Passaic County, New Jersey Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Passaic County, New Jersey ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Paterson
Organized: February 7, 1837
Parent County(s): Bergen, Essex
Neighboring Counties
Bergen  • Essex  • Morris  • Orange (NY)  • Rockland (NY)  • Sussex
See County Maps
Courthouse
New Jersey, Passaic County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Nj-passaic.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
NJGenWeb.gif This page adopted by:
NJGenWeb and its coordinators
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Passaic County is located in the northeast region of the state. It was created in 1837. Paterson is the county seat. The county was named for "Pasaeck", a Lenape word meaning "valley".[1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Passaic County Courthouse
77 Hamilton Street
Paterson, NJ 07505-2017
Phone: 973-653-2910
Passaic County Courthouse

County Clerk has divorce records from 1947, court records from 1900 and land records.
County Surrogate has probate records. [2]

Passaic County, New Jersey Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1901 1837 1901 1900 1837 1837 1830
*Statewide registration for births and deaths started 1 May 1848. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Boroughs
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Townships


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

  • 1907 part back to Essex County.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Courtesy of the Passaic County Historical Society Genealogy Club:

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Passaic County, New Jersey online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See New Jersey Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing census records online, see: New Jersey Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1840 16,734
1850 22,569 34.9%
1860 29,013 28.6%
1870 46,416 60.0%
1880 68,860 48.4%
1890 105,046 52.6%
1900 155,202 47.7%
1910 215,902 39.1%
1920 259,174 20.0%
1930 302,129 16.6%
1940 309,353 2.4%
1950 337,093 9.0%
1960 406,618 20.6%
1970 460,782 13.3%
1980 447,585 −2.9%
1990 453,060 1.2%
2000 489,049 7.9%
2010 501,226 2.5%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about denominations, view the New Jersey Church Records wiki page.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Courtesy of the Passaic County Historical Society Genealogy Club:

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Betts, Enid. A Sanderson Family and Its Branches. History of Stepen Sanderson born 1811, and his wife Elizabeth Aisbitt and descendants. According to the IGI the Sandersons were in Houghton le Spring, from the late 1500's. Other areas the descendants were in: Eighton Banks, Gateshead Pelaw, Bishop Wearmouth, with a branch going to USA, Patterson, New Jersey,and another branch to Australia. Surnames mention: Liddell, Fenwick, Wynn, Armstrong, Hunter, Best, Murray, Reay, Lockey, Wanless and Smith. Article dated 1560-1985, and is found in The Northumberland & Durham Family History Society Journal, vol.27, no.3,pages 92-95. Family History Library Reference 942.8 B2jo v.27.no.3.(autumn 2002)

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a specific location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See New Jersey Land and Property for information about New Jersey Proprietary land records. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Your relatives may be included in biographies, in church, school and government history, or in military events and lists. For more information, see New Jersey History and scroll to Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Rockland CountyOrange CountyBergen CountyEssex CountyMorris CountySussex CountyNJ PASSAIC.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources



Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Courtesy of the Passaic County Historical Society Genealogy Club:


Civil War
Regiments. Civil War service men in Passaic County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in this county:

- 70th Regiment, New York Infantry, Companies A and I.

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Passaic County, New Jersey Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:


Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

From 1797 or the creation of the county, probate records were held by the Court of Common Pleas and may have earlier records. In 1852, most of those records were transferred to the Passaic County Probate Court. For more complete information and for online and other resources, see New Jersey Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Online School Indexes and Records
Courtesy of the Passaic County Historical Society Genealogy Club:

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

New Jersey tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses before 1820 or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page New Jersey Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. United States Vital Records has additional research guidance on researching and using vital records. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the New Jersey Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. Original marriage records are usually held at the county Bureau of Vital Statistics.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Passaic County Historical Society Genealogy Club
Lambert Castle
3 Valley Road
Paterson NJ 07509
Telephone: 973-881-2761
E-mail:library@lambertcastle.org
Website

Jefferson Township Historical Society
315 Dover-Milton Road
Jefferson Township - Milton, Oak Ridge, NJ 07438
Telephone: 973-697-0258
E-mail:info@jthistoricalsociety.org
Website

North Jersey Highlands Historical Society
PO Box 248
Ringwood, NJ, 07456
E-mail:info@northjerseyhistory.org
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Passaic County, New Jersey" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Passaic_County,_New_Jersey accessed 23 September 2018.
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Passaic County, New Jersey page 465, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Passaic County, New Jersey . Page 464-465 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 460.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002).At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Passaic County, New Jersey," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Passaic_County,_New_Jersey#Communities accessed 18 March 2020.