Perry County, Alabama Genealogy
Guide to Perry County, Alabama ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Commodore Oliver Hazard Perry, of Rhode Island, the United States Navy. The County is located in the west-central location.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Perry County Courthouse
300 Washington St
P O Box 505
Marion, Alabama 36756
334-683-2200
Perry County Website
County Clerk has marriage probate and land records [3]
Perry County, Alabama Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1908 | 1820 | 1908 | 1821 | 1819 | 1821 | 1816 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in Perry County:[6]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator.
| Cities | ||
|
||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
|
||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- Bible Records at BYU Family History Library
- Perry County, Alabama Bible Records at Access Genealogy
- Perry County, Alabama Bible Records at Alabama Genealogy
- Perry County Bible Records at Tracking Your Roots
- Perry County Bible Records at USGenWeb Archives Project
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1820 | 3,646 | — |
| 1830 | 11,490 | 215.1% |
| 1840 | 19,086 | 66.1% |
| 1850 | 22,285 | 16.8% |
| 1860 | 27,724 | 24.4% |
| 1870 | 24,975 | −9.9% |
| 1880 | 30,741 | 23.1% |
| 1890 | 29,332 | −4.6% |
| 1900 | 31,783 | 8.4% |
| 1910 | 31,222 | −1.8% |
| 1920 | 25,373 | −18.7% |
| 1930 | 26,385 | 4.0% |
| 1940 | 26,610 | 0.9% |
| 1950 | 20,439 | −23.2% |
| 1960 | 17,358 | −15.1% |
| 1970 | 15,388 | −11.3% |
| 1980 | 15,012 | −2.4% |
| 1990 | 12,759 | −15.0% |
| 2000 | 11,861 | −7.0% |
| 2010 | 10,591 | −10.7% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
State Census
- 1855 Alabama State Census, 1855 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1866 Alabama State Census, 1866 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1907, 1921, 1927 Alabama, Census of Confederate Veterans, 1907, 1921, 1927 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Alabama denominations, view the Alabama Church Records wiki page.
- 1831-1994 Alabama, Church Records, 1831-1994 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
List of Churches and Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1821-1975 Orphans' Records, 1821-1859; Probate Records, 1859-1929; Inventories, 1823-1925; Index, 1832-1975(*); Probate and Orphans' Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1895-1946 Miscellaneous Records, Abstracts, Pension Records, Disputes, 1895-1946, Perry County, Alabama(*); Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1908-1914 Child Labor Affidavits, 1908-1914(*); Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
- 1865-1872 Alabama, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1872 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Ashley's Lee and Rollins Funeral Home in Marion
- Glen White Memorial Funeral Home in Uniontown
- Kirk Funeral Homes in Marion
- Melvin Miller Funeral Service in Marion
- Phillip White's Julia L. White Funeral Home in Uniontown
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Alabama Land and Property for additional information about early Alabama land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where records are currently housed.
To place a grant or deed on a map within context of Perry County see:
- Boyd, Gregory A. Family Maps of Perry County, Alabama: with Homesteads, Roads, Waterways, Towns, Cemeteries, Railroads, and More. Norman, Okla.: Arphax Pub. Co., 2009. This is a definitive work and can be used as an index to land grants. Digital version at HistoryGeo.com ($). Website includes surname index. FHL Book 976.144 E7b.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Perry County. The histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Alabama Local Histories.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Maps of Alabama (1799-1980)
- Family Maps of Perry County (land patent maps) at HistoryGeo.com ($). Free surname search.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- Alabama Maps and Blueprints Collection at Alabama Department of Archives and History – maps can be browsed by location or subject
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Multiple Wars
- ca.1918-ca.1962 Alabama, Military Discharge Records, ca.1918 - ca.1962 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War, 1861-1865
- 1861-1865 Alabama Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, images at partner site
- 1861-1865 Alabama Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index, images at partner site
- 1861-1865 Civil War Service Database at Alabama Department of Archives and History - index
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1871-1880 Alabama, Southern Claims Commission Approved Claims, 1871-1880 at FamilySearch- How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1880-1930 Alabama, Confederate Pension Applications, ca. 1880-1930's at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1907, 1921, 1927 Alabama, Census of Confederate Veterans, 1907, 1921, 1927 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- Alabama Civil War and Reconstruction Newspapers at Alabama Department of Archives and History
Regiments. Men in Perry County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a large regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Perry County:
- - 1st Battalion, Alabama Artillery, Company C
- - 3rd Regiment, Alabama Cavalry, Company F[formerly Murphy's Independent Co.]
