the county as located in misc. newspaper articles; time span varies. Articles indexed in the NC People in the Papers database. (NCGenWeb)
- North Carolina Newspapers at DigitalNC
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Misc. Robeson County Obituaries (USGenWeb Archives)
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Voter Registration
- 1868-1898 - North Carolina, Voter Registration Records, 1868-1898 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1660-1790 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry ($)
- 1663-1789 Secretary of State Wills at North Carolina Digital Collections - index and images
- 1663-1978 Wills, 1663-1978; Estate Papers, 1801-1935 (Robeson County)(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1663-1979 North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1665-1998 North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry ($)
- 1720-1960 Will Books A to F and 1 to 8 (1720-1960) at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1735-1970 North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1760-1800 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry ($)
- 1783-1851 Wills, 1783-1851(*); Clerk of the Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1783-1966 Bonds and records (North Carolina), 1736-1957 at FamilySearch
- 1787-1865 Wills, 1787-1865(*); County Court of Pleas and Quarter Sessions at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1787-1869 North Caroline Pioneers Images of Wills ($)
- 1787-1966 Record of Wills, 1787-1966(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1790 Pre-1790 Robeson County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills (North Carolina State Archives)
- 1869-1936 Record of Administrators, Executors, J.P!s and Notaries, 1869-1936(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1903-1912 Record of Administrators, Executors, and Guardians, 1903-1912(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1907-1921 Administrators' Records, 1907-1921(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1962-1965 Qualifications of Trustees Under Wills, 1962-1965(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- Miscellaneous Robeson County Wills, transcriptions (USGenWeb Archives)
School Records[edit | edit source]
- Robeson County College Students. Name list of students at various NC colleges with identified hometowns in Robeson. Yearbook Index. (NCGenWeb)
- Flora McDonald College yearbooks from 1921-1961. (Internet Archive)
- Presbyterian Junior College yearbooks from the mid 1930s-1960s. (Internet Archive)
- UNC-Pembroke yearbooks from the 1940s to the 1980s. (Internet Archive)
- Flora Macdonald College, published by Ralph Walter Page, 1920.
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- 1800-2000 - North Carolina, Department of Archives and History, Index to Vital Records, 1800-2000 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- Uncertified copies of vital records can be ordered for a small fee from the Durham County Register of Deeds.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1800-2000 North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1866-1964 North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1913-1922 North Carolina, Center for Health Statistics, Vital Records Unit, County Birth Records, 1913-1922 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1741-2004 North Carolina, United States Marriages at Findmypast
- 1741-2004 North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry $
- 1759-1979 North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Index
- 1762-1979 North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1763-1868 North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1850-1944 Robeson County Marriage Index 1850-1944 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch
- Robeson County Marriages (NCGenWeb)
- Misc. Robeson County Marriages (USGenWeb Archives)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1898-1994 North Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1898-1994 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1906-1930 North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1908-2004 North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry $
- 1909-1975 North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry $
- 1931-1994 North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1926-1975 North Carolina, County Divorce Records, 1926-1975 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1958-2004 North Carolina Divorce Index 1958-2004 at Ancestry $
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Robeson County. For state-wide archival repositories, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Robeson County. For state-wide library facilities, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Robeson County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see North Carolina Societies.
- Southeastern North Carolina Genealogical Society
PO Box 468
Chadbourn, NC 28431-0468
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Robeson County NCGenWeb
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/Robeson
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Robeson County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Robeson County, North Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robeson_County,_North_Carolina, accessed 24 February 2020.
- ↑ Lemuel Burkitt and Jesse Read, A Concise History of the Kehukee Baptist Association: From Its Original Rise Down to 1808 Chapter 16. Digital version at archive.org "Ashpole Church," North Carolina Highway Historical Marker Program, accessed 22 October 2012.
- ↑ First Baptist Church, Lumberton, North Carolina; one hundred years of Christian witnessing, 1855-1955 (Eastern NC Digital Library)
- ↑ George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:491.
