Penwortham, Lancashire Genealogy
Guide to Penwortham, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records. Here is a List of Chapelries in Penwortham Parish
| Penwortham, Lancashire | |
|---|---|
 | |
| Type | England Jurisdictions |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | Leyland |
| County | Lancashire, England Genealogy |
| Poor Law Union | Preston |
| Registration District | Preston |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1857 | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: 1608 | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Leyland |
| Diocese | Manchester |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory) |
| Location of Archive | |
| Lancashire Archives | |
Parish History[edit | edit source]
PENWORTHAM (St Mary), a parish, in the union of Preston, hundred of Leyland, N. division of Lancashire; containing, with the chapelry of Longton, and the townships of Farington, Howick, and Hutton, 1¾ mile southwest of Preston. Penwortham was listed in the Domesday Book as "Penverdent" and Penwortham Priory was built in the west of the town. A simple motte-and-bailey castle was built during the post-Norman conquest period overlooking the Ribble and its ford. Some evidence of this castle is still evident in St Mary's Churchyard. The present church was built on the site after the loss through fire in 1856 of the ancient St Mary. At Farington and Longton are separate chapels laying within the this parish. In Penwortham is a place of worship for Wesleyan Methodists.[1]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]
Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map
- Type the name of the parish in the search bar
- Click on the location pin on the map
- Choose Options from the pop up box
- Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD. The place of Marriage is listed on this website.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.
Church of England[edit | edit source]
Chapelry is a church or churches built in a large ecclesiastical parish to help the members attend worship services closer to their homes.
Chapelries of Penwortham[edit | edit source]
|
Online Parish Records Table
Due to the increasing access of online records:
- Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
- Dates in the following table are approximate
Hover over the collection's title for more information
| Penwortham Parish Records | ||||||
| All Chapelries Found in Penwortham are included in these links. | ||||||
| FamilySearch Collections-Lancashire | ||||||
| Parish Registers-Lancashire | ||||||
| Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog | ||||||
| FreeREG | ||||||
| Findmypast-Lancashire ($) | ||||||
| Ancestry-Church of England BMD-Lancashire ($) | ||||||
| Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($) | 1500s-1900s |
1500s-1900s |
||||
| Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage | ||||||
| Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free) | ||||||
| National Burial Index-FMP (Free) | ||||||
Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.
- Joiner Marriage Index - Lancashire ($)
- The Genealogist Parish Registers - Lancashire ($)
- UK Websites for Parish Records - Links to online genealogical records
- Online Genealogical Index - Links to online genealogical records
- OnLine Parish Clerks - Lancashire - OnLine Parish Clerks project for Lancashire
Non-Conformist Churches (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1647-1996 England, Lancashire Non-conformist Church Records, 1647-1996 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Catholic[edit | edit source]
- 1628 - 1628 List of Recusants in Penwortham and Hutton (p. 180)[2]
- 1628 - 1628 List of Recusants in Farrington and Houghwicke (p. 180)[2]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
[edit | edit source]
Preston Poor Law Union, Lancashire Genealogy
Probate records
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
- 1628 - 1628 Subsidy of Penworthame and Hutton (p. 168)[2]
- 1628 - 1628 Subsidy of Farrington and Houghwicke (p. 169). Di[2]
- 1665 - Lancashire Hearth Tax: Leyland Hundred, Penwortham. E 179/132/351, The National Archives. Microfilm: FHL Film 2228692.
- 1665 - Lancashire Hearth Tax: Leyland Hundred, Farrington. E 179/132/351, The National Archives. Microfilm: FHL Film 2228692.
- 1665 - Lancashire Hearth Tax: Leyland Hundred, Howick. E 179/132/351, The National Archives. Microfilm: FHL Film 2228692.
- 1665 - Lancashire Hearth Tax: Leyland Hundred, Hutton. E 179/132/351, The National Archives. Microfilm: FHL Film 2228692.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
![[tree]](/en/wiki/index.php?title=File:Mosaic_FamilySearch_Tree_Image.jpg&filetimestamp=20150812015853&){kind=small} |
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., [A Topographical Dictionary of England] (1848), pp. 549-555. Adapted. Date accessed:1 October 2013.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 2.2 2.3 J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.