Nottoway County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Nottoway County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Nottoway
Organized: 01 May 1789[1]
Parent County(s): Amelia
Neighboring Counties
Amelia  • Brunswick  • Dinwiddie  • Lunenburg  • Prince Edward
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaNottowayCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Nottoway County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Nottoway County is located in the Central portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named for the Nadowa Indian tribe[2].

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Nottoway County Courthouse
328 West Courthouse Road / PO Box 25
Nottoway, VA 23955
Phone: 434-645-9312
Nottoway County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage divorce and court records from 1865, land, probate and military records from 1789[3]

Nottoway County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1784 1853 1865 1789 1789 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

  • 1865 Most courthouse records were destroyed in 1865 during the Civil War. A few volumes of deeds, orders, and wills survived.
  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800
  • Visit the Library of Virginia's website to determine exactly what records have been lost and their Lost Records Localities Database to find additional resources.
  • For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Towns
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

  • Cummins, A. B. Nottoway County, Virginia: Founding and Development with Biographical Sketches. Richmond, Va.: W.M. Brown and Son, Printers, 1970. FHL Collection

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Medical register, 1917-1975. Contains copies of medical licenses for physical therapists, surgeons, dentists, optometrists, general practioners ("regular doctors"), and "allopathic" doctors. FHL Collection
  • Register of physicians, surgeons and dentists, 1894-1950 FHL Collection
  • Contract book of the Richmond Cooperative Milk Producers Association, 1930-1931 FHL Collection

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Nottoway County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1800 9,401
1810 9,278 −1.3%
1820 9,658 4.1%
1830 10,130 4.9%
1840 9,719 −4.1%
1850 8,437 −13.2%
1860 8,836 4.7%
1870 9,291 5.1%
1880 11,156 20.1%
1890 11,582 3.8%
1900 12,366 6.8%
1910 13,462 8.9%
1920 14,161 5.2%
1930 14,866 5.0%
1940 15,556 4.6%
1950 15,479 −0.5%
1960 15,141 −2.2%
1970 14,260 −5.8%
1980 14,666 2.8%
1990 14,993 2.2%
2000 15,725 4.9%
2010 15,853 0.8%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1850

1860

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  1. Nottoway (1765).[8][9] Edwards published a membership list dated 1769 in Materials Towards a History of the Baptists... (1772), 68-69.[10]
  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.
    Nottoway County fell within the bounds of the Middle District Association.

Church of England
Meade's 1861 history of parishes in Nottoway County is available online.[11]

Gotoarrow.png See also Nottoway Parish

  • Rev. John Cameron's marriage register of Bristol, Cumberland and Nottoway parishes, Virginia, 1784-1815 and other more recent records, mainly of Nottoway Parish FHL Collection

Presbyterian

  • A brief history of the Blackstone Presbyterian Church 1823-1961. This church was formed in 1824 as a branch of the Nottoway Presbyterian Church. In 1911 it became a separate church. FHL Collection

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Chancery Court

  • Indexed images of Nottoway County, Virginia Chancery Records 1818-1968 are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.

Correctional Institutions

  • A register of persons convicted of felony, etc., 1931-1966 FHL Collection

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled genealogies for Multiple Families

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

  • Amelia County, Virginia deeds. Prince Edward County, Va. was not cut off of Amelia County until 1754, and Nottoway County was not cut off until 1789, so this book contains deeds for both of these present-day counties. -- Foreword, v. 1
    v. 1. Deed book 1, 1735-1743, and bonds, 1735-1741
    v. 2. Deed book 2, 1742-1747
    v. 3. Deed books 3-4, 1747-1753
    v. 4. Deed book 5-6, 1753-1759
    v. 5. Deed books 7-8, 1759-1765
    v. 6. Deed books 9-11, 1766-1773
    v. 7. Deed books 12-14, 1773-1778
    v. 8. Deed books 15-17, 1778-1786. FHL Collection
  • Deed records, 1789-1900; general indexes, 1866-1974. Some of the deed books may have been lost during the Civil War. After the war, the numbering of volumes started over with v. 1. FHL Collection
  • Returns of processioners, 1795-1824. Contains land processioning records recorded with the County Court which include the land description and who was present at the processioning. FHL Collection
  • Some early landowners in southern Nottoway and northern Lunenburg counties, Virginia and the Cocke (Coke) family who once lived there. Contains maps with tract codes and a list of landowners giving the names of grantor and grantee, tract code, year, number of acres, source, and other information. Includes a list of streams and other landmarks and the Cocke (Coke) family genealogy. FHL Collection

