Orange County, Vermont Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Orange County, Vermont ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Chelsea
Organized: October 18, 1785
Parent County(s): Cumberland[1]
Neighboring Counties
Addison  • Caledonia  • Washington  • Windsor  • Grafton (NH)  •
See County Maps
Courthouse
Vermont, Orange County Courthouse.png
Location Map
Vt-orange.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County is located in the east center area of the state. [2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Orange County Courthouse
5 Court Street
Chelsea, VT 05038
802-685-4610
Orange County Website

Town Clerks have birth, marriage, death, burial and land records.
County Clerk has divorce and court records from 1781 and land records from 1771.
Probate Judge has probate records from 1771.[3]

Orange County, Vermont Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
at town creation at town creation at town creation 1781 1771 1771 1790
*Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1857. General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

VermontNew HampshireOrange CountyWindsor CountyRutland CountyAddison CountyWashington CountyCaledonia CountyGrafton CountyOrangeTopshamNewburyWilliamstownWashingtonCorinthBradfordBrookfieldChelseaVershireWest FairleeFairleeBraintreeRandolphTunbridgeStraffordThetfordHartfordNorwichPomfretSharonRoyaltonBarnardStockbridgeBethelRochesterPittsfieldHancockGranvilleRoxburyWarrenNorthfieldWaitsfieldFaystonDuxburyMoretownMiddlesexBerlinMontpelierEast MontpelierBarrePlainfieldMarshfieldPeachamGrotonBarnetRyegateMonroeLymanBathHaverhillBentonPiermontWarrenOrfordWentworthLymeDorchesterHanoverCanaanOrangeLebanon
Modern town borders in Orange County, Vermont.


For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Towns:

Extinct Town:Norfolk[8]

Villages:

  • Newbury
  • Wells River

Community:

  • Bradford

Towns Organized before 1800:

  • Bradford 1770
  • Braintree 1781
  • Brookfield 1781
  • Chelsea 1781
  • Corinth 1764
  • Fairlee 1761
  • Newbury 1763
  • Orange 1781
  • Randolph 1781
  • Straford 1761
  • Thetford 1761
  • Topsham 1763
  • Turnbridge 1761
  • Vershire 1781
  • Washington 1781
  • West Fairlee 1779
  • Williamstown 1781 [9]

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Orange County, Vermont online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Vermont Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 10,526
1800 18,238 73.3%
1810 25,247 38.4%
1820 24,681 −2.2%
1830 27,285 10.6%
1840 27,873 2.2%
1850 27,296 −2.1%
1860 25,455 −6.7%
1870 23,090 −9.3%
1880 23,525 1.9%
1890 19,575 −16.8%
1900 19,313 −1.3%
1910 18,703 −3.2%
1920 17,279 −7.6%
1930 16,694 −3.4%
1940 17,048 2.1%
1950 17,027 −0.1%
1960 16,014 −5.9%
1970 17,676 10.4%
1980 22,739 28.6%
1990 26,149 15.0%
2000 28,226 7.9%
2010 28,936 2.5%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

A transcript of the 1771 census of Gloucester (NY) survives:

  • O'Callaghan, Edmund B. Documentary History of the State of New York Vol. 4 (1851):709.[10] Digital version at Internet Archive - free.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

WindsorAddisonWashingtonCaledoniaGrafton, New HampshireVT ORANGE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources


Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

Regiments. Regiments and Companies:

- 2nd Regiment, Vermont Infantry
- 4th Regiment, Vermont Infantry, Companies B and K

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Probate Indexes and Records

Orange County Probate Districts:

  • Randolph District - Braintree, Brookfield, Chelsea, Orange, Randolph, Tunbridge, Washington and Williamstown.
  • Bradford District Bradford, Corinth, Fairlee, Newbury, Strafford, Thetford, Topsham, Vershire and West Fairlee.
  • Orange District - in 1994 the Randolph and Bradford Districts merged under the Orange District.

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Town Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Early Vermont vital records were kept on the town level, and beginning dates varied from place to place. Statewide requirements started in 1779. Statewide registration began in 1857, with town clerks sending copies of the previous year’s vital events to the secretary of state. For online indexes, collections, and more information, see Vermont Town Records and Vermont Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Orange County. For state-wide facilities, see Vermont Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Orange County. For state-wide library facilities, see Vermont Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Orange County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Vermont Societies. Historical Societies

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Orange, Vermont" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orange_County,_Vermont accessed 6 Dec 2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), 699. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Orange County, Vermont . Page 698-699 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 686-687.
  5. Newberry
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Vermont.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Orange_ County,_Vermont," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orange_County,_Vermont accessed 24 October 2019.
  8. Michael J. Leclerc, Genealogist's Handbook for New England Research, 5th ed. (Boston, Mass.: New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2012), 395. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 974 D27g 2012.
  9. Handybook for Genealogists, 181.
  10. Harry Macy, "Newtown Census of 1771," The New York Genealogical and Biographical Record, Vol. 117, No. 1 (Jan. 1986):8. Digital version at New York Family History ($); FHL Book 974.7 B2n v. 117. The original census records were destroyed in a 1911 fire at the New York State Library.