Prince Edward County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Prince Edward County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Farmville
Organized: 01 Jan 1754[1]
Parent County(s): Amelia
Neighboring Counties
Amelia  • Appomattox  • Buckingham  • Charlotte  • Cumberland  • Lunenburg  • Nottoway
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaPrinceEdwardCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Prince Edward County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Prince Edward County is located in the Central portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named after Prince Edward Augustus, fourth son and fifth child of King George III who reigned throughout the Revolutionary War[2].

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Prince Edward County Courthouse
North Main Street
P.O. Box 304
Farmville, VA 23901-0304
Phone: 434-392-5145
Prince Edward County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth records 1853-1896, death records 1853-1969, marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1754[3]

Prince Edward County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1754 1853 1754 1754 1754 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1890

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Prince Edward, Duke of York (1739-1767)


This county is named after Prince Edward, Duke of York (1739-1767), younger brother of King George III of the United Kingdom.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Prince Edward County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 8,100
1800 10,962 35.3%
1810 12,409 13.2%
1820 12,577 1.4%
1830 14,107 12.2%
1840 14,069 −0.3%
1850 11,857 −15.7%
1860 11,844 −0.1%
1870 12,004 1.4%
1880 14,668 22.2%
1890 14,694 0.2%
1900 15,045 2.4%
1910 14,266 −5.2%
1920 14,767 3.5%
1930 14,520 −1.7%
1940 14,922 2.8%
1950 15,398 3.2%
1960 14,121 −8.3%
1970 14,379 1.8%
1980 16,456 14.4%
1990 17,320 5.3%
2000 19,720 13.9%
2010 23,368 18.5%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1783 Enumeration

1785 Enumeration

1820 Manufactures Schedule - Exists, but the National Archives microfilm copy of Prince Edward County, Virginia omits page 163a. The missing names have been published in The Virginia Genealogist:

  • Petty, Gerald M. "Virginia 1820 Federal Census: Names Not on the Microfilm Copy," The Virginia Genealogist 18, no 2 (April-June 1974):136-139.
The list is also available online at the Shenandoah County GenWeb Project.

1850
Census takers uncharacteristically recorded the birth town or county of residents this census year.[8]

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Appomattox (1773)[9]
  2. Mountain Cross (1788)[9]
  3. Rocks (1772)[9]
  4. Sailor Creek (1781)[9]
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.
    Prince Edward County fell within the bounds of the Appomattox Association.

Church of England
Gotoarrow.png See also Nottoway Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also St. Patrick's Parish French's Church served Prince Edward County's parishioners.[10]
Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Prince Edward County is available online.[11]

Presbyterian
Old Buffalo Church was established about 1740 by Rev. John Thompson. A history was prepared in 1935: FHL Film 22738 Item 4. Records begin in 1804: FHL Film 1445927 Items 7-10.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

Chancery Court

  • Indexed images of Prince Edward County, Virginia Chancery Records 1856-1913 are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, which were often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.*Sullivan. 429 patents dated 1728-1847 in what is now Prince Edward County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Burrell, Charles Edward. A History of Prince Edward County, Virginia: From Its Formation in 1753, to the Present. Richmond, Va.: Williams Print. Co., 1922. Available at FHL; digital versions at Ancestry($), FamilySearch Digital Library.

Historic Residences

  • Smith, Ethel Marion. "Clover Hill. Early History of an Old Appomattox Landmark," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 57, No. 3 (Jul., 1949), pp. 269-273. Digital version at JSTOR ($). [Includes information about the Patteson family.]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Appomattox CountyBuckingham CountyCumberland CountyAmelia CountyNottoway CountyLunenburg CountyCharlotte CountyVA PRINCE EDWARD.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1976):269-274. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Prince Edward County's 1788 Delinquent List appears on pp. 271-272.]
  • Elliott, Katherine B. Emigration to Other States from Southside Virginia. 2 vols. South Hill, Virginia: K.B. Elliott, 1966. Vol. 1 of original edition available at FHL; 1983 reprints (both volumes) available at FHL; 1990-1992 reprints (both volumes) also available at FHL. [Includes individuals who migrated out of Prince Edward County to other parts of the country.]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some Prince Edward County militia officers and veterans; see place name index.]
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Google Books. [Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch [French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War] with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Prince Edward County, see pp. 96-97.]
  • Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL; digital book at Ancestry ($). [Identifies some Prince Edward County militia officers; see place name index.]


Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Eastern District, Prince Edward County on page 132.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.
  • Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War. By J.T. McAllister. 1913. Hot Springs, Va.: McAllister Pub. Co. Online at: Internet Archive

Regiments. Service men in Prince Edward County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Prince Edward County supplied soldiers for the:

- 4th Virginia Regiment
- 12th Virginia Regiment (9th Company) (perhaps)[12]


War of 1812

  • Douthat, James L. Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. Signal Mountain, Tennessee: Mountain Press, 2007. FHL Collection [Includes Prince Edward County.]
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Prince Edward County, p. 99. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]

Regiments. Prince Edward County men served in the 63rd Regiment.[13]

Civil War
Online Civil War Indexes and Records

Regiments. Civil War service men in Prince Edward County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 3rd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company K (Prince Edward Dragoons).[14]
- 18th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Prospect Rifle Grays) and Company F (Farmville Guard).[15]
- 20th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company G (Hampden-Sydney Boys).[16]
- 21st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (Meherrin Grays).[17]
- 23rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company I (Prince Edward Central Guards).[18]
- 44th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company G (Randolph Guard).[19]
- 53rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company D (Old Dominion Riflemen).[20]

Civil War Battles
The following Civil War battles were fought in Prince Edward County.

1861,
1862,
1863,
1864,
1865



World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Petitions[edit | edit source]

  • Drake, Mrs. William P. Petitioners and Tithables in Prince Edward County, Virginia, 1775-1776. West Palm Beach, Florida: Genealogical Records Committee, Seminole Chapter, NSDAR, 1979. Available at FHL.

Voting Records[edit | edit source]

  • Miscellaneous Papers, Prince Edward County, Virginia. 1939. Available at FHL. [Contains poll lists, tithables, and inhabitants covering 1754-1789.]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1747 Amelia Tithables, 1747, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: Nov 2004. Vol. 42 Iss. 4. [Useful for Prince Edward County families.]
  • 1754-1789 Miscellaneous Papers, Prince Edward County, Virginia. 1939. Available at FHL. [Contains poll lists, tithables, and inhabitants covering 1754-1789.]
  • 1755 Morton, W.S. "A List of Tithables Between Bush and Buffalo Rivers Taken by Thomas Scott, June 1755," Tyler's Quarterly Historical and Genealogical Magazine, Vol. 18 (1936):50-54. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL.
  • 1767 Tax List, 1767, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: Summer 1995. Vol. 33 Iss. 3.
  • 1773 Tithables, 1773, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy. Richmond VA: Winter 1996. Vol. 34 Iss. 1.
  • 1775-1776 Drake, Mrs. William P. Petitioners and Tithables in Prince Edward County, Virginia, 1775-1776. West Palm Beach, Florida: Genealogical Records Committee, Seminole Chapter, NSDAR, 1979. Available at FHL.
  • 1782-1809 Prince Edward County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1809 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1782-1821 Heinegg, Paul. "Prince Edward County Personal Property Tax List, 1782-1821," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • 1783 - Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783; index online at Revolutionary War Service website - free.
  • 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Prince Edward County is included in Vol. 2.]
  • 1788 Clay, Robert Y. "Some Delinquent Taxpayers 1787-1790," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1976):269-274. Available at FHL; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). [These records identify migrants who left the county and often their intended destinations. Prince Edward County's 1788 Delinquent List appears on pp. 271-272.]
  • 1792, 1800 Indexed images of the 1792 and 1800 Personal Property Tax Lists of Prince Edward County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1800 County Tax List, 1800, The Virginia Genealogist. Falmouth VA: Jul 2005. Vol. 49 Iss. 3; Oct. 2005. Vol. 49 Iss. 4.
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Prince Edward County is included in Vol. 2.]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Beth Fridley's abstracts of these records are also available on Ancestry ($):

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Prince Edward County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Prince Edward County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Prince Edward County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Prince Edward County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1976):291-294. Digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. http://www.co.prince-edward.va.us/travel_history_culture.shtml
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Newberry
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Prince_Edward_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Prince_Edward_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 19 February 2020.
  8. Alycon Trubey Pierce, "In Praise of Errors Made by Census Enumerators," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 81, No. 1 (March 1993):51-55. FHL Book 973 B2ng
  9. 9.0 9.1 9.2 9.3 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 272. Digital version at Google Books.
  10. French's Church, The Historical Marker Database, http://www.hmdb.org/marker.asp?marker=31333, accessed 13 January 2012.
  11. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  12. E.M. Sanchez-Saavedra, A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations in the American Revolution, 1774-1787 (Richmond, Va.: Virginia State Library, 1978), 67-68. FHL Book 975.5 M2s.
  13. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 176. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  14. Thomas P. Nanzig, 3rd Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 61.
  15. James I. Robertson, 18th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1984). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 12.
  16. G.L. Sherwood and Jeffrey C. Weaver, 20th and 39th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1994). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 105.
  17. Susan A. Riggs, 21st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 72.
  18. Thomas M. Rankin, 23rd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 14.
  19. Kevin C. Ruffner, 44th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 39.
  20. G. Howard Gregory, 53rd Virginia Infantry and 5th Battalion Virginia Infantry (Appomattox, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1999). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 132.
  21. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  22. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).
  23. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 17 August, 2012)