Rhode Island, State Census, 1935 - FamilySearch Historical Records
|Access the Records|
Rhode Island State Census, 1935
|This article describes a collection of records at FamilySearch.org.|
|Rhode Island, |
|Flag of Rhode Island|
|Location of Rhode Island|
|Rhode Island State Archives|
What is in This Collection?[edit | edit source]
The collection consists of images and an index to population schedules of the census of Rhode Island taken by the state in 1935. Rhode Island began taking its own state census every ten years in 1865 and continued through 1935; however, the 1895 census is missing.
Officially known as the 1935 state census, these schedules are on computer cards dated January 1936. This census is an every-name list of the state's inhabitants as of 1935. The collection includes most individuals within the enumerated counties. The census records do not show individuals in family groups.
The 1935 census was recorded by enumerators directly onto punch cards which were then arranged alphabetically by county, then by township (not by town), and then by surname and given name. The census was taken January through March 1936, but was a list of the State’s inhabitants as of 1935.
The census was compiled to obtain a count of the population of the state to determine how many representatives the state would send to Congress.
Censuses are usually reliable, depending on the knowledge of the informant and the care of the census enumerator. Information may have been given to a census taker by any member of the family or by a neighbor.
Image Visibility[edit | edit source]
Whenever possible FamilySearch makes images and indexes available for all users. However, rights to view these data are limited by contract and subject to change. Because of this there may be limitations on where and how images and indexes are available or who can see them. Please be aware some collections consist only of partial information indexed from the records and do not contain any images. For additional information about image restrictions see Restrictions for Viewing Images in FamilySearch Historical Record Collections.
What Can These Records Tell Me?[edit | edit source]
The following information may be found in these records:
- Date and place of enumeration including city, township and county
- Principal's name and address
- Principal's gender, race and marital status
- Date of and place of birth
- Naturalization status
- Usual and present occupation
- Employed or seeking employment
- Whether or not principal is literate
- If at school, name of school and grade
- Physical disabilities
- Has principal ever had measles, scarlet fever, or diphtheria
Collection Content[edit | edit source]
Sample Image[edit | edit source]
Digital Folder Number List[edit | edit source]This collection was published as a DGS browse collection. The list does not contain any description of the DGS folder's content. A table listing each DGS number and its contents can be found at Rhode Island, State Census, 1935 Digital Folder Number List.
How Do I Search This Collection?[edit | edit source]
Before searching this collection, it is helpful to know:
- The name of your ancestor
- The age of your ancestor
- The place where the family lived
Search the Index[edit | edit source]Search by name on the Collection Details Page.
- Fill in the search boxes in the Search Collection section with the information you know
- Click Search to show possible matches
View the Images[edit | edit source]To view images in this collection:
- Look at the Digital Folder Number List article to determine the folder/film number for the images you want to see
- Go to the Browse Page
- Select the Film number to view the images
|More images are available in the FamilySearch Catalog at Rhode Island State Census, 1935. Some catalog records link to multiple references. In this case, click on a reference to find a camera icon to see images.|
How Do I Analyze the Results?[edit | edit source]
Compare each result from your search with what you know to determine if there is a match. This may require viewing multiple records or images. Keep track of your research in a research log.
What Do I Do Next?[edit | edit source]
When you have located your ancestor in the census, carefully evaluate each piece of information about them. These pieces of information may give you new biographical details that can lead you to other records about your ancestors.
I Found the Person I Was Looking For, What Now?[edit | edit source]
- Search for vital records, such as birth, marriage, and death
- Use the naturalization information to find their naturalization papers in the county court records. It can also help you locate immigration records such as a passenger list which would usually be kept records at the port of entry into the United States
- If they are subject to military service, they may have military files in the State or National Archives
- It is often helpful to extract the information on all families with the same surname in the same general area. If the surname is uncommon, it is likely that those living in the same area were related
- Search for land and probate records
I Can't Find the Person I Was Looking For, What Now?[edit | edit source]
- Look for variant spellings of the names. You should also look for nicknames and abbreviated names
- Look for another index. Local genealogical and historical societies often have indexes to local records
- Search the indexes and records of nearby counties
- Be sure to search both the male section (listed first) and the female section
- There is also the possibility that a family was missed in the census
Research Helps[edit | edit source]
The following articles will help you research your family in the state of Rhode Island.
- Rhode Island Guided Research
- Rhode Island Research Tips and Strategies
- Step-by-Step Rhode Island Research, 1880-Present
Other FamilySearch Collections[edit | edit source]
These collections may have additional materials to help you with your research.
FamilySearch Catalog[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Historical Records[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Digital Library[edit | edit source]
Citing This Collection[edit | edit source]
Citations help you keep track of places you have searched and sources you have found. Identifying your sources helps others find the records you used.
The citation for this collection can be found on the Collection Details Page in the section Citing this Collection.
When looking at a record, the citation can be viewed by clicking the drop-down arrow next to Document Information.
When looking at an image, the citation is found on the Information tab at the bottom left of the screen.