Pittsylvania County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Pittsylvania County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Chatham
Organized: 01 Jun 1767[1]
Parent County(s): Halifax
Neighboring Counties
Bedford  • Campbell  • Caswell (NC)  • Franklin  • Halifax  • Henry  • Rockingham (NC)
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaPittsylvaniaCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Pittsylvania County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Pittsylvania is the largest county (per square miles) in the Commonwealth of Virginia and is situated in the South-Central Piedmont plateau region. The County was named for William Pitt, First Earl of Chatham, a British Statesman who served as Prime Minister of Great Britain from 1766 to 1768[2].

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Pittsylvania County Courthouse
11 Bank Street
PO Box 695
Chatham, VA 24531-0695
Phone: 434-432-7879
Pittsylvania County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records from 1767[3]

Pittsylvania County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1767 1853 1767 1767 1767 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1810

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

William Pitt 1st Earl of Chatham.JPG

The county was named after the 1st Earl of Chatham, William Pitt (1708-1778). Pitt was serving as Great Britain's Prime Minister at the time Pittsylvania County was organized.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes a section on Danville silversmiths.]
  • Melton, Herman. Picks, Tracks and Bateaux: Industry in Pittsylvania County 1750-1950. Chatham, Virginia: H. Melton, 1993. Available at FHL.
  • Melton, Herman. Pittsylvania's Eighteenth Century Grist Mills. [Chatham, Virginia?: H. Melton?], 1989. Available at FHL. 1991 edition is also available at FHL.
  • Pittsylvania Historical Society. Visitor's Guide to Early Industry in Pittsylvania County, 1998.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Pittsylvania County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

  • 1800-1986 Virginia, Jewish Cemetery Records Index, ca. 1800-1986 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
  • Bennett, Harold B. "Siloam Methodist Church Cemetery, Pittsylvania County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 25, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1981):83-87. Digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • Bennett, Harold B. "Walker Cemetery, Climax, Pittsylvania Co., Va.," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 25, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1981):248. Digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • Sutherlin, Elijah T. "Beck Family Cemetery, Pittsylvania County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 8, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1964):148. Digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 11,579
1800 12,697 9.7%
1810 17,172 35.2%
1820 21,323 24.2%
1830 26,034 22.1%
1840 26,398 1.4%
1850 28,796 9.1%
1860 32,104 11.5%
1870 31,343 −2.4%
1880 52,589 67.8%
1890 59,941 14.0%
1900 46,894 −21.8%
1910 50,709 8.1%
1920 56,493 11.4%
1930 61,424 8.7%
1940 61,697 0.4%
1950 66,096 7.1%
1960 58,296 −11.8%
1970 58,789 0.8%
1980 66,147 12.5%
1990 55,655 −15.9%
2000 61,745 10.9%
2010 63,506 2.9%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1782 Enumeration

1785 Enumeration

1790 - Lost, but a subsitute is available, see Taxation. 1800 - Lost, but a subsitute is available, see Taxation. 1810 - Lost, but a subsitute is available, see Taxation. 1820 - Exists, but the National Archives microfilm copy of Pittsylvania County, Virginia omits page 63. The missing names have been published in The Virginia Genealogist:

  • Petty, Gerald M. "Virginia 1820 Federal Census: Names Not on the Microfilm Copy," The Virginia Genealogist 18, no 2 (April-June 1974):136-139.
The list is also available online at the Shenandoah County GenWeb Project.

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

General

  • Clement, Mrs. N.E. "Ministers Bonds of Pittsylvania Co.," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 20, No. 4 (Apr. 1912):292-294. Available at JSTOR ($). [Identifies the names and religions of Baptist, Methodist, and Presbyterian ministers from bonds dated 1785 to 1843.]
  • Wood, Candace Mattox. The Restoration Movement in Pittsylvania, Henry, and Franklin Counties, Virginia. Dissertation. [Incomplete citation from Google Books.]

