Orange County, Texas Genealogy
Guide to Orange County Texas ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
| Orange County, Texas | |||||||
| Map | |||||||
 Location in the state of Texas, United States Genealogy | |||||||
 Location of Texas in the U.S. | |||||||
| Facts | |||||||
| Founded | 5 February, 1852 | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| County Seat | Orange | ||||||
| Courthouse | |||||||
 | |||||||
| Address | Orange County Courthouse 801 W Division Street PO Box 1536 Orange, TX 77631 | ||||||
| |||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The county was named for the orange fruit, the common citrus fruit grown by the early settlers of this county near the mouth of the Sabine River. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.[1]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Orange County Courthouse
801 W Division Street; PO Box 1536
Orange, TX 77631
Phone: 409.882.7055
County Clerk has birth records from 1878, death records
from 1903, marriage, land and probate records from 1852,
military records from 1898 and court records from 1896;
District Clerk has divorce records[2]
County Clerk
123 S. 6th St.
Orange 77630
Phone: 409-882-7055
Fax: 409-882-7012
District Clerk
801 W. Division Ave.
Orange 77630
Phone: 409-882-7825
Fax: 409-882-7083
The current Orange County Courthouse, built-in 1937[3], is the fourth courthouse to hold Orange County's offices and records. The first courthouse was built in 1853. The second courthouse, built-in 1884 burned in 1898. The 1898 Courthouse was the county's third courthouse.
Inventory of the county archives of Texas: Orange County, no. 181. Inventory of records of Orange County housed in the Orange County Courthouse as of 1936-1937. Digital book online from The Portal to Texas History.
Inventory of county records Orange County Courthouse, Orange, Texas, 1979. Inventory of records of Orange County housed in the Orange County Courthouse in Orange, Texas; begins with an introduction and explanation of the roles of various county government offices. Inventory describes the records of the Commissioners' Court, County Clerk, County Court, District Clerk, District Attorney, Justice of the Peace, Sheriff, Tax Assessor-Collector, County Treasurer, and Auditor. It also provides a list of Orange County records and an index. Digital book online from The Portal to Texas History.
Orange County; 801 W Division St; PO Box 1536; Orange, TX 77631; Ph. 409.882.7055 Details: (Co Clk has b rec from 1878, d rec from 1903, m, land & pro rec from 1852, mil rec from 1898 & ct rec from 1896; Dis Clk has div rec)
Orange County, Texas Record Dates[edit | edit source]
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1878 | 1852 | 1903 | 1896 | 1852 | 1852 | 1829 |
General compliance by the 1930s. | ||||||
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
1852--Orange County was created 5 February 1852 from Jefferson County.
- County seat: Orange [5]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
1898-- Orange County Courthouse, built in 1884, destroyed by fire, April 14, 1898. All county records were stored in a vault and were not harmed by the fire. [6]
Places / Localities[edit | edit source]
Town/city records in the FamilySearch Catalog
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Hometown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Cities | ||
|
||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Ghost towns | ||
‡This populated place also has portions in an adjacent county or counties
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Calcasieu Parish, Louisiana • Cameron Parish, Louisiana • Hardin • Jasper • Jefferson • Newton
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Cemetery records often reveal birth, marriage, death, relationship, military, and religious information.
| Tombstone Transcriptions Online | Tombstone Transcriptions in Print | List of Cemeteries in the county |
| FindAGrave | Family History Library | FindAGrave |
| Linkpendium | WorldCat | Tombstone Project |
| BillionGraves (name) | Cemeteries of TX | |
| GenWeb Archives | Texas Cemeteries | |
| BillionGraves | TX Gravestones | |
| TXGenWeb | Interment | |
| Names in Stone | FamilySearch Places | |
| See Texas Cemeteries for more information. | ||
Census[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1860 | 1,916 | — |
| 1870 | 1,255 | −34.5% |
| 1880 | 2,938 | 134.1% |
| 1890 | 4,770 | 62.4% |
| 1900 | 5,905 | 23.8% |
| 1910 | 9,528 | 61.4% |
| 1920 | 15,379 | 61.4% |
| 1930 | 15,149 | −1.5% |
| 1940 | 17,382 | 14.7% |
| 1950 | 40,567 | 133.4% |
| 1960 | 60,357 | 48.8% |
| 1970 | 71,170 | 17.9% |
| 1980 | 83,838 | 17.8% |
| 1990 | 80,509 | −4.0% |
| 2000 | 84,966 | 5.5% |
| 2010 | 81,837 | −3.7% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death/burial date and place. For general information about Texas denominations, view the Texas Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
Land[edit | edit source]
After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions, including deeds and mortgages, have been recorded by the county. You can obtain copies of these land records by writing to the county clerk at the county courthouse. For more information, see Texas Land and Property.
The FamilySearch Catalog lists microfilm copies of deeds, trust deeds, and mortgages of many counties.
- Orange County Land Title Abstracts from the Orange County TXGenWeb site.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Orange County, Texas Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Texas Local Histories.
- Gateway to Texas: the History of Orange and Orange County, 1988, by Howard C. Williams. Read the book online from The Portal to Texas History.
- Orange County History from the Handbook of Texas Online.
Maps[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- 1862 Orange County 1862 Map from The Portal to Texas History.
- 1880 Orange County 1880 Map from The Portal to Texas History.
- 1886 Orange County 1886 Map from The Portal to Texas History.
- 1895 Orange County 1895 Map from The Portal to Texas History.
