Newton County, Georgia Genealogy
Guide to Newton County, Georgia ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Sgt. John Newton. The County is located in the north central area of the state.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Newton County Courthouse
113 Usher Street
Covington, GA 30014
Phone: 770-784-2000
Newton County Website
Clerk Superior Court has divorce, court and land records from 1822 and military records from 1917.[3]
Newton County, Georgia Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1919 | 1822 | 1919 | 1822 | 1822 | 1822 | 1820 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
1883 The courthouse at Covington burned 31 December 1883. A few old tax books and court records burned, but citizens carried most county records to safety.[5] For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[7]
| Cities | ||
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
- My Bishop Family at Rootsweb
- Newton County Bible Records at Google Books
- Newton County Bible Records at USGenWeb Archives Project- Georgia
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1830 | 11,155 | — |
| 1840 | 11,628 | 4.2% |
| 1850 | 13,296 | 14.3% |
| 1860 | 14,320 | 7.7% |
| 1870 | 14,615 | 2.1% |
| 1880 | 13,623 | −6.8% |
| 1890 | 14,310 | 5.0% |
| 1900 | 16,734 | 16.9% |
| 1910 | 18,449 | 10.2% |
| 1920 | 21,680 | 17.5% |
| 1930 | 17,290 | −20.2% |
| 1940 | 18,576 | 7.4% |
| 1950 | 20,185 | 8.7% |
| 1960 | 20,999 | 4.0% |
| 1970 | 26,282 | 25.2% |
| 1980 | 34,489 | 31.2% |
| 1990 | 41,808 | 21.2% |
| 2000 | 62,001 | 48.3% |
| 2010 | 99,958 | 61.2% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
- 1822-1863 Court Records, 1822-1846, 1852-1863(*); Inferior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1822-1904 Superior Court Minutes, 1822-1904(*); Superior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
- 1838-1851 Minutes of the Inferior Court Sitting for Ordinary Purposes, 1838- 1851 [Newton County, Georgia](*); Inferior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1841-1874 Inferior Court Minutes, Sitting for County Purposes, 1841-1874(*); Inferior Court at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1864-1903 Court of Ordinary Minutes, 1864-1903(*); Court of Ordinary at FamilySearch Catalog — index & images
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
- Caldwell and Cowan Funeral Home in Covington
- J. C. Harwell and Son Funeral Home and Cremation Chapel in Covington
- Jefferson Mortuary Service, LLC in Covington
- Lester Lacey and Sons Funeral Home Inc. in Covington
- Peachtree Cremation Services in Covington
- Southern Cremations and Funerals in Covington
- Wheeler Funeral and Cremation Services in Covington
- Young-Levitt Funeral Home in Covington
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
- G. H. P. Noah Phillips of Newton County, GA. and Litchfield, Conn. His Ancestors and Descendants. Covington, Georgia. Digital version at Ancestry ($)
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.
See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.
- 1735-1866 Georgian Colonial and Headright Plat Index, 1735-1866 at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - alpha index
- 1783-1909 Headright and Bounty Plats, 1783-1909 at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
- 1805-1833 District Plats of Survey at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images organized by county and district
- Colonial Plats and Warrants at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Newton County, Georgia Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- FamilySearch Places: Map of cities and towns in this county - How to Use FS Places
- 1740s-? Historic Map File at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images
- 1866 - 1935 County Map File at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images
- Maps of Georgia (1758-1932)
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
- Georgia USGenWeb Archives Project
Civil War
Online Records
- 1861-1865 Georgia Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 Georgia Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 Confederate Enlistment Oaths and Discharges at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault- images and alphabetical index
- 1861-1865 Confederate Muster Rolls at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault- images; filter by commanding officer, service branch and regiment
- 1861-1865 Confederate Pension Application Supplements - images and alphabetical index; filter by county
- 1864 Militia Enrollment Lists, 1864 - images; filter by county
- 1867-1868 Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books, 1867-1868 at FamilySearch — index
- 1879-1920 Georgia, Confederate Pension Rolls, 1879-1920 at FamilySearch — index
- 1879-1960 Confederate Pension Applications - images and alphabetical index; filter by county
Regiments. Service men in Newton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Newton County:
- - 3rd Battalion, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- - 3rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- - 18th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company B
