Ripley County, Indiana Genealogy
Guide to Ripley County, Indiana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Ripley County was named for Gen. Eleazer Wheelock Ripley, an officer in the War of 1812, who was mainly remembered for the Battle of Lundy's Lane and the Siege of Fort Erie, in 1814. The county is located in the east-central area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Ripley County Courthouse
P.O. Box 177
Versailles, IN 47042
Phone: 812-689-6115
County Website
Ripley County Health Department
102 West 1st North Street, Suite 106
P.O. Box 745
Versailles, IN 47042
Health Officer: David Welsh, MD
Phone Number: 812-689-5751
Fax: 812-689-3909
Health Department
County Health Department has birth and death records.
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1818.
County Recorder has land records. [3]
Health Department has birth records and death records. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
Ripley County, Indiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1882 | 1818 | 1882 | 1918 | 1818 | 1818 | 1807 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Townships | ||
| Ghost towns | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
- History and Directory of Ripley County. 1888. By Ed. C. Jerman. [Versailles, Indiana : Republican Print]. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library. Brief history begins page 64; county historical timeline pages 69-88.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Ripley County census records online, see: Indiana Census.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1820 | 1,822 | — |
| 1830 | 3,989 | 118.9% |
| 1840 | 10,392 | 160.5% |
| 1850 | 14,820 | 42.6% |
| 1860 | 19,054 | 28.6% |
| 1870 | 20,977 | 10.1% |
| 1880 | 21,627 | 3.1% |
| 1890 | 19,350 | −10.5% |
| 1900 | 19,881 | 2.7% |
| 1910 | 19,452 | −2.2% |
| 1920 | 18,694 | −3.9% |
| 1930 | 18,078 | −3.3% |
| 1940 | 18,898 | 4.5% |
| 1950 | 18,763 | −0.7% |
| 1960 | 20,641 | 10.0% |
| 1970 | 21,138 | 2.4% |
| 1980 | 24,398 | 15.4% |
| 1990 | 24,616 | 0.9% |
| 2000 | 26,523 | 7.7% |
| 2010 | 28,818 | 8.7% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Ripley County, Indiana (1880) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.
For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Methodist
- 1847-1915 - Methodist Episcopal Church, Batesville, Baptism Index 1847-1915 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch C761331 .[8]
- 1847-1916 - Methodist Episcopal Church, Batesville, Marriage Index 1847-1916 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. Batch M761331.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.
After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the Ripley County courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Ripley County. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information. For more information about local histories, see Indiana Local Histories.
- History of Ripley County, Indiana. 1968. Compiled by the Business and Professional Women of Osgood, Versailles, Milan and Holton. Batavia, Ohio : Clermont Pub. Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Indiana
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Military Record Series Index at Indiana Digital Archives
- DAR Ross Run Chapter. Marked graves of Revolutionary soldiers buried in Ripley Co., Ind.
Civil War
Civil War service men from Ripley County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Ripley County.
- 5th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry (90th Regiment, Indiana Volunteers), Company H
- 6th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company K
- 7th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Companies C, and D
- 9th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company B
- 13th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company B
- 16th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company F
- 20th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company G
- 37th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company A, D, and Reorganized Company A
- 44th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company K
- 68th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B, E, and K
- 83rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies A, E, F, G, and K
- 91st Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company I
- 123rd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company D
- 146th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company H
- 156th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company C
- 28th US Colored Troops, Addition Recruits for Colored Troops
World War I
- 1919 Indiana, World War I, Enrollment Cards, 1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- edited by Minnie Elizabeth Wycoff. Ripley County's part in the World War 1917-18 : compiled under the direction and censorship of the Ripley County Historical Society. Batesville, Indiana : Enquirer Printing and Publishing Co., 1920.
- Residents of Ripley County who served in WWI at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- Naturalization Record Series (for this county) at Indiana Digital Archives. Search by names.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Indiana newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
For more Indiana newspaper information see the wiki page Indiana Newspapers.
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
- 1804-2010 Hoosier State Chronicles 1804-2011
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the Ripley County courthouse. For more information, see Indiana Probate Records.
- 1798-1999 Indiana Wills and Probate Records 1798-1999 at Ancestry
- Probate Inventories at The University of Mary Washington
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1780-1992 Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1800-2007 Indiana, United States Marriages at Findmypast ($)
- 1802-1892 Indiana, Compiled Marriages, 1802-1892 at Ancestry
- 1811-1959 Indiana, Marriages, 1811-1959 at MyHeritage - index and images, ($)
- 1811-2007 Indiana Marriages, 1811-2007 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Death[edit | edit source]
- Pre-1882 WEB: Indiana, Deaths, Pre-1882 at Ancestry.com - index, (Free collection)
- 1750-1993 Indiana Deaths and Burials, 1750-1993 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1882-1920 Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1899-2011 Indiana, Death Certificates, 1899-2011 at Ancestry
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Ripley County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Batesville Indiana Family History Center
- North Vernon Indiana Family History Center
- Franklin County Public Library - an affiliate library.
- Greensburg-Decatur County Public Library - an affiliate library.
- Lawrenceburg Public Library District - West Harrison Branch - an affiliate library.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Ripley County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Batesville Memorial Public Library
131 N. Walnut St.
Batesville, IN 47006-4897
Phone: 812-934-4706
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Ripley County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Societies.
Ripley County Historical Society
P.O. Box 525
125 Washington St.
Versailles, IN 47023
Phone: 812-689-3031
Email: staff@rchslib.org
Website
Batesville-Area Historical Society
15 West George St.
Batesville, IN 47006
Phone: 812-932-0999
Email: bahs@etczone.com
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Ripley County, Indiana Genealogical Data page from Ripley County, Indiana, Historical Society
- Ripley County, Indiana Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Indiana Digital Archives Search by name in all records or specific collections
- Indiana Historical Society Digital Collections Extensive - keyword searches suggested
- Indiana Memory Click the map or select a statewide collection
- List of indexes and databases at Indiana State Library
- Indiana Genealogical Society Databases Select a county
- Every Name Index.com Online indexes for county histories. Select a county
- Ripley County Resources on IndianasGore
- INGenWeb, Ripley County
- USGenWeb, Ripley County
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Ripley County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ripley_County,_Indiana accessed 04/03/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Ripley County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ripley_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Ripley County, Indiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ripley_County,_Indiana, accessed 02 January 2020.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/8/8d/Igiindianah.pdf.
