Guide to Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
|Norway Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Country Information[edit | edit source]
Norway is a Scandinavian country in Northern Europe bordered by Sweden, Finland, Russia, and Denmark. Part of the Kalmar Union from 1397 to 1523, Norway was part of a personal union with Denmark from 1536 until 1660 when King Frederik III established an absolute monarchy and Norway came under the Danish crown. From the end of the Napoleonic Wars in 1814 until 1905 it was in another personal union, this time with Sweden as part of the United Kingdoms of Sweden and Norway. Two different forms of Norwegian, Bokmål and Nynorsk are the official language, with several other recognized national languages.
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Norway Research
Links to articles on getting started with Norway research.
Norway Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Norway research.
Finding Your Ancestors' Town in Norway[edit | edit source]
Genealogical records are organized by geographical locality. Civil registration (government birth, marriage, and death records) and church records (christenings/baptisms, marriages, and burials) were kept at the local level. To search these records, you must know the town where your ancestors lived.
If you do not know your ancestors' town, see the article, Norway Finding Town of Origin, to identify other records that might provide that information.
Norway Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
The map below shows county boundaries as of about 1660 to 2018.
Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]
Counties (Fylker)[edit | edit source]
County Mergers[edit | edit source]
On 1 January 2020 several counties were combined as part of an administrative reform (Regionreformen). Nord-Trøndelag and Sør-Trøndelag were combined 1 January 2018. Four counties were unchanged.
|Number||Name||Previous Counties||Parallel Name|
|15||Møre og Romsdal|
|30||Viken||Akershus, Buskerud, and Østfold|
|38||Vestfold og Telemark||Vestfold, Telemark|
|46||Vestland||Hordaland, Sogn og Fjordane|
|50||Trøndelag||Nord-Trøndelag, Sør-Trøndelag||Trööndelage (Sami)|
|54||Troms og Finnmark||Finnmark, Troms||Romsa ja Finnmárk (Sami); Tromssa ja Finmarkku (Kven)|
Parishes in Norway[edit | edit source]
Regions in Norway[edit | edit source]
Clerical Districts[edit | edit source]
More Norway Research Strategies[edit | edit source]
Research strategies give guidance on how to research or what records to search for first. Below are additional research strategy Wiki articles for Norway.
- Research Strategies
- "How to" Guides
- Record Finder
- Birth Record Search Strategy 1500-1813
- Birth Record Search Strategy 1814-Present
- Birth, Marriage, and Death Search Strategies 1500 - Present
- Death Record Search Strategy 1500-1813
- Death Record Search Strategy 1814-Present
- Obtaining Background Information
More Norway Research Tools[edit | edit source]
Research tools can include resources that assist in locating correct records to search and determining the correct locality to search in. Below are links and Wiki articles to research tools in Norway.
- Record Finder
- Norway Typing Æ, Ø, and Å
- Parish heading list
- Census Register Headings
- Feast Day Calendar (Moveable)
- Feast Days (Fixed and Moveable)
- Reading Scandinavian Gothic Handwritten Records.
- Handwriting Examples
- Norway Currency
- Weight and Measurement in Old Norway
- Given Names List
- MyHeritage MyHeritage puts exclusive Scandinavian records online
- Norway Genealogical Resources
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
Learning Center[edit | edit source]
The following classes can help you learn more about Norwegian research. You can search for other classes on the Learning Center Search page.
- Exploring Probate Records in Norway
- Exploring Church Records in Norway
- Exploring Death Notices in Norway
- Norwegian Emigration: The Experience
- Pre-1867 Emigration Records from Norway: History of Norwegian Emigration
- Finding ancestors in the Norwegian farm books online
- Norwegian Migration and Immigration
- From America to Norway - Using US and Norwegian records in tandem
- Genealogy in Norway DIS-NORGE - Genealogy Society of Norway tools
- Norwegian History
- How to find Ancestors in Digitalarkivet of Norway
- Finding Gyrid Aarsand’s Place of Origin in Norway - Locating an ancestor's parish and port of emigration