Richmond County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Richmond County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Warsaw
Organized: 26 Apr 1692[1]
Parent County(s): Rappahannock (old)
Neighboring Counties
Essex  • Lancaster  • Middlesex  • Northumberland  • Westmoreland
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaRichmondCityCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Richmond County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Richmond County is located in the eastern portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia. There is no consensus on the origin of Richmond County’s name, but it has been accepted that the county was named for the first Duke of Richmond, cousin to King William and Queen Mary.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Richmond County Courthouse
101 Court Street
PO Box 1000
Warsaw, VA 22572
Phone: 804 504-333-3781
Richmond County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth and death records 1853-1895, marriage records from 1853, divorce, probate and land records from 1693[3]

Richmond County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1853 1853 1692 1693 1693 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890
  • Many courthouse records are missing for unknown reasons.
  • 1794-1816 Order books 1794-1816 and loose papers before 1781 are also missing.[5]

Visit the Library of Virginia's website to determine exactly what records have been lost and their Lost Records Localities Database to find additional resources.

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Towns
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Occupations

  • Hammack, Russell Cralle. "Lumbering in Richmond County," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 26 (1976).
  • Lewis, James F. "Farmer's Club - Richmond County 1851," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 26 (1976).
  • Pearson, Virginia Drewry McGeorge and Joseph Belfield. "Doctors of Yesteryear, Richmond County, Virginia," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 24 (1974). [Includes Belfield family.]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Richmond County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

  • 1800-1986 Virginia, Jewish Cemetery Records Index, ca. 1800-1986 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
  • "Cemetery Records," [Richmond County - Richard Dameron Family Cemetery - Family Cemetery of Robert Christian Sanders - Family Cemetery of Stephen H. Sanders of Cobham Park Neck] Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol.23 (1973).
  • "Cemetery Records," [Richmond County - Omohundro Family Cemetery at "Hickory Thicket" - Boswell Family Cemetery - Stosch Family Cemetery] Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 24 (1974).
  • "Cemetery Records, Richmond County," [Emmanuel Episcopal Chapel at Emmerton, North Farnham Episcopal Church Parish - Walnut Lawn, home of Daniel Garland near Warsaw - Shackleford Family Cemetery, Warsaw - Menokin Baptist Church near Ethel Post Office - France Family Graveyard near Newland "on farm owned by Burley France" - Lemoine Family Graveyard at Emmerton - Richardson Family Graveyard near Luttrellville on route 600 from Village to Rianswood "these stones were removed from the graves by the owner and placed against a tree."] Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 19 (1969).[9]
  • "Early Tombs in Westmoreland, Richmond, and Northumberland Counties," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 11, No. 2 (Oct. 1902):123-130; Vol. 11, No. 3 (Jan. 1903):191-195. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • "Packett Family Graveyard at Sabine Hall," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 56 (2006).
  • Pearson, Virginia Drewry McGeorge. "Cemetery Records, Cobham Park Baptist Church," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 27 (1977).
  • Pearson, Virginia Drewry McGeorge. "Cemetery Records, Emmanuel Episcopal Church Cemetery; Emmerton, Virginia; Cloverdale Farm, Strawberry Hill, Bryant Family Burial Ground near Robley, Clarke Family Burial Ground, Packett Family Burial Ground on Sabine Hall, Belfield Family Cemetery Records on Belle Mount. All in Richmond County," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 21 (1971).
  • Pearson, Virginia Drewry McGeorge. "Family and Cemetery Records," [Richmond County - Wellford Family Cemetery at Sabine Hall, Warsaw - Carter Family- Landon Carter Family-Tayloe Family Cemetery at Mt. Airy, Warsaw, VA - Doctor's Hall Cemetery "near where Rapphannock Creek (Cat Point) empties into Rappahannock River" - Brockenbrough Family-Sturman Family Cemetery on Meadowbrook Farm - Chestnut Hill Cemetery, Beale Family - Middletwon Family Cemetery at Durretsvile, or Emmerton "in field of between home of Eloise Middleton Mullin and the Jackson Store"] Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 20 (1970).
  • Pearson, Virginia Drewry McGeorge. "Packett and Delano Family Burial Ground," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 22 (1972).