- - 35th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company B
- - 42nd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies E and F
- - 53rd Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Companies B and E
- - 66th Regiment, Georgia Infantry (Confederate), Company C
- Bowen, Rhoda Anne, and Freda R. Turner. 1992. Georgia confederate soldier obituaries: Henry, Newton, and Rockdale counties, 1879-1943. Alpharetta, GA: WH Wolfe Associates. 975.8 V4b digital version
- Newton County Historical Society (Georgia). 1988. A History of Newton County, Georgia. Covington, Georgia: Newton County Historical Society (GA). (page 235-281) 975.8593 H2h
- Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Newton County). 1963. Confederate roster, 1861-1865; Confederate pension rolls, 1890-1929. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. Film 325767
- Georgia. 1963. Inferior Court minutes, sitting for County purposes, 1841-1874. Salt Lake City, Utah: Filmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah. (United States, Georgia, Newton -- Military records -- Civil War, 1861-1865.)325799
Spanish-American War
- 1898 Spanish-American War Service Summary Cards - images and alphabetical index; filter by residence, muster location and unit
World War I
- 1914-1918 World War I Casualties Scrapbooks - images and alphabetical index
- 1920-1929 Georgia, World War I, Statement of Service Cards, 1920-1929 at FamilySearch — index and images
World War II
- 1940-1942 Georgia World War II Draft Registration Cards 1940-1942 at findmypast - index ($))
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
- 1800s-1999 U.S., Newspapers.com Marriage Index, 1800s-1999 at Ancestry - index ($)
- Georgia Historic Newspapers at Digital Library of Georgia
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
Voting Records
- 1867-1868 Georgia, Reconstruction Registration Oath Books, 1867-1868 at FamilySearch — index
- 1856-1909 - Georgia, County Voter Registrations, 1856-1909 at FamilySearch — index and images
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Colonial courts kept some early probate records. From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records. The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.
Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).
Online Probate Indexes and Records
- 1733-1753 Colonial Wills at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
- 1742-1990 Georgia Probate Records, 1742-1990(*) at FamilySearch — How to Use this Collection; index & images
- 1742-1992 Georgia Wills and Probate Records 1742-1992 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
- 1754-1776 Colonial Will Books at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images with alpha index
- 1771-1896 Wills, Book C (digital images) Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1820-1851 Wills, Book A (digital images) Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1822-1902 Annual returns, 1822-1902(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Newton County) at FamilySearch Catalog — images
- 1822-1963 Bonds and administrators Newton County, Georgia, 1822-1963(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Newton County) at FamilySearch Catalog — Index and images
- 1823-1936 Wills, 1823-1936(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Newton County) at FamilySearch Catalog — Index and images
- 1823-1971 Newton County Georgia list of will book testators SAMPUBCO - Browsable index of testators of wills.
- 1851-1870 Wills, Book B (digital images) Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1851-1905 Bonds of administrators, guardians and trustees, 1851-1905 Newton County, Georgia(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Newton County) at FamilySearch Catalog — Index and images
- 1856-1902 Letters of guardianship, 1856-1902 Newton County, Georgia(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Newton County) at FamilySearch Catalog — Index and images
- 1856-1954 Letters testamentary, 1856-1954 Newton County, Georgia(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Newton County) at FamilySearch Catalog — Index and images
- 1856-1959 Letters of administration, 1856-1959 Newton, Virginia(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Newton County) at FamilySearch Catalog — Index and images
- 1896-1915, 1856-1961 Inventories and appraisements 1896-1915, and, twelve months' support widows' and minor childrens' 1856-1961 Newton County, Georgia(*); Georgia. Court of Ordinary (Newton County) at FamilySearch Catalog — Index and images
- Miscellaneous genealogical records from the personal files of members of Flores del Sol Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution(*); Daughters of the American Revolution. Flores del Sol Chapter (Wichita, Kansas) at FamilySearch Catalog — Index and images
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and all slaves up to age 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.
- 1787-1900 Georgia, Tax Digests, 1787-1900 at FamilySearch — How to use this collection, index and images
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.
