Northumberland County, New Brunswick Genealogy
(Redirected from Northumberland County, New Brunswick Genealogy)
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
| New Brunswick Wiki Topics | |
 | |
| Beginning Research | |
| Record Types | |
| New Brunswick Background | |
| Cultural Groups | |
| Local Research Resources | |
Guide to Northumberland County, New Brunswick ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
The Provincial Archives of New Brunswick have created a research guide available here.
History[edit | edit source]
Located in east central New Brunswick, Northumberland County was one of the original eight counties. The parishes of Newcastle and Alnwick were erected in 1786. Glenelg, Chatham, Nelson, Ludlow and Northesk were established in 1814. Also established in 1814 were Saumarez and Beresford, which became Gloucester County in 1826, and Wellington and Carleton, which became Kent County in 1826. Blissfield and Blackville were set off from Ludlow in 1830; Hardwicke from Glenelg in 1851; Derby was set off from Nelson in 1859, Southesk from Northesk in 1879, and Rogersville from Nelson in 1881.
Geography[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
- New Brunswick maps at the David Rumsey Map Collection
- Post Office Gazetteer of the Dominion of Canada - 1871 - Hathi Trust digitized book
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
|
POPULATED PLACE |
FORMER NAME, if applicable | TYPE |
FHL CATALOG |
WIKIPEDIA |
| Alnwick | Link | Link | ||
| Baie-Sainte-Anne | Link | Link | ||
| Barnaby River | Link | Link | ||
| Bartibog Bridge | Link | Link | ||
| Bay du Vin Vin | Link | Link | ||
| Black River | Link | Link | ||
| Blackville | Link | Link | ||
| Blissfield | Link | Link | ||
| Boiestown | Link | Link | ||
| Brantville | Link | Link | ||
| Burnt Church | Link | Link | ||
| Chatham | Link | Link | ||
| Derby | Link | Link | ||
| Doaktown | Link | Link | ||
| Douglastown | Link | Link | ||
| Forks | Link | |||
| Glenelg | Link | Link | ||
| Gray Rapids | Link | Link | ||
| Hardwicke | Link | Link | ||
| Howard | Link | Link | ||
| Lagacéville | Link | Link | ||
| Loggieville | Link | Link | ||
| Ludlow | Link | Link | ||
| Millerton | Link | Link | ||
| Miramichi | Link | Link | ||
| Nelson | Link | Link | ||
| Nelson-Miramichi | Link | Link | ||
| Newcastle | Link | Link | ||
| Northesk | Link | Link | ||
| Nowlanville | Link | Link | ||
| Néguac | Link | Link | ||
| Renous | Link | Link | ||
| Rogersville | Link | Link | ||
| Southesk | Link | Link | ||
| Sunny Corner | Link | Link | ||
| Tabusintac | Link | Link |
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Restigouche County * Gloucester County * Kent County * Queens County * Sunbury County * York County * Carleton County * Victoria County
Archives and Associations[edit | edit source]
- Provincial Archives of New Brunswick
- New Brunswick Genealogical Society
- Central Miramichi Historical Society in Doaktown, New Brusnwick
Civil Registrations[edit | edit source]
Birth Records[edit | edit source]
- Vital Statistics from Government Records, Provincial Archives of New Brunswick — index and images
- Index includes births 1800-1925 as well as late birth registrations.
- Canada, New Brunswick Births and Baptisms, 1819-1899 at FamilySearch — index
- New Brunswick, Provincial Returns of Births and Late Registrations, 1810-1906 at FamilySearch — index and images
- New Brunswick Late Registration of Births, 1810-1899 at FamilySearch — index and images
- New Brunswick, Canada, Births and Late Registrations, 1810-1906 at Ancestry($) — index and images
- New Brunswick, County Registers of Births, ca. 1812-1919 at FamilySearch — index and images
- New Brunswick, Select Births and Baptisms, 1819-1899 at Ancestry($) — index and images
- New Brunswick, Births and Baptisms, 1819-1899 at MyHeritage($) — index
- Acadia, Canada, Vital and Church Records (Drouin Collection), 1757-1946 at Ancestry($) — index and images
Marriage Records[edit | edit source]
County[edit | edit source]
- Northumberland County early marriages : transcribed from PANB microfilm book at the Family History Library
Provincial[edit | edit source]
- Vital Statistics from Government Records, Provincial Archives of New Brunswick — index and images
- Index includes marriage records 1847-1970.
