Oklahoma Census

Oklahoma Wiki Topics

Beginning Research

Guided Research Research Strategies Record Finder

Record Types

Adoption Bible Records Biography Cemeteries Census Church Records Correctional Institutions Court Records Directories Emigration & Immigration Genealogies Land & Property Military Records Naturalization & Citizenship Newspapers Obituaries Occupation & Business Records Online Collections Periodicals Probate Records School Records Taxation Vital Records Voter Records

Oklahoma Background

Biography Further Reading Gazetteers History Maps Migration

Cultural Groups

African Americans Indigenous Peoples Cultural Groups Swedish American

Local Research Resources

Archives & Libraries Societies Find a family history center

United States

U.S. Census

Oklahoma

Census

Online Federal Censuses

Population Schedules

Starting in 1790, federal population schedules were taken every 10 years in the United States. Click here for more information about federal census records.

Oklahoma was admitted to the United States as the 46th state on 16 Nov 1907. So in the 1900 Census, it would be listed as Oklahoma Territory.

United States Federal Censuses with Online Links

1900	1910	1920	1930	1940	1950	1960
FamilySearch Ancestry.com	FamilySearch Ancestry.com	FamilySearch Ancestry.com	FamilySearch Ancestry.com	FamilySearch Ancestry.com	NARA Index FamilySearch Images	Release Date April 1, 2032

Non-Population Schedules for Oklahoma

Federal non-population schedules included such things mortality schedules, agriculture schedules, slave schedules, and manufacturing schedules.

Year	Type of Census	Links
1890	Veterans	at Ancestry ($)
1860	Slave Owner (as part of Arkansas Indian Lands)	at Ancestry ($)
1860	Mortality (as part of Arkansas Indian Lands)	at Ancestry ($)

Existing and Lost Censuses

• List of existing and lost federal censuses for Oklahoma

Online State and Territorial Censuses

State censuses are census records that were taken at the state-level rather than at the federal. Often, but not always, a state took their census in ten year increments 5 years from when the Federal Census was taken, such as 1885. State censuses can even serve as substitutes for missing federal censuses. For more information on state censuses, visit United States Census Bureau.

Territorial censuses were taken by the federal government to count the population in federal territories. The government needed to count the population in the territory to see if it could qualify for statehood. For more information on territorial censuses, visit the US Territorial Census page.

Year	Type of Census	Links
1907	Territorial (Seminole County), all household members	at Ancestry ($)
1890	Territorial (Select counties), all household members	at FamilySearch at Ancestry ($) at Oklahoma Historical Society

Other Census Images

Civil War Union veterans and their widows, 1890	Flint district Cherokee census and emigrants,1852	Census and school records, 1879-1943	1851 Cherokee Old Settlers' annuity roll
1878 annuity rolls of Chickasaw Nation	Cherokee Nation east, roll of 1835	Cherokee census rolls, 1880	U.S., Indian Census Rolls, 1885-1940 ($) at Ancestry
Oklahoma and Indian Territory, Indian Censuses and Rolls, 1851-1959 ($) at Ancestry	U.S., Native American Citizens and Freedmen of Five Civilized Tribes, 1895-1914 ($) at Ancestry	U.S., Native American Enrollment Cards for the Five Civilized Tribes, 1898-1914 ($) at Ancestry	U.S., Cherokee Baker Roll and Records, 1924-1929 ($) at Ancestry
Oklahoma Osage Tribe Roll, 1921 ($) at Ancestry	Unemployed Relief Census of 1933 at Oklahoma Historical Society

Why Use the Census?

State census records can be one of the easiest ways to locate where an ancestor's family lived and when they lived there. Information varies based on year and location, but information that may be included in a census can include:

• Name of each person in the family at the time the census was taken
• Street or Avenue, or number Rural Free Delivery
• Sex
• Age
• Color
• Nativity
• Place of birth of this person
• Place of birth of Father of this person
• Place of birth of Mother of this person
• Period of Residence
• How long a resident of this State (years and months)
• How long a resident of this enumeration district (years and months)
• Regular occupation
• Military service

Sources and footnotes

Census]]

This website requires a paid subscription for full access.