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Bennett's (1790)[8]
  2. Birch Creek (by 1769).[8][9] Edwards published a membership list dated 1769 in Materials Towards a History of the Baptists... (1772), 24. Edwards states many of these families had moved to Pittsylvania County from Fauquier County.
  3. Black Water (by 1768).[10]
  4. County Line (1771)[8]
  5. Dan River (by 1767). Edwards published a list of early members in Materials Towards a History of the Baptists... (1772), 52.
  6. Double Creek (1803)[8]
  7. Fall Creek (1771). Edwards published a membership list dated 1770 in Materials Towards a History of the Baptists... (1772), 56-57.
  8. Lower Banister (1798)[8]
  9. Mill Church (1770)[8]
  10. Shockhoe (1803)[8]
  11. Stanton (1761).[11]
  12. Stewart's Creek[8]
  13. Stinking River (1800).[8] Records of Stinking Creek Baptist Church (beginning in 1816) were published in VA-NC Piedmont Genealogical Society Bulletin, Vol. 4, No. 2 (May 1982) and Vol. 4, No. 3 (Aug. 1982): FHL Film 1697410 Items 1-12.
  14. Union (1789)[8]
  15. Upper Banister (1773)[8]
  16. White Thorn (1791)[8]
  17. Winns Creek (by 1771)[12] Edwards published a membership list dated 1769 in [http://repository.
  18. Zion's Hill (1807)[8]
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.
    Pittsylvania County fell within the bounds of the Roanoke Association.
  • Leek, Charles F. and Pittsylvania Baptist Association. The History of Pittsylvania Baptist Association, 1788-1963. Danville, Va.: Pittsylvania Baptist Association, 1963. FHL Book 975.5665 K2L.
  • Virginia-North Carolina Piedmont Genealogical Society. Abstracts of Mt. Ararat Primitive Baptist Church near Whitmell, Pittsylvania County, Virginia: Includes Biographies of Area Primitive Baptist Ministers. Danville, Virginia Virginia-North Carolina Piedmont Genealogical Society, 1981. Available at FHL.

An article on Primitive Baptist Churches in Pittsylvania County was published in:

Church of England
Gotoarrow.png See also Camden Parish Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Pittsylvania County is available online.[13]

  • Clement, Mrs. N.E. "Colonial Churches in Pittsylvania County," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 22, No. 2 (Apr. 1914):173-176. Available at JSTOR - free.

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Reedy Island Monthly Meeting (1792-1812)[14]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

General

  • Melton, Herman. Pittsylvania County's Historic Courthouse: The Story Behind ExParte Virginia and the Making of a National Landmark. Central Virginia Printing, Inc., 1999.

Chancery

  • Azariah Bailey (complainant.), George W. Hall (vegetarian.), William H. Shields (respondent.), Nathaniel E. Witcher (respondent.), Virginia. Circuit Court. Record of a Suit in Chancery, Pittsylvania County, Virginia, Azariah Bailey vs. George W. Hall, Wm. H. Shields & Nathaniel N. Witcher. 1858. [Citation from Google Books.]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American
In 1860, Pittsylvania County had one of the largest enslaved populations in the state (14,340 slaves). Ten years later in 1870, it had one of the largest African American populations in Virginia (16,084) - the town of Danville in particular.[15]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.*Hudgins, 1440 patents dated 1738-1819 in what is now Pittsylvania County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper, 2004. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]

Record Book

  • Stith, Drury. Entries from an Old Record Book of Drury Stith Concerning Land and Property in Pittsylvania County, 1737-1770. Microfilmed reproduction available at FHL.

Tracts

  • Tucker, George. To the Freeholders of the Counties of Campbell, Pittsylvania and Halifax. Printed at the Virginian Office, 1824.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Clement, Maud Carter. History of Pittsylvania County Virginia. Lynchburg, Virginia: J. P. Bell Co., 1929. Digital book at Ancestry ($); and World Vital Records ($). Reviewed in The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 38, No. 3 (Jul. 1930):280-281. Review available at JSTOR ($).

Historic Residences

  • Fitzgerald, Madelene Vaden. Pittsylvania: Homes and People of the Past. Danville, Virginia: Womack Press, 1974. Available at FHL.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Danville (Independent City)Martinsville (Independent City)Henry CountyFranklin CountyBedford CountyCampbell CountyHalifax CountyRockingham CountyCaswell CountyVA PITTSYLVANIA.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Bell, Mary McCampbell. "Some Migrations from Virginia to South Carolina," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 13, No. 3 (Summer 1985):127-129. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 13
  • Elliott, Katherine B. Emigration to Other States from Southside Virginia. 2 vols. South Hill, Virginia: K.B. Elliott, 1966. Vol. 1 of original edition available at FHL; 1983 reprints (both volumes) available at FHL; 1990-1992 reprints (both volumes) also available at FHL. [Includes individuals who migrated out of Pittsylvania County to other parts of the country.]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies some Pittsylvania County veterans; see place name index.]


