Pickens County, South Carolina Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Pickens County, South Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Pickens
Organized: December 20, 1826[1]
Parent County(s): Pendleton County [2]
Neighboring Counties
Anderson  • Greenville  • Oconee  • Transylvania (NC)
See County Maps
Courthouse
South Carolina, Pickens County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Sc-pickens.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for the Revolutionary soldier, Brigadier General Andrew Pickens. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.[3]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Pickens County Courthouse
214 East Main Street
Pickens, SC 29671
Phone: 864-898-5857
Pickens County Website

County Pronunciation
Hear it spoken[4]

Pickens County, South Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[5]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1915 1911 1915 1868 1828 1828 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1915. General compliance by 1918.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[8]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Pickens County, South Carolina online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See South Carolina Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For all existing and online Federal population schedules of South Carolina, see South Carolina Census. See also USGenWeb Census Project, South Carolina, including links to transcribed files.

Federal

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1830 14,473
1840 14,356 −0.8%
1850 16,904 17.7%
1860 19,639 16.2%
1870 10,269 −47.7%
1880 14,389 40.1%
1890 16,389 13.9%
1900 19,375 18.2%
1910 25,422 31.2%
1920 28,329 11.4%
1930 33,709 19.0%
1940 37,111 10.1%
1950 40,058 7.9%
1960 46,030 14.9%
1970 58,956 28.1%
1980 79,292 34.5%
1990 93,894 18.4%
2000 110,757 18.0%
2010 119,224 7.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1830

  • Sheriff, G. Anne Campbell and Tom C. Wilkinson. Pickens Distict, S.C. 1830 Census. Central, S.C.: Faith Clayton Family Research Center, 1988. FHL Book 975.723 X2s 1830

1840

  • Sheriff, G. Anne Campbell. Pickens District, S.C. 1840 Census. Central, S.C.: Faith Clayton Family Research Center, 1986. FHL Collection 975.723 X2s 1840

1840 Revolutionary War Pensioners

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. Washington, D.C.: Blair and Rives, 1841. FHL Book 973 X2pc 1840; Film 2321; digital version at Google Books. See South Carolina, Pickens District on page 143.

1850

  • Dodson, Robert George. Pickens District South Carolina, Eastern Division 1850 Census. Central, S.C.: South Carolina Genealogical Society. Old Pendleton Chapter, 1995. FHL Book 975.723 X2d 1850

1860
Census takers uncharacteristically recorded the birth town or county of residents of the Fifth Regiment of the county this census year.[9]

1890
1890 United States Census 1890.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Baptist

  • Secona - records (1795-1938, 1944-1970) available on microfilm at the University of NC Davis Library.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans
United States African Americans go to African American Resources for South Carolina

  • Megginson, W.J. Black Soldiers in World War I: Anderson, Pickens and Oconee Counties, South Carolina; with a Discussion of Pensions for Civil War Slave Labor. Seneca, S.C.: Oconee County Historical Society, 1994. FHL Book 975.72 M2m
  • Sheriff, G. Anne Campbell. 1850 Federal Slave Census of Pickens District, South Carolina Eastern Division (Present-day Pickens County). Central, S.C.: G.A. Sheriff, 1991. FHL Book 975.723 X2s 1850
  • Sheriff, G. Anne Campbell. 1860 Federal Slave Census of Pickens District, South Carolina 5th Regiment (Present-day Pickens County). Central, S.C.: G.A. Sheriff, 1989. FHL Book 975.723 X2s 1860
  • Sheriff, G. Anne Campbell, Parcho Baker and Forest Acres Elementary School (Easley, S.C.). Black History in Pickens District, South Carolina. 2 vols. Easley, S.C.: Forest Acres Elementary School, 1991-1993. FHL Book 975.723 F2b v. 1-2

Known Pickens County Plantations:

  • Cedar Rock
  • Fort Hill - Clemson University
  • Hanover - house originally in Berkeley County
  • Hopewell
  • Keowee
  • Orchard
  • Sleepy Hollow - Pendleton
  • Wisteria - Pickens