- New Brunswick, Canada, Marriages, 1789-1950 at Ancestry($) — index and images
- New Brunswick, Marriage Registers, 1789-1889 at FamilySearch — images only
- Index to Marriage Bonds 1810-1932 Provincial Archives of New Brunswick — index
- New Brunswick Provincial Marriages 1789-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images
- New Brunswick Provincial Returns of Marriages, 1887-1919 at FamilySearch — images only
- New Brunswick Provincial Returns of Marriages and Late Registrations, 1920-1950 at FamilySearch — images only
- Acadia, Canada, Vital and Church Records (Drouin Collection), 1757-1946 at Ancestry($) — index and images
Death Records[edit | edit source]
County[edit | edit source]
- Coroners inquests and inquisitions, 1821-1900 at FamilySearch — images only
Provincial[edit | edit source]
- Vital Statistics from Government Records, Provincial Archives of New Brunswick — index and images
- Index includes death records 1815-1970.
- New Brunswick Provincial Deaths, 1815-1938 at FamilySearch — index and images
- New Brunswick, Provincial Returns of Deaths, 1815-1919 at FamilySearch — images only
- New Brunswick, Canada, Deaths, 1888-1938 at Ancestry($) — index and images
- New Brunswick, Death Certificates, 1920-1934 at FamilySearch — images only
- New Brunswick, Death Certificates, 1935-1938 at FamilySearch — images only
- Acadia, Canada, Vital and Church Records (Drouin Collection), 1757-1946 at Ancestry($) — index and images
Census[edit | edit source]
In Canada, census returns are closed for 92 years after the time of enumeration. Census returns prior to 1851 are rarely complete for any area. Due to boundary changes, census records may be found in Nova Scotia records.
Online Searchable Databases, Books and Images[edit | edit source]
| Year | Name of Collection | Where Available |
|---|---|---|
|
1671 |
Acadian genealogy exchange - v. 5, no. 4 Oct 1976; |
Acadian Families in 1671 begins on page 118 FamilySearch Digital Library |
| 1708 | East Coast of Arcadia 1708 | At various libraries (WorldCat) FamilySearch |
| 1714 | Acadian families in 1714 | At various libraries (WorldCat) FamilySearch |
| 1770 | Nova Scotia 1770 census | Rootsweb Nova Scotia Archives Ancestry ($) FamilySearch |
| 1783 | 1783 Studholm Report | CensusFinder, index. |
| 1785 | Cape Ann Association Of Loyalists - 1785 | Rootsweb [Return of Persons who have Lands located to them on Schodiack River above the Glebe, 10 May 1785 Genweb] |
| 1788 | Moncton Township Settlers 1788 | Rootsweb |
| 1800-1842 | Ontario and Nova Scotia Census, 1800-1842 | Ancestry ($) |
| 1804 | Scotch Emigrants - 1804 | Rootsweb |
| 1811-1818 | Nova Scotia Census Returns, 1811, 1817 and 1818 | Nova Scotia Archives |
| 1827 | Nova Scotia Census Returns 1827 | Nova Scotia Archives Ancestry ($) FamilySearch WorldCat |
| 1838 | Nova Scotia Census Returns 1838 | Nova Scotia Archives |
| 1851 | Canada Census, 1851 | Archives of Canada FamilySearch Ancestry ($) |
| 1861 | Census of Canada, 1861 | Archives of Canada FamilySearch Ancestry ($) |
| 1871 | Census of Canada, 1871 | Archives of Canada FamilySearch Ancestry ($) |
| 1871-1901 | Jewish residents of the Maritime provinces in the 1871-1901 censuses of Canada | FamilySearch WorldCat |
| 1881 | Census of Canada, 1881 | Archives of Canada FamilySearch Ancestry ($) |
| 1891 | Census of Canada, 1891 | Archives of Canada FamilySearch Ancestry ($) |
| 1901 | Census of Canada, 1901 | Archives of Canada FamilySearch Ancestry ($) |
| 1911 | Census of Canada, 1911 | Archives of Canada FamilySearch Ancestry ($) |
| 1921 | Census of Canada, 1921 | Ancestry ($) |
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Many microfilms of church records can be found at the Provincial Archives of New Brunswick. A detailed list of the records organized by denomination and locality with accompanying microfilm numbers can be found in their Northumberland County Genealogical Guide.
