Piscataquis County, Maine Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Piscataquis County, Maine ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Dover-Foxcroft
Organized: April 30, 1838[1]
Parent County(s): Penobscot and Somerset[2]
Neighboring Counties
Somerset  • Aroostook  • Penobscot
Courthouse
Maine, Piscataquis County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Me-piscataquis.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Piscataquis County was named for the Abenaki word meaning "branch of the river". The county is located in the central area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Piscataquis County Courthouse
159 East Main Street, Suite 12
Dover-Foxcroft, Maine 04426
Phone: 207-564-2431
Piscataquis County Website

Town clerks have birth, marriage and death records. Clerk of the Superior Court has divorce and court records. Probate Court has probate records.

Piscataquis County, Maine Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1892 1892 1892 1838 1838 1838 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1892. General compliance year unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

MainePiscataquis CountyPenobscot CountySomerset CountyAroostook CountyTownship 10 R15Township 10 R14Township 10 R13Township 10 R12Township 10 R11Township 10 R10Township 10 R9Township 9 R15Township 9 R14Township 9 R13Township 9 R12Township 9 R11Township 9 R10Township 9 R9Township 8 R15Township 8 R14Eagle Lake TownshipSoper Mountain TownshipTownship 8 R11Township 8 R10Township 8 R9Township 7 R15Township 7 R14Township 7 R13Township 7 R12Township 7 R11Township 7 R10Township 7 R9Township 6 R15Township 6 R14Township 6 R13Township 6 R12Township 6 R11Township 6 R10Trout Brook TownshipTownship 5 R15Township 5 R14Chesuncook TownshipTownship 5 R12Township 5 R11Nesourdnahunk TownshipTownship 5 R9Township 4 R15Township 4 R14Township 4 R13 (once part of Chesuncook)Township 4 R12Township 4 R11Township 4 R10Township 4 R9Northeast Carry TownshipLobster TownshipTownship 3 R13Township 3 R12Township 3 R11Township 3 R10Mount Katahdin TownshipKineo TownshipDays Academy Grant TownshipEast Middlesex Canal Grant TownshipTownship X R14Township 2 R13Township 2 R12Rainbow TownshipTownship 2 R10Township 2 R9 WELSSpencer Bay TownshipTownship 1 R13Township 1 R12Township 1 R11Township 1 R10Ambejejus Lake TownshipLily Bay TownshipFrenchtown TownshipShawtown TownshipTownship A R11Township A R10Big Moose TownshipHarford's Point TownshipCove Point TownshipBeaver CoveMoosehead Junction TownshipCove Point TownshipGreenvilleBowdoin College Grant West TownshipBowdoin College Grant East TownshipTownship B R11Township B R10ShirleyElliottsville TownshipTownship 7 R9Katahdin Iron Works TownshipEbeemee TownshipTownship 4 R9Blanchard TownshipMonsonWillimanticBowerbankBarnard TownshipWilliamsburg TownshipBrownvilleLake View PlantationKingsbury PlantationAbbotGuilfordDover-FoxcroftWellingtonParkmanSangervilleSebecAtkinsonMiloOrneville TownshipMedfordTownship 11 R17Township 11 R16Township 11 R15Township 11 R14Township 11 R13Township 11 R12Township 11 R11Township 11 R10Township 11 R9Township 11 R8Township 11 R7Township 10 R8Township 10 R7Township 9 R8Township 9 R7Township 8 R8Township 8 R7Township 7 R8Township 7 R7Township 6 R8Township 6 R7Township 5 R8Township 5 R7Township 4 R8Township 4 R7Township 3 R8Township 3 R7Township 2 R8 WELSSoldiertown TownshipTownship 1 R8Grindstone TownshipTownship 4 Indian PurchaseTownship 3 Indian PurchaseMillinocketVeazie GoreLong A TownshipHopkins Academy GrantTownship 3 R9Township 2 R9 NWPSeboeis PlantationTownship 2 R8 NWPMaxfieldHowlandLagrangeEdinburgArgyle TownshipAltonBradfordHudsonCharlestonCorinthGarlandExeterDexterCorinnaCambridgeRipleySaint AlbansHarmonyAthensSolonEmbdenBrighton PlantationBinghamConcord TownshipPleasant Ridge PlantationMoscowMayfield TownshipBald Mountain TownshipCaratunkEast Moxie TownshipThe Forks PlantationMoxie GoreSquaretown TownshipWest ForksIndian Stream TownshipChase Stream TownshipMisery TownshipSaplin TownshipMisery GoreSandbar TractSandwich Academy GrantTaunton and Rayham Academy GrantRockwood StripBrassua TownshipTomhegan TownshipSoldiertown TownshipWest Middlesex Canal GrantBig W TownshipLittle W TownshipPittston TownshipPlymouth TownshipSeeboomook TownshipTownship 4 R17Elm Stream TownshipTownship 5 R17Russell Pond TownshipTownship 6 R17Saint John TownshipTownship 7 R17Township 7 R16Township 8 R17Township 8 R16Township 9 R17Township 9 R16Big Ten TownshipTownship 10 R16
Modern town borders in Piscataquis County, Maine. Towns with records are named in black. Unincorporated green places usually lack records.


