Pulaski County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Pulaski County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Pulaski
Organized: 30 Mar 1839[1]
Parent County(s): Montgomery, Wythe
Neighboring Counties
Bland  • Carroll  • Floyd  • Giles  • Montgomery  • Wythe
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaPulaskiCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Pulaski County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Pulaski County is located in the Southwestern portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named in honor of Count Casimir Pulaski, an exiled Polish nobleman, who came to the colonies in 1777 to join Washington's army[2].

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Pulaski County Courthouse
45 Third Street, NW #101
Pulaski, VA 24301
Phone: 540-980-7825
Pulaski County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage records from 1882,< divorce, probate, court and land records from 1839[3]

Pulaski County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1839 1853 1839 1839 1839 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

  • Lost census: 1890

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Casimir Pulaski

The county is named after General Casimir Pulaski (1745-1779), a Polish nobleman who died fighting for the Patriot cause in the Revolutionary War.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Pulaski County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1840 3,739
1850 5,118 36.9%
1860 5,416 5.8%
1870 6,538 20.7%
1880 8,755 33.9%
1890 12,790 46.1%
1900 14,609 14.2%
1910 17,246 18.1%
1920 17,111 −0.8%
1930 20,566 20.2%
1940 22,767 10.7%
1950 27,758 21.9%
1960 27,258 −1.8%
1970 29,564 8.5%
1980 35,229 19.2%
1990 34,496 −2.1%
2000 35,127 1.8%
2010 34,872 −0.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1840

  • Douthat, James L. 1840 Mountain Empire of Virginia Census. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2001. FHL Collection 975.5 X2d 1840. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. [Includes Pulaski County.]

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Presbyterian

  • 1854-1875 - Drapers Valley Presbyterian Christenings 1854-1875. Batch C504741 at FamilySearch - free.[8]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records
Library of Virginia's Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index can be used to search digital images of Pulaski County chancery records for the years 1841-1913.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records
An early settlers map is available for Pulaski County. The cartographer plots the locations of pioneers from 1776-1976. The Family History Library has a copy: FHL Map 975.5775 E7m.

Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.*Hudgins. 575 patents dated 1746-1887 in what is now Pulaski County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper. 2009. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Pulaski County, Virginia: A Historic and Descriptive Sketch Designed to Show Forth the Natural Advantages, Resources and General Adaptability of the Banner County of Southwest Virginia, to Agriculture, Cattle Raising, and also Commercial and Industrial Enterprises. Pulaski, Va.: Southwest Pub. Co., 1907. Availale at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Galax (Independent City)Carroll CountyRadford (Independent City)Montgomery CountyFloyd CountyGiles CountyBland CountyWythe CountyVA PULASKI.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Pulaski County on page 136.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.


War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Pulaski County, p. 100. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]


Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Pulaski County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:
[9][10]

- 4th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C (Pulaski Guards).[11]
- 24th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company E (Pulaski Guards).[12]
- 50th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company I.[13]
- 54th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company F.[14]
- Dublin Provost Guard (Confederate)(Information about this Pulaski County Guard can be found on page 275 of the preceding reference 1.)

Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Pulaski County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865


World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Private Papers[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Pulaski County, Virginia Tax Lists
Type Index Images
Free FHC Fee Free FHC Fee
Personal Property 1839 - - - 1839 -
Personal Property - - - - 1840-1850 -

Bibliography

  • [1839] Personal Property Tax List, 1839, Virginia Appalachian Notes Vol. 7, No. 1 (Feb. 1983), pp. 1-7; online at Roanoke Public Library - free.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Pulaski County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Pulaski County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Pulaski County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Pulaski County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 21, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1977):122-123. Digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. http://www.pulaskicounty.org/
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Newberry
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Pulaski County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pulaski_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 25 February 2020.
  8. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.
  9. Pages 257-275, The Land That Is Pulaski County FHL book 975.5775 H2s Pulaski County
  10. FHL book 975.5 M2vr v. 29 titled A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations 1861-1865.
  11. James I. Robertson, 4th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.F. Howard, 1982). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 1.
  12. Ralph White Gunn, 24th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 34.
  13. John C. Chapla, 50th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 129.
  14. George L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 54th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1993). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 91.
  15. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 16 August, 2012)