Orange County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Orange County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Orange
Organized: 01 Jan 1735[1]
Parent County(s): Spotsylvania
Neighboring Counties
Albemarle  • Culpeper  • Greene  • Louisa  • Madison  • Rockingham County  • Spotsylvania
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaOrangeCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Orange County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Orange County is located in the north-central portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named after William IV, Prince of Orange.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Orange County Courthouse
110 North Madison Road
PO Box 230
Orange, VA 22960-0133
Phone: 540-672-6162
Orange County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has birth records 1860-1895, marriage records from 1757, probate, court and land records from 1734[3]

Orange County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1860 1747 1853 1734 1734 1734 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800, 1810, 1890

For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

King William III of England.JPG

The county was named after King William III of England (1650-1702). Before ruling England, he governed the Dutch Republic and was known as Stadtholder William III of Orange.

A large group of Germans settled in the area during the eighteenth century, while it was the frontier of European settlement.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Orange County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 9,921
1800 11,449 15.4%
1810 12,323 7.6%
1820 12,913 4.8%
1830 14,637 13.4%
1840 9,125 −37.7%
1850 10,067 10.3%
1860 10,851 7.8%
1870 10,396 −4.2%
1880 13,052 25.5%
1890 12,814 −1.8%
1900 12,571 −1.9%
1910 13,486 7.3%
1920 13,320 −1.2%
1930 12,070 −9.4%
1940 12,649 4.8%
1950 12,755 0.8%
1960 12,900 1.1%
1970 13,792 6.9%
1980 18,063 31.0%
1990 21,421 18.6%
2000 25,881 20.8%
2010 33,481 29.4%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1782 Enumeration

1785 Enumeration

1790 - Lost, but a subsitute is available, see Taxation.

1800 - Lost, but a subsitute is available, see Taxation.

1810 - Lost, but a subsitute is available, see Taxation.

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Blue Run (1769).[8] Historical information was published in Orange County Historical Society Newsletter, Vol. 19, No. 6 (Jun. 1988).
  2. Chestnut Grove (1773). A bicentennial history was published: Virginia Baptist Register, Issue 12 (1973).
  3. Mountain Run (1767).[9]
  4. N. Fork, Pamunkey (1774)[8]
  5. Rapid-Ann (1769)[10] Edwards published a membership list dated 1769 in Materials Towards a History of the Baptists... (1772), 81-82.
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.
    Orange County fell within the bounds of the Culpeper Association and the Goshen Association.

Church of England
St. Mark's Parish was organized in 1730. St. Thomas' Parish was organized in 1740.[11] Gotoarrow.png See also St. Mark's Parish
Gotoarrow.png See also St. Thomas Parish

Records

  • Davis, Rosalie Edith Rogers, St. Mark's Parish (Culpeper County, Virginia: Episcopal), Bromfield Parish (Rappahannock and Madison Counties, Virginia: Episcopal). Saint Mark Parish Vestry Book & Levies, 1730-1785: Spotslyvania, Orange and Culpeper counties, Virginia. Manchester, Missouri: Heritage Trails, 1983. FHL Collection

History

  • Papageorgiou, Lizabeth Ward. The Colonial Churches of St. Thomas' Parish, Orange County, Virginia: With Notes on Sites in Orange, Greene, and Madison Counties. Baltimore, Maryland: Clearfield, 2008. FHL Collection

German Reformed

  • Braun, Johannes, Klaus Wust and Joseph H. Meyerhoeffer. Shenandoah Valley Family Data, 1799-1813: From the Memorandum Book of Pastor Johannes Braun. Edinburg, Va.: Shenandoah History Publishers, 1978. FHL Collection 975.5 K2bjo

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Douglas's Monthly Meeting (1748-1806)[12]
  • 1739-1793 Quaker Records of Cedar Creek Monthly Meeting, Virginia, 1739-1793 by Mary Marshall Brewer. Colonial Roots, Lewes, DE., 2002. FHL Book 975.5462 K2b