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 6,985
1800 13,744 96.8%
1810 6,214 −54.8%
1820 5,706 −8.2%
1830 6,055 6.1%
1840 5,965 −1.5%
1850 6,448 8.1%
1860 6,856 6.3%
1870 6,503 −5.1%
1880 7,195 10.6%
1890 7,146 −0.7%
1900 7,088 −0.8%
1910 7,415 4.6%
1920 7,434 0.3%
1930 6,878 −7.5%
1940 6,634 −3.5%
1950 6,189 −6.7%
1960 6,375 3.0%
1970 5,841 −8.4%
1980 6,952 19.0%
1990 7,273 4.6%
2000 8,809 21.1%
2010 9,254 5.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1782-1785, 1790

  • Heads of families at the first census of the United States taken in the year 1790, Virginia : records of the state enumerations: 1782 to 1785. Online at FamilySearch Digital Library.

1890 Union Veterans

  • "Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890." FHL film 1425065, item 14. Includes residents of this county.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  • Farnham (1790). A centennial history was published in 1890:
  • "Centennial History of Farnham Baptist Church, Richmond County, Virginia, 1790-1890, Probably Written by Rev. Robert Williamson," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 22 (1972).
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.

Church of England

Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Madison County is available online.[10]

Gotoarrow.png See also Farnham Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Hanover Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Lunenburg Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also North Farnham Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Piscataway Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Richmond Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also St. Mary's Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Sittenburne Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also South Farnham Parish

  • "Extracts from the Register of Farnham Parish, Richmond County, Virginia," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 7, No. 1 (Jul. 1899):52-64. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • Marsh, Beulah Hinton. "The Early Churches of Northern Neck," [Aquia Church in Stafford County, Christ Church Lancaster County, Farnham Church in Richmond County, Lamb's Creek Church in King George County, St. Mary's White Chapel in Lancaster County, St. Paul's Church in King George County, Yeocomico Church in Westmoreland County--Baptist Churches of White Marsh in Lancaster, Morattico Baptist, Nomini in Westmoreland, Farnham in Richmond, Hanover Baptist in King George] Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 2 (1952).
  • Mason, George Carrington. "The Colonial Churches of Essex and Richmond Counties," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 53, No. 1 (Jan. 1945):3-20. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • Payne, Addie V. "Old Farnham Among Most Interesting Virginia Shrines; 200-Year-Old Church Has Seen Depradations of Three Wars; Silver of 18th Century Still Used; Building is Restored," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 10 (1960).

Presbyterian
There was a Presbyterian congregation in Richmond County from the 1750s through the 1770s.[11]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

General

  • Fleet, Beverley. Richmond County Records, 1704-1724. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1961. FHL Collection; digital version at Ancestry ($). [Contains depositions, fines., etc.]
  • Pearson, Virginia Drewry McGeorge. "Richmond County, Virginia, Courthouses (and Predeccors)," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 20 (1970).
  • Simmons, Christine K. "Public Building, Circa 1748," [Richmond County Court House] Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 3 (1953).

County Court

  • "Abstracts from Records of Richmond County, Virginia," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 17, No. 2 (Oct. 1908):73-85 [abstracts of some entries from Order Books 1-5 (1692-1713)]. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • Morgan, Gwenda. "Law and Social Change in Colonial Virginia: The Role of the Grand Jury in Richmond County, 1692-1776," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 95, No. 4 (Oct. 1987):453-480. Available at JSTOR ($).

Chancery Court

  • Library of Virginia's Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index can be used to search for Richmond County chancery records for the years 1748-1958. The records are located on microfilm or available via the Clerk's office.

Officials[edit | edit source]

  • "Justices of the Peace, Richmond County, Virginia 1757-1775," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 24 (1974).
  • O'Dell, Jeffrey M. "The War of Independence and the Northern Neck of Virginia," [Chapter IV, Richmond County, High Sheriffs, Patrol List Captains, Justices] Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 21 (1971).

Petitions[edit | edit source]

  • "Miscellaneous Legislative Petitions From The Counties of Westmoreland, Richmond, Northumberland and Lancaster," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 10 (1960).