- - 4th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company D(Canebrake Rifle Guards)
- - 4th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company G(Marion Light Infantry)
- - 8th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Comany A "Alabama Rangers"
- - 8th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K "Southern Guards"
- - 11th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company K
- - 20th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A, F and H
- - 28th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company A and K
- - 40th Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company H
- - 41st Regiment, Alabama Infantry, Company E
- - 51st Regiment, Alabama Partisan Rangers, Company I
World War I
- 1917-1919 Alabama, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection ; index and images
- 1917-1918 Alabama World War I Service Records at Alabama Department of Archives and History - alpha index by name and images
- 1917-1918 Alabama World War I Gold Star Files at Alabama Department of Archives and History - alpha index by name and images
World War II
- 1940-1945 Alabama, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1940-1966 Alabama Active Military Service Reports at Alabama Department of Archives and History - alpha index by name and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- Alabama Civil War and Reconstruction Newspapers at Alabama Department of Archives and History
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Voter Registration
- 1834-1981 Alabama Voter Registration and Poll Tax Cards, 1834-1981 at FamilySearch - How to use this collection, index and images
Alabama Voting Registers for 1867 are available online at the Alabama Department of Archives and History. Perry County has three books, with two having working links:
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1753–1999 Alabama Wills and Probate Records 1753-1999 at Ancestry ($)
- 1809-1985 Alabama Probate Records, 1809-1985(*) at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images
- 1820-1899 Index to the Minutes of the Probate Court of Perry County, Alabama, from the Beginning (about 1820) to the End of the 19th Century(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1821-1932 Will Records, 1821-1932(*); Probate and County Courts at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1821-1975 Orphans' Records, 1821-1859; Probate Records, 1859-1929; Inventories, 1823-1925; Index, 1832-1975(*); Probate and Orphans Courts at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1822-1914 Estate Papers, ca. 1822-1914(*); Probate Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1830-1976 Alabama Estate Files, 1830-1976(*) at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index & images
- 1840-1920 Estate Cases, 1840-1920(*); County Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- Index (Only) to Will Book A, Perry County, Alabama(*); at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Alabama tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Alabama Taxation.
- 1865-1866 U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918 at Ancestry ($). Perry County is in District 2.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Alabama State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online $.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Alabama.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1881–1930 Alabama Births and Christenings, 1881-1930 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1881-1930 Alabama, County Birth Registers, 1881-1930 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and some images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1733-2013 Alabama, United States Marriages at Findmypast $
- 1800–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800-1969 at Ancestry $
- 1809-1920 Alabama Marriages,1809-1920 (Selected Counties) at Ancestry $
- 1809–1950 Alabama, County Marriages, 1809-1950 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; index and some images
- 1816–1957 Alabama Marriages, 1816-1957 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1818, 1820-1879, 1923, 1927, 1936–1969 Alabama, Marriage Collection, 1800–1969 at Ancestry– ($);
- 1818-1936 Alabama County Marriages, 1818-1936 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1820-1878 "Alabama Marriages, 1809–1920" at Ancestry– ($); Contains about 150,000 records and the names of nearly 300,000 men and women.
- 1820-1895 Perry County Marriage Index 1820-1895 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch
- 1820-1929 Perry County, Alabama Marriage Licenses and Books E-H at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and some images
- To 1825 Indexrriages at Ancestry– ($); contains over 12,000 names.
- 1858-1873 Hageness, MariLee Beatty. Marriages 1858-1873 Perry County, Alabama. Anniston, Ala.: MLH Research, 2002.
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1881-1974 Index to Deaths and Burials at Ancestry– ($); copies of church, civil, family, and other records of Alabama deaths and burials. varies depending on the original record incomplete.
- 1881 – 1952 Alabama Deaths and Burials, 1881-1952 at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1908-1974 Alabama, Deaths, 1908-1974 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1908–1959 Index to Deaths Recorded by the State of Alabama at Ancestry – ($);
- 1912-1929 Perry County Marriage Index 1912-1929 in International Genealogical Index at FamilySearch. [7]
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Perry County. For state-wide library facilities, see Alabama Archives and Libraries.
Marion - Perry County Library
202 Washington Street
Marion, Alabama 36756
334-683-6411
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Perry County Historical and Preservation Society
204 W Monroe St.
Marion, Alabama 36756
334-292-0319
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- USGenWeb Archives Project ~ contains record transcriptions from Bibles, obituaries, court records and more.
- Perry County ALGenWeb ~ record transcriptions and information pertinent to the county.
- Perry County, Alabama Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Genealogy Trails History Group, "Perry County, Alabama Genealogy and History", http://genealogytrails.com/ala/perry/ 6/16/2017.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Perry County, Alabama. Page 37 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 33.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Alabama.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Perry County, Alabama," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Perry_County,_Alabama, accessed 23 October 2018.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/c/cf/Igialabamals.pdf.
