Newton All Saints, Lancashire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Newton All Saints, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Newton All Saints, Lancashire
All Saints Newton Heath.jpg
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Manchester
Registration District Manchester
Records begin
Parish registers: 1716
Bishop's Transcripts: 1721
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bury
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Archives

Chapel History[edit | edit source]

NEWTON (All Saints), a parochial chapelry, in the parish and union of Manchester, Lancashire Genealogy, hundred of Salford, S. division of Lancashire; comprising the townships of Bradford, Droylsden, Failsworth, Newton, and Moston, 2 miles northeast by east from Manchester. The former chapel, dedicated to All Saints, and built prior to 1650, fell down on the 2nd of May, 1808 and was rebuilt by 1848. The townships of Droylsden and Failsworth have lately been constituted ecclesiastical parishes, under the provisions of the act 6th and 7th Victoria. St Marys Droylsden was consecrated and opened for worship in August, 1846, and Failsworth St John was erected by 1845. The chapels of St Mary Moston and Bradford Christ Church opened respectively in 1867 and 1862. Other places in the chapelry include: Kirkmanshulme and Culcheth.

The modern parish was created in 1997 when united with St. Wilfred and St. Anne's to form the parish of Newton Heath. There are several places of worship for dissenters; and numerous schools.[1]


Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Chapelry is a church or churches built in a large ecclesiastical parish to help the members attend worship services closer to their homes.

Online Parish Records Table

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Newton All Saints Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Parish Registers-Lancashire
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Findmypast-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-Church of England BMD-Lancashire ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1800s-1900s

Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformist Churches (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Manchester Poor Law Union

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Taxation[edit | edit source]

  • 1622 - 1622 Subsidy of Newton (p. 148)[2]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 404-407. Adapted. Date accessed: 22 October 2013.
  2. J.P. Earwaker, Three Lancashire Subsidy Rolls, viz., for the Hundred of Salford, 1541, the Hundred of Salford, 1622 and the Hundred of Leyland, 1628, Together with a Recusant Roll for the Hundred of Leyland, in 1628 (London: Record Society of Lancashire and Cheshire, 1885). Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/library/books/records/item/535891-three-lancashire-subsidy-rolls-viz-for-the-hundred-of-salford-1541-the-hundred-of-salford-1622-and-the-hundred-of-leyland-1628-together-with-a-recusant-roll-for-the-hundred-of-leyland-in-1628-vol-12?offset=1 FamilySearch Digital Library].