Oxford County, Maine Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Oxford County, Maine ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: South Paris
Organized: March 4, 1805
Parent County(s): Cumberland, York
Neighboring Counties
Franklin  • Androscoggin  • Cumberland  • York  • Carroll (NH)  • Coös (NH)  • Compton (QB)
Courthouse
Maine, Oxford County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Me-oxford.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Oxford County was named for Oxford, Massachusetts.[1] Oxford County is located in the western area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Oxford County Courthouse
26 Western Ave / PO Box 179
South Paris, ME 04281
Phone: 207-647-3535
Oxford County Website

Town Clerks have birth, marriage and death records. Clerk Courts have marriage records 1877-1897, divorce and court records from 1930, probate and land records from 1805. [3]

Oxford County, Maine Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1892 1793 1892 1805 1805 1805 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths started in 1892. General compliance year unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

MaineNew HampshireQuebecOxford CountyFranklin CountySomerset CountyAndroscoggin CountyCumberland CountyYork CountyCarroll CountyCoos CountyPorterHiramBrownfieldDenmarkFryeburgSwedenLovellStowStonehamWaterfordAlbany TownshipMason TownshipBatchelders GrantGileadRiley TownshipGrafton TownshipUptonC SurplusTownship CRichardsontown TownshipMagalloway PlantationLincoln PlantationAdamstown TownshipLower Cupsuptic TownshipParkertown TownshipLynchtown TownshipUpper Cupsuptic TownshipOxbow TownshipParmachenee TownshipBowmantown TownshipByronAndover North Surplus TownshipAndover West Surplus TownshipAndoverRoxburyNewryHanoverBethelRumfordMexicoMilton TownshipDixfieldPeruCantonHartfordSumnerWoodstockGreenwoodWest ParisNorwayParisBuckfieldHebronOxfordOtisfieldParsonsfieldCornishLimingtonStandishBaldwinSebagoNaplesBridgtonHarrisonCascoRaymondFrye IslandGorhamWindhamPortlandFalmouthLong IslandChebeague IslandCumberlandYarmouthNorth YarmouthGrayNew GloucesterPownalFreeportDurhamAuburnPolandMechanic FallsMinotLisbonLewistonGreeneTurnerLeedsLivermoreLivermore FallsJayChestervilleFarmingtonWiltonCarthageWashington TownshipPerkins TownshipTempleWeldAvonStrongNew VineyardNew PortlandFreeman TownshipSalem TownshipPhillipsTownship 6 North of Weld (formerly Berlin)Township DTownship EMadrid TownshipRangeley PlantationSandy River PlantationMount Abram TownshipKingfieldCarrabassett ValleyRedington TownshipDallas PlantationRangeleyDavis TownshipLang TownshipCoplin PlantationWyman TownshipEustisTim Pond TownshipStetsontown TownshipSeven Ponds TownshipAlder Stream TownshipJim Pond TownshipKibby TownshipChain of Ponds TownshipMassachusetts GoreLexingtonHighlandCarrying Place Town TownshipDead River TownshipBigelow TownshipFlagstaff TownshipTownship 3 R4Pierce Pond TownshipLower Enchanted TownshipTownship 3 R5King and Bartlett TownshipEffinghamOssipeeFreedomEatonMadisonConwayAlbanyHale's LocationBartlettChathamJacksonBean's PurchaseGreen's GrantMartin's LocationShelburneGorhamSuccessBerlinMilanCambridgeDummerErrolWentworth's LocationSecond College GrantDix's GrantClarksvilleAtkinson and Gilmanton Academy GrantPittsburgChartiervilleNotre-Dame-des-BoisSaint-Augustin-de-Woburn
Modern town borders in Oxford County, Maine. Towns with records are named in black. Unincorporated green places usually lack records.


For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this census area:[7]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places
Unorganized territories
  • TA R1 Riley Township
  • TA R2 Grafton Township
  • Andover North Surplus
  • Andover West Surplus
  • Township C
  • C Surplus
  • T4 R1 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Richardsontown Township)
  • T4 R2 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Adamstown Township)
  • T4 R3 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Lower Cupsuptic Township)
  • T5 R3 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Parkertown Township)
  • T4 R4 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Upper Cupsuptic Township)
  • T5 R4 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Lynchtown Township)
  • T4 R5 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Oxbow Township)
  • T5 R5 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Parmachenee Township)
  • T4 R6 West of Bingham's Kennebec Purchase (Bowmantown Township)

Plantations[8]
Lincoln Plantation | Magalloway Plantation

Extinct towns and plantations'''[9] Albany | Andover North Surplus Plantation | Batchelder's Grant Plantation | Franklin Plantation | Fryeburg Academy Grant Plantation | Grafton | Mason | Milton Plantation | Riley Plantation | Usher[10]

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Oxford County, Maine online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Maine Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1810 17,630
1820 27,104 53.7%
1830 35,219 29.9%
1840 38,351 8.9%
1850 39,763 3.7%
1860 36,698 −7.7%
1870 33,488 −8.7%
1880 32,627 −2.6%
1890 30,586 −6.3%
1900 32,238 5.4%
1910 36,256 12.5%
1920 37,700 4.0%
1930 41,483 10.0%
1940 42,662 2.8%
1950 44,221 3.7%
1960 44,345 0.3%
1970 43,457 −2.0%
1980 48,968 12.7%
1990 52,602 7.4%
2000 54,755 4.1%
2010 57,833 5.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Hatcher, Patricia Law. "My Ancestor Isn't In the Census: The 9,603 Missing Oxford County Residents In 1810," Maine Genealogist, May 1998, 65-68. Available at FHLArticle includes a chart of the towns missing from the census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Maine Land and Property for databases, early land grants to individuals, and more information.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Oxford County. They may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information, see Maine Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Oxford CountyCoos County, New HampshireQuebec, CanadaAndroscoggin CountyFranklin CountyCumberland CountyYork CountyCarroll County New HampshireME Oxford.jpg
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]


Revolutionary War


Civil War


Regiments. Civil War service men in Oxford County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (part of a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in this county:

- 1st Regiment, Maine Infantry, Company G
- 1st Regiment, Maine Volunteer Infantry, Company G
- 5th Regiment, Maine Infantry, Company I


World War I

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Maine Newspaper Archive. Indexes Free; Digital Page Images $ (GenealogyBank $) Twenty-two early Maine 18th and 19th century newspapers, 1785-1898 online. Indexes (free); digital images ($). These newspapers are from Augusta, Bangor, Belfast, Brunswick, Castine, Eastport, Falmouth, Hallowell, Kennebunk, Portland, Saco and Wiscasset.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Maine tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. For databases and more information, see Maine Taxation

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

In Maine, vital records are kept by town clerks or selectmen. Although some towns have existed since the 1650s, most vital records date from about 1700. The vital statistics are often arranged by family. For more information, see the Wiki page for the town and the Wiki page, Maine Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]


Death[edit | edit source]


Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Maine Genealogy Oxford County
Website
Maine State Archines
Website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. "Oxford County, Maine, United States." Britannica Encyclopedia, "https://www.britannica.com/place/Oxford-county-Maine."
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Oxford County, Maine" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oxford_County,_Maine."
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Oxford County, Maine page 305, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Oxford County, Maine. Page 304-305 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 275.
  5. referer=brief_results Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Massachusetts.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Oxford County, Maine," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oxford_County,_Maine, accessed 10 July 2019.
  8. For further details see Maine Plantations
  9. Before an extinct town or plantation was discontinued, it created official records of interest to genealogists. For preservation these records were usually turned over to a nearby functioning town in the same county.
  10. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 107. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.