For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this census area:[7]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Unorganized territories

NWP

  • Blanchard Township
  • Northeast Piscataquis
    • Twp 6 R8 NWP (Williamsburg)
    • Barnard Township
    • Township 4 R9 NWP
    • Twp 5 R9 NWP (Ebeemee)
    • Township 6 R9 NWP (Katahdin Iron Works)
    • Township 7 R9 NWP
    • Elliottsville Township
    • Township B R10 WELS
    • Township B R11 WELS
    • Township 7 R10 NWP (Bowdoin College East )
    • Township 8 R10 NWP (Bowdoin College West )
    • Township A R10 WELS
    • Township A R11 WELS
    • Twp A R12 WELS (Shawtown)
    • Township A R13 WELS (Frenchtown or Kakadjo)
    • Township 1 R9 WELS (Ambejejus Lake)
    • Township 1 R10 WELS
    • Township 1 R11 WELS
    • Township 1 R12 WELS
    • Township 1 R13 WELS
    • Township 2 R9 WELS
    • Township 2 R10 WELS
    • Twp 2 R11 WELS (Rainbow)
    • Township 2 R12 WELS
    • Twp 3 R9 WELS (Mt. Katahdin)
    • Township 3 R10 WELS
    • Township 3 R11 WELS
  • Northeast Piscataquis (continued)
    • Township 4 R9 WELS
    • Township 4 R10 WELS
    • Township 4 R11 WELS
    • Township 5 R9 WELS
    • Township 5 R10 WELS (Nesourdnahunk)
    • Township 5 R11 WELS
    • Twp 6 R9 WELS (Trout Brook)
    • Township 6 R10 WELS
    • Township 6 R11 WELS
    • Township 7 R9 WELS
    • Township 7 R10 WELS
    • Township 7 R11 WELS
    • Township 8 R9 WELS
    • Township 8 R10 WELS
    • Township 8 R11 WELS
    • Township 9 R9 WELS
    • Township 9 R10 WELS
    • Township 9 R11 WELS
    • Township 10 R9 WELS
    • Township 10 R10 WELS
    • Township 10 R11 WELS
    • Township 10 R12 WELS
  • Northwest Piscataquis
    • Cove Point Township
    • Moosehead Junction Township
    • Harford's Point Township
    • Big Moose Township
    • Township A R14 WELS (Lily Bay)
    • Twp 1 R14 WELS (Spencer Bay)
    • Days Academy Grant Township
    • Kineo Island Township
    • Township 2 R13 WELS
    • Township X R14 WELS
    • East Middlesex Canal Grant Twp
    • Township 3 R12 WELS
  • Northwest Piscataquis (continued)
    • Township 3 R13 WELS
    • Township 3 R14 WELS (Lobster)
    • Township 3 R15 WELS (Northeast Carry or Burbank)
    • Township 4 R12 WELS
    • Twp 4 R13 WELS (part of Chesuncook before 1921)
    • Township 4 R14 WELS
    • Township 4 R15 WELS
    • Township 5 R12 WELS
    • Twp 5 R13 WELS (Chesuncook)
    • Township 5 R14 WELS
    • Township 5 R15 WELS
    • Township 6 R12 WELS
    • Township 6 R13 WELS
    • Township 6 R14 WELS
    • Township 6 R15 WELS
    • Township 7 R12 WELS
    • Township 7 R13 WELS
    • Township 7 R14 WELS
    • Township R15 WELS
    • Twp 8 R12 WELS (Soper Mtn.)
    • Twp 8 R13 WELS (Eagle Lake)
    • Township 8 R14 WELS
    • Township 8 R15 WELS
    • Township 9 R12 WELS
    • Township 9 R13 WELS
    • Township 9 R14 WELS
    • Township 9 R15 WELS
    • Township 10 R13 WELS
    • Township 10 R14 WELS
    • Township 10 R15 WELS
  • Southeast Piscataquis

Plantations[8]
Kingsbury Plantation | Lake View Plantation

Extinct towns and plantations'''[9] Barnard | Blanchard | Chesuncook Plantation | Elliottsville | Katahdin Iron Works Plantation | Orneville | Williamsburg | Wilson[10]

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Piscataquis County, Maine online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Maine Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1840 13,138
1850 14,735 12.2%
1860 15,032 2.0%
1870 14,403 −4.2%
1880 14,872 3.3%
1890 16,134 8.5%
1900 16,949 5.1%
1910 19,887 17.3%
1920 20,554 3.4%
1930 18,231 −11.3%
1940 18,467 1.3%
1950 18,617 0.8%
1960 17,379 −6.6%
1970 16,285 −6.3%
1980 17,634 8.3%
1990 18,653 5.8%
2000 17,235 −7.6%
2010 17,535 1.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Maine Land and Property for databases, early land grants to individuals, and more information.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Piscataquis County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information, see Maine Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Piscataquis CountyAroostook CountyPenobscot CountySomerset CountyME PISCATAQUIS.jpg
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]


Revolutionary War


Civil War

Regiments.Civil War service men in Piscataquis County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in this county:

- 2nd Regiment, Maine Infantry, Company D


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. For databases and more information, see Maine Taxation

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Bangor Public Library
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Piscataquis Historical Society
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002).
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002).
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Piscataquis County, Maine" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Piscataquis_County,_Maine."
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Piscataquis County, Maine. Page 304-305 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 275.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002).
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Massachusetts.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Piscataquis County, Maine," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Piscataquis_County,_Maine, accessed 23 July 2019.
  8. For further details see Maine Plantations
  9. Before an extinct town was discontinued, it created official town records of interest to genealogists. For preservation these records were usually turned over to a nearby functioning town in the same county.
  10. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 111. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.