Oneida County, Idaho Genealogy
Guide to Oneida County, Idaho ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Oneida County, Idaho|
Location in the state of Idaho, United States Genealogy
Location of Idaho in the U.S.
|Address||Oneida County Courthouse|
10 Court Street
Malad, ID 83252-0191
Phone: (208) 766-4116 ext. 10
Fax: (208) 766-2448
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Lake Oneida, New York. The County has Soda Springs as its seat and the County was created January 22, 1864. The County is located in the southeast area of the state.
Oneida County, Idaho Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Oneida County Courthouse
10 Court Street
Malad, ID 83252-0191
Phone: 208-766-4116, ext. 10
Oneida County Website
County Clerk has birth and death records 1907-1911 marriage records from 1866, military records from 1919, naturalization records from 1869, divorce, probate, court and land records. 
Quick Facts[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
1864--Oneida County was created as an original county. County seat: Malad 
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
5 January 1875 -- Bear Lake County created from part of Oneida County
13 Jan 1885 -- Bingham County created from part of Oneida County
30 January 1913 -- Franklin County created from part of Oneida County
30 January 1913 -- Power County created from parts of Bingham, Blaine and Oneida Counties
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit Home Town Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
The above list of places includes incorporated cities and towns, unincorporated towns and communities, and place names that may have been used in family histories. Some have well-organized records and even have web sites. Some are simply social communities with no official records, but which may be referenced in small-town newspapers. The list is provided to help researchers identify localities within the county. As records or histories of these localities are identified, a page will be added for each of these place names.
Resources[edit | edit source]
The types of records that follow are used for genealogy and family history. Most tell what you may learn and how to locate the records. Links to Internet sites usually go directly to Oneida County, Idaho Genealogy entries with names, images, or information.
|Don't overlook Oneida County, Idaho Genealogy items in the FamilySearch Library Catalog. For other libraries (local and national) or to gain access to items of interest, see Archives and Libraries.|
Many of the older court, land, naturalization, probate, pension, and vital records for Oneida County have been microfilmed and are available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and through their family history centers. They are also available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise. Details of the county records in these respective institutions can be obtained from their online catalogs or listings. Original records which have been microfilmed and more recent records are in the county courthouse in Malad.
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
There are many cemeteries in Oneida County. For a list of those that have been identified, and links to transcriptions and/or photographs of tombstones, go to Oneida County, Idaho Cemetery Records.
For the cemeteries in or immediately adjacent to the cities, please see the city pages for the cities listed above.
Census[edit | edit source]
The 1890 federal census for Idaho was destroyed. However, the Idaho State Historical Society Public Archives and Research Library is creating a list of 1890 Idaho residents by indexing a variety of records, 1885-1894. This reconstructed list will substitute for the destroyed 1890 federal census.
For a summary of census records for the state of Idaho, see Idaho Census Records.
Church[edit | edit source]
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints (Mormons)[edit | edit source]
- List of Oneida County stakes and wards to about 1948.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
County Commissioners' Records[edit | edit source]
The minute books of the County Commissioners contain interesting tidbits of history about the county as well as the names of individuals appealing to the County Commissioners for action on issues of concern to them. Minutes of those meetings were recorded from the formation of the county, for most counties. Some counties now post the minutes of current meetings online.
Most of these records have been preserved in the county courthouses of the State of Idaho. Few have been microfilmed. Contact the county clerk for information about years covered and availability.
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Some of the early court records of Oneida County, Idaho have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho. The records filmed include civil suits, divorce papers, judgment dockets, etc. Copies of these microfilmed court records are also available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah or at any of the Library's Family History Centers. Additional court records and more recent records are housed at the Oneida County courthouse in Malad, and can be accessed by making a visit there.
Some of the records of the courts of Oneida County that have been microfilmed include:
- Civil and criminal records, 1882-1923; register of actions, 1867-1908
- Court calendar, 1874-1879 Idaho. District Court (Oneida County)
- Court judgments, 1873-1937 Idaho. District Court (Oneida County)
- Court records, 1882-1883 Idaho. District Court (Oneida County)
- Register of prisoners, 1894-1915
- Justice records, 1885-1900 (judgment books)
Directories[edit | edit source]
The Idaho State Archives has a collection of city, county, state and regional directories.
History[edit | edit source]
- History of Oneida County
- History of Samaria.
