Northumberland County, Virginia Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Northumberland County, Virginia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Heathsville
Organized: 1648[1]
Parent County(s): York
Neighboring Counties
Lancaster  • Richmond  • Westmoreland
See County Maps
Courthouse
VirginiaNorthumberlandCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Location of Northumberland County, Virginia.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

Northumberland County is located in the eastern portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named after County Northumberland, England.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Northumberland County Courthouse
220 Judicial Place/P.O. Box 114
Heathsville, VA 22473-0114
Phone: 804-580-4323
Northumberland County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce, probate, court and land records[3]

Northumberland County, Virginia Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1853 1735 1853 1650 1650 1652 1810
* Statewide registration for births and deaths began in 1912.
General compliance year is unknown.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]

Towns
Unincorporated communities
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

For databases and indexes, see Virginia Bible Records.

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

  • Doggett, Barbara Lynn. Parish Apprenticeship in Colonial Virginia: A Study of Northumberland County, 1680-1695 and 1750-1765. College of William and Mary, 1981.
  • "Northumberland County," [List of Burgesses from the County Levy (1658-1719)] The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 4, No. 3 (Jan. 1896):179-180. Available at JSTOR ($).

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Northumberland County, Virginia online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.

 

  • 1800-1986 Virginia, Jewish Cemetery Records Index, ca. 1800-1986 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
  • Gravestones of the Eastern Shore of Virginia; images of headstones.
  • "Early Tombs in Westmoreland, Richmond, and Northumberland Counties," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 11, No. 2 (Oct. 1902):123-130; Vol. 11, No. 3 (Jan. 1903):191-195. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • "Early Tombstones in Northumberland County," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 8, No. 1 (Jul. 1899):42-47. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • "Inscriptions on Old Tombstones in Westmoreland and Northumberland Counties," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 9, No. 1 (Jul. 1900):25-31. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • Virginia Daughters of the American Revolution, Daughters of the American Revolution. Freedom Hill Chapter (McLean, Va.). Virginia DAR Genealogical Records Committee Report: Tombstone Inscriptions of Northumberland County, Virginia. Virginia DAR, 1996.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For databases, indexes, and information online, see Virginia Census.

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1790 9,163
1800 7,803 −14.8%
1810 8,308 6.5%
1820 8,016 −3.5%
1830 7,953 −0.8%
1840 7,924 −0.4%
1850 7,346 −7.3%
1860 7,531 2.5%
1870 6,863 −8.9%
1880 7,929 15.5%
1890 7,885 −0.6%
1900 9,486 20.3%
1910 10,777 13.6%
1920 11,518 6.9%
1930 11,081 −3.8%
1940 10,463 −5.6%
1950 10,012 −4.3%
1960 10,185 1.7%
1970 9,239 −9.3%
1980 9,828 6.4%
1990 10,524 7.1%
2000 12,259 16.5%
2010 12,330 0.6%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

1782 Enumeration

1784 Enumeration

1890 Union Veterans

Church Records[edit | edit source]

List of Churches and Church Parishes

Baptist

  • 1776 Petition of Baptists (10,000 names!) and sympathizers from all over Virginia, dated 16 October 1776, asking for an end to persecution of Baptists by the established church. After locating your ancestor, view the digital copies.
    – Digital copies at Library of Congress; also at Library of Virginia using the code word "000606093"
    – Hall, Jean Pickett. "Legislative Petitions: the 10,000 name petition" transcription in the Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vols. 35-38, with annotations in Vol. 39, (Richmond, Virginia: Virginia Genealogical Society, 1983-) online at Ancestry ($) and in book form at various libraries.

Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):

  • Coan aka Coan. A history of the early years has been published: Northumberland County Historical Society Bulletin, Vol. 6, No. 1 (1969) and Vol. 29 (1992). An 1811 register was published there in Vol. 3, No. 1 (Jul. 1966). Another history was published in 1987:
  • Coan Baptist Church (Heathsville, Virginia). Church History Committee. Stop and Look: The History of the Coan Baptist Church, 1804-1979 Heathsville, Northumberland County, Virginia. Barbour Print., 1987.
  • Semple, Robert Baylor and Clarissa Hall. The Faithful Servant of God Exemplified in the Life and Death of Samuel L. Straughan: Late Minister of the Gospel, Northumberland County, Va. Shepherd & Pollard, printers, 1822.

Church of England
go to See also Boutracy Parish
go to See also Chickacoan Parish
go to See also Fairfield Parish
go to See also Lee Parish
go to See also Nomini Parish
go to See also St. Stephen's Parish
go to See also Wicomico Parish

  • Mason, George Carrington. "The Colonial Churches of Northumberland and Lancaster Counties, Virginia," The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 54, No. 2 (Apr. 1946):137-151; Vol. 54, No. 3 (Jul. 1946):233-243. Available at JSTOR ($).

Presbyterian
There was a Presbyterian congregation and meeting house in the 1750s and 1760s.[8]

  • Toler, Henry, Clarissa Pollard and Eliza Steptoe. The Faithful Minister's Work and Course Pursued and Finished: Being the Substance of Two Sermons Occasioned by the Death of Elder Lewis Lunsford, Late of Northumberland, in the State of Virginia, Who Departed this Life at Mr. Abraham Gregory['s] in Essex, October 26, 1793, about the Fortieth ... Ormond & Ormond & Conrad, no. 41, Old Sign of Franklin's Head, Chestnut-Street, 1795.

Quaker
Early monthly meetings (with years of existence):

  • Northumberland Monthly Meeting (1650s-1660s)[9]

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Online Court Indexes and Records

County Court

  • Duvall, Lindsay O. Virginia Colonial Abstracts. Series II, Volume I. Northumberland County, 1678-1713. [Abstracts of order books 1678-1713.]
  • Fleet, Beverley. Northumberland County Records, 1652-1655: Containing Abstracts from Court Order Book No. 2, 20th Sept. 1652-20th Oct. 1655, Record Book No. 14, 20th Sept. 1652-20th Aug. 1655. Baltimore: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1961. Available at FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 N2fb 1988 v. 1 also 3 volumes in 1 FHL US/CAN Film 908178 Item 1; digital version at Ancestry ($); and World Vital Records has ($) Volume 2 and Volume 3.
  • Herman, Lawrence George. Presentments of the Grand Jury of Northumberland County, Virginia, 1744-1770. College of William and Mary, 1976.
  • "Revolutionary Proceedings in Northumberland County, 1765, 1776-1778," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 20, No. 2, (Labeled issue 1) (Oct. 1911):127-132. Available at JSTOR ($).

Superior Court of Chancery
The Superior Court of Chancery of Fredericksburg (1802-1831) had jurisdiction over certain Northumberland County court cases. An index has been compiled:

  • Indexes of Court Records in the Clerk's Office, Fredericksburg, Virginia, 1782-1904. Original records, Fredericksburg City Courthouse, Fredericksburg, Va., microfilmed reproduction available at FHL. Indexes the following records: District Court law book v. 8, 1782-1792; District Court law books 1790-1793, v. A-F 1789-1811; Superior Court of Law law order books v. G-H 1812-1831; Superior Court of Chancery chancery order books 1814-1831; Hustings Court orders v. A-O 1782-1871; Circuit Superior Court of Law and Chancery law order books v. A-E 1831-1875; Circuit Superior Court of Law and Chancery chancery order books v. A-D 1831-1872; Circuit Court chancery order books v. A2, B-C 1875-1904; Fredericksburg District Court (1789-1808) had jurisdiction over the following counties: Spotsylvania (including Fredericksburg), Caroline, King George, Stafford, Orange, and Culpeper; Superior Court of Chancery (1802-1831) had jurisdiction over the following localities: city of Fredericksburg and the counties of Caroline, Culpeper, Fauquier, Fairfax, Lancaster, Northumberland, Madison, King George, Orange, Prince William, Richmond, Spotsylvania, Stafford, Essex, and Westmoreland.

