Prince George County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Prince George County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Prince George
Organized: 23 Apr 1703[1]
Parent County(s): Charles City
Neighboring Counties
Charles City  • Chesterfield  • Dinwiddie  • Surry  • Sussex
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaPrinceGeorgeCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Prince George County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Prince George County is located in the central portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia just south of the state capital, Richmond, and was named for Prince George of Denmark, husband of England's Queen Anne.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Prince George County Courthouse
6601 Courts Drive
PO Box 187
Prince George, VA 23875-0187
Phone: 804-733-2781
Prince George County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has incomplete birth records 1865-1896, marriage, divorce and probate record from 1865, court record from 1945 and land records[3]

Prince George County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1865 1865 1865 1714 1710 1713 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[9]

Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Prince George of Denmark and Norway, Duke of Cumberland (1653-1708)


This county is named after Prince George of Denmark and Norway, Duke of Cumberland (1653-1708), the husband of Queen Anne of Great Britain.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Prince George County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 8,173
1800 7,425 −9.2%
1810 8,050 8.4%
1820 8,030 −0.2%
1830 8,367 4.2%
1840 7,175 −14.2%
1850 7,596 5.9%
1860 8,411 10.7%
1870 7,820 −7.0%
1880 10,054 28.6%
1890 7,872 −21.7%
1900 7,752 −1.5%
1910 7,848 1.2%
1920 12,915 64.6%
1930 10,311 −20.2%
1940 12,226 18.6%
1950 19,679 61.0%
1960 20,270 3.0%
1970 29,092 43.5%
1980 25,733 −11.5%
1990 27,394 6.5%
2000 33,047 20.6%
2010 35,725 8.1%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Davenport's.[10]
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.
    Prince George County fell within the bounds of the Portsmouth Association.
  • Urner, Clarence H. "Early Baptist Records in Prince George County, Virginia," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 41, No. 2 (Apr. 1933):97-101. Digital version at JSTOR ($).

Church of England
Gotoarrow.png See also Bath Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Bristol Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Martin's Brandon Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Westover Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also Weyanoke Parish
Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Prince George County is available online.[11]

  • Chamberlayne, Churchill Gibson. Births from the Bristol Parish Register of Henrico, Prince George and Dinwiddie Counties, Virginia, 1720-1798. Richmond, Virginia: C.G. Chamberlayne, 1898. Two published transcripts available at FHL here and here; digital book at Ancestry ($); and World Vital Records ($).
  • Chamberlayne, Churchill Gibson. The Vestry Book and Register of Bristol Parish, Virginia, 1720 - 1789. Richmond, VA: [s.n.] 1898. Available at FHL US/CAN Film 1036590 Item 2. Digital versions at Google Books (full view); and World Vital Records ($).
  • Mason, George Carrington. "The Colonial Churches of Prince George and Dinwiddie Counties, Virginia," The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 23, No. 3 (Jul. 1943):249-271. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • Mason, George Carrington. Colonial Churches of Tidewater Virginia. Richmond, Virginia: Whittet & Shepperson, 1945. Available at FHL; digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library. [Includes Prince George County.]

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Binford's Monthly Meeting (1699-1721 and 1820-1826) aka Merchant's Hope[12]
  • Burleigh Monthly Meeting (1696-1832) or Burley.[12] Hinshaw published the early records: FHL Book 973 D2he 1993 v. 6.[13]
  • Hunnicutt's Monthly Meeting (1718-1762)[12]

Friends from Prince George County, Virginia also attended the Blackwater Monthly Meeting in Surry County, Virginia.[14]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