- An Oneida County Chronology by Kenneth Larson online at FamilySearch Digital Library
- History of Ridgedale: The area, more commonly referred to as Pocatello Valley, is located about fifteen miles southwest of Malad Idaho (Latitude: 42.03 North/Longitude 112.32 West). The area is a closed valley (approximately 15,000 acres) about 5000 feet above sea level located on the Utah/Idaho border but most of the region falls in Idaho. Homesteaded mostly by early Latter-day Saint settlers in the late 1800s and early 1900s from both northern Utah and southern Idaho the valley once sported a steady population for most of the months of the year sufficient to support church, social and educational activities. As agricultural endeavors over the years have required ever larger operations and with improved transportation the valley currently is relatively lightly populated with rather large dry land farming operations underway. The area was electrified in the 1950s and telephone service became common in the 1970s. The area was struck by an intense earthquake in 1975 (Google: 1975 Idaho Earthquake) causing extensive damage on farming facilities in the area but due to the low population density no one was injured. Access to the area is largely dependent on the weather. Most of the early structures, with the exception of two early school buildings, have been destroyed. There are no known cemeteries in the local area.
Land and Property
[edit | edit source]
Land and Property records are generally recorded in the county courthouse of the county in which the transaction took place. For original records of Oneida County, Idaho, one may visit the courthouse in Malad, Idaho.
The Idaho State Archives has microfilmed many county records of Oneida County and these can be accessed by visiting the Archives in Boise, Idaho.
The Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah has microfilmed originals of the following records found in the Oneida County Courthouse in Malad, Idaho which can be accessed at the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of its Family History Centers:
- Claims, 1865-1910; homesteads, 1885-1968
- Deeds, 1865-1901; index, 1865-1908
- Marks and brands, 1867-1905
Maps[edit | edit source]
- An 1895 map of Oneida and surrounding counties is available online.
- A digital Oneida County Idaho map is available online.
- Map of Oneida County, Idaho is available online.
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Military[edit | edit source]
World War I draft registration cards, 1917-1918, for Oneida County have been microfilmed. Copies of these records are available at the Family History Library (their microfilm number 1452220) and are also available online at Ancestry.com, for a subscription fee. The original cards are maintained in the Southeast Regional Archives of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) in East Point, Georgia and have been microfilmed by the National Archives as their Microcopy M1509.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- 1917-1960 Idaho, Military Discharge Records, ca.1917 - ca.1960 at FamilySearch - index and images
- 1940-1945 - Idaho, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
Miscellaneous Series[edit | edit source]
Often overlooked by the genealogist, this group of volumes may contain affidavits for citizenship, final disposition of estates, divorce decrees, and many other types of valuable documents. The content varies from county to county, year to year and from clerk to clerk. When the estate case files, civil or criminal files are not available or have been destroyed, you may find key documents recorded here. Most counties will have an index to this series and it is a must search if the information you are seeking is not found elsewhere.
Both the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho, and the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah have copies of the miscellaneous record of Oneida County. The originals are held in the Oneida County courthouse in Malad, Idaho and can be accessed by visiting there. Copies in the Idaho State Archives are available for viewing in Boise. Those held by the Family History Library can be viewed either at the Library in Salt Lake City or at any of its Family History Centers.
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Records of the naturalization of people born outside of the United States were often kept in the county courthouses of the respective counties of Idaho. For Oneida County, the following records have been abstracted and are available online.
- Declarations of Intentions, 1891-1906
- Declarations of Intentions, 1906-1927
- Naturalization Certificates, 1891-1906
- Naturalization Certificates, 1907-1929
The original naturalization records of Oneida County that have been transferred to the Idaho State Archives in Boise and have been indexed in their Index to Naturalization.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Historical[edit | edit source]
Copies of some of the early issues of newspapers printed in Malad are available on microfilm at the Idaho State Archives in Boise. That research facility has copies of:
- The Idaho Enterprise for 1889:3:2-1890:1:15; 1909:1:27-1920:12:27; and 1930:5:6-1996:12:26
- The Oneida County enterprise for 1924:1:3-1930:5:1
- The Oneida County news for 1921:3:15-1923:4:19
- The Southern Idaho magazine for 1982:3:1-1985:2:13
Current[edit | edit source]
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Pension Records[edit | edit source]
Mothers' Pensions were provided by the State of Idaho for widows and/or orphans, under certain conditions. Petitions for those pensions were filed with the probate court in each county. The original papers for several counties have been transferred to the Idaho State Archives in Boise and have been indexed. Oneida County Mothers' Pensions are included in that index which is available online.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1857 – 1989 Idaho Wills and Probate Records 1857-1989 at Ancestry.com $
Some of the earlier probate records of Oneida County have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, Idaho for viewing at their facility. The following records have been microfilmed by the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, are are available for viewing at the Library in Salt Lake City or in any of its Family History Centers:
- Probate Records 1871-1952
- Inventories 1882-1943
- Index to inventories 1882-1985
- Wills 1879-1950
Other existing probate records as well as later and current records should be available at the Oneida County courthouse in Malad, Idaho and can be accessed by visiting there.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Any existing tax assessment rolls for Oneida County should be in the courthouse in Malad and would need to be accessed by visiting there.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1861-1911 - Idaho, Birth Index, 1861-1911 at FamilySearch — index
- 1883-1929 - Idaho County Birth and Death Records 1883-1929 at FamilySearch.