- Anglican Church records, 1843-1970 microfilm at the Family History Library
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
| |
| |
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- The book of records of the Court of Quarter Sessions for the county of Northumberland in the Province of New Brunswick (General Sessions- Minutes, 1789-1807) at FamilySearch — images only
Directories[edit | edit source]
- Hutchinson Directories - 1865-1868, Provincial Archives of New Brunswick — index
- Lovell Directory - 1871, Provincial Archives of New Brunswick — index
- New Brunswick Telephone Directory - 1912, New Brunswick GenWeb — index
Immigration Records[edit | edit source]
- Yorkshire Immigrants to New Brunswick, 1772-1775 — index
- New Brunswick, Canada, Passenger Lists: 1834 at Ancestry($) — index
- Irish Portal Passenger List Name Index, Provincial Archives of New Brunswick — index
- Irish Portal Passenger List Vessel Index, Provincial Archives of New Brunswick — index
- Irish Emigration to New England through the Port of Saint John, New Brunswick, Canada, 1841 to 1849 at Ancestry($) — index
Land Records[edit | edit source]
County[edit | edit source]
- New Brunswick, Northumberland County, deed registry books, 1787-1920; index, 1787-1992 at FamilySearch — images only
- Northumberland County, New Brunswick land records, 1786-1852 at FamilySearch — images only
- Land memorials of Northumberland County, New Brunswick, 1787-1808 at FamilySearch — images only
- D. R. Jack papers : deeds, 1806-1889 at FamilySearch — images only
- Newcastle, N.-B. register abstracts, 1784-1826 book at the Family History Library
Provincial[edit | edit source]
- New Brunswick Land grants, 1785-1831 at FamilySearch — images only
- New Brunswick, County Deed Registry Books, 1780-1930 at FamilySearch — images only
- New Brunswick, Canada, County Deed Registry Books, 1780-1993 at Ancestry($) — images only
- Index to Land Petitions: Original Series, 1783-1918, Provincial Archives of New Brunswick — index
- Index to New Brunswick Land Grants, 1784-1997, Provincial Archives of New Brunswick — index
- New Brunswick Bonds for Mid-1800s, New Brunswick RootsWeb — index
- Colonel William Spray's Grant, New Brunswick RootsWeb — index
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Index to Death registration of soldiers, 1941-1947, Provincial Archives of New Brunswick — index
- Records of Old Revolutionary Soldiers and Their Widows, Provincial Archives of New Brunswick — index
- Canadian Forces Base Gagetown Cemeteries, Provincial Archives of New Brunswick — index
- Old Revolutionary Soldiers and Their Widows Pensions, New Brunswick RootsWeb — index
Newspapers and Obituaries[edit | edit source]
- Obituaries compiled by the New Brunswick Genealogical Society Miramichi Branch; several volumes available at the Family History Library
- North Shore Leader : June 22, 1906 - December 25, 1925 book at the Family History Library
- Union Advocate : January 1894-Feb 28, 1911 book at the Family History Library
- New Brunswick Newspaper Directory, Provincial Archives of New Brunswick — directory
- Daniel F Johnson's New Brunswick Newspaper Vital Statistics, Provincial Archives of New Brunswick — index
- New Brunswick Great War Project, Provincial Archives of New Brunswick — index
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Indexes[edit | edit source]
- Wallace Hale's Early New Brunswick Probate, 1785-1835, Provincial Archives of New Brunswick — index
- Probate court record indexes for counties in New Brunswick at FamilySearch — digitized index books
Images[edit | edit source]
- Northumberland County Probate files, 1832-1930 at FamilySearch — images only
- Northumberland County Probate records, 1872-1885 at FamilySearch — images only
- Northumberland County Probate record books, 1883-1921 at FamilySearch — images only
Taxation Records[edit | edit source]
- Northumberland County Taxes, 1816-1865 at FamilySearch — images only
References[edit | edit source]
- Northumberland County Genealogical Guide, http://archives.gnb.ca/Documents/CountyGuides/Northumberland_en-CA.pdf, April 5, 2017.
- We Lived, a Genealogical Newsletter of New Brunswick Sources, 1979-1983, Cleadie B. Barnett, Editor & Publisher
| ||||||||
