Page County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Page County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Luray
Organized: 30 Mar 1831[1]
Parent County(s): Rockingham, Shenandoah
Neighboring Counties
Greene  • Madison  • Rappahannock  • Rockingham  • Shenandoah  • Warren
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaPageCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Page County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Page County is located in the Northwest portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named for John Page, Governor of Virginia, 1802-1805[2].

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Page County Courthouse
116 South Court Street
Luray, VA 22835
Phone:540-743-5705
Page County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, land, probate and court records from 1831[3]

Page County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1865 1831 1864 1831 1831 1831 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

  • Lost census: 1890

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Towns
Unincorporated communities


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Governor John Page.JPG


The county is named after Virginia Governor John Page (1744-1808)

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes a section on Luray silversmiths.]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Page County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1840 6,194
1850 7,600 22.7%
1860 8,109 6.7%
1870 8,462 4.4%
1880 9,965 17.8%
1890 13,092 31.4%
1900 13,794 5.4%
1910 14,147 2.6%
1920 14,770 4.4%
1930 14,852 0.6%
1940 14,863 0.1%
1950 15,152 1.9%
1960 15,572 2.8%
1970 16,581 6.5%
1980 19,401 17.0%
1990 21,690 11.8%
2000 23,177 6.9%
2010 24,042 3.7%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1890 Union Veterans' Census

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  • Mill Creek (by 1798). Minutes begin in 1798 and have been published through 1824 in the Genealogical Society of Page County, Virginia Newsletter, Vol. 9, No. 2 (Spring 1998), Vol. 9, No. 3 (Summer 1998), Vol. 9, No. 4 (Fall 1998), Vol. 10, No. 1 (Winter 1999), Vol. 10, No. 2 (Spring 1999), Vol. 10, No. 3 (Summer 1999). Membership lists (1823-1846) and deaths (1829-1850) were published in Seattle Genealogical Society Bulletin, Vol. 16, No. 4 (June 1967) and Vol. 17, No. 1 (Sep. 1967): FHL Book 979.777 B2b v. 16-17 (1966-1968).

German Reformed

  • Braun, Johannes, Klaus Wust and Joseph H. Meyerhoeffer. Shenandoah Valley Family Data, 1799-1813: From the Memorandum Book of Pastor Johannes Braun. Edinburg, Va.: Shenandoah History Publishers, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 K2bjo.

Lutheran
Mount Calvary Lutheran Church, also known as Hawksbill Church, Hacksbill Church, Hoxbiehl Church, and Gomer's Church

  • 1742-1775 Gray, Gertrude E. Virginia Northern Neck Land Grants, 1742-1775. Vol. II. Baltimore, MD, USA: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1997. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
  • Wust, Klaus, translator. The Record of Hawksbill Church 1788-1850 Page County, VA. Edinburg, Virginia: Shenandoah History, 1979.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records
Indexes and images to Page County, Virginia Chancery Records 1831-1914 are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, which were often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African Americans

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • O'Dell, Cecil. Pioneers of Old Frederick County, Virginia. Marceline, Mo.: Walsworth Pub. Co., 1995. FHL Collection. One of the most impressively researched one-place studies in the United States. In a review, Dorman stated "Comprehensive studies such as this appear only rarerly. This volume should be in every Virginia genealogical collection."[8]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Strickler, Harry M. A Short History of Page County Virginia. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Inc., 1952. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Harrisonburg (Independent City)Rockingham CountyGreene CountyMadison CountyRappahannock CountyWarren CountyShenandoah CountyVA PAGE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources
  • Massanutten Area Atlas. Original records, Shenandoah County Archives, Woodstock, Va. Microfilmed reproduction available at FHL. [This is a bound book of hand drawn maps showing property boundaries for grant map, ca. 1748-1915. It covers parts of Shenandoah, Warren and Page counties.]
  • FamilySearch Places: Cities and Towns in this couinty - How to Use FS Places

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War

  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Page County on pages 135-136.]


War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Orange County, p. 97. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]


Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Page County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 7th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Ashby's) (Confederate). Company D (Captain Macon Jordan).[9]
- 10th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (Page Volunteers).[10]
- 33rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate) Company H (Page Grays).
- 35th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate).[11]


World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Private Papers[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1777 "Augusta County Tithables, 1777," Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 42 Iss. 4 (Nov. 2004):307-310. Available at FHL. [Covers area of present-day eastern Rockingham and Page counties.]
  • 1855 Free Negroes and Mulattoes, within County, over 12 Years of Age, 1855, Mountain Memories. Luray VA: Spring 2004. Vol. 15 Iss. 2.
  • 1856 Free Negroes and Mulattoes, Modesitt District, with Ages, 1856, Mountain Memories. Luray VA: Spring 2004. Vol. 15 Iss. 2.
  • 1858 Free Negroes over 12, 1858, Mountain Memories. Luray VA: Winter 2001. Vol. 12 Iss. 1.
  • 1858-1859 Ramey, Chester E. Page County, Virginia Land Tax Records for 1858 & 1859. Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1995. Available through the FamilySearch Catalog.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Page County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Page County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Page County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

  • Good, Rebecca H. and Rebecca A. Ebert. Finding Your People in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia: A Genealogical Guide. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 1998. 4th ed. FHL Book 975 D27e 1998
  • Kelley, Teresa. "Paging Through the Past at the Page Public Library, Luray, Page County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 25, No. 3 (Jun. 1999):1-2. Available at FHL; digital version at Virginia Genealogical Society website.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Page_County,_Virginia
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Newberry
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Page_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Page_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 19 February 2020.
  8. John Frederick Dorman, "Review of Pioneers of Old Frederick County, Virginia," in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 39, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1995):236.
  9. Richard L. Armstrong, 7th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 88.
  10. Terrence V. Murphy, 10th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 55.
  11. John E. Divine, 35th Battalion Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 19.