Richland County, Illinois Genealogy
Guide to Richland County, Illinois ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Richland County, Illinois | |
| Map | |
| |
 Location of Illinois in the U.S. | |
| Facts | |
| Founded: | February 24, 1841 |
|---|---|
| County Seat | Olney |
| Courthouse | |
 | |
| Address | Richland County Courthouse 103 W. Main Street Olney, Illinois 62450 (618) 392-3111 |
Richland County Organization[edit | edit source]
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1878 | 1841 | 1878 | Unknown | 1836 | 1841 | 1850 |
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Richland County are kept, see the Richland County Courthouse page.
Historical Facts[edit | edit source]
Richland County is named for Richland County, Ohio which is where many of the settlers of this area originated.
Parent County[edit | edit source]
- 1841--Richland County was created 24 February 1841 from Clay and Lawrence Counties. County seat: Olney [2]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county seat is Olney and the county was organized on 1841. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[3]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Illinois county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Illinois County Boundary Maps" (1790-1869) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[4]
| Cities | ||
| Villages | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Townships | ||
Resources[edit | edit source]
Biography[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1850 | 4,012 | — |
| 1860 | 9,711 | 142.0% |
| 1870 | 12,803 | 31.8% |
| 1880 | 15,545 | 21.4% |
| 1890 | 15,019 | −3.4% |
| 1900 | 16,391 | 9.1% |
| 1910 | 15,970 | −2.6% |
| 1920 | 14,044 | −12.1% |
| 1930 | 14,053 | 0.1% |
| 1940 | 17,137 | 21.9% |
| 1950 | 16,889 | −1.4% |
| 1960 | 16,299 | −3.5% |
| 1970 | 16,829 | 3.3% |
| 1980 | 17,587 | 4.5% |
| 1990 | 16,545 | −5.9% |
| 2000 | 16,149 | −2.4% |
| 2010 | 16,233 | 0.5% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
The Genealogy Library has County Census books from 1850 to 1940
Church Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Abstracts
- 1869–1959 Scherer, Mary. St. Paul's Lutheran Church, 1869-1959, Richland County, Illinois. Olney, Illinois: Mary Scherer, 1985. At other Libraries(WorldCat) FHL book 977.377 K2sc
Catholic[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch has made parish records from two Belleville Diocese Catholic churches in Richland County available online. The records include first communions, confirmations, marriages, and deaths:
- Church Records of St. Joseph Parish, Olney, Richland County, Illinois 1859-1956, browsable online (no index); courtesy: FamilySearch.
- Church Records of St. Joseph Parish, Stringtown, Richland County, Illinois 1859-1956, browsable online (no index); courtesy: FamilySearch.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Original court records are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Court Records for more information about using court records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through the Family History Library
Abstracts
- 1841–1852 Richland County Genealogical & Historical Society. Richland County, Ill. board minutes. Olney, Illinois: Richland County Genealogical & Historical Society, [1985?]. At other Libraries(WorldCat) FHL book 977.377 P2r
Ethnic Research[edit | edit source]
African American[edit | edit source]
The following have information concerning African American research.
- African American Genealogy (US) has more information about the kinds of records
- Illinois State Archives pamphlet on African American Research describes what records are at the State Archives with an online method for ordering records.
- African American Resources for Illinois
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
History[edit | edit source]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- Biographical and Reminiscent History of Richland, Clay and Marion Counties, Illinois. Indianapolis, Ind.: B.F. Bowen & Co., 1909. Digital versions at Ancestry ($); Internet Archive. FHL Film 825601
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Original land records are held in the office of the County Clerk . See Illinois Land and Property for more information about using land records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online sources, the Family History Library or the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Eastern Illinois University (EIU) - search for Franklin County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the EIU IRAD Wiki page.
- 1829-1974 Deed Indexhttps://www.ilsos.gov/isa/localgovrecordssrch.jsp IRAD-EIU]:*1840–1863 Grantor and grantee indexes FHL film 1221741 Item 3 (first of 4 films)
- 1840–1901 Deeds FHL film 1221744 Item 5 (first of 19 films)
- 1841-1975 Deed Record https://www.ilsos.gov/isa/localgovrecordssrch.jsp IRAD-EIU]
- Family Maps. Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Richland County, Illinois. Norman, Oklahoma: Arphax Pub. Co., c2007. WorldCat 141190297FHL book 977.377 E7b
Online Resources
- Illinois Public Domain Land Tract Sales See Illinois Land and Property for more information about this database. Also available at Ancestry ($)
- 1796–1907 U.S. General Land Office Records found at Ancestry.com ($)
- Richland County Federal Township Plats
- 1800s – Present - Use the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) Land Patent Index to obtain original federal land transfer records, including homestead, military warrants, and cash entry patents. These records help a researcher establish location and lead to National Archives’ records which may include genealogical information. Earlier land transfer records are at the National Archives.
