Ohio Directories
| Ohio Wiki Topics |
|
| Beginning Research |
| Record Types |
|
| Ohio Background |
| Cultural Groups |
| Local Research Resources |
Online Resources[edit | edit source]
- Ohio City Directories, by county
- Ohio and Florida, City Directories, 1902-1960, ($) index
- Ohio City Directories, 1819-1850
- Ohio Name Index Project, Ohio Female Name Index to 1850
- Ohio Name Index
- Ohio Online Historical Directories - listed by county
- Church Directories (Ancestry) ($)
- Cleveland, Ohio Congregational Churches Directory, 1895 (Ancestry) ($)
- Cincinnati City Directories 1861-1923 (4 yrs. missing) (Fold3) ($)
- Cleveland City Directories 1861, 1864-1923 (5 yrs. missing) (Fold3) ($)
- Toledo City Directories 1864-1923 (3 yrs. missing) (Fold3) ($)
- Various directories World Vital Records
- Ancestry.com ($) has Ohio directories available online in its U.S. City Directories collection.
History[edit | edit source]
City and county directories can be used with census records and as a substitute for census records and other genealogical sources. They can be used for locating a person, particularly in large cities, and for studying a person’s migration pattern. They may give clues to when a person died or moved from the area. City and rural directories are alphabetically arranged by surname and are often published annually.
The publication of directories began in the early nineteenth century and continues to the present time. Directories list heads of households and employed household members, occupations, and addresses. Wives' names are given in some directories, and sometimes their date of death may be given. Local information such as names and locations of churches, schools, business firms, and street guides may also be included in the directories.
Resources for Ohio Directories[edit | edit source]
Libraries and Archives[edit | edit source]
Family History Library has a large collection of directories for about 30 cities in Ohio. Local libraries and the Ohio Historical Society also have collections of directories.
- Johnson, P. R., Classified business and professional directory of prominent towns and cities of Ohio and eastern Indiana (Tucson, Arizona:W.C. Cox Co., 1974) FHL film 1000888
- Huguenot Society of Ohio-Directory 1953 FHL book 977.1 A1
- Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors of Ohio (Columbus, Ohio), Directory of licensed embalmers, licensed funeral directors and funeral firms of the state of Ohio (Columbus, Ohio: Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors, 1960) At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL book 977.1 U24
Directories Online[edit | edit source]
The Family History Library[edit | edit source]
The Family History Library has city directories for various years from throughout the state of Ohio including:
Cleveland
1837-1860 Family History Library microfilm 6043814-6043824
1940, 1958, 1965, 1970-71, 1977 Family History Library book 977.131 E4c
Cincinnati
1917, 1936-37, 1965, 1970, 1974, 1978, 1979-80 Family History Library book 977.178 E4w
Toledo
1913, 1916, 1917, 1923, 1926, 1940 Family History Library book 977.113 E4t
To find directories, consult the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:
- OHIO, [COUNTY] — DIRECTORIES
- OHIO, [COUNTY], [TOWN] — DIRECTORIES
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Distantcousins
- Genealogy.org lists several different types of directories.
- Morgan lists of directories.
- Ohio
- Old Directory Search
- US City Directories This web site identifies printed, microfilmed, and online directories and their repositories.
- NARA National Archives
- Rootsweb has a great article about how to use city directories and newspapers.
| ||||