Revolutionary War

  • Daughters of the American Colonists. Texas Society. The Rose Window of San Jose Chapter, Daughters of the American Revolution. San Antonio De Bexar Chapter (San Antonio, Tex.), Lucy Alice Posey. Patriots Who Took the Oath of Allegiance, 1777, Pittsylvania County, Virginia: Notarized by Pittsylvania County Clerk. The Chapter, 1977.
  • Hurt, Frances Hallam. An Intimate History of the American Revolution in Pittsylvania County, Virginia. Danville, Virginia: Womack Press, 1976. Available at FHL.
  • "Revolutionary Pension Declarations from Pittsylvania County, Va.," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 16, No. 2 (Oct. 1908):174-183; Vol. 17, No. 1 (Jan. 1909):73-80; Vol. 20, No. 3 (Jul. 1912):259-266; Vol. 25, No. 2 (Apr. 1917):149-160. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • Watts, Dorothy Chambers. "Some Pittsylvania County, Virginia, Militia Officers," [1775] The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 23, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1979):225-226. Available at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • White, Elizabeth Tunstall and VA-NC Piedmont Genealogical Society. Military Records of Pittsylvania County, Virginia, 1767-1783: Taken from Judgment Books, 1-2-and 4 and Deed, Book 4. VA-NC Piedmont Genealogical Society, 1983.
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Eastern District, Pittsylvania County on page 132.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.
  • Pittsylvania County residents' participation in the Revolutionary War.[16]

Regiments. Service men in Pittsylvania County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Pittsylvania County supplied soldiers for the:

- 6th Virginia Regiment
- 14th Virginia Regiment


War of 1812

  • Pittsylvania county History.com War of 1812 Soldiers Graves
  • Douthat, James L. Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2007. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. FHL Collection 975.5 M2djL. [Includes Pittsylvania County.]
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Pittsylvania County, p. 98. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]

Regiments. Pittsylvania County men served in the 42nd and 101st Regiment.[17]

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Pittsylvania County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 5th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (12 months, 1861-62) (Mullins') (Confederate). Company C (Danville Cavalry).[18]
- 6th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate).[19]
- 18th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Danville Blues), Company B (Danville Grays), and Company I (Spring Garden Blues).[20]
- 21st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company H (Chalk Level Grays) and Company I (Turkey Cock Grays).[21]
- 38th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Pittsylvania Regiment) (Confederate). Company A, Company B (Pittsylvania Vindicators), Company C (Laurel Grove Riflemen), Company D (Whitmell Guards), Company E (Cabell Guards), Company H (Secession Guards), and Company K (The Cascade Rifles).[22]
- 46th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (Liberty Guards).[23]
- 53rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company B (Chatham Grays).[24]
- 57th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Companies D (The Galveston Tigers), E (Pigg River Greys), F (Henry and Pittsylvania Rifles), G (Ladies Guard), and I (Pittsylvania Life Guards).[25]


World War I

  • Williams, Hugh T. and Samuel Gardner Walker. Why Soldiers Do Not Talk About the War: Or, Danville and Pittsylvania County's Part. A History of Company "C", 116th Infantry; Battery "E", 111th Field Artillery; Sixth Company, Coast Artillery; Together with Complete Alphabetical Rosters of Officers and Men. Rosters of Danville and Pittsylvania ... J.T. Townes Print. Co., 1919.


