Outagamie County, Wisconsin Genealogy
Guide to Outagamie County, Wisconsin ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for the historic Meskwaki (Fox) Indians. The County is located in the east-central area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Outagamie County Courthouse
410 S Walnut Street
Appleton, WI 54911
Phone: 920-832-5077
Outagamie County Website
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage, death records from 1852.
Clerk of Circuit Courts has divorce, court records from 1855.
Register in Probate has probate records from 1855.[3]
Outagamie County, Wisconsin Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1852 | 1852 | 1852 | 1855 | 1851 | 1855 | 1820 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county. |
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Wisconsin County boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Wisconsin County Boundary Maps" (1790-1961) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Villages | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Native American communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Ghost towns | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
- Outagamie County Biographies USGenWeb Archives
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Outagamie census records online, see: Wisconsin Census.
- 1855 - Wisconsin State Census, 1855 This census includes name of head of family; other individuals in the household are identified by sex and race, number of deaf and dumb, blind, insane and foreign born. - How to Use this Collection
- 1865 - Wisconsin State Census, 1865 Name index and images of the 1865 State Census which names the head of household. Most records have been destroyed but schedules exist for the following counties: Dunn, Green, Jackson, Kewaunee, Ozaukee, and Sheboygan. - How to Use this Collection
- 1875 - Wisconsin State Census, 1875 Identifies head of household by name. - How to Use this Collection
- 1885 - Wisconsin State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images. Search indexed census.Identifies by name of head of household. Other information is statistical and identifies the rest of the household by race, gender and country of birth. - How to Use this Collection
- 1895 - Wisconsin State Census, 1895 at FamilySearch — index and images. Identifies head of household by name. Other information is statistical. - How to Use this Collection
- 1905 - Wisconsin State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — Name index and images of population. Enumerates by name all inhabitants. - How to Use this Collection
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Wisconsin denominations, view the Wisconsin Church Records wiki page.
- Appleton, Wisconsin Church Records
- Outagamie County Church Records USGenWeb Archives
- Outagamie County Churches WIGenWeb Project
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1852-1981 Circuit Court Case Files available at Archives and Area Research Center, Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay; Circuit Court Look-Up Request form- $
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Funeral Homes WIGenWeb Project
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Wisconsin Land and Property for additional information about early Wisconsin land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
Wisconsin Land Patents Database, Outagamie County (USGenWeb Archives)
- 1855-1980 Tax rolls ($) are held at: Archives and Area Research Center, Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay, $
A wiki article describing an online collection is found at: Wisconsin, Outagamie County Records - FamilySearch Historical Records
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Wisconsin
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Regiments. Service men in Outagamie served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Outagamie:
- - 1st Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Companies G and M
- - 3rd Regiment, Wisconsin Cavalry, Company I
- - 5th Regiment, Wisconsin Infantry Reorganized, Company E
- Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System WIGenWeb project
World War I[edit | edit source]
- Outagamie County WWI Army Casualties USGenWeb Archives
World War II[edit | edit source]
- World War II Casulaties Access Genealogy
- Outagamie County WWII Enlistees, Abel-Dey USGenWeb Archives
- Outagamie County WWII Enlistees, Dickhoff-Janz USGenWeb Archives
- Outagamie County WWII Enlistees, Jeffery-Maynard USGenWeb Archives
- Outagamie County WWII Enlistees, McCabe-Schulze USGenWeb Archives
- Outagame County WWII Enlistees, Schumacher-Valentine USGenWeb Archives
- Outagamie County WWII Enlistees, Van Abel-Zuleger USGenWeb Archives
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1852-1963 Declarations of Intention and Naturalizations available at Archives and Area Research Center, Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay; Online Index Search form
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Wisconsin Newspapers Online
- Appleton, Outagamie County, Wisconsin Genealogy
- Newspaper Excerpts WIGenWeb project
- Outagamie County Newspapers USGenWeb Archives
- Wisconsin Digital Newspaper at Wisconsin State Historical Society*Wisconsin Digital Newspaper at Wisconsin State Historical Society
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Appleton Public Library Obituary Index - Partial index to obituaries and death notices published in Appleton newspapers. There are complete records for 1853-71; 1874; 1920-22; 1939-42; 1944; 1948-52; 1958-1960; 1970; 1980; 1981; 1992-94, and January 1, 2001 to December 6, 2011. Some records from 1848; 1875; 1889; 1899; 1923; 1930; 1945; 1954; 1957; 1969; 1971-73; 1981; 1982; 1987; and 1991 have been indexed.