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

Chancery Court

  • Sparacio, Ruth Trickey and Sam Sparacio. Chancery Suits (Superior Court of Law & Chancery), Orange County, Virginia, 1831-1845. McLean, Virginia: R. & S. Sparacio, 1988. FHL Collection
  • Library of Virginia's Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index can be used to search Orange County chancery records for the years 1736-1952 (majority of records 1736-1913). Records available on microfilm.
  • Post-1913 Orange County chancery records may be available at the Circuit Court Clerk's Office.

District Court of Fredericksburg
The District Court of Fredericksburg and later the Superior Court of Chancery had jurisdiction over certain Orange County court cases. An index has been compiled:

  • Indexes of Court Records in the Clerk's Office, Fredericksburg, Virginia, 1782-1904. Original records, Fredericksburg City Courthouse, Fredericksburg, Va., microfilmed reproduction: FHL Collection [Indexes the following records: District Court law book v. 8, 1782-1792; District Court law books 1790-1793, v. A-F 1789-1811; Superior Court of Law law order books v. G-H 1812-1831; Superior Court of Chancery chancery order books 1814-1831; Hustings Court orders v. A-O 1782-1871; Circuit Superior Court of Law and Chancery law order books v. A-E 1831-1875; Circuit Superior Court of Law and Chancery chancery order books v. A-D 1831-1872; Circuit Court chancery order books v. A2, B-C 1875-1904; Fredericksburg District Court (1789-1808) had jurisdiction over the following counties: Spotsylvania (including Fredericksburg), Caroline, King George, Stafford, Orange, and Culpeper; Superior Court of Chancery (1802-1831) had jurisdiction over the following localities: city of Fredericksburg and the counties of Caroline, Culpeper, Fauquier, Fairfax, Lancaster, Northumberland, Madison, King George, Orange, Prince William, Richmond, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Essex, and Westmoreland.]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

  • Andrea, Leonardo. Miscellaneous Court Records. Typescript. FHL Collection 954248 Item 16 [Includes "Importations from abroad to Orange Co., Va., 1735-1755."]
  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes will of a resident of Orange County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]
  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Brockman, William Everett. Orange County (Va.) Families. 4 vols. Minneapolis, Minnesota: Burgess Pub. Co., 1949-1965. Available at FHL.
  • Cerny, Johni and Gary J. Zimmerman. Before Germanna. 12 vols. Bountiful, Utah: American Geneal. Lending Library Publishers, 1990. Available at FHL. [Discusses families of German immigrants who settled in Spotsylvania and Orange counties, Virginia.]
  • Davidson, David Nathaniel. Several Famous Families of Orange County, Virginia; Genealogical Charts of Several Famous Orange County Families. Orange, Va., 1934. Available at Virginia Historical Society.
  • Holtzclaw, B.C. et al. Ancestry and Descendants of the Nassau-Siegen Immigrants to Virginia, 1714-1750. Harrisonburg, Va.: Memorial Foundation of the Germanna Colonies in Virginia, 1964. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 D2gd no. 5.
  • Holtzclaw, B.C. Second Germanna Colony of 1717. Harrisonburg, Va.: Memorial Foundation of the Germanna Colonies, 1965. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 D2gd no. 6.
  • Memorial Foundation of the Germann Colonies in Virginia. http://www.germanna.org/
  • Memorial Foundation of the Germann Colonies in Virginia. Germanna Heritage Book. Culpeper, Va.: Memorial Foundation of the Germanna Colonies in Virginia, 2000. FHL US/CAN Large Q Book 975.5 D2gd no. 15.
  • Memorial Foundation of the Germann Colonies in Virginia. Newsletter (Memorial Foundation of the Germanna Colonies in Virginia). Newsletter. Harrisburg, Va.: The Foundation, [1956?]-1993. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 B2m.
  • Sparacio, Ruth Trickey and Sam Sparacio. A Digest of Family Relationships. 4 vols. McLean, Va.: Antient Press, 1990-. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 D2sp ff.
  • Sparacio, Ruth Trickey and Sam Sparacio. Pamunkey Neighbors of Orange County, Virginia: Lindsay, Mills, Montague, Stevens, and Related Families and Neighbors. 2 vols. and supplement. Baltimore, Maryland: Gateway Press, 1985. Available at FHL. 1994 supplements by Lauretta Trickey Corkill, Eldon Corkill, Ruth Trickey Sparacio, and Sam Sparacio also available at FHL.
  • Newman families and their community, including enslaved individuals