Chancery Court

  • Library of Virginia's Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index can be used to search Northumberland County chancery records for the years 1759-1980. Digital images are available for the years 1759-1912. Indexed information is available through 1980 - see online catalog or contact Archives Research Services for availability.

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

For databases and immigrant groups, see Virginia Emigration and Immigration

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. Includes will of a resident of Cherry Point, Bow Tracy, Northumberland County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.
  • List of imported servants and transported convicts from Europe who served labor terms in Colonial Virginia are online at: Immigrant Servants Database.
    *Ljungstedt, Milnor. "Items from Southern Records" (Showing Family and Trade Connections with Northern Colonies and the Home Countries), The American Genealogist, Vol. 15 (1938):95-104. Digital version at American Ancestors ($). Northumberland Co., VA record surname: Lord.

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

African American

  • 1865-1872 Virginia, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1865-1872 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
  • 1935-2009 Virginia, African-American Funeral Programs, 1935-2009 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
  • Heinegg, Paul. "Northumberland County Personal Property Tax List, 1782-1813," Free African Americans.com. Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.
  • Heinegg, Paul. Free African Americans of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland and Delaware. 2005-present. free online book. Baker, Beckett, Bee, Bell, Bolling, Bolton, Booth, Boughan (see introduction), Boyd, Bryant, Carpenter, Cassidy, Causey, Craney, Credit, Day, Gregory, Griffin, Haws, Hitchens, Kelly, Key (see introduction), Lawson, Lewin, Mason, Moore, Moses, Mozingo, Murrow, Nickens, Oats, Oliver, Oxendine, Peters, Phillips, Pinn, Pitts, Ranger, Rich, Shoecraft, Smith, Sorrell, Spriddle, Stewart, Tate, Thomas, Toulson, Vena, Venners, Vina, Watkins, Weaver, Webb, Wiggins, Wood, and Young families of pre-1820 Northumberland County, Virginia.
  • Kegley, Mary B. Free People of Colour: Free Negroes, Indians, Portuguese and Freed Slaves. Wytheville, Virginia: Kegley Books, 2003. Available at FHL. Includes information about Northumberland County free people of color.
  • Sutton, K.E. Black, Red and Revolutionary: Free African Americans of Lancaster and Northumberland Counties, Virginia in the Era of the American Revolution. K.E. Sutton, 1997.
  • Sutton, Karen E. Northumberland County, Virginia Registers of Free Blacks. Maryland: Heritage Books, 1999.
  • Search the Library of Virginia's Virginia Untold collection for digitized records related to African Americans of Northumberland County.

Native Americans
The Wickacomico Tribe lived in the area in the late 1600s.[10]

  • Potter, Stephen R. An Ethnohistorical Examination of Indian Groups in Northumberland County, Virginia: 1608-1719. Chapel Hill, North Carolina: University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 1976.

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

compiled Genealogies by Surname

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

Compiled Genealogies for Multiple Families

  • Davis, Virginia Lee Hutcheson. Tidewater Virginia Families: The Families of Bell, Binford, Bonner, Butler, Campbell, Cheadle, Chiles, Clements, Cotton, Dejarnette(att), Dumas, Ellyson, Fishback, Fleming, Hamlin, Hampton, Harnison, Harris, Haynie, Hurt, Hutcheson, Lee, Mosby, Mundy, Nelson, Peatross, Pettyjohn, Ruffin, Short, Spencer, Tarleton, Tatum, Taylor, Terrell, Watkins, Winstonb, Woodson. Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Pub. Co., 1989, 1998. FHL Book 975.5 D2d 1998
  • Heinegg, Paul. Free African Americans of Virginia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Maryland and Delaware. 2005-present. - free online book. Baker, Beckett, Bee, Bell, Bolling, Bolton, Booth, Boughan (see introduction), Boyd, Bryant, Carpenter, Cassidy, Causey, Craney, Credit, Day, Gregory, Griffin, Haws, Hitchens, Kelly, Key (see introduction), Lawson, Lewin, Mason, Moore, Moses, Mozingo, Murrow, Nickens, Oats, Oliver, Oxendine, Peters, Phillips, Pinn, Pitts, Ranger, Rich, Shoecraft, Smith, Sorrell, Spriddle, Stewart, Tate, Thomas, Toulson, Vena, Venners, Vina, Watkins, Weaver, Webb, Wiggins, Wood, and Young families of pre-1820 Northumberland County, Virginia.
  • Swift, Charlotte Richardson. Heale - Davenport - Luttrell Families, 1648-1914. MSS., Richmond Virginia Stake Genealogical Library, Richmond, Va. Microfilmed 1983: FHL Film 1033940 Item 3