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

  • [Blassingame] Lafo, Susan, Phyllis Harrison, Barbara Bleades, and Larry Tyner. "Blassingame Myths and Facts," The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 26, No. 2 (Spring 1998):70-76. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 26
  • [Bolding] Lesley, Agnes Bolding. Bolding Family, Jonathan Lee Bolding 1806-1879, A Pioneer Citizen of the Pea Ridge Section of Pickens County, South Carolina: A History of His Life and Times and of His Many Descendants. Pickens, S.C.: A.B. Lesley, [1956?]. FHL 929.273 B637L
  • [Bowen] Bowen, John McGowan. The Bowen Family, with McGowan and Brooks Lineage, of George's Creek, Pickens County, South Carolina. Atlanta, Ga.: J.M. Bowen, 1962. FHL 1402848
  • [Bowen] South Carolina Genealogical Society. Old Pendleton Chapter. Bowen: Pickens County, South Carolina, Family Lines. n.p.: South Carolina Genealogical Society. Old Pendleton Chapter, 200-?. FHL 929.273 B675bdm
  • [Brooks] Bowen, John McGowan. The Bowen Family, with McGowan and Brooks Lineage, of George's Creek, Pickens County, South Carolina. Atlanta, Ga.: J.M. Bowen, 1962. FHL 1402848
  • [Chastain] Chastain, Victor T. Chastains of Pickens County, South Carolina, 1790-1986: Ten Shilling Bell. Pickens, S.C.: V.T. Chastain, 1986. FHL 929.273 C388ch
  • [Chastain] South Carolina Genealogical Society. Old Pendleton Chapter. Chastain Family: Pickens County, South Carolina. n.p.: South Carolina Genealogical Society. Old Pendleton Chapter, 2002. FHL 929.273 C388cf
  • [Davis] Mentzel, Laura W. Davis Families of the Savannah River Valley: Containing a Record of the Descendants of Van and Harmon Davis from 1725-1978, Covering the Counties of Newberry, Anderson, Pickens, Oconee Counties of South Carolina; Habersham, Franklin, Hart, Stephens, Polk, Paulding, Gwinnett Counties of Georgia. Salt Lake City, Utah: Hobby Press, 1978. FHL 929.273 D29mL
  • [Gillespie] Trimble, David B. Buchanan and Gillespie of Southwest Virginia. Austin, Texas: D.B. Trimble, 1992. Available at FHL.
  • [Kelley] South Carolina Genealogical Society. Old Pendleton Chapter. Kelley Family: Pickens County, South Carolina. n.p.: South Carolina Genealogical Society. Old Pendleton Chapter, 2002. FHL 929.273 K287ks
  • [Langston] Parker, Suzanne Jameson. "Are These the Sons-in-Law & Grandson of William Jameson Sr. & His Wife Margaret of Pendleton District South Carolina?" The South Carolina Magazine of Ancestral Research, Vol. 37, No. 1 (Winter 2009):3-11. FHL Book 975.7 B2sc v. 37
  • [McGowan] Bowen, John McGowan. The Bowen Family, with McGowan and Brooks Lineage, of George's Creek, Pickens County, South Carolina. Atlanta, Ga.: J.M. Bowen, 1962. FHL 1402848
  • [Mauldin] South Carolina Genealogical Society. Old Pendleton Chapter. Mauldin Family: Pickens County, South Carolina. 3 vols. 2002. FHL 929.273 M443ms v. 1
  • [Prince] Prince, Vivian Christine, Frances Prince Gaddy, and Louis R. Prince. Prince - The Descendants of William Prince (1788-1869) of Union County and Pickens County, South Carolina. n.p.: V.C. Prince, F.P. Gaddy, and L.R. Prince, 1985. FHL 929.273 P935pg

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Because South Carolina was an agricultural state, many residents owned land. For earliest records, search 1) Charleston District, 2) your ancestor’s residential district, 3) neighboring districts, 4) the residential county, 5) neighboring counties. Not all districts and counties kept records. See also South Carolina Land and Property.

Online Land Indexes and Records
The following chart show where you may best expect to find land records.