- Outagamie County Obituaries USGenWeb Archives
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Probate records are held by the Outagamie Clerk of Circuit Court and are housed at the Outagamie Courthouse. See the wiki page Wisconsin Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Content: Probate records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, and adoptions.
Online Records
- 1800–1987 Wisconsin Wills and Probate Records 1800-1987 at Ancestry — images and index $
- 1848–1948 Wisconsin Probate Estate Files 1848-1948 at FamilySearch — images - How to Use this Collection
- 1853-1958 Probate case files, microfilmed copies Archives and Area Research Center, Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay; Probate Request form; Probate Case Look-Up Request form $
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Wisconsin tax records complement land records and can be used to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned property or other items that could be taxed were listed, some residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records. For more information see the Wiki page, Wisconsin Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Most counties started keeping records in the 1870s. In 1907, the counties began sending copies to the state.
For pre-1907 births, deaths, and marriages, search the Wisconsin Genealogy Index.
For additional information, see Wisconsin Vital Records.
- Pre-1907 Births, Marriages and Deaths at Archives and Area Research Center, Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay - $, the research center will make a search
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1820-1907 Wisconsin, Birth Index, 1820-1907 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1820-1920: Wisconsin, Birth Index, 1808-1920 at MyHeritage - index ($)
- 1826-1908 Wisconsin, Births and Christenings Index, 1826-1908 at Ancestry — index $
- 1826-1926 Wisconsin, Births and Christenings, 1826-1926 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- Pre-1907 Pre-1907 Wisconsin Vital Records Index at Wisconsin Historical Society - free index, images ($)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1836-1911 Wisconsin, County Marriages, 1836-1911 at FamilySearch — index- How to Use this Collection
- 1836-1930 Wisconsin, Marriages, 1836-1930 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- Pre-1907 Pre-1907 Wisconsin Vital Records Index at Wisconsin Historical Society - free index, images ($)
- 1973-1997 Wisconsin, Marriage Index, 1973-1997 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1973-1997 Wisconsin Marriages, 1973-1997 at Ancestry — index/images $
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1820-1907 Wisconsin, Death Index, 1820-1907 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1835-1968 Wisconsin, Deaths and Burials, 1835-1968 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1867-1907 Wisconsin, Death Records, 1867-1907 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- Pre-1907 Pre-1907 Wisconsin Vital Records Index at Wisconsin Historical Society - free index, images ($)
- 1959-1997 Wisconsin, Death Index, 1959-1997 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1965-1984 Wisconsin, Divorce Index, 1965-1984 at FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Outagamie County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Wisconsin Archives and Libraries.
- Archives and Area Research Center
Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: 920-465-2539
Email: archives@uwgb.edu
Website
Facebook
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Outagamie County. For state-wide library facilities, see Wisconsin Archives and Libraries.
- Cofrin Library, University of Wisconsin - Green Bay
Archives and Area Research Center
2420 Nicolet Dr.
Green Bay, WI 54311-7001
Phone: 920-465-2539
Email: archives@uwgb.edu
Website
Facebook
Museums[edit | edit source]
- Outagamie County Historical Society
330 E. College Ave.
Appleton, WI 54911
Phone: 920-735-9370
Website
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Outagamie County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Wisconsin Societies.
- Appleton Historical Society
128 N Durkee St.
Appleton, WI 54911
Phone (920)815-3541
E-mail:questions@appletonhistory.org
Facebook
Website - Seymour Community Historical Society
P. O. Box 237
133 Depot St
Seymour, WI 54165
Phone: 920-833-9835
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Outagamie County, WI History, Records, Facts and Genealogy
- Wisconsin Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- Outagamie County WIGenWeb project
- Outagamie County USGenWeb Archives
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Outagamie County, Wisconsin " in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Outagamie_County,_Wisconsin."
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Outagamie County, Wisconsin. Page 755-760, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 757-759.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Wisconsin.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Outagamie County, Wisconsin," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Outagamie_County,_Wisconsin, accessed 24 September 2018.
| ||||||||||||