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

For land indexes, records, and databases, see Virginia Land and Property, including Colonial and State Land Grants.

Online Land Indexes and Records

Grants and Patents

  • Davey. 253 patents dated 1651-1911 in what is now Fairfax, Fauquier, Northumberland, Prince William, Stafford, and Westmoreland Counties, Virginia placed on a map. DeedMapper. Names of those who received land patents, dates, land descriptions, and references may be viewed free of charge (click "Index" next to the county listing, which is "Nova" in this instance); however, in order to view the maps, it is necessary to purchase Direct Line Software's DeedMapper product.
  • Gray, Gertrude E. Virginia Northern Neck Land Grants 1694-1742. Vol. I. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1987. Available at FHL. Includes Northumberland County.
  • Nugent, Nell Marion. Cavaliers and Pioneers: Abstracts of Virginia Land Patents and Grants 1623-1666. Vol. I (1934; reprint, Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 1991). Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($). Includes Northumberland County. N.B. If Ancestry's search engine fails, try checking the printed index at the end of the book.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

  • Scott, Steven, University of New Orleans, University of New Orleans. Dept. of History. Social Networking in Seventeenth-century Virginia: Northumberland County, 1651-1665. University of New Orleans, 2005.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

County and state maps, historical and more current, are valuable research tools. For map collections, online and in libraries, see Virginia Maps.

Westmoreland CountyRichmond CountyLancaster CountyVA NORTHUMBERLAND.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

English Civil War

  • Hackley, Woodford B. "The Northumberland Oath 1652," [Oath of Allegiance to Oliver Cromwell's government during Commonwealth Period] The Virginia Magazine of History and Biography, Vol. 49, No. 1 (Jan. 1941):33-36. Available at JSTOR ($). Identifies many local residents.


French and Indian War

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. Identifies some Northumberland County militia officers, soldier enlistments, and veterans; see place name index.
  • Boogher, William F. Gleanings of Virginia History: An Historical and Genealogical Collection, Largely from Original Sources. Washington: n.p., 1903. Available at FHL; digital version at Google Books. Includes a chapter titled "Legislative Enactments connecting the preceding historic sketch (French and Indian War, Lord Dunmore's War) with the adjudication of the resulting accounts that follow; with the list of officers, soldiers and civilians entitled to compensation for military and other services rendered." For Northumberland County, see p. 96.
  • Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL; digital book at Archive. Identifies some Northumberland County militia officers; see place name index.


Colonial Militia

  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. Identifies some Northumberland County militia officers and/or soldiers; see place name index.
  • Crozier, William Armstrong. Virginia Colonial Militia 1651-1776. Baltimore: Southern Book Co., 1954. Available at FHL; digital book at Archive. Identifies some Northumberland County militia officers; see place name index.


Revolutionary War

  • "Revolutionary Proceedings in Northumberland County, 1765, 1776-1778," The William and Mary Quarterly, Vol. 20, No. 2, (Labeled issue 1) (Oct. 1911):127-132. Available at JSTOR ($).
  • Sutton, K.E. Black, Red and Revolutionary: Free African Americans of Lancaster and Northumberland Counties, Virginia in the Era of the American Revolution. K.E. Sutton, 1997.
  • Revolutionary Pension Applications

Regiments. Service men in Northumberland County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Northumberland County supplied soldiers for the:

- 5th Virginia Regiment
- 15th Virginia Regiment (7th Company)[11]


War of 1812

  • List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. See Vol. 5, Virginia, Northumberland County, p. 96. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.