  • "Prince George County Records," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 4, No. 3 (Jan. 1897):272-292. Available at JSTOR ($). [Discusses record loss in the county.]
  • Library of Virginia's Virginia Memory: Chancery Record Index can be used to search Prince George County chancery records for the years 1809-1956 (majority of collection 1869-1916). Digital images available for 1809-1917. For suits marked "original" in the index, see online catalog or contact Archives Research Services for availability.
  • Post-1917 Prince George County chancery records may be available at the Circuit Court Clerk's Office.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Boddie, John Bennett. Southside Virginia Families. 2 vols. 1955-1956; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1976. FHL Book 975.5 D2bs 1976-1996 v. 1-v. 2.
  • Foley, Louise Pledge Heath. Early Virginia Families Along the James River, Their Deep Roots and Tangled Branches. 3 vols. Richmond, Va.: L.P.H. Foley, 1974-1990. FHL Book 975.5 R2f v. 1-v. 3. Volume 2 includes Prince George County families.
  • Lawrence-Dow, Elizabeth. Autographs of 65 Gentlemen Justices, Militia Officers and Members of the Grand Jury from Charles City/Prince George and Surry counties Who Signed an Oath of Loyalty to Protestant King William III of England in March 1701/2. Richmond, Va.: Dietz Press, 1976. FHL Book 975.5 P4L. [Includes biographies of Prince George County men.]
  • Pritchett, John W. Southside Virginia Genealogies. CD-ROM. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. Free online index, courtesy: Virginians - The Family History of John W. Pritchett. [Includes a great deal of information about residents of Prince George County, see discussion of cited sources.] FHL US/CAN CD-ROM no. 3887.
  • Slaughter, Philip. A History of Bristol Parish, Va.: With Genealogies of Families Connected Therewith, and Historical Illustrations. Richmond, Va.: J.W. Randolph & English, c1879. Digital versions at Google Books; Internet Archive. FHL Book 975.558 K2s. (Covers the Atkinson, Bolling, Bland, Claiborne, Eppes, Feild, Gilliam, Grammer, Haxall, Kennon, May, Munford, Murray, Peterson, Pegram, Poythress, Ramsay, Randolph, Robertson, Skipwith, Walker, Withers, and Worsham families.)

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.

  • Duvall, Lindsay O. Prince George County ... Land Patents, 1666-1719. Irvington, Virginia, 1962. Reviewed in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 6, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec.1962):182. Review available at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • Hudgins. 382 patents dated 1642-1802 in what is now Prince George County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper. Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.

Record Book

  • Stewart, Robert Armistead. "Abstracts of Prince George [Record] Book, 1759-60," The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 11, No. 1 (Jan. 1931):42-49. Available at JSTOR ($).

Quit Rents

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Cooke, John Esten. Henry St. John, Gentleman, of "Flower of Hundreds," in the County of Prince George, Virginia: A Tale of 1774-'75. New York: Harper & Brothers, 1860. Available at Google Books. [Fiction]
  • Shands, William et al. Proceedings of Citizens of Prince George County, Virginia: On the Subject of Re-annexing Texas to the United States, May 17, 1844. Blair & Rives, Printers, 1844.

Historic Residences

  • Wyatt, Edward Avery. Plantation Houses around Petersburg, in the Counties of Prince George, Chesterfield, and Dinwiddie, Virginia. 1955.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Dinwiddie CountyChesterfield CountyCharles CitySurry CountySussex CountyVA PRINCE GEORGE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Elliott, Katherine B. Emigration to Other States from Southside Virginia. 2 vols. South Hill, Virginia: K.B. Elliott, 1966. Vol. 1 of original edition available at FHL; 1983 reprints (both volumes) available at FHL; 1990-1992 reprints (both volumes) also available at FHL. Includes individuals who migrated out of Prince George County to other parts of the country.

Early migration routes to and from Prince George County for European settlers included:[15]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. Identifies some Prince George County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Google Books. Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch [French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War] with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Prince George County, see p. 97.
  • Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL; digital book at Ancestry ($). Identifies some Prince George County militia officers; see place name index.


Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Eastern District, Prince George County on page 133.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.

Regiments. Service men in Prince George County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Prince George County supplied soldiers for the:

- 6th Virginia Regiment
- 14th Virginia Regiment


War of 1812
Prince George County men served in the 62nd Regiment.[16]

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Prince George County, p. 99. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.


Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Prince George County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 5th Battalion, Virginia Infantry (Wilson's)(Archer's)(Confederate).
- 5th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (12 months, 1861-62) (Mullins') (Confederate).[17]
- 13th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (12th Months, 1861-62) (Confederate). Company F (Prince George Cavalry).[18]


World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Private Papers

  • 1607-2007 Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
  • [Bland] Campbell, Charles. The Bland Papers: Being a Selection from the Manuscripts of Colonel Theodorick Bland, Jr. of Prince George County, Virginia. 2 vols. Petersburg, Virginia: Edmund & Julian C. Ruffin, 1840. Volume 1 is available at Google Books.
  • [Bolling] Warfield, J. Ogle. "Bolling Family Bible, Prince George County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 12, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1968):33-34. Available at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • [Jordan] "Bible Record of Joshua M. Jordan, of Prince George County," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 14, No. 1 (Jul. 1905):32-33. Available at JSTOR ($).

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

Original Wills

  • Hopkins, William Lindsay. Some Wills from the Burned Counties of Virginia and Other Wills Not Listed in Virginia Wills and Administrations 1632-1800. Richmond, Virginia: W.L. Hopkins, 1987. Available at FHL. Includes Prince George County.

Remnants of Prince George County Court
SamPubCo has created a free online resource for locating extant Prince George County wills:

Other Prince George County probate resources include:

  • "Prince George County Records," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 4, No. 3 (Jan. 1897):272-292. Available at JSTOR ($). Discusses record loss in the county.
  • Stewart, Robert Armistead. "Abstracts of Prince George [Record] Book, 1759-60," The William and Mary Quarterly, Second Series, Vol. 11, No. 1 (Jan. 1931):42-49. Available at JSTOR.

London Courts

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1704 "Virginia Quit Rent Rolls, 1704," Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 28 (1920):207-218, 328-339; Vol. 29 (1921):18-28, 337-343, 402-412; Vol. 30 (1922):21-30, 280-285, 341-347; Vol. 31 (1923):70-75, 153-163, 215-231, 314-318; Vol. 32 (1924):69-75, 144-158, 281-287, 338-343; Vol. 33 (1925):47-50, 359-370; Vol. 34 (1926):113-119, 252-258, 313, 321. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL; digital version of VMHB at JSTOR ($). Prince George County appears in 28:328-339.
  • 1782 Fothergill, Augusta B. and John Mark Naugle. Virginia Tax Payers, 1782-87, Other Than Those Published by the United States Census Bureau. 1940; reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1978. Available through the FamilySearch Catalog. 1782 personal property tax list of Prince George County.
  • 1782-1834 Heinegg, Paul. "Prince George County Personal Property Tax List, 1782-1834," Free African Americans.com. Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.
  • 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Petersburg (the portion in Prince George County) is included in Vol. 1; Prince George County is included in Vol. 2.
  • 1790, 1800 Indexed images of the 1790 and 1800 Personal Property Tax Lists of Prince George County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1790, 1799 Indexed images of the 1790 and 1799 Land Tax Lists of Prince George County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1800 Tax List, 1800, Virginia Genealogist. Falmouth VA: Jan 2006. Vol. 50 Iss. 1.
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Prince George County is included in Vol. 1.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Prince George County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Prince George County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Prince George County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Prince George County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1976):294-296. Available at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • "Prince George County Records," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 4, No. 3 (Jan. 1897):272-292. Available at JSTOR ($). [Discusses record loss in the county.]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. http://www.princegeorgevahistoricalsociety.org/history.html
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. "Prince George County Records," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 4, No. 3 (Jan. 1897):272-292. Available at JSTOR ($). [Discusses record loss in the county.]
  6. Lost Records Localities: Counties and Cities with Missing Records, 3, in Library of Virginia (accessed 4 April 2014).
  7. Newberry
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  9. Wikipedia contributors, "Prince George_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prince_George_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 25 February 2020.
  10. Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (1810; reprint, Richmond, Va.: Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 442-443. Digital version at Google Books.
  11. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  12. 12.0 12.1 12.2 Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  13. William Wade Hinshaw, Thomas W. Marshall and John Cox, Encyclopedia of American Quaker Genealogy (Ann Arbor, Mich.: Edwards Bros., 1950). Vol. 6. FHL Book 973 D2he 1993 v. 6.
  14. Martha A. Putnam, Quaker Records of Southeast Virginia (Westminster, Md.: Family Line Publications, 1996). FHL Book 975.5 K2qu.
  15. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  16. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 178. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  17. Robert J. Driver, 5th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 127.
  18. Daniel T. Balfour, 13th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 26.