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. "Correspondence with the American Colonies 1739-1782," The Genealogist, Vol. 12, No. 1 (Spring 1998):108-128; Vol. 12, No. 2 (Fall 1998):189-205. [Overseas correspondence of residents of Sabine Hall [Richmond County] and Menokin, Richmond County with the following surnames: Carter and Lee.] FHL Collection
  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes wills of residents of Farnham [North Farnham Parish], Richmond County, St. Mary's Parish, and Sittenburne Parish proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]
  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Headley, Robert K. Married Well and Often: Marriages of the Northern Neck of Virginia 1649-1800: Marriages and Marriage References for the Counties of Lancaster, Northumberland, Old Rappahannock, Richmond, and Westmoreland. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Pub. Co., 2003. FHL Book 975.52 V2h.
  • Pritchett, John W. Southside Virginia Genealogies. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. name index at Virginians - The Family History of John W. Pritchett. Includes Richmond County. FHL CD-ROM no. 3887.
  • Yurechko, John Otto. Virginians Along and Near the Lower Rapphahannock River, 1607-1799. 2 vols. Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1997-1998. FHL Book 975.5 D2yj v. 1-v. 2. Contents: v. 1. Blake, Brooks (Brook), Churchill, Cook (Cock), Daniel, Dixon, Gore, Kidd, Lewis, Martin, Montague, Taylor and Wood -- v. 2. Brown, Clark, Elliott, Fox (Fowkes, Vaulx), Harrison, McTyre, Moore, Pate, Rawlins (Rollins), Rhodes, Sanders (Saunders) and Williams.
  • Newman family and their community in Colonial time period

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

  • Deeds from 1692-1698, digitized microfilm are in the catalog under Richmond County, Virginia.
  • "Abstracts from Records of Richmond County, Virginia," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 17, No. 2 (Oct. 1908):73-85 [abstracts of some entries from Deed Books 1-2 and Miscellaneous Deeds (1692-1696, 1770s)]. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • Fleet, Beverley. Richmond County Records, 1692-1704: Deed Book No. 1, 1692-1693, Deed Book No. 2, 1693/4-1696, Deed Book No. 3, Lost, Miscellaneous Records, 1699-1704. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1961. FHL Collection; digital version at Ancestry ($).

Grants and Patents

  • Gray, Gertrude E. Virginia Northern Neck Land Grants 1694-1742. Vol. I. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1987. FHL Collection; digital version at Ancestry. [Includes Richmond County.]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Bryant, W. Elwood. "Life on a Self Contained Farm," [after the Civil War] Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 28 (1978).
  • "Musicale at Belleville, from Northern Neck News December 18, 1891," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 21 (1971).
  • Kreiser, Barnette. "Nursery of A New Nation: The Northern Neck of Virginia," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 25 (1975).
  • Rice. "Music in Richmond County," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 42 (1992).
  • Ryland. "An Address Observing the Tercentenary of Richmond County, Virginia," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 42 (1992).
  • Ryland, Charles H. "Richmond County, An Address by Charles H. Ryland at Mt. Airy on September 30, 1967," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 17 (1967).
  • Ryland. "Richmond County's Colonial Tavern in Warsaw," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 42 (1992).
  • Ryland. "The Name 'RICHMOND,'" Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 42 (1992).


Historic Residences

  • Arnest, H. Lee. "Andrea Polladio, The Venetian High Renaissance And the Northern Neck of Virginia," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 26 (1976). [Mt. Airy]
  • Brown. "Cobham Park: Kent, England and Richmond County, Virginia," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 42 (1992).
  • Chinn, Esther Ball. "Edge Hill, near Downings, Richmond County, Virginia," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 21 (1971). [Chinn family residence.]
  • Pearson, Virginia Drewry McGeorge. "Belle Mount Farm, Richmond County, Virginia," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 21 (1971).
  • Pearson, Virginia Drewry McGeorge. "'Harlyn Lodge' (Sedgely) - Richmond County," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 22 (1972).
  • Pearson, Virginia Drewry McGeorge. "Indian Banks," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 22 (1972). [Glasscock family residence.]
  • Pearson, Virginia Drewry McGeorge. "Linden Farm," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 33 (1983).
  • Pearson, Virginia Drewry McGeorge. "New Design," [Orchard Grove] Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 26 (1976).
  • Pearson, Virginia Drewry McGeorge. "Wilna - Sharps," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 16 (1966).
  • Pearson, Virginia Drewry McGeorge. "Woodford, Originally Farnham Plantation," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 15 (1965).
  • Pearson, Virginia Drewry McGeorge. "Wrens Nest," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 25 (1975).
  • Wellford, Dabney. "Sabine Hall," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 8 (1958).
  • Wellford, R. Carter and T. Dabney Wellford. "Old Carter Family Portraits at Sabine Hall," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 25 (1975).