Regiments. Northumberland County men served in the 37th Regiment.[12]

Civil War


World War II

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Online Naturalization Indexes and Records

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

For online newspaper resources, see the Virginia Newspapers page.

Indexed images of the Virginia Gazette (1736-1780) are available online through the Colonial Williamsburg website. In addition, Professor Tom Costa and The Rector and Visitors of the University of Virginia have created a database of all runaway advertisements for slaves, indentured servants, transported convicts, and ship deserters listed in this source and other Virginia newspapers (1736-1803), see: The Geography of Slavery in Virginia. These newspapers are valuable resources for all regions of Virginia.

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Private Papers

  • 1607-2007 Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007 at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
  • [Galloway] Nickson, James, David Galloway and Thomas Lee. Title Account, November 1745 to November 1746, with David Galloway of Northumberland County, Virginia. Incomplete citation taken from Google Books.
  • [Jones] Jones Family and Library of Congress. The Papers of the Jones Family of Northumberland, Virginia, 1649-1889. Library of Congress, 1972.

Voting Records[edit | edit source]

  • Bromley, Richard Franklin and Margaret Payne Bromley. Northumberland County, Virginia Poll List for the Election of Burgesses for the Period 1750-1774. Family Line Publications, 1994.

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

For probate records, indexes, and databases, see Virginia Probate Records.

Online Probate Indexes and Records

Local Court

  • Lewis, James F. and J. Motley Booker. Wills and Administrations, Northumberland County, Virginia, 1713-1749. J.F. Lewis and J.M. Booker, 1967. Reviewed in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 11, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1967):137. Review available at American Ancestors ($).
  • Lewis, James F. and J. Motley Booker. Wills and Administrations, Northumberland County, Virginia, 1750-1770. J.F. Lewis and J.M. Booker, 1964. Reviewed in The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 8, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1964):137-138. Review available at American Ancestors ($).
  • Photocopy of the Will of Samuel Griffin of Northumberland County, Virginia (1702) and Research Notes. Incomplete citation from Google Books.
  • Washington, John A. "Will of Thomas Bushrod, Northumberland County, Virginia, 1698," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 18, No. 1 (Jan.-Mar. 1974):55-60. Available at American Ancestors ($).

London Courts

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. Includes will of a resident of Cherry Point, Bow Tracy, Northumberland County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.
  • 1639-1850 Virginia Land, Marriage and Probate Records 1639-1850 at Ancestry — index, incomplete ($)
  • Images of Wills, Inventories, Deeds, Orders - 1652-1658; 1706-1720; 1710-1713; 1718-1726; 1726-1729; 1738-1743; 1743-1749; 1747-1749; 1749-1751; 1789-1825 Virginia Pioneers.net($)
  • Images of Guardian Accounts 1788-1824 Virginia Pioneers.net($)
  • Image of Index to Fiduciary Accounts 1749-1950 Virginia Pioneers.net($)
  • Images of Wills, Inventories, Deeds - 1651-1658 (no idx); 1706-1720; 1710-1713; 1718-1726; 1726-1729; 1738-1743; 1743-1749; 1747-1749; 1749-1751; 1789-1825. Virginia Pioneers.net ($)
  • Indexes of Wills, Inventories, Deeds - 1753-1756; 1756-1768; 1758-1762; 1762-1766. Virginia Pioneers.net ($)

School Records[edit | edit source]

Online School Indexes and Records

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

For additional online collections and the value and use of Virginia's tax lists in your research, see Virginia Taxation.

