Prestwich St Mary, Lancashire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Prestwich St Mary, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. See a "Comprehensive List of Parish and Chapelries of Prestwich Parish"

Prestwich St Mary, Lancashire
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Prestwich
Registration District Bury; Manchester; Oldham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1603
Bishop's Transcripts: 1599
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Prestwich
Diocese Manchester
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Archives

Parish History[edit | edit source]

PRESTWICH (St Mary), a parish, in the hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire; comprising the parochial chapelry of Oldham (in which are the townships of Oldham, Chadderton, Crompton, and Royton), and the townships of Alkrington, Great and Little Heaton, Pilkington, and Tonge, 4 miles northwest by west of Manchester. There were churches built in the ecclesiastical districts of Ringley, Stand, and Unsworth, all in Pilkington township; a church at Tonge, and numerous chapelries as well in the parochial chapelry of Oldham. Other places in the parish include: Outwood, Pilkington, Prestolee, Little Heaton, Rigley, Great Heaton, and Rayton. In Prestwich parish are also numerous places of worship for dissenters; in Prestwich township is one for Wesleyan Methodists. The Independents, Primitive Methodists, Unitarians, and Swedenborgians have places of worship.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

  • Manchester 1837-1874
  • Prestwich 1874-1925
  • Mancester North 1925-1934
  • Heywood 1934-1974
  • Greater Manchester post 1974

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Chapelry is a church or churches built in a large ecclesiastical parish to help the members attend worship services closer to their homes.

Chapelries of Prestwich St Mary[edit | edit source]
  • Chadderton St Matthew Chapelry - 1837
  • Chadderton St John Chapelry - 1846
  • Chadderton Christ Church Chapelry - 1872
  • Coldhurst Holy Trinity Chapelry - 1848
  • East Crompton St James Chapelry - 1845
  • Glodwick Christ Church Chapelry - 1844
  • Glodwick St Mark Chapelry - 1876
  • Hollinwood St Margaret Chapelry - 1769
  • Leesfield St Thomas Chapelry - 1846
  • Oldham St Andrew Chapelry - 1874
  • Oldham St James Greenacres Moor Chapelry - 1829
  • Oldham St Mary Chapelry - 1558
  • Oldham St Peter Chapelry - 1768
  • Oldham St Stephen & All Martyrs Chapelry - 1876
  • Oldham St Thomas Chapelry - 1860
  • Prestwich St Margaret Chapelry - 1875
  • Ringley St Saviour Chapelry - 1712
  • Royton St Paul Chapelry - 1755
  • Shaw Holy Trinity Chapelry - 1704
  • Stand (Whitefield) All Saints Chapelry - 1827
  • Tonge-Cum-Alkrington St Michael Chapelry - 1840
  • Unsworth St George Chapelry - 1730
  • Waterhead Holy Trinity Chapelry - 1843
  • Werneth St Thomas Chapelry - 1845
  • Werneth St John Chapelry - 1892

Online Parish Records Table

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Prestwich St Mary Parish Records
All Chapelries Found in Prestwich St Mary are included in these links.
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Parish Registers-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Findmypast-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-Church of England BMD-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1800s-1900s

Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformist Churches (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Genealogy
[edit | edit source]

Todd, Andrew:  Booth and Dakin of Prestwich and Middleton.  History and Family Tree of John and 1) Elizabeth Dakin 2) John and Mary Mally Booth with the following surnames, Brooks, Fitlon, Holt, Joynson, Smethurst, and Jackson, dating from 1776-1880. Article in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. Magazine vol. 10 no. 1, pages 36-41. FHL Ref. 942.72 B2r

Burrows, Constance: Holt of Tottington: From a Family Bible. Family tree of James Holt and Jane Crampton married in Bury 1716, with the following descendant surnames. Wolfenden, Amphlett, Cunliffe, Roscow, scattered through, Prestwich, Bispham, and Whitefield, dating from 1716-1983, to be found in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Soc. Magazine vol. 10, no.4. pages 28-29.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Prestwich Poor Law Union

Probate records
[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation[edit | edit source]

  • 1541 - 1541 Subsidy of Prestwyche (p. 143)[2]
  • 1541 - 1541 Subsidy of Pylynton (p. 143)[2]
  • 1622 - 1622 Subsidy of Prestwich (p. 155)[2]
  • 1622 - 1622 Subsidy of Pilkington (p. 155)[2]

Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

British History Online

Website

Pilkington

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., [A Topographical Dictionary of England] (1848), pp. 616-618. Adapted. Date accessed: 1 October 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.