Noble County, Indiana Genealogy
Guide to Noble County, Indiana ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Noble County was named for Governor Noah Noble. It is located in the northeastern area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Noble County Courthouse
101 North Orange Street
Albion, IN 46701-1097
Phone: 219-636-2736
Noble County Website
Noble County Health Department
2090 North State Road 9, Suite C
Albion, IN, 46701
Health Officer: Terry Gaff, MD
Phone: 260-636-2191
Fax: 260-636-2192
Email: lgray@nobleco.us
Health Department
County Health Department has birth and death records.
County Clerk has marriage, divorce, probate and court records from 1859.
County Auditor has land records.
City Clerk has burial records. [3]
Health Department has birth records and death records.
Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
Noble County, Indiana Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1882 | 1859 | 1882 | 1859 | 1834 | 1859 | 1807 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
1843 and 1859 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Census-designated places | ||
| Townships | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- Augusta Cemetery at Allen County Public Library
- Gragg Cemetery at Allen County Public Library
- Lower/Lauer Cemetery at Allen County Public Library
- Port Mitchell Cemetery at Allen County Public Library
- Sanford Cemetery at Allen County Public Library
- Wolf Lake Cemetery at Allen County Public Library
- The IN Geneaology Society has many free indexes to Noble County cemeteries.
- The Index of Noble County Indiana, Burial of Soldiers, Sailors and Marines, Under an Act Approved, Marcy 6, 1889. PDF by IN Geneaology Society
Census Records[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Noble County census records online, see: Indiana Census.
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1840 | 2,702 | — |
| 1850 | 7,946 | 194.1% |
| 1860 | 14,915 | 87.7% |
| 1870 | 20,389 | 36.7% |
| 1880 | 22,956 | 12.6% |
| 1890 | 23,359 | 1.8% |
| 1900 | 23,533 | 0.7% |
| 1910 | 24,009 | 2.0% |
| 1920 | 22,470 | −6.4% |
| 1930 | 22,404 | −0.3% |
| 1940 | 22,776 | 1.7% |
| 1950 | 25,075 | 10.1% |
| 1960 | 28,162 | 12.3% |
| 1970 | 31,382 | 11.4% |
| 1980 | 35,443 | 12.9% |
| 1990 | 37,877 | 6.9% |
| 2000 | 46,275 | 22.2% |
| 2010 | 47,536 | 2.7% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
- Index to Morality Schedule for Noble County, Indiana (1860) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
- Index to Defective, Dependent & Delinquent Census for Noble County, Indiana (1880) at Indiana Genealogical Society ($)
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. For contact information, check a phone directory, such as SearchBug or Dex Knows. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository.
For more information about these major repositories, see Indiana Church Records.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African American
- 28th US Colored Troops, Addition Recruits for Colored Troops
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents. See Indiana Land and Property for additional information about early Indiana land grants and patents.
After land was transferred from the government to private ownership, subsequent transactions were recorded at the Noble County courthouse, where records are currently housed.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Noble County. County histories may include biographies; church, school and government histories; and military information. For more information about local histories, see Indiana Local Histories.
- Alvord's History of Noble County, Indiana. 1902. By Samuel E. Alvord. Logansport, Indiana: B. F. Bowen, Publisher. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Internet Archive.
- Counties of La Grange and Noble, Indiana: Historical and Biographical. 1882. Chicago, Illinois : F.A. Battery Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library (scroll to page 435 for Noble County history), Hathitrust, Internet Archive, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
- History of Northeast Indiana, Lagrange, Steuben, Noble, and DeKalb Counties. 2 volumes. 1920. By Ira Ford. Chicago, Illinois : Lewis Pub. Co. Online at: FamilySearch Digital Library, Hathitrust, Vol. 2 - Internet Archive, Google Books, Ancestry ($); At various libraries (WorldCat).
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Historic Indiana Maps at IUPUI University Library
- Old Antique Atlases & Maps of Indiana
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Civil War
Civil War service men from Noble County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Noble County.