Online Tax Indexes and Records
The original personal property tax lists of Northumberland County, Virginia are held at the Library of Virginia, Richmond, Va. FHL has microfilmed Northumberland's personal property tax lists for the years 1782 to 1850. Additional Northumberland County taxation records available online or in print include:

  • 1664 Horse Owners Pay Bounty on Wolves, 1664, Northumberland County Historical Society Bulletin, Vol. 22 (1985).
  • 1679 Context and Significance of County Tithables List with Records, 1679, Northumberland County Historical Society Bulletin, Vol. 41 (2004).
  • 1782 Land Tax List, 1782, Northumberland County Historical Society Bulletin, Vol. 9, No. 1 (1972).
  • 1782-1813 Heinegg, Paul. "Northumberland County Personal Property Tax List, 1782-1813," Free African Americans.com. Heinegg abstracted free blacks listed in these records.
  • 1783 - Personal Property (or Land) Tax List, 1783; index online at Revolutionary War Service website - free.
  • 1787 Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Northumberland County is included in Vol. 2.
  • 1788, 1801 Indexed images of the 1788 and 1801 Personal Property Tax Lists of Northumberland County, Virginia are available online, courtesy: Binns Genealogy.
  • 1800 Tax List, 1800, Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 46, No. 1 (Jan. 2002); Vol. 46, No. 2 (Apr. 2002); Vol. 46, No. 3 (Jul. 2002).
  • 1815 Ward, Roger D. 1815 Directory of Virginia Landowners (and Gazetteer). 6 vols. Athens, Georgia: Iberian Pub. Co., 1997-2000. Available at FHL. The source for this publication is the 1815 land tax. Northumberland County is included in Vol. 3.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

For additional indexes, databases, and details, see Virginia Vital Records.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Northumberland County. For state-wide facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries

  • Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
  • FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Northumberland County. For state-wide library facilities, see Virginia Archives and Libraries.

Mary Ball Washington Museum and LibraryWebsite

The Northern Neck of Virginia Historical SocietyWebsite

Northumberland Public LibraryWebsite

Northumberland County Historical SocietyWebsite

Middle Peninsula African-American Genealogical & Historical SocietyWebsite

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Northumberland County. For state-wide genealogical and historical societies, see Virginia Societies.

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

Compiled genealogies are a good place to start research for this area, see Northumberland County, Virginia Genealogy. If you are researching families who lived in Northumberland County, Virginia between the 1650s and 1710s, the Sparacios' book indexes are a great time saver. Surname index of Antient Press publications

  • Davis, Virginia Lee Hutcheson. "Records of Tidewater Virginia Counties," Tidewater Virginia Families: A Magazine of History and Genealogy, Vol. 1, No. 2 (May-June 1992):53-66. FHL Collection 975.51 D25t For Northumberland County, see p. 63
  • Dorman, John Frederick. "A Guide to the Counties of Virginia: Northumberland County," The Virginia Genealogist, Vol. 19, No. 3 (Jul.-Sep. 1975):205-208. Digital version at American Ancestors ($).

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Newberry
  2. http://www.co.northumberland.va.us
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Newberry
  6. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Iowa.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  7. Wikipedia contributors, "Northumberland_ County,_Virginia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Northumberland_County,_Virginia#Communities accessed 19 February 2020.
  8. Northern Neck Presbyterian Churches, Church History, ca. 1720-1780. FHL Film 1490375 Item 6.
  9. Jay Worrall, The Friendly Virginians: America's First Quakers (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Publishing Company, 1994), 537-539. FHL Book 975.5 K2wj.
  10. Charles Campbell, History of the Colony and Ancient Dominion of Virginia (Philadelphia, Pa.: J.B. Lippincott and Co., 1860), 267-268. Digitized by Internet Archive.
  11. E.M. Sanchez-Saavedra, A Guide to Virginia Military Organizations in the American Revolution, 1774-1787 (Richmond, Va.: Virginia State Library, 1978), 72. FHL Book 975.5 M2s.
  12. Stuart Lee Butler, A Guide to Virginia Militia Units in the War of 1812 (Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1988), 159. FHL Book 975.5 M2bs.