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Grants and Patents

  • [Map] Hildebrand, John R. The Beverley Patent, 1736: Including Original Grantees, 1738-1815 in Orange & Augusta Counties, Va. 1954. FHL Collection Map Case 975.5 E7hjr
  • Gray, Gertrude E. Virginia Northern Neck Land Grants 1694-1742. Vol. I. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1987. FHL Collection; digital version at Ancestry. [Includes an Orange County resident.]
  • Grymes, J. Randolph. The Octonia Grant in Orange and Greene Counties. Ruckersville, Va.: Seminole Press, 1977. FHL Collection 975.537 R2g
  • Hildebrand, John R. The Beverley Patent, 1736: Including Original Grantees, 1738-1815 in Orange & Augusta Counties, Va. 1954. FHL Collection Map Case 975.5 E7hjr
  • Hudgins, 390 patents dated 1713-1815 in what is now Orange County, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper, 2004. [Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.]
  • Joyner, Ulysses P. Orange County Land Patents. [Orange, Va.]: Orange County Historical Society (Virginia), 1985. FHL Collection 975.5372 R2j

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Gwathmey, John Hastings. Twelve Virginia Counties, Where the Western Migration Began. Richmond: Dietz Press, 1937. FHL Collection 1320669 Item 13
  • Hurst, Patricia J. The History and People of Clark Mountain, Orange County, Virginia. Rapidan, Virginia: P.J. Hurst, 1989. FHL Collection
  • Joyner, Ulysses P. The First Settlers of Orange County, Virginia: A View of the Life and Times of the European Settlers of Orange County, Virginia, and Their Influence Upon the Young James Madison, 1700-1776. Baltimore, Maryland: Gateway Press, 1987. FHL Collection
  • Mansfield, James Roger. A History of Early Spotsylvania. Berryville, Virginia: Virginia Book Co., 1977. FHL Collection
  • Moffatt, L. G., J. M. Carrière and J. G. Moffatt. "A Frenchman Visits Norfolk, Fredericksburg and Orange County, 1816," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 53, No. 2 (Apr., 1945), pp. 101-123; Vol. 53, No. 3 (Jul., 1945), pp. 197-214. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • Scott, W.W. A History of Orange County: From Its Formation in 1734 (O.S.) to the End of Reconstruction in 1870; Compiled Mainly from Original Records. Richmond, Virginia: Everett Waddey Co., 1907. Original edition: FHL Collection; 1974 reprint: FHL Collection; digital versions at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Ancestry ($). Reviewed in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 6, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1962):181. Review: FHL Collection; digital version of review at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • Thomas, William H.B. Orange, Virginia: Story of a Courthouse Town. Verona, Virginia: McClure Press, 1972. Reviewed by James T. Moore in The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 81, No. 1 (Jan., 1973), pp. 116-117. Review available at JSTOR ($).

Historic Residences

  • Miller, Ann L. Antebellum Orange: The Pre-Civil War Homes, Public Buildings, and Historic Sites of Orange County, Virginia. Orange, Virginia: Orange County Historical Society, 1989. Reviewed by Calder Loth in The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 98, No. 4 (Oct., 1990), pp. 671-672. Review available at JSTOR ($).
  • Taylor, Jaquelin P. "'Meadowfarm' Orange County, Virginia," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 46, No. 3 (Jul., 1938), pp. 231-233. Available at JSTOR ($).