- 7th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Companies B, C, D, I, and M
- 12th Regiment, Indiana Cavalry, Companies B, and I
- 12th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized B, and C
- 13th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized C, and F
- 20th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Reorganized Company C
- 30th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies C, F, and Reorganized Companies D, and E
- 44th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company G
- 74th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company D
- 88th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B, and D
- 100th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Company E
- 129th Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B, C, D, and I
- 139th Regiment, Indiana Infantry (100 days, 1864), Company D
- 142nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies A, G, and D
- 152nd Regiment, Indiana Infantry, Companies B, C, F, and E
- 28th US Colored Troops, Addition Recruits for Colored Troops
Civil War Book:
- The First Call for Troops in Counties of La Grange and Noble, Indiana: Historical and Biographical. (Salem, Mass: Higginson Book Co, 1993.) Available online at: FamilySearch Digital Library;Internet Archive
World War I
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- Naturalization Record Series (for this county) at Indiana Digital Archives. Search by names.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Indiana newspapers may contain genealogical value including obituaries, births, marriages, deaths, anniversaries, family gatherings, family travel, achievements, business notices, engagement information, and probate court proceedings.
For more Indiana newspaper information see the wiki page Indiana Newspapers.
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
In most counties in Indiana, probate records have been kept by the county clerk of the circuit court. They include wills, fee books, claim registers, legacy records, inheritance records, probate ticklers, and dockets. The records are available at the Noble County courthouse. For more information, see Indiana Probate Records.
- 1798-1999 Indiana, Wills and Probate Records 1798-1999 at Ancestry
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Indiana tax records complement land records and can be used in place of censuses or to supplement the years between censuses. Because only persons who owned taxable property were listed, many residents were not included in tax lists. There may also be gaps of several years in the tax records of some counties. For more information see the wiki page Indiana Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Indiana law in 1882 required registration of births and deaths in counties. The Indiana Department of Health has birth records filed after October 1907 and death records filed after January 1900 for deaths. Copies may be obtained from the county health department or the Indiana State Division of Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1780-1992 Indiana Marriages, 1780-1992 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Also at: MyHeritage ($)
- 1800-2007 Indiana, United States Marriages at FindMyPast ($)
- 1802-1892 Indiana, Compiled Marriages, 1802-1892 at Ancestry
- 1811-1959 Indiana, Marriages, 1811-1959 at MyHeritage - index and images, ($)
- 1811-2007 Indiana Marriages, 1811-2007 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
Death[edit | edit source]
- Pre-1882 WEB: Indiana, Deaths, Pre-1882 at Ancestry.com - index, (Free collection)
- 1750-1993 Indiana Deaths and Burials, 1750-1993 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1882-1920 Indiana, Death Index, 1882-1920 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection
- 1899-2011 Indiana, Death Certificates, 1899-2011 at Ancestry
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Noble County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
- Huntington Indiana Family History Center
- Fort Wayne Indiana Family History Center
- Allen County Public Library - an affiliate library.
- Noble County Public Library - an affiliate library.
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Noble County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Archives and Libraries.
Noble County Public Library Cromwell
120 Jefferson Street
Cromwell, IN 46732
Phone: 260-856-2119
Email: info@myncpl.us
Website
Noble County Public Library Albion
813 E. Main St.
Albion, IN 46701
Phone: 260-636-7197
Email: info@myncpl.us
Website
Noble County Public Library Avilla
104 Ley St.
Avilla, IN 46710
Phone: 260-897-3900
Email: info@myncpl.us
Website
Museums[edit | edit source]
Kendallville Historical Society
(Mid-America Windmill Museum)
P.O. Box 5048
732 Allen Chapel Rd
Kendallville, IN 46755-5048
Phone: 260-347-2334
Email: volunteer@midamericawindmillmuseum.org
Website
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Noble County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Indiana Societies.
Ligonier Historical Society And Museum
503 S Main Street
Ligonier, IN 46767-1815
Phone: 260-894-4511
Facebook
Noble County Historical Society
P.O. Box 152
215 W. Main St.
Albion, IN 46701
Phone: 260-636-3929
Email: noblecountyhistory@gmail.com
Website
Noble County Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 162
109 N. York Street
Albion, IN 46701-0162
Phone: 260-636-7197
Website
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Indiana Digital Archives Search by name in all records or specific collections
- Indiana Historical Society Digital Collections Extensive - keyword searches suggested
- Indiana Memory Click the map or select a statewide collection
- List of indexes and databases at Indiana State Library
- Indiana Genealogical Society Databases Free and Members-only. Scroll the list.
- INGenWeb, Noble County. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- USGenWeb, Noble County.
- EveryNameIndex.com for Indiana Free online genealogy indexes for county histories. Select a county.
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana. FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Noble County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Noble_County,_Indiana (accessed 30 March 2017).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana.FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana. FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Indiana. FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Noble County, Indiana" in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Noble_County,_Indiana (accessed 10 May 2012).
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Noble County, Indiana," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Noble_County,_Indiana (accessed 28 December 2019).