Additional Resources
Additional resources for Richland County land and property may be found online in the FamilySearch Catalog and FamilySearch Catalog–maps. Online microfilm are indicated by the camera icon in the catalog entry. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the WorldCat Online Catalog.
Maps[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Richland County Federal Township Plats
- USGenWeb, Richland County, Illinois (ILGenWeb), Maps
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Military[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Civil War service men from Richland County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies or regiments that were formed from men of Richland County.
- - 5th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company F.
- - 6th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company E.
- - 8th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (3 months, 1861), Company D.
- - 8th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company D.
- - 13th Regiment, Illinois Cavalry, Company E.
- - 21st Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company K.
- - 60th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company F.
- - 63rd Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies A, C, E, and I.
- - 98th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Companies B, G and H.
- - 130th Regiment, Illinois Infantry, Company H.
- - 136th Regiment, Illinois Infantry (100 days, 1864), Companies C and G.
World War II[edit | edit source]
- USGenWeb, Richland County, Illinois, (ILGenWeb), WWII Honor List of Dead and Missing
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Online Records
- 1800-1998 - Illinois, County Naturalization Records, 1800-1998 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1856-1991 - Illinois, U.S., Federal Naturalization Records, 1856-1991 at Ancestry.com - index and images, ($)
Newspapers and Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
The Richland Co Genealogy Society has microfilm of newspapers and thousands of fully searchable obits.
Questions can be directed to: richlandcogensoc@hotmail.com
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1772 - 1999 Illinois Wills and Probate Records 1772-1999 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1819 - 1988 Illinois Probate Records 1819-1988 at FamilySearch.org — images
Original estates and wills are held in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk. See Illinois Probate Records for more information about using probate records.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through, the Family History Library.
- [No probate record holdings noted in IRAD-EIU Richland County Listing.] Search for Richland County records. Information about how to use IRAD
Copies of original records
- 1841–1917 Probate records FHL film 1312960 (first of 9 films)
- 1855–1938 Will and guardian records FHL first film 1312968 Item 3 (first of 8 films)
Additional Resources
Additional resources for Richland County probates may be found in the Illinois, Richland – Probate topic pages of the FamilySearch Catalog . Online microfilm are indicated by the camera icon in the catalog entry. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the WorldCat Online Catalog.
Repositories[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
County records are most often kept at the County Courthouse or another local repository. For further information about where the records for Richland County are kept, see the Richland County Courthouse page.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
There are over 4500 Introduction to Family History Centers worldwide which serve as branch facilities of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah. Volunteers provide research assistance to help patrons identify their ancestors. Some microfilm and microfiche may be available at various family history centers. Locate your nearest Family History Center at the FamilySearch website. Call ahead to verify operating hours. All are welcome.
The following centers are accessible to residents of Richland County, Illinois:
Centralia Illinois Family History Center
Leafland & 3rd Street
Centralia, Marion, Illinois
Phone: 618-532-3482
Hours: Wednesday 2-6pm
Attention: We have temporarily moved to this new location while our building is being remodeled.
Evansville Indiana Family History Center
8020 E Covert Ave
Evansville, Vanderburgh, Indiana
Phone: 812-471-0191
Hours: First Wednesday of every month 10:00 - 12:00, Tues & Wed evening 6:00 - 8:00; other times by appointment
Closed: Closed Major Holidays
Vincennes Indiana Family History Center
1940 N Old Hwy 41
Vincennes, Knox, Indiana
Phone: 812-882-4022
Hours: T, Thu 9am-12:30pm, 5pm-8:30pm
Closed: Closed 1 1/2 weeks for Christmas
Please note: Addresses posted are not mailing addresses. Due to limited staff, Family History Centers are unable to respond to mail inquiries.
Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)[edit | edit source]
The Illinois State Archives administers a system of Illinois Regional Archives Depositories (IRAD) to manage the archival records of local governments. Local governments which have transferred records to the regional depositories include counties, townships, municipalities, and school districts. The records of Richland County come under the jurisdiction of the Eastern Illinois University (EIU) regional depository.
Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD)
Booth Library
Eastern Illinois University (EIU)
600 Lincoln Avenue
Charleston, IL 61920
Telephone: (217) 581-6093
Hours: Monday – Friday, except state holidays
9:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.; 1:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Note: The depository is staffed by graduate student interns. Because of class scheduling conflicts, hours may vary somewhat from the published schedule. Researchers are urged to call before planning a visit.
