Prescot, Lancashire Genealogy
Guide to Prescot, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. See "A Comprehensive List of Prescot Parish Chapelries"
| Prescot, Lancashire | |
|---|---|
| Type | England Jurisdictions |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | West Derby |
| County | Lancashire, England Genealogy |
| Poor Law Union | Prescot |
| Registration District | Prescot; Warrington |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1573 | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: 1602 | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Prescot |
| Diocese | Chester |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory) |
| Location of Archive | |
| Lancashire Archives | |
Parish History[edit | edit source]
PRESCOT (St Mary), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, in the hundred of West Derby, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 8 miles east by northeast of Liverpool. The parish consists of the chapelries of Farnworth, Rainford, St. Helen's, and Great Sankey, and the townships of Bold, Cronton (which had at one time, 31 Nonconformist chapels in the area--mostly Welsh), Cuerdley, Ditton (Hough Green), Eccleston, Parr, Penketh, Prescot, Rainhill, Sutton, Whiston, Widness, and Windle. There are chapels at Eccleston, Farnworth, Parr, Rainford, Rainhill, St. Helen's, Great Sankey, and Sutton. The Unitarians, Primitive Methodists, and Wesleyan Methodists, have places of worship in the town; and at Portico, a mile and a half on the east, is a Roman Catholic chapel, built in 1790, and dedicated to St Nicholas.[1]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]
Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map
- Type the name of the parish in the search bar
- Click on the location pin on the map
- Choose Options from the pop up box
- Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day.
- See England Civil Registration for online resources and information.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.
Church of England[edit | edit source]
Chapelry is a church or churches built in a large ecclesiastical parish to help the members attend worship services closer to their homes.
Chapelries of Prescot[edit | edit source]
|
|
Online Parish Records Table
Due to the increasing access of online records:
- Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
- Dates in the following table are approximate
Hover over the collection's title for more information
| Prescot Parish Records | ||||||
| All Chapelries Found in Prescot are included in these links. | ||||||
| FamilySearch Collections-Lancashire | ||||||
| Parish Registers-Lancashire | ||||||
| Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog | ||||||
| FreeREG | ||||||
| Findmypast-Lancashire ($) | ||||||
| Ancestry-Church of England BMD-Lancashire ($) | ||||||
| Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($) | 1500s-1900s |
1500s-1900s |
||||
| Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage | ||||||
| Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free) | ||||||
| National Burial Index-FMP (Free) | ||||||
Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.
- Joiner Marriage Index - Lancashire ($)
- The Genealogist Parish Registers - Lancashire ($)
- UK Websites for Parish Records - Links to online genealogical records
- Online Genealogical Index - Links to online genealogical records
- OnLine Parish Clerks - Lancashire - OnLine Parish Clerks project for Lancashire
Non-Conformist Churches (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at Findmypast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
- 1647-1996 England, Lancashire Non-conformist Church Records, 1647-1996 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Court records[edit | edit source]
A manor court baron was held here six times a year; and a court leet on the festival of Corpus Christi, when a coroner for the manor and liberty is appointed.
There is a court of requests, for the recovery of debts to any amount, at which the steward of the manor presides; and petty-sessions for the Prescot division of the hundred take place once a month.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Furmsten, Chris. Newspaper Indexes. A four month extraction of names from the Prescot Reporter a weekly newspaper, listing name, date, event, occupation, age, and place. Covers years Nov. 1859-April 1860. In the journal Hel Achau, #20, 1986, pages 9-13. Family History Library Ref. 942.93 D25h
Probate records
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
![[tree]](/en/wiki/index.php?title=File:Mosaic_FamilySearch_Tree_Image.jpg&filetimestamp=20150812015853&){kind=small} |
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., [A Topographical Dictionary of England] (1848), pp. 605-609. Adapted. Date accessed: 1 October 2013.