Patrick County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Patrick County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Stuart
Organized: 01 Jun 1791[1]
Parent County(s): Henry
Neighboring Counties
Carroll  • Floyd  • Franklin  • Henry  • Stokes (NC)  • Surry (NC)
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaPatrickCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Patrick County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Patrick County is located in the southern portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and shares a border with North Carolina. Patrick County was named in honor of Patrick Henry.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Patrick County Courthouse
101 Blue Ridge Street
PO Box 148
Stuart, VA 24171-0148
Phone: 276-694-7213
Patrick County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth, and death records 1853-1896, marriage, divorce, probate and land records from 1791[3]

Patrick County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1791 1853 1791 1791 1791 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1810, 1890

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Patrick Henry.JPG

The county was named after Virginia Governor Patrick Henry (1736-1799).

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Patrick County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1800 4,331
1810 4,695 8.4%
1820 5,089 8.4%
1830 7,395 45.3%
1840 8,032 8.6%
1850 9,609 19.6%
1860 9,359 −2.6%
1870 10,161 8.6%
1880 12,833 26.3%
1890 14,147 10.2%
1900 15,403 8.9%
1910 17,195 11.6%
1920 16,850 −2.0%
1930 15,787 −6.3%
1940 16,613 5.2%
1950 15,642 −5.8%
1960 15,282 −2.3%
1970 15,282 0.0%
1980 17,647 15.5%
1990 17,473 −1.0%
2000 19,407 11.1%
2010 18,490 −4.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1790 Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation.
1800 Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation.
1810 Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation.

1840

  • Douthat, James L. 1840 Mountain Empire of Virginia Census. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2001. FHL Collection 975.5 X2d 1840. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. [Includes Patrick County.]

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Jack's Creek (1804)[8]
  2. Smith's River[8] is discussed in Virginia Appalachian Notes, Vol. 10, No. 3 (Aug. 1986): FHL Book 975.5 D25v v. 10 (1986).

Patrick County fell within the bounds of the Strawberry Association.

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Blue Ridge Mission (1883-1916) aka Broadway[9]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Patrick County Genealogy Society. Patrick County Virginia Heritage Book. Stuart, Va.: Patrick County Genealogy Society, 2000. FHL Collection

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Galax (Independent City)Carroll CountyFloyd CountyFranklin CountyMartinsville (Independent City), Virginia GenealogyHenry CountySurry CountyStokes CountyRockingham CountyVA PATRICK.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Elliott, Katherine B. Emigration to Other States from Southside Virginia. 2 vols. South Hill, Virginia: K.B. Elliott, 1966. Vol. 1 of original edition available at FHL; 1983 reprints (both volumes) available at FHL; 1990-1992 reprints (both volumes) also available at FHL. [Includes individuals who migrated out of Patrick County to other parts of the country.]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books et. al. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Eastern District, Patrick County on page 132.]
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.


War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Patrick County, p. 97. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]

Regiments. Patrick County men served in the 18th Regiment.[10]

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Patrick County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

  • Information about the Companies that served from Patrick County can be found at:
(1) FHL book 975.5695 H2h titled History of Patrick County, Virginia, pages 97-164
(2) FHL book 975.5 M2vr v. 29 titled A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations 1861-1865
- 4th Regiment, Virginia State Line (Cavalry and Infantry) (Confederate). Company H.[11]
- 5th Battalion, Virginia Reserves (Confederate)[12]
- 6th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate)[13]
- 12th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate)
- 21st Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company G 2nd.[14]
- 24th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company H.[15]
- 24th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company I.[16]
- 29th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company E.[17]
- 42nd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company H (Patrick Henry Volunteers).[18]
- 50th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company H (Wise Yankee Catchers) and Company K (Patrick Boys).[19]
- 51st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate).[20]
- 58th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company H (Patrick Grays).[21]
- The Orange Artillery (Confederate)


World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in the Virginia Gazette and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Private Papers