Grants and Patents
Land patents (pre-1779), land grants (after 1779) and surveys are available online at the Library of Virginia website. For step-by-step instructions on retrieving these records, read the Virginia Land and Property article.*Hudgins and Sullivan. 901 patents dated 1717-1779 in what is now Amelia and Nottoway Counties, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper, 2003. Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Account book, 1875-1877. This is the account book for Council no. 124, F. of T, which is a temperance society. FHL Collection

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Prince Edward CountyAmelia CountyDinwiddie CountyBrunswick CountyLunenburg CountyVA NOTTOWAY.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

  • Elliott, Katherine B. Emigration to Other States from Southside Virginia. 2 vols. South Hill, Virginia: K. B. Elliott, 1966. Includes individuals who migrated out of Nottoway County to other parts of the country. FHL Collections

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Revolutionary War
Nottoway County residents' participation in the Revolutionary War.[12]

War of 1812
Nottoway County men served in the 49th Regiment.[13]

  • Douthat, James L. Roster of War of 1812, Southside, Virginia. Signal Mountain, Tenn.: Mountain Press, 2007. Free online surname index and purchase details at Mountain Press website. FHL Collection 975.5 M2djL. [Includes Nottoway County.]
  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Nottoway County, p. 96. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]


Civil War

Regiments. Civil War service men in Nottoway County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed here:

- 3rd Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate). Company E (Nottoway Troop).[14]
- 18th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company C (Nottoway Rifle Guards) and Company G (Nottoway Grays).[15]
- 21st Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (Meherrin Grays).[16]


Civil War Battle
The following Civil War battle was fought in Nottoway County.

Maps of Civil War battles in Virginia: 1861, 1862, 1863, 1864, 1865


World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in the Virginia Gazette and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Public Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

  • 1633-1800 Wills and Estate Records Index at Library of Virginia.*SAMPUBCO free online index resource that serves as a good starting place to search for Nottoway County wills.
  • Will records, 1789-1964; general indexes, 1865-1975 FHL Collection
  • Accounts current records, 1867-1915; general index to fiduciary settlements, 1867-1915 FHL Collection
  • Fiduciary order books, 1942-1972 FHL Collection
  • Record of fiduciaries, 1901-1902 FHL Collection
  • Bond and guarantee companies books, 1923-1974. A bond is a legal document wherein a person commits himself, his heirs, executors and administrators to pay a required amount of money to another if certain duties are not performed. These were paid by people elected or appointed to public offices or to act as guardians, executors or administrators of a person's estate. FHL Collection
  • Bond books, 1852-1865, 1891-1917; general index to bond books, 1866-1917 FHL Collection
  • Bond books, 1899-1914, 1972-1975 FHL Collection
  • Images of Wills and Estates 1788-1802 Virginia Pioneers ($)
  • Images of Wills and Estates 1803-1809 Virginia Pioneers ($)

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

  • The Farmville Herald: index to births, deaths and marriages. Contents: v. 1. 1893-1912, also includes 1873-1876 of The Farmville Mercury and The Farmville Commonwealth. FHL Collection

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Nottoway County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Nottoway County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Nottoway County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. https://sites.rootsweb.com/~vanottow/
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Newberry
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Northumberland_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Northumberland_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 19 February 2020.
  8. Robert Baylor Semple and George William Beale, A History of the Rise and Progress of the Baptists in Virginia (Pitt and Dickinson, 1894), 254. Digital version at Google Books.
  9. Morgan Edwards, Materials Towards a History of the Baptists in the Provinces of Maryland Virginia North Carolina South Carolina Georgia (1772). Digitized by SCDL Collections - free.
  10. Edwards states this church was situated in Amelia County. Were there two Baptist churches called Nottoway, or do they refer to the same congregation?
  11. William Meade, Old Churches, Ministers and Families of Virginia, 2 vols. (Philadelphia: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1861). Digital versions at Internet Archive: Vol. I and Vol. II.
  12. J.T. McAllister, Virginia Militia in the Revolutionary War: McAllister's Data (Hot Springs, Va.: McAllister Pub. Co., 1913), 38-39. Digitized by Internet Archive.
  13. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 162. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.
  14. Thomas P. Nanzig, 3rd Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 61.
  15. James I. Robertson, 18th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1984). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 12.
  16. Susan A. Riggs, 21st Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1991). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 72.
  17. Heritage Preservation Services, Civil War Battle Summaries by State, (accessed 7 August 2012).