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

  • Wilson, John C. Creek Peek Collection: From the Piankatank to the Potomac: Locations of 195 Creeks, Coves, Bays, Branches, Prongs, Ponds and Rivers in Lancaster, Middlesex, Northumberland, Richmond and Westmoreland Counties of Virginia. Rappahannock Press, 199-?.
Westmoreland CountyNorthumberland CountyLancaster CountyEssex CountyVA RICHMOND.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1976):269-274. FHL Collection; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Richmond County's 1787 and 1789 Delinquent Lists appear on pp. 272-273.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. FHL Collection. Online at: Ancestry ($). Identifies some Richmond County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. FHL Collection; digital version at Internet Archive. Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch (French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War) with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Richmond County, see p. 100.
  • Ryland, Elizabeth Powell. "Richmond County Men in the French and Indian Wars," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 25 (1975).
  • Sweeny, William Montgomery. "Richmond County, Virginia: Claims for Services in French and Indian War, and War of the Revolution, and List of Revolutionary War Officers Commissioned," The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 23, No. 2 (Apr. 1943):220-223. Available at JSTOR ($).


Revolutionary War

  • O'Dell, Jeffrey M. "The War of Independence and the Northern Neck of Virginia," [Chapter IV, Richmond County, High Sheriffs, Patrol List Captains, Justices] Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 21 (1971).
  • Ryland, Charles H. "An Address Delivered by Charles H. Ryland at 'Mt. Airy,' September 25, 1976, in Connection with the Observance by Richmond County, Virginia, of the Bicentennial of the Independence of The United States of America," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 26 (1976).
  • Shearman, Virginia W. "Revolutionary War Soldiers, Sailors and Patriots of Richmond and Westmoreland Counties, VA (1775-1783)," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 25 (1975); Vol. 26 (1976).
  • Sweeny, William Montgomery. "Richmond County, Virginia: Claims for Services in French and Indian War, and War of the Revolution, and List of Revolutionary War Officers Commissioned," The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 23, No. 2 (Apr. 1943):220-223. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital versions at FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, Ancestry ($). 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Eastern District, Richmond County on page 133.

Regiments. Service men in Richmond County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Richmond County supplied soldiers for the:

- 5th Virginia Regiment
- 15th Virginia Regiment


Colonial Militia

  • Lewis, James F. "Richmond County Militia, 1804-05," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 8, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1964):66. Available at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. FHL Collection. Online at: Ancestry ($). Identifies some Richmond County militia officers and/or soldiers; see place name index.
  • Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. FHL Collection; digital book at Ancestry ($). Identifies some Richmond County militia officers; see place name index.


War of 1812
Richmond County men served in the 41st Regiment.[12]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Internet Archive, Ancestry ($). See Vol. 5, Virginia, Richmond County, p. 100. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.


Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Richmond County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 9th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company K (Richmond County Cavalry).[13]
- 15th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B.
- 20th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (The Virginia Guard).[14]
- 21st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company F.[15]
- 47th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D.[16]
- 59th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Companies A1 (Richmond Light Infantry Blues) and E3 (Bruce Guard).[17]
- 60th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (3rd Regiment, Wise Legion) (Confederate). Company 1H (Richmond Light Guard).[18]


World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Private Papers

Coldham, Peter Wilson. "Correspondence with the American Colonies 1739-1782," The Genealogist, Vol. 12, No. 1 (Spring 1998):108-128; Vol. 12, No. 2 (Fall 1998):189-205. [Overseas correspondence of residents of Sabine Hall [Richmond County] and Menokin, Richmond County with the following surnames: Carter and Lee.] FHL Collection

  • [Brockenbrough] "Two War Letters of Mrs. Eliza Bland Smith Brockenbrough of Belle Ville, Richmond County, Virginia," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 11 (1961).
  • [Sanders] Sherman, Virginia W. "Records from the Bible of Robert Sanders of Richmond County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 11, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1967):135-136. Available at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • [Williams] Booker, J. Motley and James F. Lewis. "Life As It Was For The Teenage Boy Richmond County - 1853," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 15 (1965).