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Albemarle CountyLouisa CountySpotsylvania CountyCulpeper CountyMadison CountyGreene CountyVA ORANGE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. FHL Collection. Identifies some Orange County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. FHL Collection; digital version at Internet Archive. Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch (French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War) with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Orange County, see p. 112.


Revolutionary War

  • Thomas, William H.B. Patriots of the Upcountry: Orange County, Virginia in the Revolution. Orange, Virginia: Orange County Bicentennial Commission, 1976. FHL Collection
  • A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census. 1841. Digital versions at FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive, Ancestry ($). 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. See Virginia, Eastern District, Orange County on page 132.
  • Rejected or Suspended Applications for Revolutionary War Pensions. Washington, D.C., 1852. Reprinted by Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1969, and 1991. Reprints include "an Added Index to States." FHL Book 973 M24ur; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes veterans. Virginia section begins on page 238.

Regiments. Service men in Orange County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Orange County supplied soldiers for the:

- 7th Virginia Regiment
- 10th Virginia Regiment
- Culpeper Minute Men (Revolutionary War) [13]


War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Internet Archive, Ancestry ($). See Vol. 5, Virginia, Orange County, p. 96. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Regiments. Orange County men served in the 3rd Regiment.[14]

Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Orange County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 6th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company I (Orange Rangers).[15]
- 13th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company A (The Montpelier Guard), Company C (The Gordonsville Grays), and Company F (The Barboursville Guards).[16]

Civil War Battles
The following Civil War battles were fought in Orange County.

  • November 27-December 2, 1863 = Mine Run, also known as Payne’s Farm or New Hope Church[17]
  • February 6-7, 1864 = Morton's Ford, also known as Rapidan River[18]
  • May 5-7, 1864 = Wilderness, also known as Combats at Parker’s Store, Craig’s Meeting House, Todd’s Tavern, Brock Road or the Furnaces[19]
Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865


World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Private Papers

  • Buni, Andrew. "Reconstruction in Orange County, Virginia: A Letter from Hannah Garlick Rawlings to Her Sister, Clarissa Lawrence Rawlings, August 9, 1865," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 75, No. 4 (Oct., 1967), pp. 459-465. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • Redwine, Lucy Leah, J.E. Hays, and Daughters of the American Revolution. Elijah Clarke Chapter (Athens, Georgia). Family Bible Records. MSS., Department of Archives and History, Atlanta, Georgia; microfilm: FHL Collection. Includes records from Orange County.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

  • 1633-1800 Wills and Estate Records Index at Library of Virginia.Local Court
  • Wiggins, Mrs. Joseph P. "Will of Robert Terrill, of Orange County, Virginia," (and family notes) [1786] The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 31, No. 2 (Apr., 1923), pp. 175-180. Available at JSTOR ($).

