Perry County, Ohio Genealogy
Guide to Perry County, Ohio ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for Oliver Hazard Perry, a hero of the War of 1812. It is located in the Central area of the state.[3]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Perry County Courthouse
105 N Main St
New Lexington, OH 43764
Phone: 740-342-1022
Perry County Website
Probate Court has birth and death records from 1867, marriage records from 1818 and probate records;
County Recorder has land records[4]
Perry County, Ohio Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1867 | 1818 | 1867 | 1818 | 1818 | 1817 | 1820 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county: [8]
| Cities | ||
|
||
| Villages | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
| Ghost towns | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
For an extensive list of resources for Bible Records see Ohio Bible Records.
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1820 | 8,429 | — |
| 1830 | 13,970 | 65.7% |
| 1840 | 19,344 | 38.5% |
| 1850 | 20,775 | 7.4% |
| 1860 | 19,678 | −5.3% |
| 1870 | 18,453 | −6.2% |
| 1880 | 28,218 | 52.9% |
| 1890 | 31,151 | 10.4% |
| 1900 | 31,841 | 2.2% |
| 1910 | 35,396 | 11.2% |
| 1920 | 36,098 | 2.0% |
| 1930 | 31,445 | −12.9% |
| 1940 | 31,087 | −1.1% |
| 1950 | 28,999 | −6.7% |
| 1960 | 27,864 | −3.9% |
| 1970 | 27,434 | −1.5% |
| 1980 | 31,032 | 13.1% |
| 1990 | 31,557 | 1.7% |
| 2000 | 34,078 | 8.0% |
| 2010 | 36,058 | 5.8% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- 1850 United States Census (Mortality Schedule), 1850 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection
- 1850 United States Census (Slave Schedule), 1850 at FamilySearch — How to Use this CollectionUnited States Census, Slave Schedule, 1850 - FamilySearch Historical Records.
- 1850 United States Census 1850; scroll down to find links to both FamilySearch and Ancestry databases.
- 1860 United States Census 1860; scroll down to find links to both FamilySearch and Ancestry databases.
- 1870 United States Census 1870; scroll down to find links to both FamilySearch and Ancestry databases.
- 1880 United States Census 1880; scroll down to find links to both FamilySearch and Ancestry databases.
- 1900 United States Census 1900; scroll down to find links to both FamilySearch and Ancestry databases.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Ohio denominations, see Ohio Church Records.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Catholic
- 1796-2004 Ohio, Diocese of Toledo, Catholic Parish Records, 1796-2004 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; images, select county, town, then parish.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1818-1868 1818-1868 Perry County, Ohio Bond Book at Perry County Ohio. Images.
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Ohio Land and Property for additional information about early Ohio land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for this county. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Ohio Local Histories.
- Martzolff, Clement Luther, History of Perry County, Ohio, (New Lexington, Ohio: Ward and Weiland, 1902). Online at Google Books, Internet Archive, FamilySearch Digital Library.
- Graham, A.A., History of Fairfield and Perry Counties, Ohio: Their Past and Present, (Chicago, Illinois: W. H. Beers and Co., 1883). Online at Google Books, Internet Archive, FamilySearch Digital Library.
- Howe, Henry, Howe's Historical Collections of Ohio, Vol. II, Perry, (Cincinnati, Ohio: C.J.Krehbiel& Co., 1902). Online at PerryCountyOhio.us, Google Books, Hathitrust.
- Thornville's First 150 Years 1811-1961. Online at perrycountyohio.us.
- The History of Thornville, Thornport and Area, Ohio, (The Thornville Thornport History Committee, 1977). Online at perrycountyohio.us.
- Shawnee Souvenir Album 1953, Ohio Sesqucentennial 1853-1953. Online at perrycountyohio.us
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Maps of Ohio (1788-1940) at MapofUS.org
- 1846 Plat Maps at perrycountyohio.us. Available only for Jackson, Reading, Crossenville, New Reading and Somerset.
- 1859 Plat Maps at perrycountyohio.us.
- 1859 Map of Perry County, OH at the Library of Congress.
- 1875 Plat Maps at perrycountyohio.us. For Thorn, Hopewell, and Madison.
- 1935 Plat Maps at perrycountyohio.us.
- 1974 Perry County, Ohio Plat Maps at perrycountyohio.us.
- Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps 1893-1950 at the Library of Congress.
- Map of Ohio highlighting Perry County.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- 1888-1919 Ohio Soldier Home Records, 1888-1919 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
Civil War
- 1861-1866 Roster of Ohio Soldiers 1861-1866. War of the Rebellion Volume III, 21st-36th Reg'ts. Infantry.
- Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System at National Park Service - databases
Civil War service men from Lucas County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Lucas County.
