Orleans County, Vermont Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Orleans County, Vermont ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Newport
Organized: October 5, 1792
Parent County(s): Orange, Chittenden
Neighboring Counties
Caledonia  • Essex  • Franklin  • Lamoille
See County Maps
Courthouse
Vermont, Orleans County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Vt-orleans.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Orléans. The County is located in the north center area of the state. [1]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Orleans County Courthouse
247 Main Street
Newport, VT 05855
Phone: 802-334-3325
Orleans County Website

Town and City Clerks have birth, marriage, death, and land records.
District Probate Court has probate records.
County Clerk has divorce and court records from 1800.[2]

Orleans County, Vermont Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[3]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
at town creation at town creation at town creation 1800 1799 1796 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1857. General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

VermontQuebecOrleans CountyFranklin CountyLamoille CountyWashington CountyCaledonia CountyEssex CountyJayWestfieldLowellTroyNewport TownCoventryIrasburgAlbanyCraftsburyGreensboroGloverBartonBrowningtonNewport CityDerbyHollandMorganCharlestonWestmoreRichfordEnosburgMontgomeryBelvidereEdenJohnsonHyde ParkMorristownStoweWolcottElmoreWorcesterWoodburyCabotHardwickWaldenDanvilleStannardWheelockSheffieldSuttonLyndonKirbyBurkeNewarkVictoryGranbyEast HavenFerdinandBrightonLewisAvery's GoreWarren GoreWarner's GrantNortonAbercornSuttonPottonStanstead TwpOgdenStansteadStanstead-EstBarnston-QuestCoaticookDixville
Modern town borders in Orleans County, Vermont.

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Villages
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places

Extinct Town: [7]

Towns Organized before 1800:

  • Barton 1789
  • Craftsbury 1781
  • Derby 1779
  • Glover 1783
  • Greensboro 1781
  • Holland 1779
  • Jay 1792
  • Westfield 1780 [8]

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Orleans County, Vermont online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Vermont Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1800 1,439
1810 5,838 305.7%
1820 6,976 19.5%
1830 13,980 100.4%
1840 13,634 −2.5%
1850 15,707 15.2%
1860 18,981 20.8%
1870 21,035 10.8%
1880 22,083 5.0%
1890 22,101 0.1%
1900 22,024 −0.3%
1910 23,337 6.0%
1920 23,913 2.5%
1930 23,036 −3.7%
1940 21,718 −5.7%
1950 21,190 −2.4%
1960 20,143 −4.9%
1970 20,153 0.0%
1980 23,440 16.3%
1990 24,053 2.6%
2000 26,277 9.2%
2010 27,231 3.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Quebec, CanadaFranklinLamoilleCaledoniaEssexVT ORLEANS.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Regiments. Regiments and Companies:

- 4th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Company D

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Town Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Early Vermont vital records were kept on the town level, and beginning dates varied from place to place. Statewide requirements started in 1779. Statewide registration began in 1857, with town clerks sending copies of the previous year’s vital events to the secretary of state. For online indexes, collections, and more information, see Vermont Town Records and Vermont Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Orleans County. For state-wide facilities, see Vermont Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Orleans County. For state-wide library facilities, see Vermont Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Orleans County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Vermont Societies.

  • Orleans County Historical Society
    109 Old Stone House Road
    Brownington, VT 05860
    802-754-2022
    Website
  • Albany Historical Society
    PO Box 317
    Albany, VT 05820
    802-755-6105
  • Craftsbury Historical Society
    258 The Ledges
    Craftsbury, VT 05826
    802-755-6178
    Email: craftsburyhistorical@gmail.com
    Facebook
  • Crystal Lake Falls Historical Association
    97 Water Street
    Barton, VT 05822
    802-525-3084
    Facebook
  • Derby Historical Society
    55 Junior High Drive
    Derby, VT 05829
    802-766-5324
    Email: info@derbyhistoricalsociety.org
    Facebook
  • Glover Historical Society
    PO Box 208
    Glover, VT 05839
    Email: gloverhistory@yahoo.com
    Website
  • Lowell Historical Society
    2170 VT Rte 100
    Lowell, VT 05847
    802-744-6559 or 802-744-6859
  • Memphremagog Historical Society of Newport
    96 Stagecoach Drive
    Newport, VT 05855
    802-334-6195
  • Morgan Historical Society
    P.O. Box 113
    Morgan, VT 05853
    802-723-5907
    Email: rodimiller@comcast.net
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Wikipedia contributors, "Orléans, Vermont" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orleans_County,_Vermont accessed 6 Dec 2018
  2. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 699. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Orleans County, Vermont . Page 698-699 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 686-687.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 181. [FHL book 973 D27e 2002].
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Vermont.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Orleans County, Vermont," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orleans_County,_Vermont, accessed 28 June 2022.
  7. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 395. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.
  8. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Orleans County, Vermont. Page 699 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.