London Courts

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

  • 1730-1754 Joyner, Peggy Shomo. Abstracts of Virginia's Northern Neck Warrants and Surveys. Vol. 1 (Orange & Augusta counties, with tithables, delinquents, petitioners, 1730-1754). Portsmouth, Virginia: P.S. Joyner, 1985. FHL Collection
  • 1734, 1738-1739] Hoppin, Charles Arthur. "Orange County Tithe Lists," (1734, 1738 Delinquents, 1739) The William and Mary Quarterly, 1st Series, Vol. 27, No. 1 (Jul., 1918):19-27. FHL Collection; reprinted in Virginia Tax Records. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1983, which is also available as FHL Collection; digital version at JSTOR ($).
  • 1734-1782 Little, Barbara Vines. Orange County, Virginia, Tithables 1734-1782. 2 vols. [Orange, Virginia?]: Dominion Market Research Corp., 1988. FHL Collection
  • 1736-1782 Orange County, Virginia Tithables, 1736-1782. Original records, Library of Virginia, Richmond, Virginia; microfilm: FHL Collection; Online at FamilySearch - free.
  • 1739 German Tithables, 1739, Beyond Germanna, Vol. 2, No. 4 (Jul. 1990).
  • 1756, 1782 Sparacio, Ruth Trickey and Sam Sparacio. Deed Abstracts of Orange County, Virginia. (1743-1802) 9 vols. McLean, Virginia: R.L. and S. Sparacio, 1985-1995. FHL Collection Volume 2. Deed abstracts 1759-1778 (Deed books 13-16; tithable list of Benjamin Cave's precinct, 1756; and land tax book, 1782).
  • 1782-1822 Orange County Personal Property Tax Lists 1782-1822 (images); digital version in Tax List Club at Binns Genealogy ($).
  • 1783 - Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783; index online at Revolutionary War Service website - free.
  • 1785 Tithables, 1785, Orange County Historical Society Newsletter. Vol. 19, No. 4 (Apr. 1988).
  • 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. FHL Collection The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Orange County is included in Vol. 2.
  • 1790 Indexed images of the 1790 Personal Property Tax List of Orange County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1800 Tax List, 1800, Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 47, No. 3 (2003); Vol. 47, No. 4 (Oct. 2003); Vol. 48, No. 1 (Jan. 2004). Digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($); FHL Collection.
  • 1800 Images of the 1800 Personal Property Tax List of Orange County, Virginia are available to browse online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1810 Schreiner-Yates, Netti. A Supplement to the 1810 Census of Virginia: Tax Lists of the Counties for which the Census is Missing. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1971. FHL Collection The source for this publication is the 1810 personal property tax list. Orange County is included because the 1810 Census for that county has been destroyed.
  • 1810 Personal Property Tax 1810, Genealogical Forum of Portland Oregon Bulletin, Vol. 15, No. 8 (Apr. 1966).
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. FHL Collection The source for this publication is 1815 land tax. Orange County is included in Vol. 4.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Orange County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Orange County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Orange County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

Compiled genealogies are a good place to start research for this area, see Orange County, Virginia Genealogy. If you are researching families who lived in Orange County, Virginia between the 1740s and 1840s, the Sparacios' book indexes are a great time saver. The indexes are available for free online.

  • "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Orange County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 19, No. 4 (Oct.-Dec. 1975):283-286. FHL Collection; digital version at American Ancestors by NEHGS ($).
  • Cortada, James W. A Select Bibliography on Orange County, Virginia. Orange, Virginia: Green Publishers, 1975. FHL Collection 975.5 A1 no. 158
  • Miller, Ann L. A Guide to Historical Research in Orange County, Virginia. Orange, Virginia: Orange County Historical Society (Virginia), 1988. FHL Collection 975.5372 H2m

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. http://orangecountyva.gov/index.aspx?NID=472
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Newberry
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Orange_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orange_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 19 February 2020.
  8. 8.0 8.1 Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 186, 229-230. Digital versions at FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive.
  9. Morgan Edwards, Materials Towards a History of the Baptists in the Provinces of Maryland Virginia North Carolina South Carolina Georgia (1772), 39. Digitized by SCDL Collections - free.
  10. Morgan Edwards, Materials Towards a History of the Baptists in the Provinces of Maryland Virginia North Carolina South Carolina Georgia (1772). Digitized by SCDL Collections - free.
  11. Freddie Spradlin, "Parishes of Virginia," VAGenWeb, accessed 20 Dec 2010.
  12. Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  13. "A Brief History of Orange County, Virginia," The Orange County Historical Society, accessed 13 June 2011.
  14. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 165. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  15. Michael P. Musick, 6th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1990). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 66.
  16. David F. Riggs, 13th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1988). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 49.
  17. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  18. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 2 August 2012).
  19. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).