The Birth Registers for Oneida County, 1907-1911 have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Birth records, 1911 to present, for individuals born in Oneida County are included in and recorded at the state level. These records are restricted for a period of one hundred years from the time of the individual's birth but can be obtained by following the guidelines as issued by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under the subject Idaho for more details.
Idaho Births and Christenings - FamilySearch Historical Records gives details about this collection that covers 1856-1965.
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1800-1987 - Idaho, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index $
- 1864-1976 - Idaho Church Marriages, 1864-1976 at FamilySearch — index
- 1864-1950 - Idaho County Marriages, 1864-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1878-1898; 1903-1942 - Idaho Marriages, 1878-1898; 1903-1942 at FamilySearch — index
- 1947-1963 - Idaho Marriage Index, 1947-1961 at FamilySearch — index
2,749 marriages from 11 May 1865 to 12 Nov 1941 are listed in Western States Marriage Index.
Records of 1826 marriages in Oneida County are available online at Idaho Marriages.
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1883-1929 - Idaho County Birth and Death Records 1883-1929 at FamilySearch.
- 1938-1961 - Idaho Death Certificates, 1938-1961 at FamilySearch — index
The Death Registers for Oneida County, 1907-1911, have been microfilmed and are available at the Idaho State Archives in Boise and at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. After 1911, deaths occurring in Oneida County are included in the state-wide registration program. These records are restricted for a period of fifty years from the time of the individual's death but can be obtained by following the guidelines as mandated by the State of Idaho. See the Vital Records section under Idaho for details.
Copies of death certificates from 1911-1954 are on microfilm and can be used at the Idaho State Archives in Boise, the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, BYU-Idaho University Library in Rexburg and several other locations.
A state-wide index to Idaho Deaths, 1911-1956 is available online. Efforts to expand this index to 1960 are underway. Another version is Idaho Death Index 1911-1956
Idaho Deaths and Burials - FamilySearch Historical Records gives detail about this collection that covers 1907-1965.
Deaths from other sources[edit | edit source]
A significant source of death and related information for eastern Idaho families can be found at the following website Eastern Idaho Death Index.
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Many public libraries provide internet access to sites of value to the family historian. Some have special collections of historical and cultural interest, as well. The following libraries may have some resources of value, but use of some or all of them may require a visit to the library.
- Oneida County Library
31 N 100 W
Malad, ID 83252
- Oneida County Pioneer Museum
27 Bannock Street
Malad, ID 83252
- Genealogy Trails Oneida County
- State Historical Society
2205 Old Penitentiary Rd
- Idaho Historical Society Facebook Page
- Idaho State Archives Digital Collections - Enter County in Search Bar
- The Idaho Welsh Society -- excellent cultural and historical site
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Websites[edit | edit source]
- The Oneida County ID GenWeb Project, a member of The IDGenWeb Project, an affiliate of The USGenWeb Project.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Oneida County, Idaho Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
References[edit | edit source]
- Genealogy Trails History Group, “Oneida, Idaho Genealogy and History”, "http://genealogytrails.com/ida/oneida/."
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Oneida County, Idaho. Page 177-180 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 180-181.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Oneida, Idaho page 179, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Oneida County,Idaho," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oneida_County,_Idaho#Communities, accessed 11 June 2019.
- Idaho State Historical Society Reference Series, Number 10, Counties and County Seats, Reissued July, 1991.
- census.gov - Idaho population by county, 1900-90 accessed 2009-05-03
- quickfacts.census.gov - Canyon County accessed 2009-05-03