Quebec, Canada Genealogy

Canada

Quebec

Guide to Quebec ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.

Quebec Wiki Topics
Beginning Research
Guided Research Research Strategies Record Finder
Record Types
Biography Business Records & Commerce Cemeteries Census Church Records Civil Registration Court Records Directories Emigration & Immigration Compiled Genealogies Land & Property Loiselle Marriage Index	Military Records Naturalization & Citizenship Newspapers Notarial Records Obituaries Online Records Periodicals Probate Records Rivest Marriage Index School Records Vital Records
Quebec Background
Québécois Word List Gazetteers Historical Geography History Languages	Maps Personal Names Tanguay's Genealogical Dictionary For Further Reading
Ethnicity
Cultural Groups First Nations	Jewish Records
Local Research Resources
Archives & Libraries Societies Family History Centers

Getting Started

Getting Started with Quebec Research Links to articles on getting started with Quebec research. Guided Research How to Locate Your Ancestor in Canada Step-by-Step Quebec, Canada Research Genealogy in 8 Lessons

Quebec Research Tools Links to articles and websites that assist in Quebec research. Quebec Federation of Genealogical Societies (FQSG) Canada Online Genealogy Records Genealogy Quebec, index and images ($) BMS2000 Database, index and images. ($) PRDH Database, index and images. ($) Fichier Origine (Original File) Database, index and images. French Genealogical Word List Latin Genealogical Word List Reading French Handwritten Records 1: The French Alphabet, 2: Key Words and Phrases 3: Reading French Records French Records Extraction Manual, Full Manual French Letter Writing Guide

Quebec Online Genealogy Records

Ask the FamilySearch Community

Quebec Map

Quebec Region

List of the administrative regions of Quebec and their genealogical or historical societies (in french)

Bas-Saint-Laurent (01) Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean (02) Capitale-Nationale (03) Mauricie (04) Estrie (05) Montréal (06)

Outaouais (07) Abitibi-Témiscamingue (08) Côte-Nord (09) Nord-du-Québec (10) Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine (11) Chaudière-Appalaches (12)

Laval (13) Lanaudière (14) Laurentides (15) Montérégie (16) Centre-du-Québec (17)

Historic Counties

Records in the catalog of the Family History Library are filed under these historic counties. Quebec's counties were dissolved in the early 1980s, and Quebec was then divided into regional county municipalities. However, the regional county municipality jurisdiction is not used in the vital records system, and therefore has little meaning for genealogy. Each county page, under "History" lists the modern RCMs associated with that county.

• Click here for a 1872 postal gazetteer which will tell you the historic county of a location. For communities settled and created after 1871, enter the locality name without the county in the search field of the Family History Library, to see whether records are available for that locality.

Abitibi Acton Argenteuil Arthabaska Bagot Beauce Beauharnois Bellechasse Berthier Bonaventure Brome Chambly Champlain Charlevoix-Est Charlevoix-Ouest Châteauguay Chicoutimi Compton Deux-Montagnes Dorchester

Drummond Frontenac Gaspé-Est Gaspé-Ouest Gatineau Hull Huntingdon Iberville Île-de-Montréal Île-Jésus Îles-de-la-Madeleine Joliette Kamouraska Labelle Lac-Saint-Jean-Est Lac-Saint-Jean-Ouest Laprairie L'Assomption Lévis L'Islet

Lotbiniere Maskinongé Matane Matapédia Mégantic Missisquoi Montcalm Montmagny Montmorency No 1 Montmorency No 2 Napierville Nicolet Papineau Pontiac Portneuf Québec Richelieu Richmond Rimouski Rivière-du-Loup

Rouville Saguenay Saint-Hyacinthe Saint-Jean Saint-Maurice Shefford Sherbrooke Soulanges Stanstead Témiscamingue Témiscouata Terrebonne Territoire-du-Nouveau-Québec Vaudreuil Verchères Wolfe Yamaska

Extinct or Renamed Historic Counties: Jacques Cartier · Laval

The Fur Trade

• In New France
  

Migration Routes

Lake Champlain · St. Lawrence River · Chambly Canal · Champlain Canal · Halifax Road or Grand Communication Route  · Lake Champlain Trail

FamilySearch Resources

Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.

• Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
• Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
• Historical Records - databases and record images on FamilySearch
• Family History Center locator map

 

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.