- - 17th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Company E
- - 30th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Company D
- - 31st Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies D and G
- - 90th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Company H
- - 114th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Companies F, G, and I
- - 126th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Company K
- - 129th Regiment, Ohio Infantry, Company K
World War I
- 1914-1918 Ohio, World War I, Enrollment Cards, 1914-1918 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
- 1914-1919 Ohio, World War I Statement of Service Cards, 1914-1919 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
- 1916-1920 Ohio, WWI Index and Return Cards, 1916-1920 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Online Naturalization Indexes and Records
- 1800-1977 Ohio, County Naturalization Records, 1800-1977 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Perry County newspapers often contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
- For more online Ohio newspapers index and images, see Ohio Newspapers.
- 1793-late 1900s Newspapers at Ohio History Connection — Select county.
- 1793-2009 Ohio Newspapers, 1793-2009 at MyHeritage — index & images, ($)
- Early-late 1900s Newspapers at Ohio Memory — sort by County, City, Time Period, and more.
- Perry County Tribune.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas. After 1852, records are held by the Perry County Probate Court. Records include wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (1867-1908 only). The records may give the decedent's date of death, name of spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
See Ohio Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1786-1998 Ohio, Wills and Probate Records, 1786-1998 at Ancestry ($) — index and images.
- 1789-1996 Ohio Probate Records 1789-1996 at FamilySearch.org — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
School Records[edit | edit source]
- 1975 The Sentinel 1975 Yearbook for the high school at:FamilySearch Digital Library
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch — How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Ohio tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties.
Online Tax Indexes and Records
- 1800-1850 Ohio Tax Records, 1800-1850 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
- 1800-1850 Ohio Tax Records, 1800-1850 at MyHeritage ($) — index
- 1828 1828 Perry County, Ohio Tax Duplicate at perrycountyohio.us
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Marriages were usually recorded from the formation of the county and are held at the office of the County Probate Court. Divorce records are located with the county Clerk of Courts.
Any existing birth and death records from 1867 through December 19, 1908 are located at the County Probate Court. The Ohio Department of Health has birth records filed after December 20, 1908 and death records filed after January 1, 1954, while the Ohio History Connection houses death records from December 20, 1908 through December 31, 1953.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1841-2003 Ohio, County Births, 1841-2003 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
- 1908-1998 Ohio, Birth Index, 1908-1998 at Ancestry ($) — Index
- 1959-1998 Ohio, Birth Index, 1959-1998 at MyHeritage - index ($)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1789-2013 Ohio, County Marriages, 1789-2013 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
- 1800-1942 Ohio Marriages, 1800-1942 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index.
- 1800-1958 Ohio Marriages, 1800-1958 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index.
- 1970-2003 Ohio, Marriages, 1970 - 2003 at MyHeritage ($) — index
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1833-1967 Ohio, Church and Civil Deaths, 1833-1967 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index
- 1840-2001 Ohio, County Death Records, 1840-2001 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
- 1908-1932, 1938–1944, and 1958–2007 Ohio Death Index, 1908-1932, 1938-1944, and 1958-2007 at FamilySearch– How to Use this Collection; Index.
- 1908-1932, 1938-2018 Ohio, Death Records, 1908-1932, 1938-2018 at Ancestry ($) — index and images
- 1908-1953 Ohio Deaths, 1908-1953 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index and images.
- 1913-1944, 1954-1963 Ohio Death Index, 1913-1944, 1954-1963 at MyHeritage ($) — index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1962-2007 Ohio, Divorce Abstracts, 1962-1963, 1967-1971, 1973-2007 at Ancestry ($)
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Perry County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Ohio Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Perry County. For state-wide library facilities, see Ohio Archives and Libraries.
New Straitsville Public Library
102 E Main St
PO Box 8
New Straitsville, OH 43766
740-394-2717
Website
Perry County District Library
Main Library
117 S Jackson St
New Lexington, OH 43764-1330
740-342-4194
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Perry Historical Society Museum
3885 Main St
Perry, OH 44081
440-259-4541
Website
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Perry County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Ohio Societies.
Perry County Chapter, Ohio Genealogical Society
PO Box 275
Junction City, OH 43748-0275
E-mail:perrycountychapterogs@yahoo.com
Website
Perry County, Ohio Historical Society
105 S Columbus St
Somerset, OH 43783-0746
740-987-4862
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Local Gov't Records by County at Ohio History Connection — Browse their list; records are not online.
- Custom Browse of Historical Collections at Ohio Memory — Use map or alpha bar to select county or place, then browse search options in left sidebar.
- Ohio Genealogical Society ($) — online databases
- Perry County OH Genealogy at LDS Genealogy
- Genealogy and Historical Information for Perry County, Ohio
- USGenWeb Archives for Perry County
- OH GenWeb for Perry County
- PerryCountyOhio.us - images of books, Vital records, Maps, Census records
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Ohio Atlas of Historical County Boundaries Ohio: Individual County Chronologies; Copyright The Newberry Library 2007
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ohio.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Genealogy Trails History Group, “Perry County, Ohio Genealogy and History”, http://genealogytrails.com/ohio/perry/ accessed 2/22/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ohio.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ohio.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ohio.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Ohio Atlas of Historical County Boundaries Ohio: Individual County Chronologies; Copyright The Newberry Library 2007
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Perry County, Ohio," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Perry_County,_Ohio, accessed 8 January 2019.