Tracing Land Currently in Pickens County with Parent Counties and Districts [10]
Date Government Office
1868-present Pickens County
1826-1868 Pickens District
1800-1826 Pendleton District
1795-1800 Pendleton County in Washington District
1789-1795 Pendleton County in Ninety-Six District
1769-1789 Ninety-Six District
1719-1769 Charleston District
1710-1719 Proprietary Land Grants
  • Anderson County deeds include the records of former Pendelton District/County

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

North CarolinaTransylvania CountyGreenville CountyAnderson CountyOconee CountySC PICKENS.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Pickens County for European settlers included:[11]

Early migration routes to and from Pickens County for European settlers included:[12]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

  • "John and Frances Cobb war record, SC," Old Pendleton District Newsletter, September 2007, Volume 21, Issue 7. Old Pendleton District Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society: Easley, SC.
  • "Selected final pension vouchers index, 1818-1864," Old Pendleton District Newsletter, March 2006, Volume 20, Issue 3. Old Pendleton District Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society: Easley, SC.
  • "Revolutionary patriots and Confederates buried at Old Stone Church," Anderson Record, April 2005, Volume 18, Issue 2. Anderson County Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society: Anderson, SC.
  • "Siege of the town of Ninety-Six, 1775," St. Lucie River Whig, Winter 2001, Volume 10, Issue 1. St. Lucie River Chapter: Lucie, FL.
  • "Matthew Mullinax, patriot, d. 1837," Old Pendleton District Newsletter, September 1999, Volume 13, Issue 7. Old Pendleton District Chapter, South Carolina Genealogical Society: Easley, SC.
  • "Old Pickens cemetery, Rev. soldiers burials," Piedmont Historical Society Quarterly, July 1984, Volume 2, Issue 3. Piedmont Historical Society: Spartansburg, SC.

War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Book 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, South Carolina, Pickens County, p. 188. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]

South Carolina State Militia

  • Holder, Frederick C.; South Carolina (State) Militia, 2nd Regiment; South Carolina (State) Militia, 5th Regiment; Oconee County Historical Society (Oconee County, South Carolina). The Bailey A. Barton Muster Roll Book of Pickens District, South Carolina (1858). Seneca, S.C.: Oconee County Historical Society, 1990. FHL Book 975.723 M2b, film 1697757 Item 12. Reviewed in The South Carolina Historical Magazine, Vol. 91, No. 4 (Oct. 1990):280-281. Digital version of review at JSTOR ($). Covers present Pickens and Oconee counties.

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men from Pickens County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were formed in Pickens County or from many of its men.

- 1st Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company F
- 1st Battalion, South Carolina Rifles, Company B, Company C, Company E
- 1st Battalion, South Carolina Sharpshooters, Company A (also known the Union Light Infantry and German Fusiliers)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry, Company F (also known as Allen (or Ellen) Hussars) and Company K (had been Company D of 1st South Carolina Cavalry Battalion)
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia), Company D
- 1st Regiment, South Carolina Rifles (Orr's), Company A (also known as Kowee Riflemen), Company C (also known as Mountain Boys), Company E (also known as Oconee Riflemen), and Company F (also known as Blue Ridge Rifles)
- 2nd Battalion, South Carolina Reserves, Company C (also known as the Spartan Rangers, the Spartanburg Rangers and the Spartan Rangers Independent Cavalry Reserves), Company F, Company H (also known as Captain Kay's Detachment, South Carolina Mounted Reserves and the Palmetto Mounted Infantry)
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina State Troops Junior Reserves (State Militia), Company I, Captain J.C. Cary's Company, Captain Thomas H. Russell's Company, and Captain Daniel Lester's Company
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Rifles, Company B, Company C, Company D, Company E, Company F, Company H, Company I, and Company K
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Militia
- 2nd Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry, Company F (also known as Easley's Cavalry)
- 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company A (possibly called Captain Easley's Company)
- 3rd Battalion, South Carolina Light Artillery (Palmetto Battalion), Company G (also known as the DeSaussure Light Artillery and the DePass Light Battery) and Company K (also known as Richardson's Company)
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Rutledge's), Company C
- 4th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company E (also known as Calhoun Mountaineers), Company H (also known as Twelve Mile Volunteers), Company I (also known as Pickens Guards), and Company K (sometimes listed as Company I) (also known as Fort Hill Guards)
- 5th Battalion, South Carolina Rifles, Company B, Company C, Company D, and Company E
- 6th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry (Aiken's Partisan Rangers) (1st Partisan Rangers), Company A, Company H, and Company K
- 7th Regiment, South Carolina Cavalry , Company G
- 10th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company B
- 12th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company G and Company K
-13th Battalion, South Carolina Infantry (4th) (Mattison's), Company C
- 16th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry (Greenville Regiment), Company G
- 16th Battalion, South Carolina Cavalry, Company A
- 20th Regiment, South Carolina Infantry, Company K and Reorganized Company A
- 37th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Dunn's Battalion, Partisan Rangers) (Confederate). Company B.[13]

