Providence County, Rhode Island Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Providence County, Rhode Island ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat:
Organized: June 16, 1729
Parent County(s): Providence Plantations[1]
Neighboring Counties
Bristol  • Bristol (MA)  • Kent  • Norfolk (MA)  • Windham (CT)  • Worcester (MA)  •
See County Maps
Courthouse
Rhode Island, Providence County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Ri-providence.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County is located in the north area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Providence County Courthouse
250 Benefit Street
Providence, RI 02903
Phone: 401-222-3250
Providence Courthouse

Records are kept on the town level and not the county level.
Town and City Clerks have birth, marriage and death records.
Probate Judge has probate records.
Family Court has divorce records.
Municipal Court has court records.
Recorder Deeds has land records.

Providence County, Rhode Island Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
at town creation at town creation at town creation 1703 1636 1636 1747
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1853. General compliance by 1915.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

Rhode IslandConnecticutMassachusettsProvidence CountyKent CountyWashington CountyNewport CountyBristol CountyBristol CountyNorfolk CountyWorcester CountyWindham CountyFosterScituateGlocesterBurrillvilleNorth SmithfieldSmithfieldWoonsocketCumberlandLincolnCentral FallsJohnstonCranstonProvidenceNorth ProvidencePawtucketEast ProvidenceConventryWest WarwickWarwickEast GreenwichNorth KingstownPortsmouthBarringtonBristolSterlingKillinglyPutnamThompsonWebsterDouglasUxbridgeMillvilleBlackstoneMendonBellinghamFranklinWrenthamPlainvilleNorth AttleboroughAttleboroSeekonk
Modern towns and cities in Providence County, Rhode Island. Click map to go to each respective town page.


For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[5]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Census-designated places


Towns Organized before 1800:

  • Cranston 1754
  • Cumberland 1746-7
  • Foster 1781
  • Gloucester 1730-1
  • Johnston 1759
  • North Providence 1765
  • Providence 1636
  • Scituate 1730-1
  • Smithfield 1730-1

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Providence County, Rhode Island online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Rhode Island Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing census records online, see: Rhode Island Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 24,376
1800 25,854 6.1%
1810 30,869 19.4%
1820 35,736 15.8%
1830 47,018 31.6%
1840 58,073 23.5%
1850 87,526 50.7%
1860 107,799 23.2%
1870 149,190 38.4%
1880 197,874 32.6%
1890 255,123 28.9%
1900 328,683 28.8%
1910 424,353 29.1%
1920 475,190 12.0%
1930 540,016 13.6%
1940 550,298 1.9%
1950 574,973 4.5%
1960 568,778 −1.1%
1970 580,261 2.0%
1980 571,349 −1.5%
1990 596,270 4.4%
2000 621,602 4.2%
2010 626,667 0.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

  • 1861-1924 Fold3 ($) has Providence City Directories 1861-1924 available online.
  • 1895-1935 Providence House Directories at Providence City Archives website - free. 1895, 1896, 1897, 1898, 1899, 1900, 1901, 1903, 1905, 1907, 1909, 1911, 1913, 1915, 1917, 1919-1920, 1921-1922, 1923-1924, 1925-1926, 1927-1928, 1929-1930, 1931-1932, 1933-1934, 1935.

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans[edit | edit source]

Cottrol, Robert J. The Afro-Yankees : Providence's Black Community in the Antebellum Era - Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press 1982. (Contributions in Afro-American and African Studies, 0069-9624; no. 68) FHL 974.52 F2c

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

BristolKentWindham, ConnecticutBristol, MassachusettsNorfolk, MassachusettsWorcester, MassachusettsRI PROVIDENCE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Providence County. For state-wide facilities, see Rhode Island Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Providence County. For state-wide library facilities, see Rhode Island Archives and Libraries.

  • Rhode Island State Library
    State House, 2nd floor
    82 Smith Street, Room 208
    Providence, RI 02903
    Phone: 401-222-2473
    Website
  • East Greenwich Free Library
    82 Pierce Street
    East Greenwich, RI 02818
    Phone: 401-884-9510
    Website
  • Greenville Public Library
    573 Putnam Pike
    Greenville, RI 02828
    Phone: 401-949-3630
    Website
  • Lincoln Public Library
    145 Old River Road
    Lincoln, RI 02865
    Phone: 401-333-2422
    Website
  • Louttit Memorial Library
    274 Victory Highway
    West Greenwich, RI 02817
    Phone: 401-397-3434
    Email: louttitlibrary@gmail.com
    Website
  • Robert H Champlin Library
    1043 Main Street
    West Warwick, RI 02893
    Phone: 401-828-3750
  • Warwick Public Library
    600 Sandy Lane
    Warwick, RI 02889
    Phone: 401-739-5440
    Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Providence County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Rhode Island Societies.

  • Rhode Island Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 211
    Hope, RI 02831
    Email: info@rigensoc.org
    Website
  • Rhode Island Historical Society
    110 Benevolent St
    Providence, RI 02906
    Phone: 401-331-8575
    Website
  • Blackstone Valley Historical Society
    P.O. Box 125
    1873 Louisquisset Pike
    Lincoln, RI 02865
    Email: treasurerbvhs@gmail.com
    Website
  • Burrillville Historical and Preservation Society
    Box 93
    16 Laurel Hill Avenue
    Pascoag, RI 02859
    Phone: 401-568-8534
    Website
  • American-French Genealogical Society
    P.O. Box 830
    78 Earle Street
    Woonsocket, RI 02895
    Phone: 401-765-6141
    Website
  • Rhode Island Historical Society Library
    121 Hope Street
    Providence, RI 02906
    Phone: 401-273-8107 Ext. 410
    Email: reference@rihs.org
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. [Providence Plantations Genealogy Newberry]
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Providence, Rhode Island" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Providence_County,_Rhode_Island accessed 3 Dec 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Providence County, Rhode Island . Page 602 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 589-591.
  4. Newberry
  5. Wikipedia contributors, "Providence County, Mississippi," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Providence_County,_Rhode_Island, Last accessed 16 Septeber 2020.