Public Libraries[edit | edit source]
Olney Public Library
400 West Main
Olney, IL 62450
618-392-3711
HOURS
Mon-Thurs 10am-7pm
Fri-Sat 10am-5pm
Sun- Closed
[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Richland County Genealogical and Historical Society]
PO Box 202
Olney IL 62450
E-mail:richlandcogensoc@hotmail.com
Facebook
Website
[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
See Illinois Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Illinois. See also How to order Illinois Vital Records or order electronically online.
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Original birth and death certificates recorded until the year 1916 are kept by the Richland County Clerk while those recorded after 1916 are kept by the Illinois Department of Public Health with a copy to the County Clerk. Original marriage records are usually kept by the County Clerk from the establishment of the county to the present. Original divorce records are generally in the office of the Circuit Court Clerk.
The following abstracts and copies of original records may be accessed through online databases, the Family History Library and the Illinois Regional Archives Depository (IRAD) located at the Eastern Illinois University (EIU) - search for Richland County records. For information on how to use IRAD see the IRAD Wiki page.
Births[edit | edit source]
Copies of original Records
- 1859-1904 Birth Record, Delayed - IRAD-EIU Search for Richland County records.
- 1877–1916 Index to births IRAD-EIU FHL film 1221094 Item 5 and 1221095 Item 1
- 1877–1972 Birth records book FHL film 1221094 Item 5 and 1221095 Items 2–3
- 1885–1972 Delayed birth record books FHL film 1221095 Items 4 and 1221096 Items 1–2
- 1889-1905 Birth Record - IRAD-EIU Search for Richland County records. How to use IRAD
Marriages[edit | edit source]
Copies of original Records
- 1840–1950 Marriage records FHL film 1221093 Items 3–4 (first of 2 films)
- 1841–1950 Marriage RecordsIRAD-EIU
- 1841-1950 Marriage Record Index IRAD-EIU FHL film 1221093 Items 1–2
Online Resources
- 1587-1959 - Illinois, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1763-1900 Illinois Statewide Marriage Index, 1763-1900
- 1790–1860 Illinois Marriage index found at Ancestry.com ($)
- 1805-1985 Illinois, Church Marriages, 1805-1985 at FamilySearch — index
- 1810-1934 Illinois, County Marriages, 1810-1934 at FamilySearch — index
- 1833-1889 Illinois, Civil Marriages, 1833-1889 at FamilySearch — index
Deaths[edit | edit source]
Copies of original Records
- 1877-1950 Death Record - IRAD-EIU Search for Richland County records. How to use IRAD FHL film 1221096 Item 4 (first of 4 films)
- 1877-2003 Death Record Index - IRAD-EIU Search for Richland County records.
- 1878-1940 Index of death records FHL film 1221096 Item 3
- 1883-1904 Still Births FHL film 1221741 Item 2
- 1884-1904 Death Record, Stillbirths - IRAD-EIU Search for Richland County records.
Online Resources
- 1749-1999 Illinois Deaths and Burials, 1749-1999 at FamilySearch — index, some images
- 1850-1880 Illinois Mortality Schedules, 1850-1880 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1850-1885 U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules, 1850-1885 found at Ancestry.com ($)
- Pre-1916 Illinois Statewide Death Index, Pre-1916
- 1916-1950 Database of Illinois Death Certificates, 1916-1950
- 1916-1950 Illinois Deaths, 1916-1950 at MyHeritage - index, ($)
Additional Resources[edit | edit source]
Additional resources for Richland County births, marriages and deaths may be found in the Illinois, Richland – Vital Records, the topic page of the FamilySearch Catalog . Online microfilm are indicated by the camera icon in the catalog entry. Copies of books found in the FamilySearch Catalog may be found in WorldCat catalog and ordered from your local library through interlibrary loan. Explore how to search the FamilySearch Catalog and the WorldCat Online Catalog.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Richland County, IL Genealogy Society
- USGenWeb, Richland County, Illinois (ILGenWeb)
- Richland County, IL History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Richland County IL Genealogy
- Illinois Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Richland County Network Group on Facebook
Databases pertinent to Richland County
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Richland County, Illinois. Page 192-199 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 194-197.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ Genealogy Trails History Group, “Perry County, Illinois Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ill/richland/ accessed 04/19/2017.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Richland County, Illinois," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Richland_County%2C_Illinois, accessed 15 March 2020.
