Putnam County, West Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Putnam County, West Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Israel Putnam. The County is located in the southwest area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Putnam County Courthouse
3389 Winfield Road
Winfield, WV 25213
Phone: 304-586-0202
Putnam County Website
County Clerk has birth records from 1848, death records from 1853, marriage and probate records from 1853, land records from 1841.
Circuit Court Clerk has divorce and court records.[3]
Putnam County, West Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1848 | 1849 | 1853 | 1848 | 1841 | 1849 | 1870 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating West Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation West Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
||
| Census-designated places | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1850 | 5,335 | — |
| 1860 | 6,301 | 18.1% |
| 1870 | 7,794 | 23.7% |
| 1880 | 11,375 | 45.9% |
| 1890 | 14,342 | 26.1% |
| 1900 | 17,330 | 20.8% |
| 1910 | 18,587 | 7.3% |
| 1920 | 17,531 | −5.7% |
| 1930 | 16,737 | −4.5% |
| 1940 | 19,511 | 16.6% |
| 1950 | 21,021 | 7.7% |
| 1960 | 23,561 | 12.1% |
| 1970 | 27,625 | 17.2% |
| 1980 | 38,181 | 38.2% |
| 1990 | 42,835 | 12.2% |
| 2000 | 51,589 | 20.4% |
| 2010 | 55,486 | 7.6% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
For tips on accessing Putnam census records online, see: West Virginia Census.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
- Rust - Rust, Ellsworth Marshall. Rust of Virginia: Genealogical and Biographical Sketches of the Descendants of William Rust, 1654-1940. Washington, D.C.: Rust, 1940. FHL Book 929.273 R922re.
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See West Virginia Land and Property for additional information about early West Virginia land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Putnam County, West Virginia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section West Virginia Local Histories.
- History of Putnam County, West Virginia
- History and Genealogy Putnam County, West Virginia
- Centennial Celebration, Hurricane, West Virginia, 1888-1988: Program. s. l., n. p., 1988. 975.435 H966c Pam.
- Comstock, Jim. Hardesty's Historical and Genealogical Encyclopedia. Richwood, West Virginia, Jim Comstock, 1973. 975.4003 H259 1973 v.1.
- Hanson, Lee H. The Buffalo Site: A Late 17th Century Indian Village Site (46 PU 31) in Putnam County, West Virginia. Morgantown, West Virginia, West Virginia Geological and Economic Survey, 1975.
Geo 3. R4 no.5. - Harper, Charles Ray. History of Red House, West Virginia. Red House, West Virginia, Charles Harper, 1983.
975.435 H293 Pam. - _________________. A Short History of Putnam County, in Two Parts. Red House, West Virginia, Charles Harper, Putnam Democrat and Hurricane Breeze, 1983.
975.435 H293s Pam. - Historical Records Survey, West Virginia. Inventory of the County Archives of West Virginia: No. 40 Putnam County (Winfield). Division of Professional and Service Projects, Work Projects Administration, Charleston, West Virginia, West Virginia Historical Records Survey, 1941.
016.9754 P899. - History of Buffalo, Putnam County, West Virginia. Pt. Pleasant, West Virginia, Mattox Printing Service, 1976.
975.435 B929. - History of Hurricane, 100 Years, 1888-1988. Salem, West Virginia, Walsworth Press, Inc., 1988.
975.435 H966. - Upper Vandalia Historical Society. The Paradise Journals, 1884-1905, Putnam County, West Virginia. s. l., Upper Vandalia Historical Society, 1981. 975.435 P222 Pam.
- ____________________________. The Vandalia Journal. s. l., Upper Vandalia Historical Society, 1964-.
Per. - Wintz, William D. and Hunter, Ivan N. The History of Putnam County. Charleston, West Virginia, Upper Vandalia Historical Society, Quick Copy Service Company, 1967.
975.435 H673.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- Maps of West Virginia (1617-1995)
- Map of 1850 Virginia and West Virginia
- Putnam County, West Virginia map
- Map West-Virginia
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Regiments. Service men in Putnam served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Putnam County:
Confederate
- - 8th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company G (Mountain Rangers).[7]
- - 16th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company D.[8]
- - 22nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (1st Kanawha Regiment). Company A (Border Rifles).[9]
- - 34th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Witcher's Battalion, Virginia Mounted Rifles) (Confederate). Company B.[10]
- - 36th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company B.[11]
- - 36th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (2nd Kanawha Infantry) (Confederate). Company A (Buffalo Guards).[12]
Union
Records and histories are available, including:
- 1861-1865 West Virginia Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
World War II[edit | edit source]
{{WV World War II Intro|Putnam}
- 1940-1945 - West Virginia, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- Putnam County, West Virginia World War II Casualties Army and Air Force
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1814-1991 West Virginia Naturalization Records, 1814-1991 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Charleston Gazette Obituaries
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1724-1978 West Virginia Wills and Probate Records 1724-1978 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1756-1971 West Virginia Will Books 1756-1971 at FamilySearch — index and images - How to Use this Collection
- Putnam County, West Virginia Wills
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
West Virginia real and personal property tax records are managed by the County Assessor in each county. Land and land improvements are considered real property while mobile property is classified as personal property.
Many County Assessors offer an online searchable database, where assessment record searches can be performed by name, account number, year, or mp/parcel number. Where online records are not available, requests for records can be made to the Assessment Office in person, by phone, or in writing.
The search for tax information can start here
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- West Virginia Vital Records, 1865-1969 (varies) - Includes birth, death, and marriage.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1853-1914 West Virginia Birth Index, 1853-1914 at MyHeritage - index ($)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1776-1971 West Virginia, County Marriage Records, 1776-1971 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
- 1780-1970 West Virginia Marriages, 1780-1970 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
- 1801-1962 West Virginia, United States Marriages at FindMyPast; index $
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1804-1999 - West Virginia Deaths, 1804-1999 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1853-1964 West Virginia Death Index & Certificates, 1853-1964 at MyHeritage - index ($)
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Putnam County. For state-wide archival repositories, see West Virginia Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- The closest family history centers are in the Huntingon Family History Center and in the Charleston Family History Center
- Introduction to Family History Centers
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Putnam County. For state-wide library facilities, see West Virginia Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Putnam County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see West Virginia Societies.
Upper Vandalia Historical Society
PO Box 517
Poca, WV 25159
Upper Vandalia Historical Society
Upper Vandalia Historical Society Facebook
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Putnam County, WV History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- West Virginia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Cyndi's List West Virginia
- Putnam County, West Virginia Various Microfilm Records at the Library of Virginia
- Putnam County, West Virginia
- Putnam County, West Virginia Families
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Putnam County, West Virginia" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Putnam_County,_West_Virginia."
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Putnam County, West Virginia. Page 743-746 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 742-743.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), West Virginia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Putnam County, West Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Putnam_County,_West_Virginia, accessed 14 July 2018.
- ↑ Jack L. Dickinson, 8th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 25.
- ↑ Jack L. Dickinson, 16th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 60.
- ↑ Terry D. Lowry, 22nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 44.
- ↑ Scott C. Cole, 34th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 94.
- ↑ J.L. Scott, 36th and 37th Battalions Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 24.
- ↑ J.L. Scott, 36th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 36.
- ↑ Ronald R. Turner, 7th West Virginia Cavalry (Manassas, Va.: R.R. Turner, 1989). Digital version at Raleigh County West Virginia GenWeb; FHL Book 975.4 M2t.