- Aerial Views of Orange County, 1948-1950s: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6 from The Portal to Texas History.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Military[edit | edit source]
- 1838 - 1900 - Texas Muster Roll Index Cards 1838-1900 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Mexican-American War[edit | edit source]
- 1845 - 1848 US American Volunteer Soldiers Mexican War 1845-1848 at Ancestry.com — index $
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - Texas, Civil War Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
World War I[edit | edit source]
- 1917 - 1920 - Texas, World War I Records, 1917-1920 at FamilySearch — index and images
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Orange County, Texas Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- TX Newspaper Abstracts (For instructions see WorldCat Online Catalog).
- Do a Orange County, Texas Genealogy Place-name search for these and other records in the FamilySearch Catalog (For instructions see FamilySearch Catalog Places Search).
Online Newspapers
- Texas Digital Newspaper Program at The Portal to Texas History
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records of Texas, United States Genealogy have been kept by the probate clerk in each county courthouse. You can obtain copies of the records from the clerk's office. In most counties, all information pertaining to a probate case is recorded in the "probate minutes."
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their places of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records.
See the Wiki page Texas Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1800–1990 Texas Probate Records at FamilySearch — images
- 1800–2000 Texas Wills and Probate Records at Ancestry.com — index and images $
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Texas tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information, see the wiki page Texas Taxation.
- 1846-1910 Texas, County Tax Rolls 1846-1910 at findmypast ($) — index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents.
Certified birth and death certificates or birth and death verifications can be ordered online or by mail at the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health. Copies can also be obtained from the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred and are often less expensive.
Marriages records can be obtained from the county the marriage occurred. Only marriage verifications can be obtained from the Texas Vital Records State Department of Health.
See Texas Vital Records for more information about Vital records in Texas.
Births[edit | edit source]
Online Birth Indexes and Records
- 1840 - 1981 Texas Births and Christenings, 1840-1981 - FamilySearch — index - How to Use this Collection
- 1903 - 1935 Texas Birth Certificates, 1903-1935 - FamilySearch (images and index) - How to Use this Collection
- 1903 - 1997 Texas Birth Index, 1903-1997 - FamilySearch (index only) - How to Use this Collection
- 1905 - 1925 Orange County Births 1905-1925 from the Orange County TXGenWeb site.
- 1926-1995 Texas Births, 1926 - 1995 at MyHeritage ($) — index
Marriages[edit | edit source]
Online Marriage Indexes and Records
- 1802 - 2010 Texas, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1814 - 1909 and 1966 - 2011 Texas Marriage Collection 1814-1909 and 1966-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1837 - 1965 Texas, County Marriage Records, 1837-1965 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1837 - 1973 Texas, Marriages, 1837-1973 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837 - 1977 Texas, County Marriage Index, 1837-1977 at FamilySearch — index
- 1837 - 1977 Texas Select County Marriage Index 1837-1977 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1951 - 1971 Orange County Marriages 1951-1971 from the Orange County TXGenWeb site.
- 1966 - 2010 Texas Marriages, 1966-2010 - FamilySearch - FamilySearch record collection - How to Use this Collection
- 1966-2016 Texas Marriages and Divorces at MyHeritage ($) — index
Deaths[edit | edit source]
Online Death Indexes and Records
- 1890-1976 Texas Death Records 1890 – 1976 - FamilySearch with images - How to Use this Collection
Name index and images of statewide death certificates, 1890-1976 - 1903 - 1973 Texas Deaths and Burials 1903-1973 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1903 - 1982 Texas Death Certificates 1903-1982 at Ancestry.com — index and images $
- 1903 - 1984 Orange County Deaths 1903-1984 from the Orange County TXGenWeb site.
- Orange County Cremations and Donations to Science from the Orange County TXGenWeb site. .
- 1964 - 1998 Texas Death Index 1964 to 1998 - (no images) - Name index to Texas Statewide Death
- 1977 - 1986 Texas Deaths 1977-1986 at FamilySearch.org — index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1968 - 2005 Texas Divorce Records 1968 - 2005 (index) - Hidden Ancestors
- 1968 - 2010 Texas Divorce Index 1968-2010 at FamilySearch.org — index
- 1968 - 2011 Texas Divorces 1968-2011 at Ancestry.com — index $
- 1966-2016 Texas Marriages and Divorces at MyHeritage ($) — index
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
South East Texas Genealogical and Historical Society
c/o Tyrrell Historical Library
PO Box 3827
Beaumont, TX 77704-3827
Website
Orange County Historical Society
PO Box 1345
Orange, TX 77630
Facebook
Bridge City Library
101 Parkside Place Dr
Bridge City, TX 77611
Telephone Number: 409-735-4242
Website
Orange Public Library
220 5th St
Orange, TX 77630
Telephone Number: 409-883-1086
Website
Family History Centers
[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Orange County TXGenWeb site history, information, lists, links and other Orange County information.
- FamilySearch Catalog — The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Orange, Texas" in "https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orange_County,_Texas. accessed 11/22/2019
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Orange County, Texas. Page 671 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ "3000 Persons Present for Orange County Courthouse Dedication," in the Port Arthur News, 19 Nov 1937
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Orange County, Texas . Page 658-677 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 655-665.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- ↑ GenDisasters.com - Orange, TX Courthouse Fire, Apr 1898 http://www.gendisasters.com/texas/17708/orange-tx-orange-county-courthouse-fire-apr-1898
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Orange County, Texas," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Orange_County,_Texas, Last accessed 18 August 2019.