World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Private Papers

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

Online Pittsylvania County, Virginia Tax Lists
Type Index Images
Free FHC Fee Free FHC Fee
Tithes 1767 - 1767, 1767 - - -
Tithes 1770 1|2|3|4|5 - - - - -
Personal Property 1782 - - - 1782 1782
Land 1782 - - - - -
Personal Property 1783 - - - 1783 1783
Land Alterations 1783 - - - - -
Personal Property - - - - 1784 1784
Land Alterations 1784 - - - - -
Personal Property - - - - 1785 1785
Land Alterations 1785 - - - - -
Insolvents 1785 - - - - -
Personal Property - - - - 1786 1786
Personal Property - - - - 1787 1787
Personal Property - - - - 1788 1788
Personal Property 1789 - - 1789 1789 1789
Personal Property - - 1790 1790
Personal Property - - - - 1791 1791
Personal Property - - - - 1792 1792
Personal Property - - - - 1793 1793
Personal Property - - - - 1794 1794
Personal Property - - - - 1795 1795
Personal Property - - - - 1796 1796
Personal Property - - - - 1797 1797
Personal Property - - - - 1798 1798
Personal Property - - - - 1799 1799
Personal Property 1800 - 1800 1|2 1800 1800 1800
Personal Property - - - - 1801 1801
Personal Property - - - - 1802 1802
Personal Property - - - - 1803 1803
Personal Property - - - - 1804 1804
Personal Property - - - - 1805 1805
Personal Property - - - - 1806 1806
Personal Property - - - - 1807 1807
Personal Property - - - - 1809 1809
Personal Property - - - - 1810 1810
Personal Property - - - - 1811 1811
Personal Property - - - - 1812 1812
Personal Property - - - - 1813-1850 -

Bibliography
Tithe lists for 1773, 1774, 1775, 1776, 1777, 1781, and 1782 are kept at the Library of Virginia.[26]