Other Resources

  • Books about Pickens Co., SC in the War Between the States. This list of books pertaining to the War Between the States in Pickens County was compiled by Steve Batson.
  • Bell, Louise Matheson. Rebels in Grey: Soldiers from Pickens District, 1861-1865 (Seneca, S.C.: Greys of Oconee Chapter No. 1783, United Daughters of the Confederacy, ©1984), 172 pages. Concerns Pickens and Oconee Counties. WorldCat 11859701.
  • Pickens County Court. Confederate Pension Rolls and Widows, 1922-1956. (Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, 1956, 1960) Original and typescript at the Pickens County courthouse. 2 FHL Microfilms (1) Pension rolls 1922-1956, (2) Miscellaneous pension rolls. FHL 24324-24325

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Historic
The Library of Congress has identified the following historic newspapers for Pickens County, South Carolina on their Chronicling America website. For publication details, including dates of publication, frequency, preceding and succeeding titles, and to find out which libraries have holdings, click on the newspaper title.

University of South Carolina Library Catalog

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers new to their area may not encounter. Periodicals at various levels (county, region, and state) may carry articles useful to research in this area. For more information and links, see South Carolina Periodicals.

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Various types of records are created throughout the probate process of settling estates and property, usually after death. These may include, wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information see probate records in South Carolina Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

  • The South Carolina Department of Archives and History has microfilms or typescripts of wills, inventories, bills of sale, power of attorneys, bonds, notes, administrations, judgments, and sales records. They have placed Will Transcriptions for 1782 to 1855 online. Index searchable by name, and images are available. Estate records for County, 1828-1865 available on microfilm, with an index that covers 1828-1956.
  • Probate records for Pickens County may be found in the court of ordinary, probate court, and the court of equity. Estate records for the probate court, 1829-1884, available on microfilm through the Family History Library, with an index covering 1828-1956. FHL Film 24299

Early probate records for Pickens County may be found in Anderson District records. See probate index for these early records at:

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Tax-related records are kept by the offices of the county Assessor, Auditor, Sheriff, and Treasurer. Taxes were levied on real and personal property and can help establish ages, residences, and relationships. See South Carolina Taxation for online resources and suggestions.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • South Carolina Department of Archives and History tax lists for Pickens County.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriage, and death records were not recorded by South Carolina until the 1900s, thus leaving a lack of vital records created by Civil authorities. See South Carolina Vital Records for online resources and suggestions.

Birth, Marriage, and Deaths Substitutes - Indexes

Birth[edit | edit source]

State-wide birth registration did not begin until 1915. For records after 1915, see the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Marriage[edit | edit source]

In South Carolina, Probate Courts issued and still keep marriage licenses from 1 July 1911 to the present. Licenses were not required before 1911. In the 1700s, the Church of England parish churches were required to record all marriages - even if the couple were not members of the denomination. Statewide registration of marriages started in July, 1950. See South Carolina Vital Records for indexes and more information. Marriage Substitutes - Indexes

  • There are several online marriage indexes containing miscellaneous marriage records found in some counties of South Carolina listed on the South Carolina Vital Records page.

Death[edit | edit source]

State-wide death registration began in 1915. For information and online records, see the South Carolina Vital Records page. Online Death Records and Indexes

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Pickens County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Pickens County. For state-wide library facilities, see South Carolina Archives and Libraries.

Pickens County Library System

Captain Kimberly Hampton Memorial Library
304 Biltmore Road
Easley, South Carolina 29640
Telephone: Headquarters: 864-850-7077 Reference: ext 112
Hours: Mon-Thurs 9:00am-9:00pm, Fri-Sat 9:00am-6:00pm, Sun 2:00pm-6:00pm
Collection: The Mary Oates Gregorie Historical Room houses a non-circulating collection of local family histories, newspapers, photographs and other genealogy and history resources.