For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1870-1960 Georgia, County Delayed Birth and Death Records, 1870-1960 at FamilySearch — index, and some images
- 1888-1904 Births 1888-1904 Georgia Pioneers ($)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1560-1993 Georgia, United States Marriages at Findmypast — index ($)
- 1699-1944 Georgia Marriages 1699-1944 at Ancestry— index ($)
- 1754-1960 Georgia Church Marriages, 1754-1960 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1785-1950 Georgia County Marriages 1785-1950 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1787-1962 Georgia, Church Marriages, 1787-1962 at FamilySearch — index
- 1808-1967 Georgia Marriages 1808-1967 at FamilySearch — index
- 1822-1867 Newton County Marriage Index 1822-1867. Batch M713451 at FamilySearch[8]
- 1824-1850 Marriages 1824-1850 Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1828-1978 Georgia Marriage Records from Select Counties 1828-1978 at Ancestry — index and images ($)
- 1850-1865 Newton County Marriage Index 1850-1865. Batch M713452 at FamilySearch
- 1852-1869 Newton County Marriage Index 1852-1869. Batch M713453 at FamilySearch
- 1866-1875 Newton County Marriage Index 1866-1875. Batch M713454 at FamilySearch
- 1874-1894 Newton County Marriage Index 1874-1894. Batch M713455 at FamilySearch
- 1885-1886 Marriages from newspapers, 1885-1886 Georgia Pioneers ($)
- 1894-1895 Newton County Marriage Index 1894-1895. Batch M713456 at FamilySearch
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1870-1960 Georgia, County Delayed Birth and Death Records, 1870-1960 at FamilySearch — index, and some images
- 1914-1927 Georgia Deaths 1914-1927 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1919-1998 Georgia Deaths 1919-1998 at Ancestry — index ($)
- 1919-1930 Georgia Death Certificates at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - index and images
- 1928-1930 Georgia Non-Indexed Death Certificates at Georgia Archives Virtual Vault - images
- 1928-1942 Georgia Deaths, 1928-1942 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1933-1998 Georgia Death Index 1933-1998 at FamilySearch — index
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Voter Records[edit | edit source]
- 1856-1941 Georgia, County Voter Registrations, 1856-1941 at FamilySearch — How to use this collection, index and images
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Newton County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Georgia Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Center and Affiliate Library Locator map - search for local Family History Centers or Affiliate Libraries
- Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
- FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Newton County. For state-wide library facilities, see Georgia Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Newton County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Georgia Societies.
Newton County Historical Society
2100 Washington Street
PO Box 2415
Covington, GA 30210
Newton County Historical Society
Rockdale-Newton County Genealogical Society
Email: rncgs41119@gmail.com
Rockdale-Newton County Genealogical Society
Oxford Historical Society
PO Box 245 Oxford
GA 30054
Phone: 678- 532-7811
Email: oldchurchoxford@gmail.com
Oxford Historical Society
Oxford Historical Shrine Society
Oxford Historical Society Facebook
East Georgia Genealogical Society
PO Box 117
Winder, GA 30680
East Georgia Genealogical Society, Inc.
East Georgia Genealogical Society, Inc. Facebook
Georgia State Archives
5800 Jonesboro Road
Morrow, GA 30260
Phone: 678-364-3700
Georgia State Archives
Georgia State Archives Facebook
Georgia Historical Society
Street address: 501 Whitaker Street
Mailing address: 104 W. Gaston Street
Savannah, GA 31401
Phone: 912-651-2125
Toll Free: 877-424-4789
Email: ghslib@georgiahistory.com
Georgia Historical Society
Georgia Genealogical Society
PO Box 550247
Atlanta, Georgia 30355-2747
Georgia Genealogical Society
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Georgia Genealogy Network Group on Facebook
- USGenWeb project May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county.
- Newton County, Georgia Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- Georgia Pioneers Georgia Pioneers ($)
- FamilySearch Catalog - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Newton County, Georgia" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Newton_County,_Georgia accessed 2 Nov 2018
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Newton County, Georgia. Page 151-163 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 155-160.
- ↑ Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 46. At various libraries (WorldCat).
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Georgia.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Newton County, Georgia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Newton _County,_Georgia, accessed 11 September 2019.
- ↑ Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/5/53/Igigeorgiamz.pdf.