  • 1767 "First List of Tithables of Pittsylvania County, Year 1767," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 23, No. 1 (Jan. 1915):79-80; Vol. 23, No. 3 (Jul. 1915):303-304; Vol. 23, No. 4 (Oct. 1915):371-380; Vol. 24, No. 2 (Apr. 1916):180-192; Vol. 24, No. 3 (Jun. 1916):271-274. Available at FHL; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available at FHL; digital version at JSTOR; Ancestry ($).
  • 1767 Clement, Maud Carter, The History of Pittsylvania County, Virginia. Lynchburg, Virginia: J. P. Bell Co., 1929. Digital version at Ancestry ($); http://files.usgwarchives.net/va/pittsylvania/census/tith.txt USGenWeb Archives] - free. Includes 1767 tithe list.
  • 1770 Tithables, 1770, Southside Virginian, Vol. 4, No. 3 (Apr. 1986); Vol. 5, No. 2 (Apr. 1987); Vol. 5, No. 4 (Oct. 1987); Vol. 6, No. 2 (Apr. 1988); Vol. 7, No. 3 (Jul. 1989); online at Internet Archive - free.
  • 1770-1774 Tithables List, 1770-1774, Piedmont Lineages. Danville VA: May 2005. Vol. 27 Iss. 2.
  • 1773 Tithables, 1773, Piedmont Lineages, Vol. 13, No. 1 (Feb. 1991); Vol. 13, No. 2 (May 1991); Vol. 13, No. 3 (Aug. 1991); Vol. 13, No. 4 (Nov. 1991); Vol. 14, No. 1 (Feb. 1992).
  • 1782-1812 Pittsylvania County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1812 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1782 1782 Land Taxes Pittsylvania County, Virginia. Available online, courtesy: VAGenWeb: Pittsylvania County, Virginia Genealogy Project.
  • 1782-1802 Austin, Gayle. The Land Tax Lists of Pittsylvania County, Virginia, 1782-1802. Greenville, South Carolina: Southern Historical Press, 2006. Available at FHL.
  • 1782-1823 Heinegg, Paul. "Pittsylvania County Personal Property Tax List, 1782-1823," Free African Americans.com. Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.
  • 1783 - Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783; index online at Revolutionary War Service website - free.
  • 1783 1783 Alterations to Pittsylvania County Land Tax. Available online, courtesy: VAGenWeb: Pittsylvania County, Virginia Genealogy Project.
  • 1784 1784 Alterations to Pittsylvania County Land Tax. Available online, courtesy: VAGenWeb: Pittsylvania County, Virginia Genealogy Project.
  • 1785 1785 Alterations to Pittsylvania County Land Tax. Available online, courtesy: VAGenWeb: Pittsylvania County, Virginia Genealogy Project.
  • 1785 Insolvents Tax List, 1785, Virginia Appalachian Notes, Vol. 5, No. 1 (Feb. 1981); online at Roanoke Public Library - free.
  • 1785 Tax List, 1785, Non-residents/Insolvents, VA-NC Piedmont Genealogical Society Bulletin, Vol. 3, No. 3 (Aug. 1981).
  • 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. FHL. The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Pittsylvania County is included in Vol. 1.
  • 1788-1806 Select abstracts from Personal Property Tax Lists, 1788-1806, Piedmont Lineages. Danville VA: Aug 2004. Vol. 26 Iss. 3.
  • 1789, 1800 Indexed images of the 1789 and 1800 Personal Property Tax Lists of Pittsylvania County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1793 Top Land Owners from Tax List, 1793, Piedmont Lineages. Danville VA: Feb 2007. Vol. 29 Iss. 1.
  • 1797 Land Tax List, 1797, Piedmont Lineages, Vol. 20, No. 3 (Aug. 1998); Vol. 20, No. 4 (Nov. 1998); Vol. 21, No. 1 (Feb. 1999); Vol. 21, No. 2 (May 1999); Vol. 21, No. 3 (Aug. 1999); Vol. 21, No. 4 (Nov. 1999);
  • 1800 County tax list, 1800, Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 48 Iss. 4 (Oct 2004), pp. 285-299; Vol. 49 Iss. 1 (Jan 2005), pp. 49-62.
  • 1810 Schreiner-Yates, Netti. A Supplement to the 1810 Census of Virginia: Tax Lists of the Counties for which the Census is Missing. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1971. Available at FHL. The source for this publication is the 1810 personal property tax list. Pittsylvania County is included because the 1810 Census for that county has been destroyed.
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Pittsylvania County is included in Vol. 2.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Pittsylvania County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Pittsylvania County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Bassett Historical Center, Bassett, Virginia.
Website includes descriptions of collections. Excellent resource for family history research in Henry, Patrick, Floyd, Franklin and Pittsylvania counties in Virginia, the city of Martinsville, Virginia, and Rockingham, Stokes and Surry counties in North Carolina.[27]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Pittsylvania County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Pittsylvania County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 20, No. 2 (Apr.-Jun. 1976):119-123. Available at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • Boisseau, Mary Leigh. "Research Opportunities in Danville and Pittsylvania County," The Virginia Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 18, No. 5 (Sept.-Oct. 1992):1-3. Available at FHL; digital version at Virginia Genealogical Society website.
  • Sweeney, Alice J. "Bassett Historical Center," The Virginia Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 28, No. 4 (Aug. 2002):1-3. Available at FHL; digital version at Virginia Genealogical Society website.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. https://www.pittsylvaniacountyva.gov/327/About-the-Community
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Newberry
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Pittsylvania_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pittsylvania_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 19 February 2020.
  8. 8.00 8.01 8.02 8.03 8.04 8.05 8.06 8.07 8.08 8.09 8.10 8.11 8.12 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 303-304. Digital version at Google Books.
  9. Morgan Edwards, Materials Towards a History of the Baptists in the Provinces of Maryland Virginia North Carolina South Carolina Georgia (1772). Digitized by SCDL Collections - free.
  10. George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:233. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
  11. Morgan Edwards, Materials Towards a History of the Baptists in the Provinces of Maryland Virginia North Carolina South Carolina Georgia (1772). Digitized by SCDL Collections - free.
  12. Morgan Edwards, Materials Towards a History of the Baptists in the Provinces of Maryland Virginia North Carolina South Carolina Georgia (1772). Digitized by SCDL Collections - free.
  13. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  14. Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  15. Ninth Census of the United States: Statistics of Population, Tables I to VIII Inclusive (Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1872), 70. Digital version at Internet Archive; FHL Book 973 X2pcu.
  16. J.T. McAllister, Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data (Hot Springs, Va.: McAllister Pub. Co., 1913), 39. Digitized by Internet Archive.
  17. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 170. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  18. Robert J. Driver, 5th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 127.
  19. Michael P. Musick, 6th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 66.
  20. James I. Robertson, 18th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1984). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 12.
  21. Susan A. Riggs, 21st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 72.
  22. G. Howard Gregory, 38th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 46.
  23. Darrell L. Collins, 46th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 85.
  24. G. Howard Gregory, 53rd Virginia Infantry and 5th Battalion Virginia Infantry (Appomattox, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1999). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 132.
  25. Charles W. Sublett, 57th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 21.
  26. Alberta Marjorie Dennstedt, "The Hendrick Family of Virginia," The Virginia Genealogist,Vol. 37, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1993):278. Digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($). FHL Book 975.5 B2vg v. 37 (1993).
  27. Alice J. Sweeney, "Bassett Historical Center," The Virginia Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 28, No. 4 (Aug. 2002):1-3, available online at: http://www.vgs.org