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

Local Court

  • "Abstracts from Records of Richmond County, Virginia," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 17, No. 2 (Oct. 1908):73-85 [abstracts of some wills from Will Books 2 (1699-1708); Vol. 17, No. 3 (Jan. 1909):176-195 [abstracts of some wills from Will Books 3-7 (1710-1790)]. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • Davison, Gertrude Sanford. "Henry Asbury's Will, June 12, 1813," Northern Neck of Virginia Historical Magazine, Vol. 23 (1973).
  • Headley, Robert K. Wills of Richmond County, Virginia, 1699-1800. Baltimore, Maryland: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1983. FHL Book 975.523 P2h; Archive.org.
  • Hopkins, William Lindsay. Some Wills from the Burned Counties of Virginia and Other Wills Not Listed in Virginia Wills and Administrations 1632-1800. Richmond, Virginia: W.L. Hopkins, 1987. FHL Collection [Includes Richmond County.]
  • Sweeny, William Montgomery. Wills of Rappahannock County, Virginia 1656 - 1692. [Lynchburg, Virginia?]: Mrs. W.M. Sweeny, 1947. FHL Collection 975.534 P2s and FHL Collection 1421588 Item 4; digital version MyHeritage ($).

London Courts

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes wills of residents of Farnham [North Farnham Parish], Richmond County, St. Mary's Parish, and Sittenburne Parish proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]
  • 1717-1725 Images of Wills and Estates Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • 1753-1767 Images of Wills and Estates Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • 1788-1794 Images of Wills and Estates Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • Images of Wills, Estates, Deeds - 1699-1709; 1699-1724; 1709-1717; 1784-1798; 1794-1822. Virginia Pioneers ($)

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1716 Land Owners, 1716, Tidewater Virginia Families. Williamsburg VA: Feb 2003. Vol. 11 Iss. 4.
  • 1771 Cridlin, W.B. "Richmond County Election Poll, 1771," Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 29(1921):510-512. FHL Collection; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available as FHL Collection; digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • 1782-1814 Richmond County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1814 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1782-1817 Heinegg, Paul. "Richmond County Personal Property Tax List, 1782-1817," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • 1783 - Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783; index online at Revolutionary War Service website - free.
  • 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987.FHL Collection [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Richmond County is included in Vol. 2.]
  • 1787, 1789 Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1976):269-274. FHL Collection; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Richmond County's 1787 and 1789 Delinquent Lists appear on pp. 272-273.]
  • 1789, 1798 Indexed images of the 1789 and 1798 Personal Property Tax Lists of Richmond County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1799 Indexed images of the 1799 Land Tax List of Richmond County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. FHL Collection [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Richmond County is included in Vol. 3.]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Richmond County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Richmond County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Richmond County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

Compiled genealogies are a good place to start research for this area, see Richmond County, Virginia Genealogy. If you are researching families who lived in Richmond County, Virginia between the 1690s and 1720s, the Sparacios' book indexes are a great time saver. The indexes are available for free online.

  • Davis, Virginia Lee Hutcheson. "Records of Tidewater Virginia Counties," Tidewater Virginia Families: A Magazine of History and Genealogy, Vol. 1, No. 2 (May-June 1992):53-66. FHL Collection 975.51 D25t [For Richmond County, see p. 63]
  • Dorman, John Frederick. "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Richmond County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 21, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1977):222-224. Available at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. https://co.richmond.va.us/about-us
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 4, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
  6. Newberry
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Richmond County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Richmond_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 25 February 2020.
  9. Catalog, Mary Ball Washington Museum and Library, http://www.mbwm.org/.
  10. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  11. Northern Neck Presbyterian Churches, Church History, ca. 1720-1780. FHL Film 1490375 Item 6.
  12. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 186. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  13. Robert K. Krick, 9th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1982). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 2.
  14. G.L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 20th and 39th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 105.
  15. Susan A. Riggs, 21st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 72.
  16. Homer D. Musselman, 47th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 73.
  17. G.L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 59th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 107.
  18. J.L. Scott, 60th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL book 975.5 M2vr v. 130.