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

Online Patrick County, Virginia Tax Lists
Type Index Images
Free FHC Fee Free FHC Fee
Personal Property - - - - 1791 1791
Land - - 1791 1|2 - 1791 -
Personal Property - - - - 1792 1792
Land - - 1792 1|2 - 1792 -
Personal Property - - - - 1793 1793
Land - - 1793 1|2 - 1793 -
Personal Property - - - - 1794 1794
Land - - 1794 1|2 - 1794 -
Personal Property - - - - 1795 1795
Land - - 1795 1|2 - 1795 -
Personal Property - - - - 1796 1796
Land - - 1796 1|2 - 1796 -
Personal Property - - - - 1797 1797
Land - - 1797 1|2 - 1797 -
Personal Property - - - - 1798 1798
Land - - 1798 1|2 - 1798 -
Personal Property - - - - 1799 1799
Land - - 1799 1|2 - 1799 -
Personal Property 1800 - 1800 1800 1800 1800
Land - - - - 1800 -
Personal Property - - - - 1801 1801
Land - - - - 1801 -
Personal Property - - - - 1802 1802
Land - - - - 1802 -
Personal Property - - - - 1803 1803
Land - - - - 1803 -
Personal Property - - - - 1804 1804
Land - - - - 1804 -
Personal Property - - - - 1805 1805
Land - - - - 1805 -
Personal Property - - - - 1806 1806
Land - - - - 1806 -
Personal Property - - - - 1807 1807
Land - - - - 1807 -
Personal Property - - - - 1809 1809
Land - - - - 1809 -
Personal Property - - - - 1810 1810
Land - - - - 1810 -
Personal Property - - - - 1811 1811
Land - - - - 1811 -
Personal Property - - - - 1812 1812
Land - - - - 1812 -
Personal Property - - - - 1813 1813
Land - - - - 1813 -
Personal Property - - - - 1814 1814
Land - - - - 1814 -
Personal Property - - - - 1815-1850 -
Land - - - - 1815-1850 -

Bibliography

  • 1791-1814 Patrick County Personal Property Tax Lists 1791-1814 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1791-1799 Land Tax, 1791-1799, Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 24, No. 2 (May 1986); Vol. 24, No. 3 (Aug 1986).
  • 1791 Baughan, Barbara C. and Betty A. Pilson. Miscellaneous Records of Patrick County, Virginia. Westminster, Md.: Willow Bend Books, 1999. FHL 975.5695 P28ba [Includes 1791 land tax.]
  • 1791-1814 Heinegg, Paul. "Patrick County Personal Property Tax List, 1791-1814," Free African Americans.com. [Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.]
  • 1800 County Tax List, 1800, Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 48, No. 2 (Apr. 2004).
  • 1810 Index of the 1810 Patrick County, Virginia Personal Property Tax List; index online at New River Notes - free.
  • 1810 Schreiner-Yates, Netti. A Supplement to the 1810 Census of Virginia: Tax Lists of the Counties for which the Census is Missing. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1971. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1810 personal property tax list. Patrick County is included because the 1810 Census for that county has been destroyed.]
  • 1810 Tax List, 1810, Southwest Virginian. Norton VA: Dec 1980. Vol. 3 Iss. 18.
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. [The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Patrick County is included in Vol. 2.]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Patrick County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Patrick County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Bassett Historical Center, Bassett, Virginia.
Website includes collection description. Excellent resource for family history research in Henry, Patrick, Floyd, Franklin and Pittsylvania counties in Virginia, the city of Martinsville, Virginia, and Rockingham, Stokes and Surry counties in North Carolina.[22]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Patrick County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patrick_County,_Virginia
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Newberry
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Patrick_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patrick_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 19 February 2020.
  8. 8.0 8.1 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 338-339. Digital version at Google Books.
  9. Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  10. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 166. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  11. The Virginia State Line: Organizational Structure of the Virginia State Line, Ranger95.com, accessed 11 June 2012.
  12. Patrick County Historical Society, History of Patrick County, Virginia (Stuart, Va.: Patrick County Historical Society, 1999). FHL Book 975.5695 H2h.
  13. Michael A. Cavanaugh, 6th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 43.
  14. John E. Olson, 21st Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 57.
  15. Darryl Holland, 24th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 128.
  16. Ralph White Gunn, 24th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1987). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 34.
  17. John Perry Alderman, 29th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 53.
  18. John Chapla, 42nd Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1983). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 5.
  19. John C. Chapla, 50th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1997). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 129.
  20. History of Patrick County, Virginia (Stuart, Va.: Patrick County Historical Society, 1999), 100-101. FHL Book 975.5695 H2h.
  21. Robert J. Driver, Jr. 58th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 68.
  22. Alice J. Sweeney,