North Carolina Directories
|North Carolina Wiki Topics|
|North Carolina Background|
|Local Research Resources|
Online Resources[edit | edit source]
- Branson's North Carolina business directory : containing facts, figures, names and locations, revised and corrected annually, 1866-1896, ($), index. Also at Branson's Business Directories -- 1867/1868, 1869, 1872, 1890, 1896
- Ancestry.com ($) has North Carolina city directories available online in its U.S. City Directories collection.
- North Carolina Yearbook & Business Directory -1901 1902 1903 1904 1905 1906 1907 1908 1909 1910 1911 1912 1913 1914 1915 1916 1922 1923
History[edit | edit source]
City and county directories are similar to present-day telephone books and are useful for locating people. They were often published annually, listing heads of households, employed household members, and their occupations, and addresses. They can be used with census records or as substitutes for them.
City directories have been published for some cities in North Carolina. Many of these are located in local libraries in the state.
Resources for North Carolina Directories[edit | edit source]
Libraries and Archives[edit | edit source]
Directories Online[edit | edit source]
- NC City Directories: Digital NC
- Directory of Scots in the Carolinas, 1680-1830, Volume 1, ($), index. Also at: Internet Archive, Ancestry ($) - index
- North Carolina City Directories
Family History Library[edit | edit source]
The Family History Library has city directories for various years from throughout the state of North Carolina including:
|1889-1900||FHL Film 2156873|
|1902-1935||FHL Film 2309620-2309630|
|1985||FHL Book 975.676/C1 E4c|
|1924, 1930||FHL Book 975.655/R1 E4h|
|1989||FHL Book 975.655 E4r|
|1902-1934||FHL Film 2309631- 2309639|
|1924, 1930||FHL Book 975.656/D1 E4h|
To find directories, consult the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:
- NORTH CAROLINA, [COUNTY] — DIRECTORIES
- NORTH CAROLINA, [COUNTY], [TOWN] — DIRECTORIES
Websites[edit | edit source]
- US City Directories This web site identifies printed, microfilmed, and online directories and their repositories.