Oto Indians

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Native American Topics
BuffaloHunters.jpg
Buffalo Hunt under the Wolf-Skin Mask
Beginning Research
Tribes
Record Types
Bureau of Indian Affairs
Other Topics


Guide to Oto Indians ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and other agency records.

Oto delegation of five wearing claw necklaces and fur Turbans,byJohn K.Hillers, Jan.1881-NO.48.jpg


Population: 1984: Total enrollment 1,422 [1]


Tribal Headquarters[edit | edit source]

Otoe-Missouria Tribe
8151 Highway 177
Red Rock, OK 74651
Phone: 877-692-6863
Website

History[edit | edit source]

Various Spellings: Oto, Ottoe, Otoe

Brief Timeline[edit | edit source]

1717:The Oto settle between the Platte and Missouri Rivers in southeastern Nebraska

1817: Treaty

1824-37: The tribe was under the jurisdiction of the Upper Missouri Agency

1829: Missouri tribe is adopted into the Oto tribe

1837-56: The tribe was under the jurisdiction of the Council Bluff Agency

1854: Remove to Big Blue River Reservation in southeastern Nebraska

1856-76: The tribe was under the jurisdiction of the Otoe Agency

1874: last Buffalo hunt

1876-80: The tribe was under the jurisdiction of the Nebraska Agency

1880: Oto and Missouri move to Indian Territory; later moved to Red Rock, Oklahoma

Additional References to the History of the Tribe[edit | edit source]

Reservations[edit | edit source]

Big Blue River Reservation

Superintendencies[edit | edit source]

The tribe was under the jurisdiction of the following superintendencies: St. Louis, Central, and Northern Superintendencies

Agencies[edit | edit source]

Upper Missouri Agency

Council Bluffs Agency

Otoe Agency  Nebraska

Ote Agency  Oklahoma

Nebraska Agencies

Records[edit | edit source]

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Census

1906-1919 FHL film: 579739

Land and Property

Tribally owned land: 1,680.00 acres Allotted land: 18,931.31 acres.[2]

Treaty

  • 1817 June 24, Perpetual peace and friendship - Protection of United States

Important Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Indian Reservations A State and Federal Handbook. Compiled by The Confederation of American Indians, New York, N.Y. McFarland and Co. Inc., Jefferson, North Carolina, c. 1986. FHL book 970.1 In2 page 233
  2. Indian Reservations A State and Federal Handbook. Compiled by The Confederation of American Indians, New York, N.Y. McFarland and Co. Inc., Jefferson, North Carolina, c. 1986. FHL book 970.1 In2 page 233

Bibliography[edit | edit source]