The Pickens County Library System has three additional branches:

  • Central-Clemson Regional Branch
105 Commons Way
Central, SC 29630
Telephone: 864-639-2711
Hours: Mon-Thurs 9:00am-9:00pm, Fri 9:00am-6:00pm, Sat 9:00am-4:00pm, Sun 2:30pm-5:30pm

  • Sarlin Community Branch
15 S. Palmetto Street
Liberty, SC 29657
Telephone: 864-843-5805
Hours: Mon 10:00am-7:00pm, Tues-Fri 10:00am-6:00pm, Sat 10:00am-2:00pm

  • Village Branch
124 N. Catherine Street
Pickens, SC 29671
Telephone: 864-898-5747
Hours: Mon and Thurs 10:00am-8:00pm, Tues, Wed, Fri 10:00am-6:00pm, Sat 10:00am-4:00pm

Clemson University Libraries

116 Sigma Drive
Clemson, SC 29634
Telephone: 864-656-3027 or 877-886-2389 (tollfree)

Research Resources
Website

Library Catalog
Website

Southern Wesley University

Rickman Library
P.O. Box 1020
907 Wesleyan Drive
Central, SC 29630-1020

Library Catalog
Website

Pendleton District Commission Research Room and Special Collections

PO Box 565
120 History Lane (temporarily)
Pendleton, SC 29670

Facebook
Website

Collection: Local and family history books, genealogical reference materials, cemetery surveys, periodicals, photographs, and both family and local history files, correspondence, business records, family bibles, and scrapbooks for Anderson, Oconee and Pickens counties.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Pickens County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see South Carolina Societies.

  • Old Pendleton District South Carolina Genealogical Society Chapter
    P.O. Box 603
    Central, SC 29630-0603
    E-mail: claytonroom@swi.edu
    Website
Old Pendleton District includes Anderson, Oconee and Pickens counties.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  2. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  3. Wikipedia contributors, "Pickens, South Carolina," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pickens_County,_South_Carolina. accessed 15/07/2019
  4. Voice of Phillip Stalvey, resident of Myrtle Beach, S.C. (2011).
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pickens County, South Carolina. Page 611-615 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 607-608.
  6. South Carolina Historical Boundary Changes - list of all boundary changes by county provided by Newberry Library; accessed on 11 April 2021.
  7. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), South Carolina .At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  8. Wikipedia contributors, "Pickens County, South Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pickens_County,_South_Carolina, accessed 28 December 2019.
  9. Alycon Trubey Pierce, "In Praise of Errors Made by Census Enumerators," National Genealogical Society Quarterly, Vol. 81, No. 1 (March 1993):51-55. FHL Book 973 B2ng
  10. Schweitzer, George K. , South Carolina Genealogical Research (Knoxville, Tennessee: s.p. 1985), 39-42, FHL book 975.7 D27s
  11. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), pages 847-861. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) ▲ WorldCat 50140092, and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. pages 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) ▲ WorldCat 1523234.
  12. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 847-61. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002) WorldCat 50140092, and William E. Myer, Indian Trails of the Southeast. (Nashville, Tenn.: Blue and Gray Press, 1971), 12-14, and the book's pocket map "The Trail System of the Southeastern United States in the early Colonial Period" (1923). (FHL Book 970.1 M992i) WorldCat 1523234.
  13. J.L. Scott, 36th and 37th Battalions Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1986). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 24.
  14. Revill, Janie, Abstract of Marriages and Deaths from the Pendleton Messenger, 1826- 1848, the Keowee Courier, 1857-1871, [S.I.]: [s.n.], 1933-1936.
  15. Elliot, Colleen M., The Keowee Courier, 1849-1851, 1857-1861 and 1865-1868, Easley, SC: Southern Historical Press, c1979.
  16. Rich, Peggy Burton and Marion Ard Whitehurst, The Pickens Sentinel, Favorite Newspaper of Pickens County: Pickens Court House, South Carolina 1872-1893, Historical and Genealogical Abstracts, Bowie, MD: Heritage Books, 1994, c1994.
  17. Ballard, Judy Chandler, Abstracts from The Pickens Sentinel, Pickens, South Carolina: 1875-1915, Greenville, SC: Southern Historical Press, c2003.
  18. Rich, Peggy Burton and Marion Ard Whitehurst, The People's Journal: Pickens, South Carolina, 1894-1903, Historical and Genealogical Abstracts, Bowie, MD: Heritage Books, c1991.